• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Transparent windows in Linux?

Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
1,777 (0.50/day)
Likes
163
Location
South Australia
System Name QUACK
Processor Intel i7 2600K (3.4 GHz, 8 threads)
Motherboard Asus P67P8-V3
Cooling Xigmatek Balder 120mm (4x120,1x140mm case)
Memory Patriot 2 Viper Sector 5, 8GB DDR3 1600 MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce GTX 960 G1 4GB
Storage 1x Samsung EVO 850 (500GB) SSD, 1x Fujitsu 256GB SSD
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp U2311h 23" (so sexy)
Case CoolerMaster Gladiator RC-600
Audio Device(s) Onboard 5.1
Power Supply Antec 850w with yellow racing stripes
Software Windows 7 HP 64 bit
#1
Ok, I've been looking at some screenshots of Linux, and somehow they manage to get transparent windows.
I've been doing some research on Google, but didn't find anything on how to make my windows transparent!
So, does anyone know how to make them transparent? (as in, being able to see the window behind another window, text "floating" above the desktop, etc)
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2007
Messages
1,567 (0.42/day)
Likes
611
Processor i5-6600K / i7-6700K / E5-1620 v3 / E5-2650L v4 / E5-2630L v3 / E5-2530 v4
Motherboard Asus Maximus IX APEX / Asrock EPC612D4I Mini
Cooling Noctua / Aquacomputer / EKWB / Corsair
Memory Corsair DP DDR4 2x16GB 3200 / Crucial LVP 2133 ECC 8x8GB
Video Card(s) R9 NANO / VEGA 64 / VEGA 56
Storage nvme's
Display(s) Acer XR382CQK
Case CaseLabs / Lian Li
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X7
Power Supply Corsair AX1500i / Corsair AX1200i / Seasonic (A handful)
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 7 ULT / Windows 10 Pro / unRAID
#2
Ok, I've been looking at some screenshots of Linux, and somehow they manage to get transparent windows.
I've been doing some research on Google, but didn't find anything on how to make my windows transparent!
So, does anyone know how to make them transparent? (as in, being able to see the window behind another window, text "floating" above the desktop, etc)
I have never run linux, but I know the "beryl" package adds a TON of visual effects and tools. I think the name "beryl" has been adopted to something else, but you can google it.
 

Pyeti

New Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2007
Messages
180 (0.05/day)
Likes
18
Location
Way down the South of NZ
System Name Magnum
Processor e6500 @ 3.3 (11*300) @ 1.25v
Motherboard GA-EP45-DS3P
Cooling Noctua NH-U9B
Memory 4gig A-Data Extreme 800+
Video Card(s) HIS 5770
Storage 250gig WD + 2 x 1tb WD Green
Display(s) 2 x BenQ E2200HD
Power Supply Corsair VX450w
Software Windows 7
#3
depends on what distro your running but either beryl or compiz will give you transparency as well as heaps of other effects
 

Grimskull

New Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2007
Messages
197 (0.05/day)
Likes
23
Processor Intel E8400
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X48-DQ6
Cooling OCZ Vendetta
Memory 2x2GB OCZ Reaper PC2-8500
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD4870
Storage 4x750GB Samsung on 2xRAID0
Display(s) 2 x 20" Samsung redRose 2ms DVI
Case Gigabyte 3D Aurora
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX620
Software WIn XP Pro SP3 and Vista Ultimate Dual Boot
#4
all depends on the version of linux you are using. IF you are using Ubuntu you can install the Compfiz Fusion that is in the add/remove software, that will give you all the "Eye Candy" and extras like transperancy and the 3D desktop cube. have a look at the videos on youtube. Type in ubuntu and 3D cube into youtube.
 

blueskynis

New Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2008
Messages
297 (0.09/day)
Likes
36
Location
Serbia, Nis
System Name Fedora-bluesky
Processor Intel P4 531+ @ 3.3GHz
Motherboard Asus P5LD2-VM/C
Memory Kingston 2x512MB 667MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte NV8600GT 256MB
Storage WD 640GB
Display(s) ViewSonic 22"
Case Codegen 403
Audio Device(s) integrated Realtek 882
Software Ubuntu, Fedora, Open Source Software...
#5
Compiz Fusion is already installed in Ubuntu and if you have 3D support (installed driver) then 3D effects are turned on automatically. If you want to personalize 3D effects and add more bells & whistles you must install CompizConfig Settings Manager.
 

