• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TrendNet Launches The Smallest 500 Mbps Powerline Networking Adapter

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
41,501 (8.23/day)
Location
Hyderabad, India
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix B450-E Gaming
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 2x 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Palit GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER GameRock
Storage Western Digital Black NVMe 512GB
Display(s) BenQ 1440p 60 Hz 27-inch
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Cooler Master MWE Gold 650W
Mouse ASUS ROG Strix Impact
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro
TrendNet, a best-in-class wired and wireless networking hardware brand, announces today from 2012 International CES in Las Vegas, Nevada, the 500 Mbps Compact Powerline AV Adapter, model TPL-406E, and the 500 Mbps Compact Powerline AV Adapter Kit, model TPL-406E2K, which comes with two TPL-406E adapters. These high performance 500 Mbps adapters come in the smallest form factor to date.

New media center devices such as Internet televisions, network video recorders (NVRs), receivers, and game consoles are now network ready-meaning they are capable of streaming large HD files directly from the Internet. TRENDnet's ground breaking 500 Mbps Compact Powerline AV Adapters connect media center devices and computers to the Internet using existing electrical lines.



Network one adapter to a router and plug another adapter into any outlet on the same electrical system for instant high speed network access. Different TRENDnet adapters automatically connect to each other over a secure encrypted signal with no CD installation required. For additional security, press the Sync button to change existing encryption keys. Embedded power saving technology lowers power consumption by up to 70% in standby mode-resulting in measurable power savings, given that the adapters are always plugged in.

"Consumers are looking for solutions to help connect their TVs to the Internet and TRENDnet Powerline products couldn't be easier-with no complicated CD installation required," stated Sonny Su, technology director for TRENDnet. "The TPL-406E defines a new category of ultra-compact high performance 500 Mbps Powerline adapters."

The 500 Mbps Compact Powerline AV Adapter, model TPL-406E, comes with a three year limited warranty and will be available from TRENDnet's online and retail partners this coming April. The MSRP for the TPL-406E is US $59.99 The 500 Mbps Compact Powerline AV Adapter Kit, model TPL-406E2K, comes with a three year limited warranty and will be available from TRENDnet's online and retail partners this coming April.

The MSRP for the TPL-406E2K is US $99.99.

View at TechPowerUp Main Site
 

aahzmandius

New Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2012
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
It's a shame powerline offers horrible performance though. I doubt it gets anywhere near 500Mbit.

I'm currently using Powerline Ethernet in my home to connect devices upstairs to the main system downstairs. My house has three main circuit breakers, and I'm crossing from one to another to get to the downstairs power grid. I'm using the Zyxel PLA407 model to do all of this. It's rated at 200Mbps. I consistently get 30MBps in speed tests to SpeakEasy's speed test site (that's 240Mbps, for those of you who don't know the difference between MBps and Mbps). The computers on the downstairs network (which are connected via gigabit to each other and the router) get 50-60MBps in spikes. This leads me to believe that I'm maxing out the bandwidth of the PLA network, because I'm not seeing more than 250KBps difference between tests, and downstairs is seeing upwards of 10MBps difference between tests.

This is a newer house (20 years old), with rock-solid power cabling inside, so that may be helping my situation, also.

PLA *used* to be very flaky and had trouble dealing with crossing breaker panels to get to other parts of the home power network....it does not any longer.
--Aahzmandius
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
50,524 (8.23/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (EK Quantum Velocity block) (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling Custom EK loop, 360mm top exhaust rad 280mm front intake rad
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @ 3800 C16
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB - EK Quantum ARGB block w/ active backplate 1750MHz 737mv | 10950MHz VRAM
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 500GB 850 Evo
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (2x 32" 1440p 165Hz/144Hz curved )
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
it has the same flaw as wifi, where it claims its speeds in full duplex - so this would be more like 250Mb each direction.


still, its bloody useful for situations where wifi doesnt work, or cant be used.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
28,083 (4.90/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) Acer Nitro VG280K 4K 28"
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Damn, I just got the big versions for X-Mas. Now I wish I had waited and got the small versions, because the big ones block the outlet next to them.

It's a shame powerline offers horrible performance though. I doubt it gets anywhere near 500Mbit.

It depends on the situation, if they are on the same breaker then yes it is very close to 500Mbps. On different breakers the performance suffers.

In my situation the house is wired with ethernet cables. However, the jack in the living room is on the wall opposite where the TV is(the TV used to be on the wall with the jack before we got new furnature). So just running from one side of the room to the other gives very close to 500Mbps. Which is way better than wireless n since the router is in the basement.

it has the same flaw as wifi, where it claims its speeds in full duplex - so this would be more like 250Mb each direction.


still, its bloody useful for situations where wifi doesnt work, or cant be used.

