• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Turn Windows Vista into Windows XP

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,159
Likes
1,416
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#1
Ok, I do run vista, but a lot of it drives me nuts.


I want to turn Vista into XP as in menus, folders, start menu and so forth. Has anyone tried to do this yet?



Below is things that I do not like, and would like to add or change into Vista from XP.

I do not like the way you download files in Vista, it drives me nuts.


In Xp you can tell this does make things easier when going to the folder behind it. Then maybe clicking another folder that is right next to it in the directory or even creating one. Such as maybe a new folder name in your download directory that you save in.



This is the Windows XP My Computer that I like better in ways than vista, if you could combine the new top tools in vista that would be nicer.



If you want to turn the side bar off in XP you can, in vista you always have to have it.


This is the vista my computer in basic mode. As you notice there is a lot more to it. More is not always better.


This is what it looks like when you open a folder in Vista. It has extra crap that I do not want inside a window using space on my screen that I do not want to waste.

Windows Xp folders take less space and are less cluttered.


Now this drives me nuts, when I save a file or mess with one. I can never find it with ease like I did with windows XP.

This is what I did every time I looked for something I was just working with in windows XP. It would put it at the bottom or top of the list of all the files.


This has been removed from Vista, and date taken does not work for looking for the last file saved or messed with.



Now when I right click on my computer I normal use Manage, but when I click properties I would like to have the simple XP one back.

This is over kill, and I think xp is easier to use.


I would also like to have this kind of start menu for vista. Drag and drop was easier, and finding things(no clicking just hover mouse above where you wanted to go) was easier to do than they are in Vista for me


So does anyone think that these things could be added or changed in windows vista. Does anyone know any settings that could change things back to what they did in xp for these things above?

These are just the tops of my personal list that I do not like about vista that affect me every time I use my computer.

-------updated
Easy fix on the side to remove the favorites and explorer bar in vista, so easy it makes me feel....


Removing the side with the layout.....YAY it's gone.


Well removing the favs was to easy to see I guess,

http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windows-vista/disable-favorite-links-panel-in-windows-vista-explorer/

[/img]
This is much much better with the added up folder button, no favs and can turn explorer bar on and off now.
QTTabBar
http://qttabbar.wikidot.com/


Found the fix for searching for your last messed with file. It's no longer default and it's not under right click/sort by/more/modified (like it would be called in xp) it's right click/sort by/more/Date modified.


http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windows-vista/view-last-modified-files-on-windows-vista/
that's a good site a big thanks!!!


woot no more hunting for files anymore, and all because of user error!!!

In Windows Vista, Microsoft changed that. In Vista, the Administrator account is not subject to UAC, but normal administrator accounts are. So the Administrator can make any changes to the system and will see no UAC prompts.

Turning on the Administrator account is straightforward. First, open an elevated command prompt by typing cmd into the Search box on the Start menu, right-clicking the command prompt icon that appears at the top of the Start menu, then selecting Run as administrator -- or just use the shortcut you created in the previous hack.

Then enter this command and press Enter:

Net user administrator /active:yes

http://www.computerworld.com/action...ewArticleBasic&articleId=9015738&pageNumber=2

Restore the Start menu Search link in Vista Service Pack 1
http://www.winhelponline.com/blog/restore-the-start-menu-search-link-in-vista-service-pack-1/



Turn on Classic my computer properties /much nicer
http://www.askvg.com/add-windows-xp...my-computer-context-menu-under-windows-vista/


Restoring “Run” in Start Menu
http://vistarewired.com/wp-content/uploads/2007/02/run_command_button.jpg



New start menu it has everything the standered start menu has, but it expands like it does in windows XP I like it.

http://www.vistastartmenu.com/index.htm free download


This program takes out the reg hack for the old my computer properties. Cant get it to work with it.



Make Vista Remember the Folder View Settings Like XP
http://dotnetwizard.net/vista-stuff/make-vista-remember-the-folder-view-settings-like-xp/
just download right click and merge the file and the problem is fixed.


Make your SATA drives read faster in Vista, go to device manager, and right click on the disk drive and click properties.


http://dotnetwizard.net/category/vista-stuff/page/13/
Fine Tune SuperFetch

Windows SuperFetch enables programs and files to load much faster than they would on Windows XP–based PCs.

