1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

triple monitors with xfire

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by xmountainxlionx, Oct 13, 2008.

  1. xmountainxlionx

    xmountainxlionx

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    601 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    I bought a third monitor today :) and I cant get vista to see it. I have 2 4850s in xfire and the main monitor and one of the sides are on the main gpu, and they are fine. its the other one thats connected to the secondary gpu that isnt recognized. Also ever since I plugged the new monitor in (22inch, upgrade from 19) every thing is kinda buggy loading stuff. Like i had to disable stardock from the startup cause vista was hanging on it. Im using cat 8,7.
     
  2. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,642 (5.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,745
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    First off, welcome back lion! Missed yah.

    Second, I am pretty sure once crossfire is enabled you cant use the 2 additional DVI ports on the opposite card. A 3rd card will have to be mixed in, it can be a cheap X1300 PCI.
     
    xmountainxlionx says thanks.
  3. xmountainxlionx

    xmountainxlionx

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    601 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    thanks buddy, I have been busy with a baby girl on the way.

    does it have to be another ati card? or just a generic pci video card? obviously i dont have anymore pcie. that just seems odd.
     
  4. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,642 (5.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,745
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    See for yourself, go and disable crossfire. Yes, use another ATi card if your on Vista, as it cannot initialize 2 different display drivers.

    Congrats on the baby girl!
     
  5. xmountainxlionx

    xmountainxlionx

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    601 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    could i plug the third monitor in through usb adaptor?
     
  6. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,642 (5.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,745
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Im not understanding, link me. . .
     
  7. xmountainxlionx

    xmountainxlionx

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    601 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
  8. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,642 (5.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,745
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
  9. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (2.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,201
    yeah, the firefold acts as an external graphics adapter, so it will work like as if it is its own video card. this means that you cant game on the monitor connected to it btw.
     
  10. xmountainxlionx

    xmountainxlionx

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    601 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    well thats good cause i wasnt planning on it
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)