• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Transcend 500GB won't open!

khashayar

New Member
Joined
Jul 11, 2012
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hi everybody,

Few days ago I was working with my computer as always, all of a sudden my external HDD Transcend 500GB stopped working. I was not using any files from the HDD, however I'm not sure if they were busy by a hidden task. I found the drive was ejected and since then, every time I tried to open it by double clicking on the icon, windows says I need to format the drive in order to use it.

I tried to scan it using Partition Find and Mount and apparently there was no issue found. Unfortunately the software did not provide any log.

OS: Windows 7, 64 bit

Could you please help me find a solution for this problem? Do you suggest scanning for bad sectors? What software?

Khashayar

PS. I was advised to take the HDD out of USB enclosure and put into another one and recover files. Because it's possible that the USB enclosure caused the HDD not to open. I tried to recover files without changing the enclosure. but the problem is that I prefer testing the drive before opening the case !
 
Joined
May 27, 2012
Messages
313 (0.15/day)
Likes
40
Location
Malaysia
System Name Elmo
Processor i7 3930k
Motherboard Asus P9 X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH D-14
Memory 16 GB DDr3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) 4GB GTX 770 Windforce X3
Storage 60gbforce3,120gbchronos,120gb force GS,120GB Kingston Hyperx 3k,750gb hitachi, 500gb wd green
Display(s) Samsung 23" led 1080p X 2
Case Nzxt Switch 810
Power Supply Corsair HX 750W
Software win7 ultimate 64 bit
#2
Welcome to tpu . First things first when you plug your external does it display in my computer? Also is there any "!" symbol in device manager?
 

khashayar

New Member
Joined
Jul 11, 2012
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
Welcome to tpu . First things first when you plug your external does it display in my computer? Also is there any "!" symbol in device manager?
Yes it does show it there. I attached the screenshot.
in device manager, everything seems ok and without any "!" or "x"
 

Attachments

Joined
May 27, 2012
Messages
313 (0.15/day)
Likes
40
Location
Malaysia
System Name Elmo
Processor i7 3930k
Motherboard Asus P9 X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH D-14
Memory 16 GB DDr3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) 4GB GTX 770 Windforce X3
Storage 60gbforce3,120gbchronos,120gb force GS,120GB Kingston Hyperx 3k,750gb hitachi, 500gb wd green
Display(s) Samsung 23" led 1080p X 2
Case Nzxt Switch 810
Power Supply Corsair HX 750W
Software win7 ultimate 64 bit
#4
Yes it does show it there. I attached the screenshot.
in device manager, everything seems ok and without any "!" or "x"
try to reformat it if u can .
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.46/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#5
Looks to be a RAW unpartition. Right click my computer and go to manage then under disk management find the drive and right click and format.
 
Joined
May 27, 2012
Messages
313 (0.15/day)
Likes
40
Location
Malaysia
System Name Elmo
Processor i7 3930k
Motherboard Asus P9 X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH D-14
Memory 16 GB DDr3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) 4GB GTX 770 Windforce X3
Storage 60gbforce3,120gbchronos,120gb force GS,120GB Kingston Hyperx 3k,750gb hitachi, 500gb wd green
Display(s) Samsung 23" led 1080p X 2
Case Nzxt Switch 810
Power Supply Corsair HX 750W
Software win7 ultimate 64 bit
#8
try running check disk on it . By using command prompt and navigate to drive location.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.85/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#9
Stop trying to tell this poor guy to wipe his drive before he even attempts a backup.

Can you send us a screenshot of disk manager? You can find it by searching in the start menu "diskmgmt.msc".
 

khashayar

New Member
Joined
Jul 11, 2012
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#10
Stop trying to tell this poor guy to wipe his drive before he even attempts a backup.

Can you send us a screenshot of disk manager? You can find it by searching in the start menu "diskmgmt.msc".
Thank you Aquinus. I attached the screenshot.
 

Attachments

Joined
Sep 16, 2011
Messages
283 (0.12/day)
Likes
64
Location
Portugal
System Name MSIGameRig
Processor Intel 4670k @ 4.2 [1.21v]
Motherboard MSI Z87-GD65 GAMING
Cooling EK XTX 360+240 Rad´s
Memory Corsair 16GB Dominator Plat.2800C11 DDR3 @ 2400Mhz CL11
Video Card(s) 2_WaySLI MSI Gaming_OC GTX770
Storage [RAID0] Corsair Neutron SSD 240GB / WD Black 1TB
Display(s) Dual Samsung HS24" 1920x1080 [2ms]
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 HD
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Software Win7 x64 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores I dont care about bench, just want the max fps possible @ DX11 with extreme AA/AF
#11
I use this quite often to recover lost data:
EASEUS Data Recovery Wizard Professional

If you dont find a way to "start" that HD without format, that software is all you need to recover everything.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.85/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#12
Thank you Aquinus. I attached the screenshot.
Clearly it wasn't RAW before all of this happened. Was it NTFS and have you tried mounting in on a *nix box to see if that works?

I use this quite often to recover lost data:
EASEUS Data Recovery Wizard Professional

If you dont find a way to "start" that HD without format, that software is all you need to recover everything.
+1
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
4,480 (2.09/day)
Likes
3,638
Location
Boca Raton, Florida
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor Phenom II X6 1100T @ 3.7 GHz - NB 3.0 GHz | Xeon E3-1290
Motherboard MSI 970 Gaming | Asus Sabertooth Z77
Cooling TRUE 120 |Deep Cool Assassin
Memory Gskill Ripjaws X - 16GB DDR3 (4x4GB)
Video Card(s) MSI 7970 Twin Frozr III BE OC - 1100/1500
Storage Crucial MX300 525GB + Multiple Mechs
Display(s) SyncMaster 2343BWX 23" 2048x1152 / Dell 1909W 19" 1440x900
Case Sunbeam Transformer Silver - frame is built like a tank
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Extreme Music | X-Fi Titanium - Bookshelf system
Power Supply Corsair TX650 v1
Software Windows XP/7/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores Xeon E3-1290 cpuz world record

khashayar

New Member
Joined
Jul 11, 2012
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#14
Hi everybody!

I recovered all my files finally. THANK YOU ALL!

I just share here what I did exactly for those who might encounter this problem in the future. Please read above first!

First I created an image file using R-Studio (full version) and saved it on a separate drive to make sure I have a backup! Then I tried 'Open Drive Files' feature of the software and luckily MTF was not damaged or overwritten so I had all the folder structure and file names exactly as I had them before! This was I could choose what file needs to be recovered. So now I have all the files I had!

One question though: What should I do with my damaged drive to make it usable? let windows format it? what do you recommend as the safest?

Again, I thank all of you for your help!
Khashayar