• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

TPU's WCG/BOINC Team

SparkyJJO

New Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2009
Messages
311 (0.10/day)
Likes
33
System Name Dominator
Processor Core i7-2600k @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-D3H
Cooling XSPC Raystorm, MCW82, MCR320, DDC 3.2 Petras top, EK150 res
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws 2x4GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Radeon 7950
Storage 2x Crucial M4 256GB SSD, 500GB and 1TB Samsung storage
Display(s) Samsung 46" HDTV :D
Case Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570 (modded for internal WC)
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply Corsair HX620
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
Noticed HPF is still having computation errors in vista x64 :rolleyes:

Using BOINC 6.2.28, is there a different version that doesn't have this issue? I hate the units getting borked :(
 

123bob

Xtreme Refugee
Joined
Apr 1, 2009
Messages
286 (0.09/day)
Likes
240
Location
Pacific Northwest, USA
Noticed HPF is still having computation errors in vista x64 :rolleyes:

Using BOINC 6.2.28, is there a different version that doesn't have this issue? I hate the units getting borked :(
I could not find a version that HPF2 worked reliably on with Vista 64. As you know, I tried for a LONG while to make it work. Did everything I could think of and everything other folks suggested.

Team, Sparky is referring to a problem with Human Proteome Folding 2 WUs, running on Vista 64 bit. Occaisionally, the WUs will error out usually within the first few seconds of run time. If you run these on V64 bit, you can see errors show up in your "result status" using the filter to view errors. "Result status" is a useful tool to use to find out a lot of stuff. This is located on your WCG account page, on the left side.

Bob
 

SparkyJJO

New Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2009
Messages
311 (0.10/day)
Likes
33
System Name Dominator
Processor Core i7-2600k @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-D3H
Cooling XSPC Raystorm, MCW82, MCR320, DDC 3.2 Petras top, EK150 res
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws 2x4GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Radeon 7950
Storage 2x Crucial M4 256GB SSD, 500GB and 1TB Samsung storage
Display(s) Samsung 46" HDTV :D
Case Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570 (modded for internal WC)
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply Corsair HX620
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
Yeah some run fine, some don't. Sometimes I'll go a week with nary an error, then all of a sudden it'll have a hissy fit for a few days.

Drove me nuts when I first saw it, I thought my CPU was going unstable again on me :rolleyes:
 

Hicks

New Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2009
Messages
92 (0.03/day)
Likes
19
Milestones Today
Damulta passes 1,000
123bob_TPU passes 200


Milestones Yesterday
TechPowerUp! passed 1,000,000
Chicken Patty passed 70,000
3xploit passed 2,000
Marineborn passed 5,000
123bob_TPU passed 100
paulieg passed 500

Boinc Total Credit
1,062,322
WCG Total Credit
7,628,321

:toast:

Congrats guys!!
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2006
Messages
2,312 (0.56/day)
Likes
670
Location
Norn Iron
Processor Q9550 @3.8
Motherboard Asus Maximus Extreme
Cooling Custom water cooling
Memory 4GB Patriot Viper DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) 2x HD4870 512MB
Storage 2x 500GB
Display(s) 3x LG L226WTQ 22" Widescreen LCD
Case Modded TJ07
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply PC P&C Silencer 750
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
Hi guys was just checking my Results Status and see I have some results with an "Error" tagged to them.

This is the error

Code:
Result Log 	

<core_client_version>6.2.28</core_client_version>
<![CDATA[
<message>
Incorrect function. (0x1) - exit code 1 (0x1)
</message>
<stderr_txt>
ERROR:: Exit at: .\dock_structure.cc line:401

</stderr_txt>
]]>

Any ideas on what is causing this...maybe not as stable as I thought ??

I also see this, in the log for the pc that is giving the errors, it says the output file is absent for some tasks.