When you’re not actively using your computer, background tasks—including automatic backup programs and antivirus scans—run when they will least disturb you. These background tasks can take up system memory space that your programs had been using. On Windows XP–based PCs, this can slow progress to a crawl when you attempt to resume work.

SuperFetch monitors which applications you use the most and preloads these into your system memory so they’ll be ready when you need them. Windows Vista also runs background programs, like disk defragmenting and Windows Defender, at low priority so that they can do their job but your work always comes first.

But unfortunately superfetch has some issues:

1. It slows down games
2. Lot of people say its a resource hog (people who run vista with 512MB Ram)
3. Considerable amount of HDD thrashing which leads to overheated HDDs

but superfetch is a wonderful thing, which is a huge improvement of xp prefetch.

so instead of complaining you can fine tune How your superfetch works, using a registry hack

1. Goto: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\Session Manager\Memory Management\PrefetchParameters
2. you should see two keys called enable superfetch and enable prefetch, both having the default values of 3.
3. change both the values according to the below info and your preference.

1: Caches Boot files only.
2: Caches Boot files and Programfiles (this is the best setting for most systems, gives maximum performance with minimum resource hog)
3: Caches all files (Default setting, takes maximum resources)

so taking the above info into consideration, It would be wise to change the setting of superfetch and prefetch keys to the value of 2 or just merge the Regkey provided. superfetch_tuner.reg
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 7, 2008
Messages
5,730
Likes
874
Location
Wakefield, UK
System Name [Insert Witty Name Here]
Processor Intel Core i7 4790k
Motherboard Asus Rampage VII Ranger
Cooling Antec Khuler 920
Memory Kingston HyperX Savage 4x8GB @ 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 2x AMD Asus HD7950 DirectCU II 3GB
Storage Sandisk X110 128GB + Mushkin Deluxe 240GB
Display(s) Iiyama ProLite X2775HDS-1
Case Silverstone FT02
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Phoebus
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i
Mouse Steelseries Ikari Laser
Keyboard QPad MX-50
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
#2
you would be changing the OS a lot there. And Vista isn't User friendly when it comes to re-writing it. Maybe wait and see if Windows7 has the changes you want, and if it doesn't, go back to XP?
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,159
Likes
1,416
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#3
you would be changing the OS a lot there. And Vista isn't User friendly when it comes to re-writing it. Maybe wait and see if Windows7 has the changes you want, and if it doesn't, go back to XP?
Vista is the new windows, no more than video cards in XP, no DX10 in XP, and so forth. There are some nice things in vista. I didn't go into that, only what I mess and want back from xp.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2008
Messages
3,166
Likes
467
Location
North Chili, NY
System Name Woot!:D
Processor Intel Core i5 4690k
Motherboard AsRock z97 Extreme3
Cooling Stock
Memory 16GB 1333 DDR3
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780
Storage 240GB Intel SSD 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Cintiq 21UX 1600x1200, LG 23" 1920x1080
Case Thermaltake v6
Power Supply EVGA 850 B2
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
#4
you would be changing the OS a lot there. And Vista isn't User friendly when it comes to re-writing it. Maybe wait and see if Windows7 has the changes you want, and if it doesn't, go back to XP?
We'd be quite behind in DX versions if we all waited until Windows 7. XD
 
