• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Trouble overclocking GTX260

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,577 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,192
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#1
Just got my GTX260 today and I'm having some trouble OCing it. First off, it looks like I can't really unlink the core and shaders. I get a little play room, but it looks like I'm being limited by the shaders. They won't even do 1465, which links the core to 667, but I think the core has more to go...

Secondly, the testing is kind of weird. I don't really get errors (using the OCCT GPU test), it just craps out. The test just... stops running. I hit esc, and my clocks are locked to 2D values. I have to reboot to set everything straight again.

Is this normal for a GTX260?
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
2,998 (0.93/day)
Likes
458
Location
vermont
System Name The wifes worst enemy
Processor i5-6600k
Motherboard gigabyte G1 gaming Z170X 6
Cooling water
Memory 16gb G.skill ripjaw DDR4 2400 4X4GB 15-15-15-35-2T
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro R9380-X 4GB
Storage crucial M500 120GB SSD, Pny 256GB SSD, seagate 750GB, seagate 2TB HDD, WD blue 1TB 2.5" HDD
Display(s) 27 inch samsung @ 1080p but capable of much more ;)
Case Corsair AIR 540 Cube Mid tower
Audio Device(s) onboard creative x-fi
Power Supply EVGA GQ1000W MODULAR
Mouse generic for now
Keyboard generic for now
Software gotta love steam, origin etc etc
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/philbrown_23/
#2
is it the 55nm or 65nm?? what driver?? driver crashing is becoming a problem again with the 200 series i get it all the time so do others. sounds like you have a crap clocking card though
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,577 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,192
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#3
55nm, 258.96 drivers
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2008
Messages
1,645 (0.46/day)
Likes
217
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina
System Name Current
Processor i5 2500k @ 4.5
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling Xigmatek Gaia
Memory 2x4G G-skill Sniper
Video Card(s) GTX 680
Storage 128 Crucial M4, 1 TB Seagate Baracuda
Display(s) Shimian Achieva 27"
Case Corsair 400R
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsais HX-620
Software Windows 7
#4
The shader clock has to be at least double the core clock. As far as I know that's how all of the GTX260's work.

Also which model did you specifically get?
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,577 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,192
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#5
The shader clock has to be at least double the core clock. As far as I know that's how all of the GTX260's work.

Also which model did you specifically get?
Interesting tidbit of information there...

BFG GTX260 Maxcore 55

currently testing 640/1405
 

BUCK NASTY

F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust
Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
4,973 (1.30/day)
Likes
4,639
Location
Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-4130 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X Evo
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB GSkill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Strix @ 1503Mhz Core
Storage Corsair Force 90gb SSD/ WD Caviar Blue 750gb
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS
Case Coolermaster Centurion 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec TP750 80+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
#6
Interesting tidbit of information there...

BFG GTX260 Maxcore 55

currently testing 640/1405
I currently have 3-MSI N260GTX OC and max stable clocks are 655/1488/1050. Anything beyond that and we have a crash.
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2008
Messages
1,645 (0.46/day)
Likes
217
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina
System Name Current
Processor i5 2500k @ 4.5
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling Xigmatek Gaia
Memory 2x4G G-skill Sniper
Video Card(s) GTX 680
Storage 128 Crucial M4, 1 TB Seagate Baracuda
Display(s) Shimian Achieva 27"
Case Corsair 400R
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsais HX-620
Software Windows 7
#7
Interesting tidbit of information there...

BFG GTX260 Maxcore 55

currently testing 640/1405
You may just have some bad luck on this one, what's your memory at?
 

robn

New Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2010
Messages
180 (0.06/day)
Likes
67
Location
UK
Processor i7 920 @ 3520MHz locked on 1.04V, all features on
Motherboard Biostar T-Power x58 + ASUS U3S6 + Broadcom WiFi
Cooling Akasa Nero S on the i7 + 2 Akasa Apache case fans
Memory 24Gig Kingston HyperX DDR3
Video Card(s) XFX GTX260 216 XT
Storage 240Gig SanDisk SSD, 750Gig Spinpoint F1
Display(s) BenQ E2200HD
Case Coolermaster Elite 334
Audio Device(s) Realtek(!) with M-Audio AV40 + Wharfedale SW150
Power Supply Antec EarthWatts 650
Software Win7 64 Pro / Fedora KDE
Benchmark Scores wPrime 32M 7.265sec - 3DMark2001 57673 - Intel Linpack 50.6237 GFlops
#8
Hmm I don't run mine OCed often, but it will happily do 715/1550 - just checked, but not tried further ...seen people posting shots of 760MHz on the core though. I have 257.21 drivers. A great deal of chip binning went on with 260s, I think that's the problem you've run into ...some just don't clock.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,577 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,192
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#9
640/1405 looked good. Ran with stock memory. Metalracer did a bench with mem at 1225, I'm testing at 1200 now.
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2008
Messages
1,645 (0.46/day)
Likes
217
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina
System Name Current
Processor i5 2500k @ 4.5
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling Xigmatek Gaia
Memory 2x4G G-skill Sniper
Video Card(s) GTX 680
Storage 128 Crucial M4, 1 TB Seagate Baracuda
Display(s) Shimian Achieva 27"
Case Corsair 400R
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsais HX-620
Software Windows 7
#10
My GTX260 runs 756/1512/1150 pretty happily. Small voltage increase and it is stable. But I use a 216sp 65nm one.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,577 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,192
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#11
My GTX260 runs 756/1512/1150 pretty happily. Small voltage increase and it is stable. But I use a 216sp 65nm one.
I havn't done the voltage mod on mine. The card already runs kinda hot (80's load)... don't think I wanna push it that far.
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2008
Messages
1,645 (0.46/day)
Likes
217
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina
System Name Current
Processor i5 2500k @ 4.5
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling Xigmatek Gaia
Memory 2x4G G-skill Sniper
Video Card(s) GTX 680
Storage 128 Crucial M4, 1 TB Seagate Baracuda
Display(s) Shimian Achieva 27"
Case Corsair 400R
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsais HX-620
Software Windows 7
#12
I havn't done the voltage mod on mine. The card already runs kinda hot (80's load)... don't think I wanna push it that far.
I used evga's program on mine. If it's running that hot that may be a cause to the instability, have you tried turning the fan up?
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
2,998 (0.93/day)
Likes
458
Location
vermont
System Name The wifes worst enemy
Processor i5-6600k
Motherboard gigabyte G1 gaming Z170X 6
Cooling water
Memory 16gb G.skill ripjaw DDR4 2400 4X4GB 15-15-15-35-2T
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro R9380-X 4GB
Storage crucial M500 120GB SSD, Pny 256GB SSD, seagate 750GB, seagate 2TB HDD, WD blue 1TB 2.5" HDD
Display(s) 27 inch samsung @ 1080p but capable of much more ;)
Case Corsair AIR 540 Cube Mid tower
Audio Device(s) onboard creative x-fi
Power Supply EVGA GQ1000W MODULAR
Mouse generic for now
Keyboard generic for now
Software gotta love steam, origin etc etc
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/philbrown_23/
#13
only the 65nm cards have voltage control. you can edit your bios to run higher voltage and you will get more out of it but without volterra chips the highest voltage your bios mod will allow is 1.18v but it should get you 715 core 1500 shader maybe more
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,577 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,192
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#14
Yeah, that's what I meant. It runs 1.12v stock. 1.18v is available in the BIOS.