Wayward

New Member
Joined
May 23, 2007
Messages
235 (0.06/day)
Likes
10
Processor Core 2 Q9450 775/Yorkfield @ 3.2Ghz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty DK P35-T2RS
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9700 NT
Memory 4x2GB Corsair XMS2-DDR2-800 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD4870 1024MB GDDR5
Storage Seagate 7200.10 500GB SATA2
Display(s) 2x 19" LG LCD
Case Raidmax Scorpio (modified)
Audio Device(s) Audigy2 ZS Platinum
Power Supply Kingwin Mach 1 1220w
#6

Davidelmo

New Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2007
Messages
330 (0.09/day)
Likes
21
Processor Intel i7 920 @4.20Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58 UD5
Cooling Titan Fenrir
Memory 6Gb Patriot 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI HD4870 1Gb
Storage 2x250Gb Seagate Barracuda (RAID 0) plus 2B storage
Display(s) Samsung 22 inch Widescreen
Case Coolermaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Auzen Prelude 7.1
Power Supply PCP&P 750W Silencer
Software Win7 beta
#7
If you have full visual effects installed a running, you can change window transparency by simply holding ALT and scrolling your mouse wheel.

You need to:
install your graphics card
enable full desktop effects - might require extra packages depending on what distro you are using
etc

first.
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
1,777 (0.50/day)
Likes
163
Location
South Australia
System Name QUACK
Processor Intel i7 2600K (3.4 GHz, 8 threads)
Motherboard Asus P67P8-V3
Cooling Xigmatek Balder 120mm (4x120,1x140mm case)
Memory Patriot 2 Viper Sector 5, 8GB DDR3 1600 MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce GTX 960 G1 4GB
Storage 1x Samsung EVO 850 (500GB) SSD, 1x Fujitsu 256GB SSD
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp U2311h 23" (so sexy)
Case CoolerMaster Gladiator RC-600
Audio Device(s) Onboard 5.1
Power Supply Antec 850w with yellow racing stripes
Software Windows 7 HP 64 bit
#8
Er, I'm using this on my laptop. No visual effects for me. :(
I've seen window managers like Fluxbox do transparent windows, but Fluxbox is meant for barebones PCs (i.e., ones worse than mine), so surely there must be an easy way to do it with Gnome without enabling Compiz?
 

Davidelmo

New Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2007
Messages
330 (0.09/day)
Likes
21
Processor Intel i7 920 @4.20Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58 UD5
Cooling Titan Fenrir
Memory 6Gb Patriot 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI HD4870 1Gb
Storage 2x250Gb Seagate Barracuda (RAID 0) plus 2B storage
Display(s) Samsung 22 inch Widescreen
Case Coolermaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Auzen Prelude 7.1
Power Supply PCP&P 750W Silencer
Software Win7 beta
#9
Er, I'm using this on my laptop. No visual effects for me. :(
I've seen window managers like Fluxbox do transparent windows, but Fluxbox is meant for barebones PCs (i.e., ones worse than mine), so surely there must be an easy way to do it with Gnome without enabling Compiz?
Does the laptop not have a graphics card?

I use Ubuntu on my laptop with a 128Mb ATI Mobility x1400 and I can use full visual effects without compiz.