Joined
Oct 27, 2005
Messages
313
Likes
69
Location
Dublin, Ireland
System Name Kablamo
Processor Some Intel i5
Motherboard some gigabyte board
Cooling h80i
Memory samsung sticks that got a good review a few years back
Video Card(s) 6950 acting like a 6970
Storage some solid state ocz drives
Display(s) Samsung T260HD (1920 x 1200)
Case bitfenix microatx case
Audio Device(s) hyperx cloud II
Power Supply corsair 750 or similar
Mouse M65
Keyboard g510
Software win 10
#5
Why not use xp? Or dual boot xp and vista so you can still up dx 10. Would seem like the easiest solution.
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2008
Messages
5,730
Likes
874
Location
Wakefield, UK
System Name [Insert Witty Name Here]
Processor Intel Core i7 4790k
Motherboard Asus Rampage VII Ranger
Cooling Antec Khuler 920
Memory Kingston HyperX Savage 4x8GB @ 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 2x AMD Asus HD7950 DirectCU II 3GB
Storage Sandisk X110 128GB + Mushkin Deluxe 240GB
Display(s) Iiyama ProLite X2775HDS-1
Case Silverstone FT02
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Phoebus
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i
Mouse Steelseries Ikari Laser
Keyboard QPad MX-50
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
#6
Vista is the new windows, no more than video cards in XP, no DX10 in XP, and so forth. There are some nice things in vista. I didn't go into that, only what I mess and want back from xp.
Yes, but re-writing Vista isn't easy and someone wont spend a lot of time doing it for just you. No offence, but I just don't see it likely.

We'd be quite behind in DX versions if we all waited until Windows 7. XD
Well, he can use Vista for the time being. And when Windows7 comes out, he can see if it has these changes, if he still wants them.
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,159
Likes
1,416
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#7
Why not use xp? Or dual boot xp and vista so you can still up dx 10. Would seem like the easiest solution.
I don't want to use more than one os, like I said I like some things in Vista. Why not just fix whats wrong in vista.

I think I'm going to start looking into stuff that does this. They made XP look and feel like Vista, so I don't see why you cant do that in vista. Heck even with windows 98 I could turn it into XP with all the little tools for the most part.
 
Joined
Oct 27, 2005
Messages
313
Likes
69
Location
Dublin, Ireland
System Name Kablamo
Processor Some Intel i5
Motherboard some gigabyte board
Cooling h80i
Memory samsung sticks that got a good review a few years back
Video Card(s) 6950 acting like a 6970
Storage some solid state ocz drives
Display(s) Samsung T260HD (1920 x 1200)
Case bitfenix microatx case
Audio Device(s) hyperx cloud II
Power Supply corsair 750 or similar
Mouse M65
Keyboard g510
Software win 10
#8
double post... oops! that's what i get for commenting using my phone!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 7, 2008
Messages
5,730
Likes
874
Location
Wakefield, UK
System Name [Insert Witty Name Here]
Processor Intel Core i7 4790k
Motherboard Asus Rampage VII Ranger
Cooling Antec Khuler 920
Memory Kingston HyperX Savage 4x8GB @ 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 2x AMD Asus HD7950 DirectCU II 3GB
Storage Sandisk X110 128GB + Mushkin Deluxe 240GB
Display(s) Iiyama ProLite X2775HDS-1
Case Silverstone FT02
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Phoebus
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i
Mouse Steelseries Ikari Laser
Keyboard QPad MX-50
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
#9
haha, if it doesn't work first time - try it again mcloughj...

Anyways, When Microsoft made Vista they intended it to not be changed beyond the options they allow. You would find it hard to change it to how you desire it. If you want more freedom in the OS, use XP. And if you want a lot more, use Linux.
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Messages
3,923
Likes
553
System Name Main / Home Media Serever
Processor Intel i5 2500k @ 4.75ghz / AMD AM3 5200+ x2
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty P67 Performance / Biostar 790GX
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight / XIGMATEK Apache
Memory 12gb of G.Skill Value Series DDR3 / 4x 1gb DDR2
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon 6870 1gb / Asus Radeon 5450 512mb
Storage 2x Samsung 830 64gb SSD Raid 0 & 750gb WD Blue HDD / OCZ Vertex II 80GB & 10TB of HDD Space
Display(s) 2x Acer 24" LED / Samsung 50" LED
Case Xigmatek Asgard II / APEX PC-389-C
Power Supply Rosewill 750w / Antec EArthwatts 380w
Software Windows 7 Professional x64 SP1 / Ubuntu 14.04
#10
I agree with you Damulta, I love everything about vista except for the few things you mentioned.

I hate not being able to go up one folder and the system properties window change. Other than that I don't have any problems.
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,876
Likes
5,411
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#11
Why not use xp? Or dual boot xp and vista so you can still up dx 10. Would seem like the easiest solution.
Dual boot is nice sometimes, but it is a pain in the a$$ to reboot.

