• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

TRENDnet Launches Smallest 500 Mbps Powerline Adapter With Built in Outlet

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,335 (9.22/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#1
TRENDnet, a best-in-class wired and wireless networking hardware brand, announces today from Computex Taipei, the launch of the 500 Mbps Compact Powerline AV Adapter with Built in Outlet, model TPL-407E, and the 500 Mbps Compact Powerline AV Adapter Kit with Built in Outlet, model TPL-407E2K, which comes with two TPL-407E adapters.

TRENDnet's innovative TPL-407E connects Internet televisions, media players, game consoles, and computers to the Internet using existing electrical lines. The TPL-407E is about half the size of comparable solutions available today, saving valuable space around crowded electrical outlets.

Show full news post
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2009
Messages
865 (0.27/day)
Likes
98
Location
Dawn
#2
This kind of broadband I've heard of, but have yet to know the limitations and the implementation. Presumably this requires some kind of ISP provided by, the electric company? They need infrastructure that allows your computer to connect to a DNS server from the power lines (presumably they own the power lines in this example)...does anyone have a good grasp on how this infrastructure works? How it differs and how implementable it is? And if it's preferable?

I like the idea of the infrastructure overlapping, but it seems like a major rebuild of existing...well infrastructure again.
 

Fourstaff

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,377 (3.19/day)
Likes
2,101
Location
Home
System Name Asus K50-X5DAB \\ Orange!
Processor Athlon QL-65 2.2Ghz \\ 3570K
Motherboard Laptop \\ ASRock z77 Extreme4
Cooling Laptop \\ H100i
Memory 1x1GB + 1X2GB \\ 2x4Gb 1600Mhz CL9 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon HD4570 512mb \\ Zotac 660Ti OC 2Gb
Storage 250Gb \\ Samsung 840 250Gb + Toshiba DT01ACA300 3Tb
Display(s) 15.6" 1366x768 \\ LG 22EA53VQ
Case Laptop Chassis \\ NZXT Phantom 410 Black/Orange
Power Supply Power Brick \\ Corsair CXM500w
#3
You have never used a powerline adapter I take it? Basically what happens is you will have a pair of these powerline adapters, one for the router and the other near the "target device", so essentially you are using the existing power cable as your ethernet cable.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,922 (6.24/day)
Likes
10,023
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#5
Correct. ISPs want nothing to do with electric companies.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,627 (2.38/day)
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#6
Being a powerline... I would expect higher transfer speeds on all powerline adapters. Why isn't there?
What is the range of these? Like could I put on in my neighbors house? Across town? Why not?
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,517 (6.45/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#7
I want to test PLE but the prices are more than I would like to invest in something that may not work properly.