Yeah, true, but if you are doing file transfers in one direction then you get pretty much the full transfer speed. And in my experience powerline gives a way faster connection than Wireless G and a little faster connection than Wireless N but a much more stable connection with lower average pings and less dropout.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
50,524 (8.23/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (EK Quantum Velocity block) (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling Custom EK loop, 360mm top exhaust rad 280mm front intake rad
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @ 3800 C16
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB - EK Quantum ARGB block w/ active backplate 1750MHz 737mv | 10950MHz VRAM
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 500GB 850 Evo
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (2x 32" 1440p 165Hz/144Hz curved )
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
i was going to mention before and forgot, this is also a good method to get faster speeds to consoles, my PS3 and its sucky wifi G hates HD media, yet over wifi N (via a wireless bridge) or powerline, works fien.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
28,083 (4.90/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) Acer Nitro VG280K 4K 28"
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
i was going to mention before and forgot, this is also a good method to get faster speeds to consoles, my PS3 and its sucky wifi G hates HD media, yet over wifi N (via a wireless bridge) or powerline, works fien.

Yeah, the wifi in my launch PS3 totally sucks. Even streaming SD media sometimes skips when using it, but no such problem with the powerline.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
21,687 (4.16/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.VI
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling CPU: BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 {1xCorsair ML120 Pro|5xML140 Pro}
Memory 32GB XPG Gammix D10 {2x16GB}
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC|Accelero Xtreme IV
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White)
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
It's a shame powerline offers horrible performance though. I doubt it gets anywhere near 500Mbit.

Guru3D reviewed a 500mb model just recently. I think the review said it was hardly worth the effort switching up from the 200mbs as there wasnt a huge amount of difference
 

WarraWarra

New Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2010
Messages
268 (0.07/day)
No wifi on this ?

If only they took the Airlive N.Mini $36 + shipping and added the powerline feature to it then it would be worth the price.

Nice effort and size.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
21,687 (4.16/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.VI
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling CPU: BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 {1xCorsair ML120 Pro|5xML140 Pro}
Memory 32GB XPG Gammix D10 {2x16GB}
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC|Accelero Xtreme IV
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White)
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
No wifi on this ?

If only they took the Airlive N.Mini $36 + shipping and added the powerline feature to it then it would be worth the price.

Nice effort and size.

then what would be the point of getting powerline if youre just going to go wifi anyway?? you might as well save the money and get a cheap USB wifi dongle or something.

Powerline uses the electric cables in your house as a network instead of having to use or lay your own network cables.

If your wifi reception is bad there are cheap ways to fix it such moving the router to a spot with better reception or getting a more powerful antenna for it. 8-10dB indoor antennas are ludicrously cheap.
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2008
Messages
1,020 (0.21/day)
Location
Transylvania (RO) working in Barcelona (ES)
System Name Rzyen Twins
Processor R5 3600 / R5 5600X
Motherboard Aorus B550M Pro / B550 Pro AC
Cooling ThermalRight ARO-M140 x2
Memory 16Gb 3200 / 32Gb 3600
Video Card(s) RX480 8Gb / RX 6700XT 12Gb
Storage 256 nvme + 4Tb / 1Tb nvme + 12Tb
Display(s) Benq 27" 1080p^60Hz / TUF 27" 1440p^165Hz
Case Fractal Design ARC Mini R2 / CM H500M
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z2300 200W 2.1 / Z906 1000W 5.1
Power Supply EVGA P2 850W x2
Software Windows 10 PRO x2
I have a question about this products (Powerline network adapters)....
If i want to share my internet connection with a friend, but he lives like 5 houses away from me, this still works? or just works in my house?
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
21,687 (4.16/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.VI
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling CPU: BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 {1xCorsair ML120 Pro|5xML140 Pro}
Memory 32GB XPG Gammix D10 {2x16GB}
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC|Accelero Xtreme IV
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White)
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
I have a question about this products (Powerline network adapters)....
If i want to share my internet connection with a friend, but he lives like 5 houses away from me, this still works? or just works in my house?