Also, you can't go up one folder? That sucks. I can't imagine myself living without it (or something similiar).
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2007
Messages
1,192
Likes
128
Location
scotland
System Name spuds K8-X2
Processor amd athlon X2 4200+ toledo s939 2794mhz 254x11 1.4 vcore
Motherboard MSI K8N Neo4-F v1.0 (MS-7125) nforce4 sata2 mod, laptop cpu heatpipe copper nb cooler
Cooling akasa evo "blue" + 90mm fan, 2x120mm front, 250mm side, 120mm rear, 120mm in psu, pci slot exhaust.
Memory OCZ Platinum XTC DDR PC3200 4GB(4x1024) @254mhz 3-3-3-8 2T
Video Card(s) sapphire HD3870 512mb GDDR4 vf900cu, several ramsinks on components / nvidia 7300gt 256mb secondary
Storage hitachi 160gb (slightly fried) / hitachi 120gb ATA / Seagate 160gb / 2x ps3 seagate 60gb
Display(s) CTX EX1300F 20" flat CRT, 1280x1024@100hz / 19" benq FP91G X / 19" hanns-g (all free)
Case mesh server/gaming black case, 9x 5.25' drive bays, silvestone auto fan controller
Audio Device(s) onboard realtek alc850 7.1/soundblaster LIVE! ct4780 + kxaudio - sony home theatre surround
Power Supply winpower 650w, system draws around 470-500w under load(+all screens)
Software win7 64bit
Benchmark Scores ~16m trips/sec using mty trip generator. triple monitor gaming using SoftTH. 3840x1024
#12
alt + up to go one folder back, next best thing to a back button for now.
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Messages
3,923
Likes
553
System Name Main / Home Media Serever
Processor Intel i5 2500k @ 4.75ghz / AMD AM3 5200+ x2
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty P67 Performance / Biostar 790GX
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight / XIGMATEK Apache
Memory 12gb of G.Skill Value Series DDR3 / 4x 1gb DDR2
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon 6870 1gb / Asus Radeon 5450 512mb
Storage 2x Samsung 830 64gb SSD Raid 0 & 750gb WD Blue HDD / OCZ Vertex II 80GB & 10TB of HDD Space
Display(s) 2x Acer 24" LED / Samsung 50" LED
Case Xigmatek Asgard II / APEX PC-389-C
Power Supply Rosewill 750w / Antec EArthwatts 380w
Software Windows 7 Professional x64 SP1 / Ubuntu 14.04
#13
Joined
Nov 8, 2006
Messages
5,052
Likes
540
Location
Manchester, United Kingdom
Processor AMD FX 8320 @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 rev1
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 4 x 4GB DDR3 Ripjawz 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X AMD R9 280X
Storage 1 x 500GB Samsung Evo 850, 1 x 500GB Vrap Data Drive, 3 x 2TB Seagate, 1 x 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) 3 x DGM IPS-2402WDH
Case Coolermaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Coolermaster 1000W Silent Pro M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#14
Ok, for the Up on level button (back a folder) they removed it because of the "breadcrumb" navi bar, you can click the previous folder and go back to that level.

As for adding the button, QTTabBar I believe allows you to do that (I used to use it in XP), or use the shortcut (Alt + Up)

For the System Information and Start Menu, I actually prefer it. I always hated the slide-out start menu, drove me crazy if you had over one screens worth, and the System Information is now more intuitive and I'm afraid to say that these changes are here to stay, even with Windows 7 on the way.

