• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Trying to dual Boot Win & and OS X Leopard

Joined
Jun 24, 2008
Messages
1,365 (0.39/day)
Likes
109
Location
Alden, NY
System Name Turbo_Fighter/Pitbull
Processor AMD FX-9590/Intel i7 6700K 4.7GHZ @ 1.41 volts
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 Rev 4.0/Gigabyte GA-Z170N-Gaming 5
Cooling Corsair H105/Corsair H100iv2
Memory 32 GB G.Skill Ares/32 GB G.Skill Trident-Z
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 Fury X/Sapphire R9 Nano
Storage Mix of HDDs SSDs Externals and a 256GB Samsung M.2 in the pitbull
Display(s) 24" Nixeus 144hz freesync/24'' Benq XL2420TE/21.5'' Asus VH226/Panasonic 42" Plasma
Case White Phantom NZXT/Fractal Define Nano S
Audio Device(s) MayFlower O2 ODAC/HT Omega Claro+/Turtlebeach Earforce DSS
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i/Thermaltake Smart 650Watt(EVGA GS 650 Watt took a shit on me)
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores They can run Crysis.
#1
I recently had the sudden impulse to install Mac OS X on to my system to use mac programs and just to say I can for that matter. I got a perfectly burnt DVD of Mac OS X Leopard 10.5.1 that works with AMD processors. I am able to boot the disc, but when it asks me which harddrive to install on to, it only shows my External HDD, and not the 32GB FAT32 partition I made for it. To make the partition I used the windows disc management to do so(thats why I had to make it 32GB). Any ideas, Id rather not use an external HDD to boot an OS off of.


FYI: I do have working firewire, so OS X shouldn't hate me.
 
Last edited:

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,405 (3.56/day)
Likes
4,257
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#2
have you checked over at osx86?
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2007
Messages
1,396 (0.38/day)
Likes
184
Location
Hyderabad,India
Processor AMD x2 4000+
Motherboard Jetway M2A692 GDG
Memory 1 Gb transcend Ram DDR2 667
Video Card(s) IGP ATI x1200
Storage Hitachi 160 Gb
Display(s) LG 17" CRT Flatron E700S
Case Zebronics Sivaji
Power Supply 450W
#3
Are you sure it installs on fat32? checked if there's a partioning software on the disc?
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,277 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,367
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#4
I didn't think OSX uses FAT32.

Go back into Windows, and create a partition, but don't format it. In fact, don't even create the partition, just deleted the FAT32 one you made and leave it unallocated. Let OSX partition the space and format it as needed.

This all might be futile anyway, if your SATA ports are set to RAID or ACHI in the BIOS, the OSX installer might not have the drivers for your SATA controller, and might never see any drives connected(except optical drives). You might have to set them to IDE mode, which will screw up your Windows install. I only mention this because, even if the drive is improperly formated, OSX should have still seen it.
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2008
Messages
1,365 (0.39/day)
Likes
109
Location
Alden, NY
System Name Turbo_Fighter/Pitbull
Processor AMD FX-9590/Intel i7 6700K 4.7GHZ @ 1.41 volts
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 Rev 4.0/Gigabyte GA-Z170N-Gaming 5
Cooling Corsair H105/Corsair H100iv2
Memory 32 GB G.Skill Ares/32 GB G.Skill Trident-Z
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 Fury X/Sapphire R9 Nano
Storage Mix of HDDs SSDs Externals and a 256GB Samsung M.2 in the pitbull
Display(s) 24" Nixeus 144hz freesync/24'' Benq XL2420TE/21.5'' Asus VH226/Panasonic 42" Plasma
Case White Phantom NZXT/Fractal Define Nano S
Audio Device(s) MayFlower O2 ODAC/HT Omega Claro+/Turtlebeach Earforce DSS
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i/Thermaltake Smart 650Watt(EVGA GS 650 Watt took a shit on me)
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores They can run Crysis.
#5
have you checked over at osx86?
Guess that wouldnt hurt.

I didn't think OSX uses FAT32.

Go back into Windows, and create a partition, but don't format it. In fact, don't even create the partition, just deleted the FAT32 one you made and leave it unallocated. Let OSX partition the space and format it as needed.

This all might be futile anyway, if your SATA ports are set to RAID or ACHI in the BIOS, the OSX installer might not have the drivers for your SATA controller, and might never see any drives connected(except optical drives). You might have to set them to IDE mode, which will screw up your Windows install. I only mention this because, even if the drive is improperly formated, OSX should have still seen it.
I tried leaving it unallocated, it didn't work. How would setting them to IDE mode screw up windows? Would it be fubar or temporary.

Are you sure it installs on fat32? checked if there's a partioning software on the disc?
I sure that Mac OS X is very primitive when it comes to file systems, It does detect my FAT32 external.


Thanks for the replies.

Hmmmmm, now that I think about it, would I be able to run a Virtual OS X with vmware?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
4,059 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,122
Location
Geneva, FL, USA
Processor Intel i5-6600
Motherboard ASRock H170M-ITX
Cooling Cooler Master Geminii S524
Memory G.Skill DDR4-2133 16GB (8GB x 2)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9-380X 4GB
Storage Samsung 950 EVO 250GB (mSATA)
Display(s) LG 29UM69G-B 2560x1080 IPS
Case Lian Li PC-Q25
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic SS-460FL2
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro
#6
^ I've tried it in VMware. A bit slow, but that was to be expected without a compatible Tools package.

Did it quite awhile ago. Perhaps there are.. umm... "3rd party" packages available now.