Testing 640/1405/2300
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,577 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,192
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#15
^^

That test passed for 1 hour in OCCT. I did get some quirkiness though, one time it said aborted by user, but I don't think I did anything to abort it... nevertheless it did run for an hour without a single error. I'll run with it for a while and do some more testing before I quit messing with it, but after passing for an hour I felt it was stable enough to do a BIOS flash to those clocks. As said before I'll run with it for a bit and give it some more extensive testing.
 
Joined
Jun 22, 2010
Messages
366 (0.13/day)
Likes
91
#16
I used evga's program on mine. If it's running that hot that may be a cause to the instability, have you tried turning the fan up?
When gaming with my 9800gt w/ stock HSF, I used to manually set the GPU fan to 45%. This dropped my load temps by 5-10C. If left at auto, the fan would not speed up until the temps reached 75C(approx), thus the higher temps.
 
Joined
Jun 22, 2010
Messages
366 (0.13/day)
Likes
91
#17
Just got my GTX260 today and I'm having some trouble OCing it. First off, it looks like I can't really unlink the core and shaders. I get a little play room, but it looks like I'm being limited by the shaders. They won't even do 1465, which links the core to 667, but I think the core has more to go...

Secondly, the testing is kind of weird. I don't really get errors (using the OCCT GPU test), it just craps out. The test just... stops running. I hit esc, and my clocks are locked to 2D values. I have to reboot to set everything straight again.

Is this normal for a GTX260?

If your CPUz link is accurate, my guess is it may be your mainboard and /or ram config.
Are you on the latest bios for your mobo?
I would pull the 2x 512mb and set the other ram in the slots farthest from your cpu. Then I would clear the cmos and redo windows... especially if virtualization and/or microcode updation are/were disabled when you installed your OS. You need to install Windows with them enabled beforehand btw..
aand I run EVERYTHING I can 'as Administrator'. It may be that simple heh.. .gl :banghead:
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,577 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,192
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#18
Yeah, I just had them listed in the crunchers helping crunchers thread (the 2x512mb ram). Someone will scoop them up eventually.

Running at 640/1405/2300, ran a series of tests overnight and came out clean.
 
Joined
Jun 22, 2010
Messages
366 (0.13/day)
Likes
91
#19
Sweet ! :D Its good to see that Im not 'dreamin' this stuff up :wtf: hehe

Refreshing the thermal paste on you CPU and GPU will help also. Long live AS5 !

Peace
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2009
Messages
6,823 (2.21/day)
Likes
2,901
Location
Viking Land
System Name Ivy Biatch
Processor i5 3570K
Motherboard ASSRockzz z77TOTHEEXTREME!!!!
Cooling bleh
Memory 2x4gb crucial 1866
Video Card(s) HD7770, yes it does BF3
Storage 120gb Vertex
Display(s) 226BW
Case whats that, oh my table
Audio Device(s) stock onboard thing
Power Supply HX850W
Software 7
#20
my msi card ran at these speeds

 
Joined
Apr 14, 2010
Messages
1,498 (0.53/day)
Likes
481
Location
canada
System Name INTEL/AMD
Processor I7 4790k stock / 1100T@3.8GHZ(on air)
Motherboard GIGABYTE GAMING 5 / GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 / zalmen 9900
Memory 4x4 GB 1600 / 4x4gb 1600
Video Card(s) GTX670 x2 / ATI 5870 x2
Storage 2xcorsair ssd 120gb raid0 /2x adata ssd 120gb
Display(s) 55Iinch LCD / 22inch acer
Case CM 690 II Advanced (USB 3) / Anteck 900
Power Supply Enermax 800EWT / 750 zalman
Software Win 10
#21
what temps are u running? my gtx 260 bfg was eazy to over clock to 690 core with locked shaders http://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/98xgw/ temps kill my card even with a better cooler when my room get hot my oc fails sometimes. so u might wanna try running your fan @ 100% if ur trying to over lock