Code:
10/04/2009 14:53:27|World Community Grid|Restarting task mi947_00060_15 using hpf2 version 603
10/04/2009 14:53:27|World Community Grid|Restarting task mi985_00042_7 using hpf2 version 603
10/04/2009 14:54:31|World Community Grid|Computation for task mi947_00060_15 finished
10/04/2009 14:54:31|World Community Grid|Output file mi947_00060_15_0 for task mi947_00060_15 absent
10/04/2009 14:54:31|World Community Grid|Starting mi986_00014_6
10/04/2009 14:54:31|World Community Grid|Starting task mi986_00014_6 using hpf2 version 603
10/04/2009 14:56:27|World Community Grid|Computation for task mi986_00014_6 finished
10/04/2009 14:56:27|World Community Grid|Output file mi986_00014_6_0 for task mi986_00014_6 absent
This is the client version, processor etc -

Code:
10/04/2009 14:51:26||Starting BOINC client version 6.2.28 for windows_intelx86
10/04/2009 14:51:26||log flags: task, file_xfer, sched_ops
10/04/2009 14:51:26||Libraries: libcurl/7.19.0 OpenSSL/0.9.8i zlib/1.2.3
10/04/2009 14:51:26||Data directory: C:\ProgramData\BOINC
10/04/2009 14:51:26||Processor: 2 AuthenticAMD Dual Core AMD Opteron(tm) Processor 165 [x86 Family 15 Model 35 Stepping 2]
10/04/2009 14:51:26||Processor features: fpu tsc pae nx sse sse2 pni 3dnow mmx
10/04/2009 14:51:26||OS: Microsoft Windows Vista: Ultimate x86 Editon, Service Pack 1, (06.00.6001.00)
10/04/2009 14:51:26||Memory: 2.00 GB physical, 7.93 GB virtual
10/04/2009 14:51:26||Disk: 88.79 GB total, 37.49 GB free
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2009
Messages
3,505 (1.10/day)
Likes
2,254
If it's just one error, it's nothing to be alarmed about. It's due to computing errors which happen occasionally.

If you are receiving massive amount of errors, then your OC is unstable. If it wasn't an OCed rig, it'd be hardware incompatibility.

Personally, I take up to 3 errors a day per a machine normal behavior.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2006
Messages
2,312 (0.56/day)
Likes
670
Location
Norn Iron
Processor Q9550 @3.8
Motherboard Asus Maximus Extreme
Cooling Custom water cooling
Memory 4GB Patriot Viper DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) 2x HD4870 512MB
Storage 2x 500GB
Display(s) 3x LG L226WTQ 22" Widescreen LCD
Case Modded TJ07
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply PC P&C Silencer 750
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
Whats your OC? My 1st guess is ram(most of the time it is).
It's running at 2.9 and the ram is underclocked....I just recently replaced it with some DDR500, but you may be right it, I hope not!!

If it's just one error, it's nothing to be alarmed about. It's due to computing errors which happen occasionally.

If you are receiving massive amount of errors, then your OC is unstable. If it wasn't an OCed rig, it'd be hardware incompatibility.

Personally, I take up to 3 errors a day per a machine normal behavior.
There are about 7 errors in 4 days of running.They all seem to be with the Human Proteome Folding tasks, my other tasks seem to be passing OK.

This machine was running the Folding@home SMP client, before I shifted to WCG, and it run with out any problems on it.
 

Hicks

New Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2009
Messages
92 (0.03/day)
Likes
19
If it's just one error, it's nothing to be alarmed about. It's due to computing errors which happen occasionally.

If you are receiving massive amount of errors, then your OC is unstable. If it wasn't an OCed rig, it'd be hardware incompatibility.

Personally, I take up to 3 errors a day per a machine normal behavior.
What the rack freak said....;)
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2006
Messages
2,312 (0.56/day)
Likes
670
Location
Norn Iron
Processor Q9550 @3.8
Motherboard Asus Maximus Extreme
Cooling Custom water cooling
Memory 4GB Patriot Viper DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) 2x HD4870 512MB
Storage 2x 500GB
Display(s) 3x LG L226WTQ 22" Widescreen LCD
Case Modded TJ07
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply PC P&C Silencer 750
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
Not on this machine but I am on the other one I added yesterday.
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2009
Messages
3,505 (1.10/day)
Likes
2,254
There are about 7 errors in 4 days of running.They all seem to be with the Human Proteome Folding tasks, my other tasks seem to be passing OK.