It's something new, it will take time to get used to, and eventually I'm sure there will be 3rd party apps to change the bigger problems, there always are :)
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2007
Messages
1,192
Likes
128
Location
scotland
System Name spuds K8-X2
Processor amd athlon X2 4200+ toledo s939 2794mhz 254x11 1.4 vcore
Motherboard MSI K8N Neo4-F v1.0 (MS-7125) nforce4 sata2 mod, laptop cpu heatpipe copper nb cooler
Cooling akasa evo "blue" + 90mm fan, 2x120mm front, 250mm side, 120mm rear, 120mm in psu, pci slot exhaust.
Memory OCZ Platinum XTC DDR PC3200 4GB(4x1024) @254mhz 3-3-3-8 2T
Video Card(s) sapphire HD3870 512mb GDDR4 vf900cu, several ramsinks on components / nvidia 7300gt 256mb secondary
Storage hitachi 160gb (slightly fried) / hitachi 120gb ATA / Seagate 160gb / 2x ps3 seagate 60gb
Display(s) CTX EX1300F 20" flat CRT, 1280x1024@100hz / 19" benq FP91G X / 19" hanns-g (all free)
Case mesh server/gaming black case, 9x 5.25' drive bays, silvestone auto fan controller
Audio Device(s) onboard realtek alc850 7.1/soundblaster LIVE! ct4780 + kxaudio - sony home theatre surround
Power Supply winpower 650w, system draws around 470-500w under load(+all screens)
Software win7 64bit
Benchmark Scores ~16m trips/sec using mty trip generator. triple monitor gaming using SoftTH. 3840x1024
#15
doesnt vista have a classic start menu option?
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2008
Messages
557
Likes
34
Location
Bradford, PA
System Name Fenix
Processor AMD A8-3820 @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard HP 2ACF
Cooling AMD
Memory 8GB DDR3 @ 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon HD6550
Storage 320GB Seagate
Display(s) Dell 19"
Case Unknown
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX650W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium
#16
Vista is the new windows
And that is why the layout has been updated. iirc there is no way to get it to look the way you want it to.
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,159
Likes
1,416
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#17
Last edited:

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,159
Likes
1,416
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#18
In Windows Vista, Microsoft changed that. In Vista, the Administrator account is not subject to UAC, but normal administrator accounts are. So the Administrator can make any changes to the system and will see no UAC prompts.

Turning on the Administrator account is straightforward. First, open an elevated command prompt by typing cmd into the Search box on the Start menu, right-clicking the command prompt icon that appears at the top of the Start menu, then selecting Run as administrator -- or just use the shortcut you created in the previous hack.

Then enter this command and press Enter:

Net user administrator /active:yes

http://www.computerworld.com/action...ewArticleBasic&articleId=9015738&pageNumber=2
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2004
Messages
180
Likes
2
Location
UK, Lincoln
System Name Omicron
Processor Athlon X2 3800 @5000
Motherboard Asrock 939DualSATA2
Cooling Zalman
Memory 2x 1gb Corsair XMS DDR3500PRO 2-3-2-6 1t
Video Card(s) Radeon 3870
Storage Seagate 320gb
Display(s) BenQ FP241w
Case X-Blade Deluxe
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Music
Power Supply Corsair HX620
Software WinXP SP2
#20
cant help with the back button, I do miss that too, although some older windows progs still show it so its up to the app i guess. The information panel on the side of the window is simply Organize/Layout option on all windows.

to sort by modification date, you just need to select 'more' in the view by dropdown and enable 'date modified' it should then become an available option in the sort menu.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
888
Likes
69
Location
Lancs,UK
System Name xubidoo
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 2.4ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5K Premium:Black Pearl Edition
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro + MX2
Memory 4gb Corsair XMS2 DDR2 6400 2x 2gb 5-5-5-18 @854
Video Card(s) MSI nVidia GTX260 896mb or GeForce GTX 750Ti 2048mb
Storage WD 640gb / Samsung 750gb / WD 500gb
Display(s) Hanns-G 23"
Case Thermaltake Armour VA8003BWS/1x250mm/2x120mm/2x92mm
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z-10 2.0 Speakers
Power Supply Antec 550w
Mouse Razer Deathadder
Keyboard Standard
Software Windows 7 Professional x64
#21
the main thing that really annoys the hell out of me within Vista is the way it totally at random appears to forget folder settings
i like to have all my folders showing contents as a list ,but it changes them whenever it feels like it.

i know theres a reg hack that supposedly sorts that out,but im not comfortable messing in the registry. :(
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,159
Likes
1,416
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#22

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,159
Likes
1,416
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#23
Last edited:

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,159
Likes
1,416
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#24

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,159
Likes
1,416
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#25
anyone do this stuff or find anything else?