Took me a while to get the graphics card fully installed and working though but once I did that it was fine.
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
1,777 (0.50/day)
Likes
163
Location
South Australia
System Name QUACK
Processor Intel i7 2600K (3.4 GHz, 8 threads)
Motherboard Asus P67P8-V3
Cooling Xigmatek Balder 120mm (4x120,1x140mm case)
Memory Patriot 2 Viper Sector 5, 8GB DDR3 1600 MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce GTX 960 G1 4GB
Storage 1x Samsung EVO 850 (500GB) SSD, 1x Fujitsu 256GB SSD
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp U2311h 23" (so sexy)
Case CoolerMaster Gladiator RC-600
Audio Device(s) Onboard 5.1
Power Supply Antec 850w with yellow racing stripes
Software Windows 7 HP 64 bit
#10
Hmm. I'll put my specs down as well. It might help.

Graphics: ATI Rage 128 Mobility M3; as powerful and reliable as a lemming. :D
CPU: Intel PIII-M @ 850 MHz. Not exactly a powerhouse, but enough to get by.
RAM: SDRAM. 512 MB of it. Good stuff. :ohwell:
HDD: 9.3 GB of... clattering, clinking 4200 RPM platters.

As you can see, It's a bit old. The hard drive is almost dead, the graphics are glitching (not due to drivers), and the battery is dead. But hey, Linux is good on old stuff! :)
I'm not necessarily after whiz-bang desktop effects, I'd just like see-through windows in Gnome. I'll even do Command-line stuff if I have to, to enable transparency. All my taskbars are transparent, and I know the graphics card can do SOME form of rendering, so transparent windows shouldn't affect performance...
 

Becard

New Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2008
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
In the Mountains
#11
Theres actually a better way to do this.
Heres how to do it:
1. Go into the compiz Config settings Manager (which is in System->Preferences->CCSM)
2. Go to the opacity, Brightness, and Saturation settings, and click the opacity tab.
3. Now add the following lines under windows specific settings:
DropdownMenu
normal
dialog
menu
popupmenu
tooltip
notification
utility

While adding the lines, Makes sure to specify the opacity you want (though I recommend setting it to 90%. Any less and the windows may get a little hard to read)
This will make ALL of the windows transparent. However, this can get annoying when watching movies, so to fix this, go back into opacity, Brightness, and Saturation settings, and in order to add the apps you want solid, click the + button in the line settings. There should be an option to grab the program (Provided its open), and set the window Opacity to 100%. Now one last thing: Make sure the specialized lines are above the line which make the windows transparent, otherwise this won't work.

Hope this helps.
 

Stephen

New Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2008
Messages
136 (0.04/day)
Likes
4
Location
Legana, Tasmania, Australia
System Name Kubuntu Computer
Processor AMD Athlon 64 LE-1620 2.4 GHz
Motherboard Asus M2N-MX SE Plus
Memory 2 GB Patriot Signature Line DDR2 800 MHz
Video Card(s) Onboard GeForce 6100
Storage 160 GB Samsung Spinpoint
Display(s) Some piece of crap DiamondDigital 17" crt
Case Asus TM-220
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply 300w stock
Software Kubuntu 8.10
#12
With KDE 4.1 (for me anyway) you can set it to change the opacity of the window using the scroll wheel on the mouse while hovering over the title bar (the top of the window)
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
1,777 (0.50/day)
Likes
163
Location
South Australia
System Name QUACK
Processor Intel i7 2600K (3.4 GHz, 8 threads)
Motherboard Asus P67P8-V3
Cooling Xigmatek Balder 120mm (4x120,1x140mm case)
Memory Patriot 2 Viper Sector 5, 8GB DDR3 1600 MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce GTX 960 G1 4GB
Storage 1x Samsung EVO 850 (500GB) SSD, 1x Fujitsu 256GB SSD
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp U2311h 23" (so sexy)
Case CoolerMaster Gladiator RC-600
Audio Device(s) Onboard 5.1
Power Supply Antec 850w with yellow racing stripes
Software Windows 7 HP 64 bit
#13
These are some good answers, but a few months too late. I've given up on KDE for the moment and have Dream Linux installed on my laptop. Thanks for the answers in any case! :)