This machine was running the Folding@home SMP client, before I shifted to WCG, and it run with out any problems on it.
7 errors in 4 days, sounds acceptable to me. Folding uses GPU. WCG uses CPU. It's different worlds, really... Though their goals are the same. Sometimes, errors are caused by the tasks themselves. WCG forum often announces if there are serious errors in their task units.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2006
Messages
2,312 (0.56/day)
Likes
670
Location
Norn Iron
Processor Q9550 @3.8
Motherboard Asus Maximus Extreme
Cooling Custom water cooling
Memory 4GB Patriot Viper DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) 2x HD4870 512MB
Storage 2x 500GB
Display(s) 3x LG L226WTQ 22" Widescreen LCD
Case Modded TJ07
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply PC P&C Silencer 750
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
HPF & Vista x64 dont get along too well. My advice is to not do those WU's on the x64 rig.
Thanks I did not know that :toast:

7 errors in 4 days, sounds acceptable to me. Folding uses GPU. WCG uses CPU. It's different worlds, really... Though their goals are the same.
The SMP client uses the CPU to fold although I dont know if they are the same tech, but it does stress the CPU alot when folding with it.
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2009
Messages
3,505 (1.10/day)
Likes
2,254
If I remember correctly, in Windows XP, the SMP client used to use a fairly large amount of a core's computing powers.
But, in Vista, I was told that it uses almost zero cpu powers if set up correctly, so that should not be an issue.

What I do know is I do get a few errors even on rigs that I run stock setups.

I don't OC WCGing rigs anymore due to having had a nightmare with power bills once when I was really addicted to WCGing.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2006
Messages
2,312 (0.56/day)
Likes
670
Location
Norn Iron
Processor Q9550 @3.8
Motherboard Asus Maximus Extreme
Cooling Custom water cooling
Memory 4GB Patriot Viper DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) 2x HD4870 512MB
Storage 2x 500GB
Display(s) 3x LG L226WTQ 22" Widescreen LCD
Case Modded TJ07
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply PC P&C Silencer 750
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
If I remember correctly, in Windows XP, the SMP client used to use a fairly large amount of a core's computing powers.
But, in Vista, I was told that it uses almost zero cpu powers if set up correctly, so that should not be an issue.
That is for the GPU2 client which uses your GPU to fold but the SMP client uses the CPU to fold and uses 100% of the core that it is assigned to.
I think you are mixing the two up ;) But I have run both types of client on this machine at the same time without problems.

What I do know is I do get a few errors even on rigs that I run stock setups.

I don't OC WCGing rigs anymore due to having had a nightmare with power bills once when I was really addicted to WCGing.

I will keep an eye on it :toast: I see you can set each machine to use different tasks on the WCG site..I will do that later
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2009
Messages
3,505 (1.10/day)
Likes
2,254
That is for the GPU2 client which uses your GPU to fold but the SMP client uses the CPU to fold and uses 100% of the core that it is assigned to.
I think you are mixing the two up ;) But I have run both types of client on this machine at the same time without problems.
I suppose I am. For one thing, I don't really know GPU folding because I barely buy any video cards to fold with. My passion doesn't lie with video cards apparently.

I am for low-voltage computing where performance per watt matters.

I will keep an eye on it :toast: I see you can set each machine to use different tasks on the WCG site..I will do that later
Yes..., do watch your power bill. When I had 8 rigs running... along with AMD quad-FX 4x4 rig..., my power bill... doubled ...
 

123bob

Xtreme Refugee
Joined
Apr 1, 2009
Messages
286 (0.09/day)
Likes
240
Location
Pacific Northwest, USA
@oily

This is what Sparky and I were talking about in posts 427-429 in regards to HPF2 and Vista.

IIRC, this has been known to affect 32 bit Vista machines also. Here is a thread from the WCG forum that goes into it. We never did come up with a full solution. It seems to be "hit-or-miss" for a fix.

If you don't like the errors, you can un-check the HPF2 project on your profile page at WCG. This will stop you from getting HPF2 WUs.

Regards,
Bob
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2006
Messages
2,312 (0.56/day)
Likes
670
Location
Norn Iron
Processor Q9550 @3.8
Motherboard Asus Maximus Extreme
Cooling Custom water cooling
Memory 4GB Patriot Viper DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) 2x HD4870 512MB
Storage 2x 500GB
Display(s) 3x LG L226WTQ 22" Widescreen LCD
Case Modded TJ07
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply PC P&C Silencer 750
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
I suppose I am. For one thing, I don't really know GPU folding because I barely buy any video cards to fold with. My passion doesn't lie with video cards apparently.

I am for low-voltage computing where performance per watt matters.



Yes..., do watch your power bill. When I had 8 rigs running... along with AMD quad-FX 4x4 rig..., my power bill... doubled ...
No probs...and my power bill has risen sharply with folding on three rigs with GPU's..the low voltage performance may be the way to go.

@oily

This is what Sparky and I were talking about in posts 427-429 in regards to HPF2 and Vista.

