1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Trying to get Eyefinity to work - no luck so far... :(

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by t_ski, Sep 15, 2010.

  1. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11,960 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,525
    Please see my syem specs in my sig, as this is the rig I am trying to set up Eyefinity on. (PLEASE NOTE: I understand how to get Eyefinity configured (cloning displays, creating groups, etc.) and I have done this perfectly fine with a 2 x 1 Eyefinity setup.) I have two Samsung SyncMaster 2493HM's and one Asus VW266H, The two Samsungs are hooked up to the DVI output on my master 5970 card (the HIS), and the Asus is connected to the mini-display port. Yes, I know the Asus does not have a display port input on it, but I went to this site here:

    http://support.amd.com/us/eyefinity/Pages/eyefinity-dongles.aspx

    ...and found that this adapter is listed as validated for Eyefinity support:

    http://www.accellcables.com/products/DisplayPort/DP/mdp_dvi.htm

    Now, of course this one is cheaper that an active adapter, so I wanted to try this. Unfortunately, whenever I try to connect to the third monitor, it asks me to disable one of the other two. :banghead:

    So I went to my local Staples and bought a display port to HDMI cable, and I used the mini-display port to display port adapter that came with the card. Hooked everything up and thud - still the dame thing.

    So, I flashed the BIOSes on both cards, as I had some issues the new BIOS was supposed to correct. It looks like this does, but still no luck getting Eyefinity to work.

    So my last two options are buying an active adapter like this one:

    Accell B087B-003J Mini DisplayPort to DVI Dual-Lin...

    (and BTW, the one review for it says it did not work for the guy with Eyefinity), or go out and buy a different LCD monitor with a display port input, which the cheapest 24" display is $540:

    http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/...etail.aspx?c=us&l=en&s=dhs&cs=19&sku=320-8277

    So, before I go out and try one of those two, I'd like to know if any of you have seen an Eyefinity setup on a 5970 system, have seen display-port adapters that do work, or have any other ideas to get this to work... :toast:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    46,041 (9.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,700
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    you need an active adaptor for eyefinity, as you have learned.

    without it, it disables one of the other ports to make it work.

    you NEED an active adaptor, with its own power input (often from USB)
     
    t_ski says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    16,425 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,793
    Location:
    Parkland County, Alberta
    Yeah, Mussels is spot on.

    At first though, I had issues getting it to work at all...I have many displayport cables(all my monitors are DP), and adapters galore...

    The accell active adapter(newegg link) works great, but quite a few users have had issues with the adapter itself...usually they just plain don't work, but an RMA later, and they work fine. I had to replace both of mine...must have been a bad batch.

    I do beleive I saw one of the members here has one up for sale...I've got an extra one too...they are $100 or so new...a total rip-off.

    Be sure to use the monst recent drivers too.

    I'd liek to hear, once you get it working, if you get any 2D cursor corruption.

    Oh, and AMD has released a single-link DP-to-DVI PASSIVE adapter...this will work for 1920x1200, but not higher resolutions. Should be a fair bit cheaper than the active ones too.
     
    t_ski says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11,960 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,525
    I do have one of the passive one, albeit an Accell brand (and the AMD or Sapphire ones are supposed to be rebranded Accell models anyway), but it does not work for me. I am using three monitors that only go up to 1920 x 1200, which is what also led me to believe this should work for my case.

    You have the exact model in the Newegg link? Other than the bad units, do these work fine for you? I'm assuming you may see some kind of cursor corruption from your remarks. Care to explain?

    I would not have anything against picking up a used adapter as long as I know it does work.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  5. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    16,425 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,793
    Location:
    Parkland County, Alberta
    Well, to start off, I took a look, and mine are actually BizLink!:laugh::eek:

    I got mine via Dell, as when I bought it, other places were selling them for $139, and Dell had it on for $99.

    And yes, I have 2D/3D cursor corruption. It almst always happens when the cursor goes from the DP monitor to one of the DVI ones, and most commonly after playing accelerated flash video, and requires a reboot to fix. But it also happens randomly at other times, and then it sometimes fixes itself. I;m not hte only one with this issue, and it was mentioned it was fixed in the 10.8 release notes, but not in my case.

    One of the issues I had with the adapters was having to many things plugged in, and it wasn't getting enough power over USB(the monitor would lose signal). Once I switched to using a powered hub, I haven't had any issues that aren't present with a direct DP connection.

    I have also noticed that when I have the cursor corruption issues, most often, when booting windows I will have on signal on the monitor until the log-in screen, and when I don't, I see the booting logo as normal.
     
    t_ski says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11,960 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,525
    Do you have a link for the adapter you are using?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  7. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    16,425 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,793
    Location:
    Parkland County, Alberta
    t_ski says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11,960 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,525
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  9. wahdangun

    wahdangun New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,511 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    indonesia ku tercinta
    no, you are wrong, AMD just release single link DP-to-DVi active adapter, its not passive
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)