• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

TPU's WCG/BOINC Team

Joined
Jan 24, 2010
Messages
3,578 (1.24/day)
Likes
1,918
Location
Oregon, USA
System Name GLaDOS
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8 ghz
Motherboard MSI 990FXA-GD65
Cooling Corsair H50
Memory Corsair DDR3 1333Mhz (2 x 4GB)
Video Card(s) MSI R7970
Storage 2 WD Blue 500GBs, 1 WD 1TB
Display(s) 2 Acer S231HL 23" LED backlit LCD's on a Dual LCD stand
Case Corsair 600T White edition
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 850HX 850W
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Try a different PSU already?

Does the motherboard post even?
 

[Ion]

WCG Team Assistant
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
13,391 (4.45/day)
Likes
14,251
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
System Name Niedersachsen / Ribe / Minsk
Processor i3 3240 / i7-3520M / 4x Opteron 6376 @ 2.86GHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR H61M / HP Q77 / Supermicro H8QG7
Cooling Stock / Stock / 4x 1U G34
Memory 1x8GB / 2x4GB / 4x4GB
Video Card(s) GTX260 / Intel HD 4000 / nVidia GT310
Storage 80GB Intel SSD / 256GB Intel SSD / 2x 60GB SSD (RAID1)
Display(s) Dell 3007 + HP 2245w / 12.1" 1366x768 / None
Case Antec NSK3480 / HP / Supermicro 1U
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 500W / HP 130W / Supermicro Gold 1400W
Keyboard IBM Model M
Software Windows 7 (Niedersachsen/Ribe) / Linux Mint 17.2 (Minsk)
Try a different PSU already?

Does the motherboard post even?
I ninja-edited my post--I've tried two known-good PSUs. All that happens is the fans spin about a quarter-turn and then stop. No POST--it doesn't get that far.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
4,001 (1.32/day)
Likes
1,652
Location
Sarasota, Florida, USA
System Name Awesomesauce 4.3 | Laptop (MSI GE72VR 6RF Apache Pro-023)
Processor Intel Core i7-5820K 4.16GHz 1.28v/3GHz 1.05v uncore | Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD5 WiFi LGA2011-v3| Stock
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 w/ 2x EK Vardar F4-120ER + various 120/140mm case fans | Stock
Memory G.Skill RJ-4 16GB DDR4-2666 CL15 quad channel | 12GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix A8G Gaming GTX 1080 @ 2075/1368 boost | NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB +200/+500 + Intel 530
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 500GB + Seagate 3TB 7200RPM + others | Kingston 256GB M.2 SATA + 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer G257HU 1440p 60Hz AH-IPS 4ms | 17.3" 1920*1080 60Hz wide angle TN notebook panel
Case Fractal Design Define XL R2 | MSI
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | Realtek with quad stereo speakers and subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair HX850i Platinum | 19.5v 180w Delta brick
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores GTX 1080 please?
Sounds like a short on the motherboard. My little Biostar A780L3B suffered the same fate, PSUs would only activate for a split second and nothing more.
 

[Ion]

