1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Tripp Lite SMART1000LED UPS

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by t_ski, Aug 15, 2007.

  1. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11,802 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,063
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2007
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  2. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    14,252 (3.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,105
    this seems like a nice UPS. i lost power 2 weeks ago and i can no longer play games on my pc longer than 20-25 minutes. poor wiring in an old house is to blame. im definitely getting one of these when i build my next system.
     
  3. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11,802 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,063
    Many UPSs have a feature built into them that tell you if there is a wiring fault, alerting you to probable issues in the future.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Lopez0101

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    878 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    201
    Location:
    Overseas
    The Papa Murphy's I used to work at had a few of these at the registers. That way when the power went out (which it did a few times a year) the registers could keep on running. It wouldn't be rare for the power to stay out for nearly a day, sometimes two. Plus they just look slick.
     
  5. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,275 (2.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,788
    I have overpowered my old Belkin UPS. I have had it for a long time, but purchased some of the larger Tripp-lite ones for work. i believe they are what I am going with on my next system upgrade.





    Nice review.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU 10 Million points folded for TPU
  6. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11,802 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,063
    My system got too big for my old APC. The power would flicker for just a half second, and the battery would be down to 30% lol

    Make sure you upgrade your UPS when the system outgrows it ;)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,275 (2.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,788
    With no demand it will run the system for about 1 minute, during gaming however I can overload it and cause it to shutdown. So for now it runs all my peripherals.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU 10 Million points folded for TPU
  8. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    Interesting, I thought standard power surge strips cleaned the electricity. At any rate, I'm not worrying about it....this is why I love having a battery build into my computer :D
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)