• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Trying to figure out whats wrong with my pc

Joined
Jul 6, 2006
Messages
2,007 (0.48/day)
Likes
219
Location
New Jersey
System Name SINNAH
Processor AMD Phenom II x4 955 3.8ghz AIR
Motherboard ASUS M4A79XTD EVO
Cooling 3 fans of MADNESS
Memory 4GB ADATA XPG DDR3 1600G
Video Card(s) ATI 4890 1GB GDDR5 memory
Storage 500gb SATAII
Display(s) 23" 1080p Acer H233Hbmid
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream / 600W / Active PFC
Software Windows 7 Professional 64bit
#1
Okay so i have a computer that has a sudden problem.


First i noticed that when playing DVD's it would be extremely choppy looking i mean unwatchable, so i figured it was a codec problem, tried new ones..and to no avail nothing worked.

So i went to do a system rebuild. Booted the CD and than i noticed that windows 7 and Vista were taking a very very long time to even load the setup. So whatever i waited the whole 40 minutes it took just to get to the setup screen. Did a full install (which took about 2 hours haha). After that happened it rebooted the PC, and than when the bios would post it locked up when trying to load the HDD (gets past the dvd boot etc) and than the keyboard was un responsive but not locked up (blinking underscore was still blinking)

So i knew something was wrong, i changed the hard drive thinking it could be that, no dice, still the same slow choppy problem trying to even install vista or 7. So i let it go through again and still locked up same scenario.

I have tried 3 hard drives, 2 sets of Ram, a different power supply and now im starting to think its just the south bridge chipset on this very expensive motherboard (i know its not that much money but for me who doesn't really game on a PC it's a lot of money)

Any idea's anyone can throw at me

Here are the specs if it helps

CPU: AMD Phenom 9850 Quad-Core 2.5ghz
GPU: XFX ATI 4980 (this is brand new)
PSU: OCZ600SXS
RAM:G.Skill 4GB DDR2 800

If it helps i haven't tried to o/c this set up at all.

Any help would be awesome. I also can't update the bios (don't have a floppy) and can't get into windows at all.

So im going to go with my best gut feeling and say its the Southbridge chip. :cry:
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,523 (0.49/day)
Likes
233
Location
UK
System Name Betty The Dirty Dragon
Processor AMD 8350 @4.8
Motherboard ASUS sabertooth rev 2
Cooling Watercooling - Swiftech GTZ - XSPC RS360 - XSPC RX120
Memory 8GB corsair vengeance cas 9
Video Card(s) 280x 1100core 1600 mem
Storage 240 gb ssd- 2 tb Storage
Display(s) Samsung 24" 2433BW
Case Corsair 650d
Audio Device(s) Xfi Fatality Titanium Pro
Power Supply XFX 850 fully modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#2
you can update the bios with a flash drive btw, i have the same board as you. have you tried reseting the cmos?
 
Joined
Jul 6, 2006
Messages
2,007 (0.48/day)
Likes
219
Location
New Jersey
System Name SINNAH
Processor AMD Phenom II x4 955 3.8ghz AIR
Motherboard ASUS M4A79XTD EVO
Cooling 3 fans of MADNESS
Memory 4GB ADATA XPG DDR3 1600G
Video Card(s) ATI 4890 1GB GDDR5 memory
Storage 500gb SATAII
Display(s) 23" 1080p Acer H233Hbmid
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream / 600W / Active PFC
Software Windows 7 Professional 64bit
#3
Yes tried resetting cmos, so wait i can use my thumb drive?!
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2009
Messages
552 (0.17/day)
Likes
64
System Name Intel
Processor i5 2500k @ 4.5 ghz
Motherboard ASROCK extreem.4
Cooling Antec KÜHLER H₂O 620
Memory Gskill DDR3 2x4gb
Video Card(s) Saphire 7970 EX
Storage Samsung 840 256gb
Display(s) Hanns-G 28" wide screen 1080P
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DS1
Power Supply Thermaltake 850
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Over Rated
#4
Plug in your flash drive and reboot and load your bios. It should have a flah option there and you will see it.
 