WCG Team Assistant
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
13,391 (4.45/day)
Likes
14,251
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
System Name Niedersachsen / Ribe / Minsk
Processor i3 3240 / i7-3520M / 4x Opteron 6376 @ 2.86GHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR H61M / HP Q77 / Supermicro H8QG7
Cooling Stock / Stock / 4x 1U G34
Memory 1x8GB / 2x4GB / 4x4GB
Video Card(s) GTX260 / Intel HD 4000 / nVidia GT310
Storage 80GB Intel SSD / 256GB Intel SSD / 2x 60GB SSD (RAID1)
Display(s) Dell 3007 + HP 2245w / 12.1" 1366x768 / None
Case Antec NSK3480 / HP / Supermicro 1U
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 500W / HP 130W / Supermicro Gold 1400W
Keyboard IBM Model M
Software Windows 7 (Niedersachsen/Ribe) / Linux Mint 17.2 (Minsk)
Sounds like a short on the motherboard. My little Biostar A780L3B suffered the same fate, PSUs would only activate for a split second and nothing more.
I'm not really sure what could have happened to it. I did drive home in the rain with the windows down, but it was under vinyl in the trunk. It's not a crisis though, as I should have no trouble exchanging it for something else.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
4,001 (1.32/day)
Likes
1,652
Location
Sarasota, Florida, USA
System Name Awesomesauce 4.3 | Laptop (MSI GE72VR 6RF Apache Pro-023)
Processor Intel Core i7-5820K 4.16GHz 1.28v/3GHz 1.05v uncore | Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD5 WiFi LGA2011-v3| Stock
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 w/ 2x EK Vardar F4-120ER + various 120/140mm case fans | Stock
Memory G.Skill RJ-4 16GB DDR4-2666 CL15 quad channel | 12GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix A8G Gaming GTX 1080 @ 2075/1368 boost | NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB +200/+500 + Intel 530
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 500GB + Seagate 3TB 7200RPM + others | Kingston 256GB M.2 SATA + 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer G257HU 1440p 60Hz AH-IPS 4ms | 17.3" 1920*1080 60Hz wide angle TN notebook panel
Case Fractal Design Define XL R2 | MSI
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | Realtek with quad stereo speakers and subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair HX850i Platinum | 19.5v 180w Delta brick
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores GTX 1080 please?
Things happen, man. It was probably on its last legs when you tested it before bringing it home. You never know when something won't turn on ever again until it happens.
 

t_ski

Former Staff
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
11,960 (2.81/day)
Likes
6,443
System Name My i7 Beast
Processor Intel Core i7 6800K
Motherboard Asus X99-A II
Cooling Nickel-plated EK Supremacy EVO, D5 with XSPC Bayres & BIX Quad Radiator
Memory 4 x 8GB EVGA SuperSC DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 SuperClocked
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 256GB m.2 SSD + 480GB Sandisk storage SSD
Display(s) Three Asus 24" VW246H LCD's
Case Silverstone TJ07
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
I ninja-edited my post--I've tried two known-good PSUs. All that happens is the fans spin about a quarter-turn and then stop. No POST--it doesn't get that far.
This is what my Intel board was doing. I think this one got an accidental static discharge to kill it.
 

[Ion]

WCG Team Assistant
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
13,391 (4.45/day)
Likes
14,251
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
System Name Niedersachsen / Ribe / Minsk
Processor i3 3240 / i7-3520M / 4x Opteron 6376 @ 2.86GHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR H61M / HP Q77 / Supermicro H8QG7
Cooling Stock / Stock / 4x 1U G34
Memory 1x8GB / 2x4GB / 4x4GB
Video Card(s) GTX260 / Intel HD 4000 / nVidia GT310
Storage 80GB Intel SSD / 256GB Intel SSD / 2x 60GB SSD (RAID1)
Display(s) Dell 3007 + HP 2245w / 12.1" 1366x768 / None
Case Antec NSK3480 / HP / Supermicro 1U
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 500W / HP 130W / Supermicro Gold 1400W
Keyboard IBM Model M
Software Windows 7 (Niedersachsen/Ribe) / Linux Mint 17.2 (Minsk)
The Atom is up and crunching on a new HDD, doing a marvelous ~450 PPD again. More importantly, it's also serving as a WiFi bridge for the i7 (no free expansion slots for a WiFi adapter), so I cam move the laptop now :toast:
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2009
Messages
2,406 (0.83/day)
Likes
2,460
Location
London, UK
System Name Slick
Processor Intel i5 2467M
Motherboard Samsung Series 5 Ultrabook
Memory 8GB Corsair Value
Storage Crucial M4 7mm 256GB
Display(s) 13"
Software Windows 8 Pro x64
Powering down both machines for a day as I need to swap hard drives around, install different OS and shuffle things in my room too. Could do with a day of peace and quiet as well to be honest.

