• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

trouble installing vista 64

Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
1,785 (0.47/day)
Likes
897
Location
TEXAS
System Name Hexy
Processor i5 4690K @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus Z97 Pro Gamer
Cooling custom parallel loop with direct die mounts & liquid metal
Memory 32gb Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 Founders Edition + shunt mod
Storage 480GB Intel 750 PCIE + 256GB Plextor M5S SSD + 2TB WD Red HDD
Display(s) Pixio PX325c & ASUS MX279H
Case Lian Li PC-V1000L + "NZXT Hue+ Lighting"
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX + Sennheiser Game Zero's
Power Supply Seasonic x850 Gold
Mouse Nixeus Revel + Dechanic control XL mouse mat
Keyboard Royal Kludge RC930-87 + Grifiti Pad
Software Windows 7 Pro
Benchmark Scores Heaven Extreme 1080p,2336 | Valley, Extreme 1080p, 3899 | SuperPosition, Extreme 1080p, 3455
#1
Well, just got my new motharboad (P5Q-e) everything works perfect thank god! only im having issues installing vista on it.

it recognizes both of my hard drives and they were working perfectly fine before i installed my new mobo but now whenim trying to install vista it gets to the "select drive to install on" screen and none of my hard drives are listed.

they show up in the bios just fine and i've tried using other sata ports as well and all with the same result.

The drives were set to be a RAID 0 array on my old mobo could this be the issue?
any thoughts or suggestions would be much appriciated
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
8,506 (2.34/day)
Likes
2,072
Location
Kansas City
System Name The Dove Box Rev 2.0
Processor I7 5930k
Motherboard Asus X99
Cooling Custom water loop
Memory 4 x 4GB 3000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) 2x MSI 780 Ti's in SLI
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 PCIe SSD, 2x1TB WD Blacks, 1.2TB NAS
Display(s) 27" Asus 144Hz
Case Enermax Fulmo GT
Audio Device(s) ON BOARD FTW
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 850W
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Win 10 64x
#2
Did you format the drives before trying to install?
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
1,785 (0.47/day)
Likes
897
Location
TEXAS
System Name Hexy
Processor i5 4690K @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus Z97 Pro Gamer
Cooling custom parallel loop with direct die mounts & liquid metal
Memory 32gb Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 Founders Edition + shunt mod
Storage 480GB Intel 750 PCIE + 256GB Plextor M5S SSD + 2TB WD Red HDD
Display(s) Pixio PX325c & ASUS MX279H
Case Lian Li PC-V1000L + "NZXT Hue+ Lighting"
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX + Sennheiser Game Zero's
Power Supply Seasonic x850 Gold
Mouse Nixeus Revel + Dechanic control XL mouse mat
Keyboard Royal Kludge RC930-87 + Grifiti Pad
Software Windows 7 Pro
Benchmark Scores Heaven Extreme 1080p,2336 | Valley, Extreme 1080p, 3899 | SuperPosition, Extreme 1080p, 3455
#3
no, i havent. the utility in windows wont even detect the two drives to let me format them...
 
Joined
Oct 27, 2007
Messages
1,132 (0.31/day)
Likes
160
System Name Grandpa
Processor i5 4690K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H-BK
Cooling water
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengence 2400MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 5850 x2
Storage Samsung SM951
Display(s) Catleap 27"
Case coolermaster stacker
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse logitech g5 original
Keyboard Ducky
Software Windows 8.1
#5
Your problems seems like the drives are set to RAID/AHCI in the bios. If so, you need to either a) change the bios to IDE (poor) or b) install the drivers (best). There is an option in the Vista installation to install them.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,096 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,525
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#6
AHCI drivers are your best option.

THey'll either be on the driver CD that came with the board, or you can throw em on a flash drive. Theres a button called load drivers, at the screen where your drives arent showing.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
1,785 (0.47/day)
Likes
897
Location
TEXAS
System Name Hexy
Processor i5 4690K @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus Z97 Pro Gamer
Cooling custom parallel loop with direct die mounts & liquid metal
Memory 32gb Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 Founders Edition + shunt mod
Storage 480GB Intel 750 PCIE + 256GB Plextor M5S SSD + 2TB WD Red HDD
Display(s) Pixio PX325c & ASUS MX279H
Case Lian Li PC-V1000L + "NZXT Hue+ Lighting"
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX + Sennheiser Game Zero's
Power Supply Seasonic x850 Gold
Mouse Nixeus Revel + Dechanic control XL mouse mat
Keyboard Royal Kludge RC930-87 + Grifiti Pad
Software Windows 7 Pro
Benchmark Scores Heaven Extreme 1080p,2336 | Valley, Extreme 1080p, 3899 | SuperPosition, Extreme 1080p, 3455
#7
dosent seem to be a dirver issue, dosent want to see my hard drives at all.. going to try formating them once i get cdburnerxp installed on this machine
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,096 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,525
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#8
dosent seem to be a dirver issue, dosent want to see my hard drives at all.. going to try formating them once i get cdburnerxp installed on this machine
the installer wont see them without the drivers, if they're in RAID mode. Some boards dont show in AHCI mode either.
 
