1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Trying memory upgrade

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by colrz1, Mar 3, 2012.

  1. colrz1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have an old Compaq presario 2500 lappy
    specs say max memory 1 gig
    have tried 2 different set of 512 x 2 cards
    but only recognizes total mem of 512
    have tried many configs of cards to determine good or bad
    but no matter how it only sees 512 total
    any help or suggestions would be appreciated
    have gone on the crucial memory site and am using there
    recommendations but to no avail.
     
  2. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    19,437 (4.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,690
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2012
    colrz1 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. robal

    robal

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    497 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK
    It may have to do with memory geometry of your modules (memory rank). Sometimes this is called "single sided / double sided" dimms.
    Some motherboard / CPU combinations will have trouble detecting and using whole memory if certain DIMM types are used.

    Check HP website for latest BIOS for this lappy.
    Newest BIOS gives you best chance that it will detect and use modules correctly.
     
    colrz1 says thanks.
  4. colrz1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yes they are 2700 modules.
    I checked the notes for newest bios but gives no reference to memory, but maybe its worth a shot. as far as making changes in the bios it will not allow it for the memory
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)