So my pie slot is up for grabs, but not for long. Should be back stronger than ever on Saturday :)
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2010
Messages
3,578 (1.24/day)
Likes
1,918
Location
Oregon, USA
System Name GLaDOS
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8 ghz
Motherboard MSI 990FXA-GD65
Cooling Corsair H50
Memory Corsair DDR3 1333Mhz (2 x 4GB)
Video Card(s) MSI R7970
Storage 2 WD Blue 500GBs, 1 WD 1TB
Display(s) 2 Acer S231HL 23" LED backlit LCD's on a Dual LCD stand
Case Corsair 600T White edition
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 850HX 850W
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Guys, I'm looking to switch my main rig to an SSD. Currently I use a 500GB drive as my boot drive and it has about 200GB free. Should I just spend the extra $ and get a 500ish GB SSD? Or would I be okay with a 256 GB?

I use a lot of different programs and other applications on my home machine. But I feel there's certain things I've installed at the moment I just don't need.

Suggestions?

I've been looking at a Crucial M4 256GB SSD...
 

[Ion]

WCG Team Assistant
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
13,391 (4.45/day)
Likes
14,251
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
System Name Niedersachsen / Ribe / Minsk
Processor i3 3240 / i7-3520M / 4x Opteron 6376 @ 2.86GHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR H61M / HP Q77 / Supermicro H8QG7
Cooling Stock / Stock / 4x 1U G34
Memory 1x8GB / 2x4GB / 4x4GB
Video Card(s) GTX260 / Intel HD 4000 / nVidia GT310
Storage 80GB Intel SSD / 256GB Intel SSD / 2x 60GB SSD (RAID1)
Display(s) Dell 3007 + HP 2245w / 12.1" 1366x768 / None
Case Antec NSK3480 / HP / Supermicro 1U
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 500W / HP 130W / Supermicro Gold 1400W
Keyboard IBM Model M
Software Windows 7 (Niedersachsen/Ribe) / Linux Mint 17.2 (Minsk)
Guys, I'm looking to switch my main rig to an SSD. Currently I use a 500GB drive as my boot drive and it has about 200GB free. Should I just spend the extra $ and get a 500ish GB SSD? Or would I be okay with a 256 GB?

I use a lot of different programs and other applications on my home machine. But I feel there's certain things I've installed at the moment I just don't need.

Suggestions?

I've been looking at a Crucial M4 256GB SSD...
A 500GB seems extremely excessive to me. I run my laptop off a 128GB disk, and have no secondary--I would imagine that you should be able to make do with a 256GB. You may have to move a few games over to a secondary or some less-used programs, but it seems like it would be worth it with the price difference.
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2010
Messages
3,578 (1.24/day)
Likes
1,918
Location
Oregon, USA
System Name GLaDOS
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8 ghz
Motherboard MSI 990FXA-GD65
Cooling Corsair H50
Memory Corsair DDR3 1333Mhz (2 x 4GB)
Video Card(s) MSI R7970
Storage 2 WD Blue 500GBs, 1 WD 1TB
Display(s) 2 Acer S231HL 23" LED backlit LCD's on a Dual LCD stand
Case Corsair 600T White edition
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 850HX 850W
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit

[Ion]

WCG Team Assistant
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
13,391 (4.45/day)
Likes
14,251
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
System Name Niedersachsen / Ribe / Minsk
Processor i3 3240 / i7-3520M / 4x Opteron 6376 @ 2.86GHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR H61M / HP Q77 / Supermicro H8QG7
Cooling Stock / Stock / 4x 1U G34
Memory 1x8GB / 2x4GB / 4x4GB
Video Card(s) GTX260 / Intel HD 4000 / nVidia GT310
Storage 80GB Intel SSD / 256GB Intel SSD / 2x 60GB SSD (RAID1)
Display(s) Dell 3007 + HP 2245w / 12.1" 1366x768 / None
Case Antec NSK3480 / HP / Supermicro 1U
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 500W / HP 130W / Supermicro Gold 1400W
Keyboard IBM Model M
Software Windows 7 (Niedersachsen/Ribe) / Linux Mint 17.2 (Minsk)
Yeah, I'm not too worried really. I just wanted to confirm that I have the right mindset here.