Joined
Jul 6, 2006
Messages
2,007 (0.48/day)
Likes
219
Location
New Jersey
System Name SINNAH
Processor AMD Phenom II x4 955 3.8ghz AIR
Motherboard ASUS M4A79XTD EVO
Cooling 3 fans of MADNESS
Memory 4GB ADATA XPG DDR3 1600G
Video Card(s) ATI 4890 1GB GDDR5 memory
Storage 500gb SATAII
Display(s) 23" 1080p Acer H233Hbmid
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream / 600W / Active PFC
Software Windows 7 Professional 64bit
#5
Nope do not see it anywhere, bleh just from what it sounds like (personal experience) it's probably the southbridge chip anyway.
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2009
Messages
552 (0.17/day)
Likes
64
System Name Intel
Processor i5 2500k @ 4.5 ghz
Motherboard ASROCK extreem.4
Cooling Antec KÜHLER H₂O 620
Memory Gskill DDR3 2x4gb
Video Card(s) Saphire 7970 EX
Storage Samsung 840 256gb
Display(s) Hanns-G 28" wide screen 1080P
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DS1
Power Supply Thermaltake 850
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Over Rated
#6
I have a floppy if you want it . Just pay the shipping . I also have disc for it . Should be no more than $5 shipping priority . I live in NY also.
 
Joined
Jul 6, 2006
Messages
2,007 (0.48/day)
Likes
219
Location
New Jersey
System Name SINNAH
Processor AMD Phenom II x4 955 3.8ghz AIR
Motherboard ASUS M4A79XTD EVO
Cooling 3 fans of MADNESS
Memory 4GB ADATA XPG DDR3 1600G
Video Card(s) ATI 4890 1GB GDDR5 memory
Storage 500gb SATAII
Display(s) 23" 1080p Acer H233Hbmid
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream / 600W / Active PFC
Software Windows 7 Professional 64bit
#7
Thanks a lot man its cool, i have floppy drives at work, it's just im home and it just randomly happened so kinda sucks, im trying and IDE drive now to see if that will have any effect on the locking up. it's funny i HAD a floppy drive but i replaced it with a media card reader, i mean who uses floppies anymore right?!?!
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2008
Messages
4,434 (1.29/day)
Likes
1,050
Location
Clifton Park, NY
System Name [Uber Noober Setup]
Processor [i7 3770K]
Motherboard [MSI P67A-G45(B3)]
Memory [32GB Corsair Vengeance (8GBx4)]
Video Card(s) [EVGA GTX 1080]
Storage [128GB OCZ VTX4 SSD, 2TB Internal HDD]
Display(s) [2x 27" ASUS at 1920x1080p - 1x 34" Samsung at 1440p]
Case [Coolermaster CM 690]
Audio Device(s) [X-Fi XtremeGamer]
Power Supply [CORSAIR 850W]
Software [Windows 10 64-Bit]
#8
i doubt bios is whats to blame for a poorly running computer that he hasnt oc'd...
 
Joined
Jul 6, 2006
Messages
2,007 (0.48/day)
Likes
219
Location
New Jersey
System Name SINNAH
Processor AMD Phenom II x4 955 3.8ghz AIR
Motherboard ASUS M4A79XTD EVO
Cooling 3 fans of MADNESS
Memory 4GB ADATA XPG DDR3 1600G
Video Card(s) ATI 4890 1GB GDDR5 memory
Storage 500gb SATAII
Display(s) 23" 1080p Acer H233Hbmid
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream / 600W / Active PFC
Software Windows 7 Professional 64bit
#9
Updated to newest bios and still taking forever to install Windows 7. Also note that i successfully installed Vista (after about 2 hours vs the normal 25-40 minutes)

hm, this is really odd. I think i should just get a new board and stop messing around with it