• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

trouble unlocking 6950 to 6970

Joined
Mar 4, 2007
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hi all.

I followed this howto (http://www.techpowerup.com/articles/overclocking/vidcard/159) to unlock the extra shaders on my 6950.

I put my bios switch on 1, flashed it successfully. Wont boot. So go back to original bios and try it all over again to no avail. I can always reflash to original with no problems, but it just wont take the 6970 bios...

I have a Sapphire 6950 2gb. I just got it a few months ago. Somewhere on the internet I was reading that the later 6950s cant unlock....



ANY help is appreciated
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,385 (10.16/day)
Likes
18,028
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#2
It's quite true that some cannot unlock. Please provide a link to the exact model of your card. Also, what process did you use to flash it?
 
Joined
Mar 4, 2007
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
here is my card.
SKU on the PCB is 11188-05
PN is 299-1E186-520SA
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0055Y66A4/?tag=tec06d-20

I had to use this process from the how to
"If you get an error like ID mismatch or Could not erase ROM, then you'll have to do some extra work in a Windows command prompt (or DOS): Run atiwinflash -unlockrom 0 followed by atiwinflash -f -p 0 bios.bin where bios.bin is the path and filename of the HD 6970 BIOS you downloaded. "
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,385 (10.16/day)
Likes
18,028
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#4
Well, you are doing it correctly and your card isn't a reference model, so I'm quite sure your card isn't unlockable. You could try using just ATiFlash (not WINflash), bootable off of a USB stick and try C:atiflash -f -p 0 bios.bin
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2011
Messages
743 (0.32/day)
Likes
333
Location
At the Pub
System Name Kaby Doll
Processor i5 7600K W.C.
Motherboard Z170 Pro Gaming
Cooling Hardline Acrylic W.C.
Memory 2x8GB Corsair 3000
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 Sli W.C.
Storage M.2 850 Evo 512
Display(s) 4K 40" BDM4065UC
Case Corsair 750D
Audio Device(s) Asus Zonar
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software Win 10 x64 atm
#5
Did u unlock the rom because i had to unlock both of my card before i could begin flashing. Sry didnt see previous post.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,385 (10.16/day)
Likes
18,028
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#7
well poo.

could RBE work? any harm in trying?
Yeah, you could try. Just put your stock bios in RBE, tick the box to unlock, save and flash. I would recommend usin ATiFlash (not winflash) as I stated above. :)
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,385 (10.16/day)
Likes
18,028
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#9
Joined
Mar 4, 2007
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#10
well i did ATIflash and same result. lets me flash it, but wont boot afterward. flashed back to original with no problems. Im guessing this thing is hard locked.

Oh well. thanks for the help anyway!
 

Ruben

New Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2012
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#11
here is my card.
SKU on the PCB is 11188-05
PN is 299-1E186-520SA
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0055Y66A4/?tag=tec06d-20

I had to use this process from the how to
"If you get an error like ID mismatch or Could not erase ROM, then you'll have to do some extra work in a Windows command prompt (or DOS): Run atiwinflash -unlockrom 0 followed by atiwinflash -f -p 0 bios.bin where bios.bin is the path and filename of the HD 6970 BIOS you downloaded. "
I have the same situation
I tryed all the proposed methods in different posts but didn't succeed.
I followed also the the procedures described here step by step but ended with the message "Rom not erased".
Could it be that the rom on my card is not unlockable :mad:.

Sapphire HD 6950 2GB GDDR5
BIOS date: 03/22/11 05:13
BIOS version: 113-1E18620-S44
Chip type: CAYMAN
Hardware spec: CAYMAN PRO Hill GDDR5 BIOS
AtomBIOS version: ATOMBIOSBK-ATI VER013.012.000.008.000000

Regards, Ruben