Here's my Options

G.SKILL Phoenix III FM-25S3-240GBP3 2.5" 240GB SAT...

Kingston SSDNow V+200 KR-S3040-3H 2.5" 240GB SATA ...

Intel 335 Series SSDSC2CT240A4K5 2.5" 240GB SATA I...

Crucial M4 CT256M4SSD2 2.5" 256GB SATA III MLC Int...


If you were to purchase a SSD tomorrow out of which four of these would it be?

We use both Crucial and Intel at work so I'm kinda in the air about it.
Probably the Intel 335. Intel SSDs have a well-built reputation of giving good performance and reliable operation. The Crucial M4 is also good, although my Dad has a strange issue with the one in his laptop. If he suspends the computer, it crashes upon resume--probably not as important for a desktop system (particularly a cruncher), but still perhaps relevant. I'd probably choose between one of those two.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
4,001 (1.32/day)
Likes
1,652
Location
Sarasota, Florida, USA
System Name Awesomesauce 4.3 | Laptop (MSI GE72VR 6RF Apache Pro-023)
Processor Intel Core i7-5820K 4.16GHz 1.28v/3GHz 1.05v uncore | Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD5 WiFi LGA2011-v3| Stock
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 w/ 2x EK Vardar F4-120ER + various 120/140mm case fans | Stock
Memory G.Skill RJ-4 16GB DDR4-2666 CL15 quad channel | 12GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix A8G Gaming GTX 1080 @ 2075/1368 boost | NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB +200/+500 + Intel 530
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 500GB + Seagate 3TB 7200RPM + others | Kingston 256GB M.2 SATA + 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer G257HU 1440p 60Hz AH-IPS 4ms | 17.3" 1920*1080 60Hz wide angle TN notebook panel
Case Fractal Design Define XL R2 | MSI
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | Realtek with quad stereo speakers and subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair HX850i Platinum | 19.5v 180w Delta brick
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores GTX 1080 please?
I wouldn't get anything over a 240/256GB model or your IOPS will be cut in half. I'm considering selling my sealed Corsair Force 3 120GB that is fresh from RMA to save up for a 240GB model myself.
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2010
Messages
3,578 (1.24/day)
Likes
1,918
Location
Oregon, USA
System Name GLaDOS
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8 ghz
Motherboard MSI 990FXA-GD65
Cooling Corsair H50
Memory Corsair DDR3 1333Mhz (2 x 4GB)
Video Card(s) MSI R7970
Storage 2 WD Blue 500GBs, 1 WD 1TB
Display(s) 2 Acer S231HL 23" LED backlit LCD's on a Dual LCD stand
Case Corsair 600T White edition
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 850HX 850W
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Yeah, I'm thinking about that Intel SSD. We use them for servers at work and they work really well.

Thanks guys.
 
Joined
May 6, 2012
Messages
772 (0.38/day)
Likes
737
Location
Denmark
System Name Waterfall | Iris
Processor Athlon X4 860K @ 4,4 GHz | i3-6157U
Motherboard ASUS A88X Pro | Acer laptop
Cooling Custom Watercooling | Stock laptop with cooling pad
Memory 2*8GB Avexir Core Blue 2400Hz@1600 DDR3| 2+4GB 2133MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) 2*R9 380 with WC blocks | Iris 550
Storage Crucial BX100 500GB | SK Hynix 256GB SSD + 640GB WD Blue
Display(s) U24E850R+U2515H | Internal 15,6"
Case Fractal Design Define R5 | Laptop
Audio Device(s) Xenyx Q802USB | Realtek
Power Supply SilverStone Strider Gold 850W | 65W 19V Power brick
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion Brown
Software Windows 7 Professional | Fedora
Got a new screen for my desktop. Which means it's now been overclocked. :D



