• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

tripple monitor setup

Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
438 (0.11/day)
Likes
16
Processor i7 3820 4.0ghz
Motherboard asus x79 deluxe
Cooling silver arrow
Memory 16gb ripjaw
Video Card(s) gtx 1080 OC edition
Storage 1tb F3 +500gb sata ii 64gb ssd
Display(s) asus 1920 x1080 x3
Case HAF932
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Win 10
#1
im just curious if theres a different way to set this system up, i have 3 1920x1080 monitors all the same, with a tripple mount stand in surround fashion, i game on the center if i dont use all 3 for a specific games, and multi task on the other 2. is there anyway to say run a video on one screen from youtube without limiting the frames. ive read it may be due to google chromes hardware acceleration, anyone know of any settings to fix this, so im not limited to the 30fps on youtube or twitch while watching a stream/video while running a game on the other screen
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
5,620 (3.49/day)
Likes
4,183
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Volt
Processor i7-4790k
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97X Gaming 5
Cooling NZXT Kraken X60
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws 4x8GB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X
Storage 250GB SSD / 2x1TB + 2x2TB HDD
Display(s) 3x AOC 2425W + ViewSonic VA2855Smh
Case Nanoxia Deep Silence 6
Audio Device(s) LucidSound LS30 (Wired)
Power Supply Rosewill Fortress 750w
Mouse G.Skill MX780 RGB
Keyboard G.Skill KM780 RGB (Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Technical term is PEBCAK issue, which stands for Problem Exists Between Chair And Keyboard
#2
Yeah, don't use anything like surround from NVIDIA or eyefinity from AMD. If you keep the monitors "Seperate" then you can do what you want normally though the game must be in windowed or borderless windowed.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,803 (1.72/day)
Likes
1,460
System Name The Green Knight
Processor Intel i5 8600k @4.9GHz w/ Corsair H100i CPU AiO w/Corsair HD120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus Z370-E Gaming
Cooling 6x120mm Corsair HD120 RBG fans
Memory Corsair Vengeance RBG 2x8GB 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 10TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440 OC'd to 100MHz
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Firestrike - 11471 @4.9GHz 980 stock @1178 core 1753 memory 1279 boost Unigine Heaven - 1824
#3
When I had dual screens, I constantly watched YT or movies on one monitor and played WoW on the other. No effect on game performance.
 

peche

Thermaltake fanboy
Joined
Nov 7, 2014
Messages
6,662 (4.82/day)
Likes
5,499
Location
San Jose, Costa Rica
System Name Athenna
Processor intel i7 3770 *Dellided*
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 Rev. 1.1
Cooling Thermaltake Water 3.0 Pro + Tt Riing12 x2 / Tt ThunderBlade / Gelid Slim 120UV fans
Memory 16GB DRR3 Kingoston with Custom Tt spreaders + HyperX Fan
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 980 4GB Nvidia Sample
Storage Crucial M4 SSD 64GB's / Seagate Barracuda 2TB / Seagate Barracuda 320GB's
Display(s) 22" LG FLATRON 1920 x 1280p
Case Thermaltake Commander G42 Window
Audio Device(s) On-board Dolby 5.1+ Kingston HyperX Cloud 1
Power Supply Themaltake TR2 700W 80plus bronce & APC Pro backup 1000Va
Mouse Tt eSports Level 10M Rev 1.0 Diamond Black & Tt Conkor "L" mouse pad
Keyboard Tt eSports KNUCKER
Software windows 10x64Pro
Benchmark Scores well I've fried a 775' P4 12 years ago, that counts?
#4
running 3x aolc e2249FWSK screens at office, pretty common to be doing some sketchs and draws at AI , PS on one screen, having like 10 chrome tabs open, checking main and remote conection to Sap in remote server, so multitasking is decent as f*ck with 3 of them....
 

dorsetknob

"YOUR RMA REQUEST IS CON-REFUSED"
Joined
Mar 17, 2005
Messages
7,364 (1.50/day)
Likes
9,313
Location
Dorset where else eh? >>> Thats ENGLAND<<<
#5
eyefinity from AMD. Spans 1 Display across Multiple monitors
Crossfire Disables other monitors leaving Designated Main monitor for Crossfire
Maintaining no bundled program leaves each monitor capable of individual display
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,673 (4.14/day)
Likes
6,649
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x 2TB Micron SSDs | 1x ADATA 128SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256SSD | 1x 1TB 850 EVO | 1x 250GB 960 EVO
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#6
im just curious if theres a different way to set this system up, i have 3 1920x1080 monitors all the same, with a tripple mount stand in surround fashion, i game on the center if i dont use all 3 for a specific games, and multi task on the other 2. is there anyway to say run a video on one screen from youtube without limiting the frames. ive read it may be due to google chromes hardware acceleration, anyone know of any settings to fix this, so im not limited to the 30fps on youtube or twitch while watching a stream/video while running a game on the other screen
I dont think you need to limit anything, I also don't think you need to worry about frames, there might be some penelty but with good enough hardware I've never noticed.

Yeah, don't use anything like surround from NVIDIA or eyefinity from AMD. If you keep the monitors "Seperate" then you can do what you want normally though the game must be in windowed or borderless windowed.
What do you mean? I run 3 monitors and multi monitor for years and I have never once had to do any of this at all. Do you mean to go from monitor to monitor IE not being screen locked when running full screen? If so yes, but it only has to be done to be able to move between monitors it has nothing to do with performance.

When I had dual screens, I constantly watched YT or movies on one monitor and played WoW on the other. No effect on game performance.
^ Pretty much this.
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
438 (0.11/day)
Likes
16
Processor i7 3820 4.0ghz
Motherboard asus x79 deluxe
Cooling silver arrow
Memory 16gb ripjaw
Video Card(s) gtx 1080 OC edition
Storage 1tb F3 +500gb sata ii 64gb ssd
Display(s) asus 1920 x1080 x3
Case HAF932
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Win 10
#7
ok i figured it out with a bit of google searching and trial and error, disabling hardware acceleration in chrome advanced settings stops youtube from limiting the frames to 30
 
Top