IIRC, this has been known to affect 32 bit Vista machines also. Here is a thread from the WCG forum that goes into it. We never did come up with a full solution. It seems to be "hit-or-miss" for a fix.

If you don't like the errors, you can un-check the HPF2 project on your profile page at WCG. This will stop you from getting HPF2 WUs.

Regards,
Bob
Thanks for the link Bob....I was just looking at the site and may change my projects on these couple of machines.
 

SparkyJJO

New Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2009
Messages
311 (0.10/day)
Likes
33
System Name Dominator
Processor Core i7-2600k @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-D3H
Cooling XSPC Raystorm, MCW82, MCR320, DDC 3.2 Petras top, EK150 res
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws 2x4GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Radeon 7950
Storage 2x Crucial M4 256GB SSD, 500GB and 1TB Samsung storage
Display(s) Samsung 46" HDTV :D
Case Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570 (modded for internal WC)
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply Corsair HX620
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
If I remember correctly, in Windows XP, the SMP client used to use a fairly large amount of a core's computing powers.
But, in Vista, I was told that it uses almost zero cpu powers if set up correctly, so that should not be an issue.

What I do know is I do get a few errors even on rigs that I run stock setups.

I don't OC WCGing rigs anymore due to having had a nightmare with power bills once when I was really addicted to WCGing.
That was GPU. And the CPU usage with GPU in XP is fixed since driver 181.20 which is awesome :)
 
T

twilyth

Guest
I've had to reduce my farm to 2 machines from 6 but I'm keeping them on TPU's team indefinitely. It's only about 20k WCG points per day, but it should help.

I hope I will be able to finally get a new machine up with a Powercolor 4850 up and running, but I don't know about doing any folding. I shut down the other machines because my electric bill was over $300/mo even with oil heat. I'm obsessive-compulsive but I'm not stupid - although since I'd been doing it for over a year I guess that's debatable. Anyway, I'll have to see how much the 4850 draws at load and if it interferes with video operations.

Plus, I might give some of my "old" machines to friends, in which case I'll insist they run boinc - on my account of course - hehehe. :cool:
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2009
Messages
2,143 (0.66/day)
Likes
312
System Name THE MAD BEAST!!!
Processor Tinfoil rapper with some coathangers
Motherboard Graham cracker with with frosting
Cooling A shovel full of snow
Memory Grey matter out of a corpse
Video Card(s) Cat eyes
Storage A whales brain
Display(s) Cyclops eyeball
Case Inside a yetis hollowed out corpse
Audio Device(s) howling banchee
Power Supply 32 hamster on a massive wheel
Software WHo needs software when you have a box of kittens
Benchmark Scores IS gatrillions a number?
hey guys, stopped folding for awhile, base got hit by a tornado last night, she got pretty beat up, lost power, lots of trees down, tree almost crushed my car, it was strong enough to snap millitary grade gates. hahahah BUT IM BACK UP AND FOLDING NOW, sorry for the pause in folding
 

Chicken Patty

WCG Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
28,599 (7.79/day)
Likes
12,629
Location
Miami, Florida
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (WI-FI AC)
Cooling EK Water blocks P280 Water Cooling Kit
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD (OS)// OCZ Vertex 4 128GB // WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" LED 4K TV
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 120-G2
Software Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition
Benchmark Scores Real man crunch for TPU! :)
hey guys, stopped folding for awhile, base got hit by a tornado last night, she got pretty beat up, lost power, lots of trees down, tree almost crushed my car, it was strong enough to snap millitary grade gates. hahahah BUT IM BACK UP AND FOLDING NOW, sorry for the pause in folding
folding or crunching?

anyhow, sorry to hear bout that, good everything came out ok and that you are ok :toast:
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2009
Messages
2,143 (0.66/day)
Likes
312
System Name THE MAD BEAST!!!
Processor Tinfoil rapper with some coathangers
Motherboard Graham cracker with with frosting
Cooling A shovel full of snow
Memory Grey matter out of a corpse
Video Card(s) Cat eyes
Storage A whales brain
Display(s) Cyclops eyeball
Case Inside a yetis hollowed out corpse
Audio Device(s) howling banchee
Power Supply 32 hamster on a massive wheel
Software WHo needs software when you have a box of kittens
Benchmark Scores IS gatrillions a number?
crunching sorry...dont think my laptops would fold very well HAHAHAHA. and thanks chicken...its was crazy