(RAM is a bit down, but it wasn't in the mood for overclocking, and my multiplier steps are enormous.)
CPU could go higher, but I'm keeping the temps below 50°c, and my cooling ain't all that amazing.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,523 (4.59/day)
Likes
3,156
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
Guys, I'm looking to switch my main rig to an SSD. Currently I use a 500GB drive as my boot drive and it has about 200GB free. Should I just spend the extra $ and get a 500ish GB SSD? Or would I be okay with a 256 GB?

I use a lot of different programs and other applications on my home machine. But I feel there's certain things I've installed at the moment I just don't need.

Suggestions?

I've been looking at a Crucial M4 256GB SSD...
My advice to you is to buy a small SSD, like a 64GB OCZ Vertex 4, and use it for the OS and programs. Doing this, I'm only using 27GB out of the 128GB available with my Plextor M5S.

Later on, I bought a 512GB SSD to load games off of. All it's for is games. In heinsight this was a terrible decision as games do load faster, but not $300 faster. Better spent on a platform upgrade IMO (2600k and mainboard or somesuch).

So, get a small SSD and use your current hard drive as a second drive for games and what have you. Games, in my experience, see little benefit from being loaded from my OCZ Agility 4 compared to even my aging hard drive that I was using before—WD5000AALS (an older 500GB Caviar Black drive with 32MB cache, SATA 3Gb/s, no advanced formatting).
 

[Ion]

WCG Team Assistant
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
13,391 (4.45/day)
Likes
14,251
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
System Name Niedersachsen / Ribe / Minsk
Processor i3 3240 / i7-3520M / 4x Opteron 6376 @ 2.86GHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR H61M / HP Q77 / Supermicro H8QG7
Cooling Stock / Stock / 4x 1U G34
Memory 1x8GB / 2x4GB / 4x4GB
Video Card(s) GTX260 / Intel HD 4000 / nVidia GT310
Storage 80GB Intel SSD / 256GB Intel SSD / 2x 60GB SSD (RAID1)
Display(s) Dell 3007 + HP 2245w / 12.1" 1366x768 / None
Case Antec NSK3480 / HP / Supermicro 1U
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 500W / HP 130W / Supermicro Gold 1400W
Keyboard IBM Model M
Software Windows 7 (Niedersachsen/Ribe) / Linux Mint 17.2 (Minsk)
My i7 has run dry of GPU tasks and it won't fetch new work--it keeps saying "connect() failed"--can someone else try to upload something?
 

t_ski

Former Staff
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
11,960 (2.81/day)
Likes
6,443
System Name My i7 Beast
Processor Intel Core i7 6800K
Motherboard Asus X99-A II
Cooling Nickel-plated EK Supremacy EVO, D5 with XSPC Bayres & BIX Quad Radiator
Memory 4 x 8GB EVGA SuperSC DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 SuperClocked
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 256GB m.2 SSD + 480GB Sandisk storage SSD
Display(s) Three Asus 24" VW246H LCD's
Case Silverstone TJ07
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
Both rigs are running and uploading
 