It only works in your house, otherwise youd have to go knocking on everyones doors down the street and asking them if they got one cuz once people start plugging in everyone would start using each others internets for free and it would cause a lot of conflicts if people use different ISPs
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2008
Messages
1,020 (0.21/day)
Location
Transylvania (RO) working in Barcelona (ES)
System Name Rzyen Twins
Processor R5 3600 / R5 5600X
Motherboard Aorus B550M Pro / B550 Pro AC
Cooling ThermalRight ARO-M140 x2
Memory 16Gb 3200 / 32Gb 3600
Video Card(s) RX480 8Gb / RX 6700XT 12Gb
Storage 256 nvme + 4Tb / 1Tb nvme + 12Tb
Display(s) Benq 27" 1080p^60Hz / TUF 27" 1440p^165Hz
Case Fractal Design ARC Mini R2 / CM H500M
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z2300 200W 2.1 / Z906 1000W 5.1
Power Supply EVGA P2 850W x2
Software Windows 10 PRO x2
I thought that tis adapter uses a WEP or other security protocol... So this doesn't work this way :(
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
21,687 (4.16/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.VI
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling CPU: BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 {1xCorsair ML120 Pro|5xML140 Pro}
Memory 32GB XPG Gammix D10 {2x16GB}
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC|Accelero Xtreme IV
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White)
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
I thought that tis adapter uses a WEP or other security protocol... So this doesn't work this way :(

WEP is a WIRELESS encription security algorithm. not useable on WIRED networks
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
50,524 (8.23/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (EK Quantum Velocity block) (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling Custom EK loop, 360mm top exhaust rad 280mm front intake rad
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @ 3800 C16
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB - EK Quantum ARGB block w/ active backplate 1750MHz 737mv | 10950MHz VRAM
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 500GB 850 Evo
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (2x 32" 1440p 165Hz/144Hz curved )
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
I thought that tis adapter uses a WEP or other security protocol... So this doesn't work this way :(

its enrypted, so that if you used this in an office, someone cant buy a device plug it in, and free internet.
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2007
Messages
679 (0.14/day)
Location
Hampton Roads
Processor Xeon 5650
Motherboard SABERTOOTH X58
Cooling Fans
Memory 24 GB Kingston HyperX 1600
Video Card(s) gtx1060
Storage small ssd
Display(s) Dell 2001F, BenQ short throw
Case Lian Li
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply X750
Software Mint 19.2
Benchmark Scores not so fast...
Stefanels, technically your friend might be able to get the signal. The signal dies at any transformer.
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Staff member
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,996 (2.79/day)
Location
Mid-Atlantic
System Name Desktop
Processor i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard AsRock MicroATX Z170M Extreme4
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x 16 Gb Gskill Ripjaws 2400
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 5700
Storage Samsung 970 EVO 1 TB m.2 NVMe + Samsung 860 EVO 2 TB SATA3 SSD
Display(s) LG 34GK950F-B 34" 21:9 Ultragear WQHD Nano IPS Curved Gaming Monitor with Radeon FreeSync 2
Case Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Corsair K63 Wireless
Software Windows 10
I have the similiar larger 500Mbps model by Trendnet. I average about 30Mbps. Enough to max out my net connection, but not quite fast enough for those really big HD movies. It should be noted that the advertised 500Mbps is on the physical layer. The MAC layer, where CSMA/CA resides pretty much cuts that number in half. So really on the absolute best of conditions you will get 300Mbps with all of your electric utilities unplugged.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
50,524 (8.23/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (EK Quantum Velocity block) (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling Custom EK loop, 360mm top exhaust rad 280mm front intake rad
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @ 3800 C16
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB - EK Quantum ARGB block w/ active backplate 1750MHz 737mv | 10950MHz VRAM
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 500GB 850 Evo
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (2x 32" 1440p 165Hz/144Hz curved )
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
rhino: 30Mb or MB/s ?
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Staff member
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,996 (2.79/day)
Location
Mid-Atlantic
System Name Desktop
Processor i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard AsRock MicroATX Z170M Extreme4
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x 16 Gb Gskill Ripjaws 2400
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 5700
Storage Samsung 970 EVO 1 TB m.2 NVMe + Samsung 860 EVO 2 TB SATA3 SSD
Display(s) LG 34GK950F-B 34" 21:9 Ultragear WQHD Nano IPS Curved Gaming Monitor with Radeon FreeSync 2
Case Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Corsair K63 Wireless
Software Windows 10
rhino: 30Mb or MB/s ?

30 megabits per second. i sometimes have better luck if i unplug one of the units before i use it. it seems to reinitialize the connection and send a stronger signal. because these units, like wifi, have carrier sense they sort of learn which channels they should use the most to be the most reliable. my house is 50 years old and im on two different breakers so that is why i only get 30mbps. that is still more reliable for me though over wireless g and occasionally wireless n. i know a lot of other people have had a lot better luck with wireless n than using these units.

edit: i just ran a quick test with the house quiet (nobody is using any electrical stuff) and i reinitialized the units and got 100mbps. that was short lived however.
 
Last edited:
Top