Joined
Oct 27, 2007
Messages
1,132 (0.31/day)
Likes
160
System Name Grandpa
Processor i5 4690K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H-BK
Cooling water
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengence 2400MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 5850 x2
Storage Samsung SM951
Display(s) Catleap 27"
Case coolermaster stacker
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse logitech g5 original
Keyboard Ducky
Software Windows 8.1
#9
dosent seem to be a dirver issue, dosent want to see my hard drives at all.. going to try formating them once i get cdburnerxp installed on this machine
You could clear this up for us by checking in BIOS and seeing what mode the HDD are running. As Mussels and I said, you probably need the AHCI drivers.

After you install the drivers, the Vista installation disk gives you the option to do a format.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
1,785 (0.47/day)
Likes
897
Location
TEXAS
System Name Hexy
Processor i5 4690K @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus Z97 Pro Gamer
Cooling custom parallel loop with direct die mounts & liquid metal
Memory 32gb Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 Founders Edition + shunt mod
Storage 480GB Intel 750 PCIE + 256GB Plextor M5S SSD + 2TB WD Red HDD
Display(s) Pixio PX325c & ASUS MX279H
Case Lian Li PC-V1000L + "NZXT Hue+ Lighting"
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX + Sennheiser Game Zero's
Power Supply Seasonic x850 Gold
Mouse Nixeus Revel + Dechanic control XL mouse mat
Keyboard Royal Kludge RC930-87 + Grifiti Pad
Software Windows 7 Pro
Benchmark Scores Heaven Extreme 1080p,2336 | Valley, Extreme 1080p, 3899 | SuperPosition, Extreme 1080p, 3455
#10
im not trying to do a raid array though, im trying to set vista up with two hard drives.

my original set up on my old motherboard was a raid setup.
 
Joined
Oct 27, 2007
Messages
1,132 (0.31/day)
Likes
160
System Name Grandpa
Processor i5 4690K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H-BK
Cooling water
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengence 2400MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 5850 x2
Storage Samsung SM951
Display(s) Catleap 27"
Case coolermaster stacker
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse logitech g5 original
Keyboard Ducky
Software Windows 8.1
#11
yes but the AHCI drivers are usually packaged with the RAID drivers. You will need them.
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
8,506 (2.34/day)
Likes
2,072
Location
Kansas City
System Name The Dove Box Rev 2.0
Processor I7 5930k
Motherboard Asus X99
Cooling Custom water loop
Memory 4 x 4GB 3000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) 2x MSI 780 Ti's in SLI
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 PCIe SSD, 2x1TB WD Blacks, 1.2TB NAS
Display(s) 27" Asus 144Hz
Case Enermax Fulmo GT
Audio Device(s) ON BOARD FTW
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 850W
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Win 10 64x
#12
When I installed my OS with my new build I didn't need any drivers :confused: Even after I had XP installed I put Vista on my other drive and it wasn't formatted either.
 
Joined
Oct 27, 2007
Messages
1,132 (0.31/day)
Likes
160
System Name Grandpa
Processor i5 4690K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H-BK
Cooling water
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengence 2400MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 5850 x2
Storage Samsung SM951
Display(s) Catleap 27"
Case coolermaster stacker
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse logitech g5 original
Keyboard Ducky
Software Windows 8.1
#13
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
967 (0.20/day)
Likes
111
Location
Danville IL
Processor I7 4770k
Motherboard ASUS z87 pro
Cooling Corsair a50
Memory 4x4 gig Gskil aries ddr3 1866
Video Card(s) Gigabyte r280x windforce
Storage intel 520 120 gig ssd
Display(s) 24 inch Asus IPS
Case Cool Master
Audio Device(s) realtek onboard
Power Supply hiper 880
Software win 7 ult
#14
If there still in raid you need to get into raid bios and unraid them, then select achi in bios and vista will see them.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,126 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,208
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
#15
They have been partitioned to be recognized as a raid array. You should have dismounted the raid array first before upgrading to the new mb. You probably will need a 3rd party partitioning utility like paragon hard disk management or acronis or similar to remove the old raid partitions.
Edit: if it's like amd nforce raid array, you can re-enable it on the new mb, and then dismount it.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
1,785 (0.47/day)
Likes
897
Location
TEXAS
System Name Hexy
Processor i5 4690K @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus Z97 Pro Gamer
Cooling custom parallel loop with direct die mounts & liquid metal
Memory 32gb Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 Founders Edition + shunt mod
Storage 480GB Intel 750 PCIE + 256GB Plextor M5S SSD + 2TB WD Red HDD
Display(s) Pixio PX325c & ASUS MX279H
Case Lian Li PC-V1000L + "NZXT Hue+ Lighting"
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX + Sennheiser Game Zero's
Power Supply Seasonic x850 Gold
Mouse Nixeus Revel + Dechanic control XL mouse mat
Keyboard Royal Kludge RC930-87 + Grifiti Pad
Software Windows 7 Pro
Benchmark Scores Heaven Extreme 1080p,2336 | Valley, Extreme 1080p, 3899 | SuperPosition, Extreme 1080p, 3455
#16
Thanks for all the replys, its fixed now. had to delete the raid setup with a 3rd party app like johnspack and allen337 mentioned. installed without a hitch.