Norton

Moderator & WCG-TPU Captain
Staff member
Joined
Dec 21, 2011
Messages
12,661 (5.80/day)
Likes
36,194
Location
USA
System Name My Fortress/Trish (WCG)/Julia (WCG)/Ella (WCG)/Junior(WCG)/Cruncher 1 & 2/Kreij (WCG)
Processor Ryzen 1700X/i7-970/2600K/i7-980X/3930k/Opteron 6168x4/Ryzen 1600X/FX-8350
Motherboard X370 Taichi/ ASUS R3E/Asus P8P67 Pro/P9X79 Pro/EVGA X58 SLI 3/SuperMicro 4P
Cooling NH-D14/Phanteks/NH-U14S/H70/DeepCool/CM 212+ (x4)/NH-U14S/CM212
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ-3200 (1700X), 16GB GSkill FlareX-2400 (1600X),... various...., 4P- 16x1GB
Video Card(s) RX 580/HD 4670/HD 7770/HD 7770/HD 7770/onboard/HD 7770/onboard
Storage WD 500GB SSD/Seagate 2TB SSHD, everything else is Western Digital (mostly)
Display(s) Dell U2414H & 2409W / Dell 2208WFP (shared)
Case Silverstone FT01B/Source 530/Corsair 230T/Define XL R2/Silverstone FT05/Define R4/custom
Audio Device(s) on board (All)
Power Supply Corsair HX850/TX650/CS650M/X Gold 750/EVGA P2 850/X Gold 1050/HX650
Mouse Logitech G300s
Keyboard Thermaltake Challenger Prime (Great for $30!!!)
Software Win 7 Home 64 (Win 10 Pro 64)/Win Pro 64 or Ubuntu 12.04 LTS/14.04 LTS/17.04
Benchmark Scores Why sit on the Bench when you can get in the game and Crunch!!!
My i7 has run dry of GPU tasks and it won't fetch new work--it keeps saying "connect() failed"--can someone else try to upload something?
My rigs here seem fine?
 

BUCK NASTY

F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust
Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
4,968 (1.32/day)
Likes
4,624
Location
Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-4130 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X Evo
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB GSkill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Strix @ 1503Mhz Core
Storage Corsair Force 90gb SSD/ WD Caviar Blue 750gb
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS
Case Coolermaster Centurion 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec TP750 80+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
My i7 has run dry of GPU tasks and it won't fetch new work--it keeps saying "connect() failed"--can someone else try to upload something?
Try restarting the rig. I have been having connection issues that require a restart lately.
 

[Ion]

WCG Team Assistant
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
13,391 (4.45/day)
Likes
14,251
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
System Name Niedersachsen / Ribe / Minsk
Processor i3 3240 / i7-3520M / 4x Opteron 6376 @ 2.86GHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR H61M / HP Q77 / Supermicro H8QG7
Cooling Stock / Stock / 4x 1U G34
Memory 1x8GB / 2x4GB / 4x4GB
Video Card(s) GTX260 / Intel HD 4000 / nVidia GT310
Storage 80GB Intel SSD / 256GB Intel SSD / 2x 60GB SSD (RAID1)
Display(s) Dell 3007 + HP 2245w / 12.1" 1366x768 / None
Case Antec NSK3480 / HP / Supermicro 1U
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 500W / HP 130W / Supermicro Gold 1400W
Keyboard IBM Model M
Software Windows 7 (Niedersachsen/Ribe) / Linux Mint 17.2 (Minsk)
Try restarting the rig. I have been having connection issues that require a restart lately.
I've tried a restart--it turns out that the Atom setup makes a shitty network bridge. I'm not sure what happened, but it's bridged through my laptop now and works as it should. I'm going to see what I can figure out.
 

t_ski

Former Staff
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
11,960 (2.81/day)
Likes
6,443
System Name My i7 Beast
Processor Intel Core i7 6800K
Motherboard Asus X99-A II
Cooling Nickel-plated EK Supremacy EVO, D5 with XSPC Bayres & BIX Quad Radiator
Memory 4 x 8GB EVGA SuperSC DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 SuperClocked
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 256GB m.2 SSD + 480GB Sandisk storage SSD
Display(s) Three Asus 24" VW246H LCD's
Case Silverstone TJ07
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
You need me to send you a switch with the H50? :laugh:
 
