1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's WCG/BOINC Team

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,289 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    954
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    Where are you guys seeing that at? the several pages of pending.
     
  2. agent00skid

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    744 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    688
    Location:
    Denmark
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,289 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    954
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    thanks.

    I only have a lil over 6 pages waiting since 6/6
     
  4. Daimus

    Daimus

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    527 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    474
    Location:
    somewhere in Eastern Europe
    Just checked the results. Yesterday it was 14 pages, now it's 27, no one result of today's work is validated.
     
  5. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    11,221 (6.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31,178
    Anyone know what's going on with WCG- I keep uploading and reporting work but my points haven't moved in BOINC manager for the last few hours?

    This time is much longer than usual :confused:

    ** EDIT- I checked WCG and my last "valid" result was reported nearly 6 hrs ago and everything since is going straight to "pending validation**
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,976 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,269
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Tell me about it. I have been stuck at 7500 points for the day for the last few hours. And yesterdays seemed really low for me.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,605 (5.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,670
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I had to shutdown for the day due to heat
     
  8. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,778 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,978
    I hear you, its 104F today :eek: Almost hot enough to turn on the AC, but not quite.
     
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,605 (5.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,670
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Bad thing is. No AC at my place, yet.
     
    theonedub says thanks.
  10. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,992 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,655
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Almost everyone in Florida has an AC. Don't know how some of you other guys in the south live without one.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  11. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,605 (5.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,670
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Up in Ohio was high 80s. Abnormal for us, don't usually need an ac but today it was very high humidity as well. Sucked horribly.
     
  12. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,301 (7.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,758
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Have central heating and air here 15 1/2 SEER 3 1/4 ton unit! Cools my small house without a sweat
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,992 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,655
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    My workplace has a 2 ton unit on one side and a 15K BTU LG window unit on the other. At home, we have a nice 18 SEER Carrier that keeps our 3K sq. ft. house nice and cool, and our power bill went down by nearly half when we installed it and got rid of the POS Bryant unit and the leaky ductwork. It cost a fortune to install though.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  14. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,301 (7.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,758
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Yea my house was built in 1952 and had AC install when it became popular in the late 70's early 80s (original couple were rich) and that unit still worked the day we took it out and installed this new carrier unit. our bill was almost 400$ in the summer and now its 130-160$ a month!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,728 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,582
    Location:
    South of Planet Earth
    :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,992 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,655
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Yeah, changing an older A/C and ductwork out can have a dramatic effect on your power bill. Imagine if everyone had an efficient air conditioner!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  17. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,605 (5.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,670
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Holy crap. Supposed to be 95 with high humidity the next 3 freaking days. Won't be crunching guys. Going to take it offline or cut down on threads.
     
  18. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,992 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,655
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    I rebuilt the old HP dv5000 that was lying in pieces on my floor for a couple months. Has a single core 2GHz Turion 64 1MB (Socket 754) which I was using on an ASRock K8NF6P board that is currently in storage, ATI RS480M/IXP400 chipset and a clicky 30GB Hitachi hard drive. It's more convenient for me to finish off my farm with 1 or 2 laptops versus moar desktops (I have too many of those, can't you tell?). Dunno when I'm getting the Pentium M laptop and Pentium D CPU yet, should probably PM the trader about those.

    Also bought a socket A and 939 board from Solaris17 to help him out on his upcoming mad dash to Florida. Haven't forgotten about you, Mad Shot. I may be able to buy that combo soon. :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  19. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,976 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,269
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    No problem man take your time. :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,992 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,655
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Made another deal with a TPU member in need. I'm getting a Phenom 8550 tri-core in exchange for Brandon's former 4200+ Windsor and some cash. The Windsor will spend the rest of its life in an emachine that originally came with an AMD Sempron LE-1250, and the 8550 will replace the Windsor in my ASRock AM2NF3-VSTA.

    Might also migrate some of my machines that don't do GPU folding to Ubuntu, starting with this dv5000. It's running XP right now but I bet I can get about 30% more performance from a 64bit OS, even XP x64 perhaps. BOINC is a bit of a pain to get installed and running on Linux, but I did have a successful install about 2 months ago on a machine with BOINC.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  21. agent00skid

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    744 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    688
    Location:
    Denmark
    Boinc hard to install on Ubuntu? Using non-graphical one?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,992 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,655
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    I was using the graphical one, but it needed to have a terminal open at the same time as the actual window. Not saying I am exactly a Linux n00b as I run game servers on Linux machines remotely, but the amount of steps needed compared to the Windows version was much greater, not to mention the Linux one didn't even start up as a "service" by default. Can't say I used that system much after finding out F@H supports Linux but has zero WUs for GPUs, derp.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  23. agent00skid

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    744 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    688
    Location:
    Denmark
    I just installed from repository. First time used manager to register to project, and now it's autostarting even.

    Not that I'm much good at Ubuntu, but do occasionally use it.
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,992 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,655
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    That might have been the issue, then. I think I downloaded the generic Linux one straight from WCG or something. Is it in a default Ubuntu repository?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  25. agent00skid

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    744 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    688
    Location:
    Denmark
    boinc-client and boinc-manager
     
    Jstn7477 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (1 member and 1 guest)

thebluebumblebee