• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Transfer speeds between computers over network limited to 10mbps?

xazraelx

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2007
Messages
179 (0.05/day)
Likes
10
Processor i7 920 @ 3.5ghz
Motherboard EVGA x58
Cooling HAF 932
Memory 3x2 Gskills
Video Card(s) Dying 4890 1gb
Storage Too many
Case HAF 932
Software Win7
#1
We just moved into a new apartment, and although this issue has been present for a while, it's starting to become more annoying and noticeable.

The network looks like this:

Internet -> WRT54G running Tomato (I know this is only 10/100)

WRT54G goes to: a PS3, a Windows 7 Machine, and a UPS Surge that links to D-Link gigabit switch

The gigabit switch goes to: Vista Machine, Server 08 Machine, Xbox 360

Nothing on this network transfers at higher than 10mbps. We have Cat6 running from the switch to the Vista Machine and the Server 08 machine, cat5e running to everything else.

The limiters seem to be the following: The UPS has a 10/100 switch inside it, and the WRT54G is running at 10/100. Every motherboard for the PCs supports gigabit. The problem is, I can't get more than 10mbps. The jumbo packets on the Server 08 are set to 9, the highest the jumbo on the Vista machine go to is 7, and the Windows 7 Machine I have no idea what it's running at (not my main concern at the moment lol).

Is there a way that I don't know to enable at LEAST 100 mbps, let alone a gigabit? I was going to buy a gigabit router with wireless N, but at the moment it's seeming pointless since we can't even get above 10mbps.

Thanks for any help, I'm pretty much lost at the moment.
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2008
Messages
1,645 (0.46/day)
Likes
217
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina
System Name Current
Processor i5 2500k @ 4.5
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling Xigmatek Gaia
Memory 2x4G G-skill Sniper
Video Card(s) GTX 680
Storage 128 Crucial M4, 1 TB Seagate Baracuda
Display(s) Shimian Achieva 27"
Case Corsair 400R
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsais HX-620
Software Windows 7
#2
You know there are 8 bits in a byte? So you'll only see a theoretical max of around 12.5MB a second on a home network running 10/100.

10/100 refers to megabits, not megabytes. AKA you're getting 10MB, 10Mb is only 1.25 MB a second.

Getting Gigabit lan would mean you could transfer files at 125MB/s therefore your bottle neck would more than likely be in your hard drives at that point.
 

xazraelx

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2007
Messages
179 (0.05/day)
Likes
10
Processor i7 920 @ 3.5ghz
Motherboard EVGA x58
Cooling HAF 932
Memory 3x2 Gskills
Video Card(s) Dying 4890 1gb
Storage Too many
Case HAF 932
Software Win7
#3
Shouldn't we theorotically be able to transfer faster than 10mbps between the two computers on the gigabit switch though? I'm only getting from 3-5 mbps from the Vista machine to the Server 08 Machine. I get more than that from the Windows 7 machine that's on the other side of the network.
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2008
Messages
1,645 (0.46/day)
Likes
217
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina
System Name Current
Processor i5 2500k @ 4.5
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling Xigmatek Gaia
Memory 2x4G G-skill Sniper
Video Card(s) GTX 680
Storage 128 Crucial M4, 1 TB Seagate Baracuda
Display(s) Shimian Achieva 27"
Case Corsair 400R
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsais HX-620
Software Windows 7
#4
Shouldn't we theorotically be able to transfer faster than 10mbps between the two computers on the gigabit switch though? I'm only getting from 3-5 mbps from the Vista machine to the Server 08 Machine. I get more than that from the Windows 7 machine that's on the other side of the network.
Check windows firewall settings plus any other firewall you may have set.

Otherwise run
netsh interface tcp show global
and check for Window Auto Tuning. If that's is set to enabled, disable it with
netsh interface tcp set global autotuning=disabled
 

xazraelx

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2007
Messages
179 (0.05/day)
Likes
10
Processor i7 920 @ 3.5ghz
Motherboard EVGA x58
Cooling HAF 932
Memory 3x2 Gskills
Video Card(s) Dying 4890 1gb
Storage Too many
Case HAF 932
Software Win7
#5
Check windows firewall settings plus any other firewall you may have set.

Otherwise run and check for Window Auto Tuning. If that's is set to enabled, disable it with
It was set to Highly Restricted on the Vista machine and Normal on the Server 08 machine. I'm currently running a CS4 transfer, but when that's done, I'll test it machine-machine and report back.

Thanks, I didn't even find that in the google search (admittedly it was only like a 10 minute search).
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2007
Messages
1,540 (0.41/day)
Likes
173
System Name :3
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 - 3ghz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS3R LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Dynamic Energy Saver Ultra Durable II Intel Motherboard
Cooling cm 212 EVO
Memory G.SKILL 8GB (4 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1000 (PC2 8000) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model
Video Card(s) BFG GTX 275
Storage WD black 500gb Samsung 1tb
Display(s) 27" 1366x768 Olevia 527v
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) ALC889
Power Supply CORSAIR TX Series CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V v2.3 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Ac
Software Windows 8 pro
#6
youll get 12.5mb/sec on 100mbit, youll get oh, about 300-400mbit on a gigabit lan, which should come out to be what... 30-40mb/sec? maybe a little more.

i would check the wires between the vista and server 08 machine, and the connectors inside the gigabit switch hmmmmmm vista and server 08... i seem to remember some people having performance issues between them for some reason i cant think of why :?

maybe some things that might be relevant to you?
http://www.ads-links.com/index.php/how-to-fix-windows-vista-slow-network-transfer.html
http://social.technet.microsoft.com...g/thread/f4341daf-d4b5-4cd6-813a-ca41b14feb3d

basically they had firewall issues [note: a lot of programs have firewalls or firewall like things in them that aren't documented, AVG is a big free one that does]
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2006
Messages
2,560 (0.63/day)
Likes
271
Location
N.Ireland
Processor Core I5 750
Motherboard MSI P55-A FUZION
Cooling Titan Fenrir
Memory 8 gb Mushkin and 4 gb Hyper X
Video Card(s) Radeon 7850 Xfire
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250 gb / Kingston 128 gb ssd / 3x1 terabyte hdds
Display(s) Technika 32" / Asus 24` ips
Case Xigmatek midgard
Audio Device(s) X-fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 950 w (Hur Hur !)
Software Windows 7
#7
Yes , on a gigabit switch you certainly SHOULD be getting more like 30-40 mbps