• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

trying to identify fake gtx 1060 6gb

lukseffect

New Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2020
Messages
4 (0.01/day)
Hello everyone, I need help to identify this one that I bought on ebay, I have searched but I have not been able to find anything like it. The memory chips are elpida GDDR5, is there 5. will be 3 gb of vram ?. I do not understand.
I send you some pictures. I would appreciate any help.
Thank you.
 

Attachments

Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
9,247 (3.11/day)
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MGK-1 RGB (Kaith Blue)
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
looks like an older 550ti, or similar series Card. the fact that it has VGA on it says a lot about its age.
definitely return it or refund it....its no 1060
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
21,007 (4.22/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.V
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling CPU: BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 {1xCorsair ML120 Pro|5xML140 Pro}
Memory 16 Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz {2x8GB}
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC|Accelero Xtreme IV
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White)
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻

lukseffect

New Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2020
Messages
4 (0.01/day)
looks like an older 550ti, or similar series Card. the fact that it has VGA on it says a lot about its age.
definitely return it or refund it....its no 1060
Thanks for the answer, I am trying to find the right bios to make it usable.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
9,247 (3.11/day)
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MGK-1 RGB (Kaith Blue)
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Joined
Jan 1, 2019
Messages
92 (0.13/day)
not a GTX 670, card has 192 CUDA so it is definitely like a GTX 260 but those cards had dual DVI, most likely a GTX 550 Ti

 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
9,247 (3.11/day)
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MGK-1 RGB (Kaith Blue)
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
not a GTX 670, card has 192 CUDA so it is definitely like a GTX 260 but those cards had dual DVI

how do you know it has 192 cuda's? from the modded bios readout GPUz is reading?
it doesnt have 6Gb's Vram, but GPUz says it does, its best to visually confirm with this stuff

these cards are patched together junk, if i was OP id refund & toss, its a Card cheap enough to be near worthless tot 99% of users, which is why they use them
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
1,467 (0.35/day)
Location
Heart of Europia what!
System Name ibuytheusedstuff
Processor 5960x
Motherboard x99 sabertooth
Cooling old socket775 cooler
Memory 32 Viper
Video Card(s) 1080ti on morpheus 1
Storage raptors+ssd
Display(s) acer 120hz
Case open bench
Audio Device(s) onb
Power Supply antec 1200 moar power
Mouse mx 518
Keyboard roccat arvo
M is mobile card so plz dont flash that.
and i think there is no gtx 670 with only 1x6pin power connector and vga port
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,442 (6.21/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
try GTX670 bios' , im 90% sure it WAS a 670
Ram is determining factor

Should I try the GTX 670 2 or 4GB? and what about the gtx 670M 1.5; 2 or 3 gb? Thanks for the help
Stop it, i will look for right bios for you

Those chips are .250GB each (2Gb)

6 chips= 1.5GB total (wont matter at this rate as long as 1GB or less bios is used, that have correct video outputs

Most likely a

Your card is known as a fake 960 too

GF116 chip used

Use this bios.

Use this tool to flash

Or use this tool

Galaxy Heatsink pretty much there
 
Last edited:

lukseffect

New Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2020
Messages
4 (0.01/day)
Ram is determining factor



Stop it, i will look for right bios for you

Those chips are .250GB each (2Gb)

6 chips= 1.5GB total (wont matter at this rate as long as 1GB or less bios is used, that have correct video outputs

Most likely a

Your card is known as a fake 960 too

GF116 chip used

Use this bios.

Use this tool to flash

Or use this tool

Galaxy Heatsink pretty much there
Thanks a lot. I'll try it and let you know
 

leojr

New Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2020
Messages
4 (0.11/day)
Hi guys!

I have the same fake video card and I am trying to fix it.

Some news about this video card? Did the bios work correctly?

I am not sure if it is a GTS 450 or a GTX 550ti. It seems to be 1.5Gb (12 memory chips K4G10325FE-HC04 from Samsung).

I found a GTX 550ti bios that supports 1.5Gb. There is only one bios on TechPowerUp. However, the clock frequency does not match.

On the other hand, I can't find a GTX 450 bios for 1.5Gb. So, I do not know what to do.

Thanks for your help!
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2012
Messages
2,016 (0.63/day)
System Name MSI GE75 Raider
Processor i9 9880h
Cooling 2 laptop fans
Memory 32gb of 3000mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Nvidia 2080
Storage x2 2tb Intel 660p SSD nvme, WD Red SA500 2.5in 4TB
Display(s) 17.3" IPS 1920x1080 144Hz
Power Supply 280w laptop power supply
Mouse Logitech m705
Keyboard laptop keyboard
Software lots of movies and Windows 10 with win 7 shell
Benchmark Scores Good enough for me
Hi guys!

I have the same fake video card and I am trying to fix it.

Some news about this video card? Did the bios work correctly?

I am not sure if it is a GTS 450 or a GTX 550ti. It seems to be 1.5Gb (12 memory chips K4G10325FE-HC04 from Samsung).

I found a GTX 550ti bios that supports 1.5Gb. There is only one bios on TechPowerUp. However, the clock frequency does not match.

On the other hand, I can't find a GTX 450 bios for 1.5Gb. So, I do not know what to do.

Thanks for your help!
return it
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
10,210 (4.57/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
On the other hand, I can't find a GTX 450 bios for 1.5Gb. So, I do not know what to do.

Thanks for your help!

Probably because they made a GTS, not X.
 

leojr

New Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2020
Messages
4 (0.11/day)
Yes... not a GTX. I mean a GTS 450 one (it was a typo error ;-)

But there is no bios for a GTS 450 with 1.5Gb, correctly? So, I do not know if can I try different bios without brick the video card.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
10,210 (4.57/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Yes... not a GTX. I mean a GTS 450 one (it was a typo error ;-)

But there is no bios for a GTS 450 with 1.5Gb, correctly? So, I do not know if can I try different bios without brick the video card.
Did you click on the link in my previous post?
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
10,210 (4.57/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Yes. But this is for a 1Gb video card.
You originally said it was 1.5GB so I linked three Bios's for that. 1536MB = 1.5GB.
 

masa

New Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2020
Messages
1 (0.05/day)
Hi,

I had similary problem with FAKE GTX-1060 6GB (my GPU isn't GF116 but GF106, see below).

1605224755400.png


This bios https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/197782/197782 "repaired" my FAKE card at least on GTS-450 (after reflashing BIOS, the card works normally as GTS-450 [including driver upgrade from NVIDIA GeForce Experience], before was the card unstable mainly while plaing and the driver for card had to be search and loaded manually) (see below).

1605224737516.png


How I found correct bios?

I tried read (eeprom reader https://www.ebay.com/itm/USB-Programmer-CH341A-Burner-Chip-Writer-SOP-Clip-Adapter-EEPROM-BIOS-FLASH-NEW/143311151048?_trkparms=aid=555018&algo=PL.SIM&ao=2&asc=225086&meid=4eb2ecdd9e68433183d10d2b6ce894d1&pid=100677&rk=2&rkt=30&mehot=ag&sd=402299559032&itm=143311151048&pmt=1&noa=0&pg=2386202&algv=SimplAMLv5PairwiseWeb&_trksid=p2386202.c100677.m4598) FAKE bios and search "GF106 Board - 10600011" on google (see below):

1605224947682.png


Eureka :)

1605224658800.png


Screen from fix bios:

1605224851353.png


It could be help someone. :)

Regards,
Masa.
 
Last edited:
Top