Joined
Oct 27, 2008
Messages
2,212 (0.66/day)
Likes
1,605
Location
Look up. Look way up.
System Name Ultimate Vortex II // Ultimite Vortex
Processor AMD FX 8150 Black @ 4.5Ghz // 1055T@ 3.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV Extreme // Asus M4A89TD PRO/USB3
Cooling CNPS 9900 MAX Red Led//Thermaltake Big Typhoon VX
Memory Corsair Vengeance (2x4Gb) @ 1866 Mhz, 1.5v//Corsair XMS3 Classic (2x4GB) DDR3 @1667Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD 7970//Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Storage Corsair Force 3 90Gb SSD (OS &Games) - WD Caviar Blue 500 GB (Data) // WD Caviar Blue 320 GB
Display(s) LG 22in W2242TQ Black 1680x1050 LCD // Teamviewer to check on UltimateVortex
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 Advanced//CoolerMaster CM 690 w/8 x 120 mm fans
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 8Ch. w/Logitech Z-5500 500W Surround Awesomeness!
Power Supply Coolermaster Silent Pro 850W// OCZ GameXstream 600w
Software Windows 7 x64
Hey All! Sorry haven't been around much...but here I am!!! Had A nice chat session and shring with KieX tonite and I miss you all.

I am working on getting a corporation (building property managers) to get me crunching again!! Hopefully in spring...March is the goal!

Miss you all once again... CP I hope all is well, Norton, Madshot you crazy, Ion, Brandon, Jr, popswala, Stinger you fucker...lol and anyone else I missed.

Mery Christmas to all of you! I will be back!!!!

 

[Ion]

WCG Team Assistant
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
13,391 (4.45/day)
Likes
14,251
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
System Name Niedersachsen / Ribe / Minsk
Processor i3 3240 / i7-3520M / 4x Opteron 6376 @ 2.86GHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR H61M / HP Q77 / Supermicro H8QG7
Cooling Stock / Stock / 4x 1U G34
Memory 1x8GB / 2x4GB / 4x4GB
Video Card(s) GTX260 / Intel HD 4000 / nVidia GT310
Storage 80GB Intel SSD / 256GB Intel SSD / 2x 60GB SSD (RAID1)
Display(s) Dell 3007 + HP 2245w / 12.1" 1366x768 / None
Case Antec NSK3480 / HP / Supermicro 1U
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 500W / HP 130W / Supermicro Gold 1400W
Keyboard IBM Model M
Software Windows 7 (Niedersachsen/Ribe) / Linux Mint 17.2 (Minsk)
You need me to send you a switch with the H50? :laugh:
The problem is that we have Ethernet downstairs and then a WiFi network--and the i7 rig doesn't have any space for a WiFi card (3 double-slot GPUs). I could get a USB WiFi adapter, but I'm too cheap to spend the $17 when I'd only use it for three weeks. So here I am trying to figure out a way to use the Atom as a wireless bridge to the i7, which will then be linked to the i3 with its secondary Ethernet port. Progress has not been as forthcoming as I might like...

@Chaotic: Glad to hear from you--and a Merry Christmas! Dan is a great guy to chat with any time of the day :)
 

HammerON

The Watchful Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
7,433 (2.32/day)
Likes
4,740
Location
Up North
System Name Cruncher / Cruncher 2
Processor i7 6900K / E5 2683 v3
Motherboard X99A Gaming Pro Carbon / ASRock X99 Extreme 4/3.1
Cooling EK Supremacy EVO Elite 2011-3 / EK Supremacy
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 32GB 3200 / G.SKILL Trident Z 16GB 3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 980 Ti Classified / ATI 3650
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 512 GB + Mushkin Reactor 1 TB / OCZ Vertex 4 256 GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U3011 30"
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D / TT Core V51
Audio Device(s) On-board
Power Supply Corsair AX1200 / EVGA 500W
Software Win 10 Pro/ Win 10
Benchmark Scores Always changing~
:rockout:

pics or it didn't happen :D


On my end I have two rigs getting a refresh (12c/18t additional when I'm done). Still considering some more gpu power but can't afford the top end atm :eek:
Here ya go:)




Here we go:)
 
Last edited: