• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Tutorial-Running low on space on your SSD?

Joined
Sep 8, 2012
Messages
829 (0.42/day)
Likes
323
Location
Sydney, Australia
System Name The White Breeze||Medion Akoya Ultrabook
Processor i7-3770k||Core i5-3317U
Motherboard MSI Z77 MPOWER||Laptop?
Cooling Custom TEC waterloop||Laptop?
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX @ 2133MHz||8GB SDRAM
Video Card(s) 2X SLI MSI GeForce GTX 680 Lightning||Intel 4000
Storage Corsair GT 120GB, WD Caviar Black 1TB||500GB HDD with 32gb MSATA cache
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 4k||14" LED
Case NZXT Switch 810||Laptop shell?
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi surround pro 5.1||Dolby Home Theatre V4
Power Supply Seasonic XP-860 Platinum||Laptop Power Brick
Software Windows 7||Windows 8
#1
So, SSD's are fast and all, but the problem everyone has, is that they are very expensive, for a small amount of space. So this is a little tutorial for people that want to squeeze every last gigabyte out of their SSD.
This is for Windows 7, i'm sure it is similar on other versions of Windows.
Things Required-
  1. An SSD (Oh really?)
  2. The ability to change and remove windows files
  3. [Optional] A 2nd drive/HDD
WARNING
You will be moving/changing/removing windows files. I am not responsible for you corrupting your windows or drives. I have done all the things shown in this tutorial, so there is some hope that is is safe:pimp:
WARNING

Some of the Data in the tutorial is from me, some is from websites, they will be credited.

Well, Lets get going.
Pagefile.sys
This file is used on computers that do not have enough ram. When you computer Maxes out its ram, it starts writing the RAM data onto your hard drive in the Pagefile.sys File. This file size is equivalent to your RAM, e.g. 8gb ram, 8gb Pagefile.sys.
So if know that your computer never maxes out its ram, or you have more then 8-12GB of ram, here is where your 2nd HDD comes in handy.


Control Panel/System/Advanced system settings/Performance/Settings/Advanced/Change
(Yeah, thats allot of advanced dialogue boxes, if your scared about venturing this deep into windows, leave now)
So there are 2 Options you can do here-

A)Move the File too your second HDD(Recommended)
On your first drive, set the paging file too, "No Paging file" Then hit set.
On the second drive, set the paging file too, "System Managed Size" Then hit Set.
The reason I like this option, is if your system ever maxes out, there is still a backup, just it won't be as fast.

B)Change The amount of space allocated or REMOVE the Pagefile.sys File(Not Recommended)

I'm not going to go into much detail about this, as it does not leave you much room for error on your pc, just incase it ever maxes out by allot, and crashes because there is not enough backup allocated on the PageFile.sys
Pretty much just Set a Min and Max size, i'm gonna let you explore with that.

hiberfil.sys
Hibernation is feature that only normally people with laptops, or people that want faster "resume" speeds on slow hard drive use.
On a Computer that is Running 24/7, or is turned off when not in use, the Hibernation file is not used.
Really all this file is, is when you put your computer into hibernation, it saves all the states of the files and RAM data currently running onto the hiberfile.sys file, to allow for a "quick" resume.
So, if you don't need this file, Here is the way to go.

So open up Command prompt with administrator privileges(right click). Then type this command. "powercfg –h off" Without the quotation marks. If you ever want to turn hibernation back on, just do the same command, replacing off with on.

Cleaning Temporary Files
So if using the windows temporary file cleaner isn't cutting it for you, here is a nifty little program I have found.
I find this Program, Called "System Ninja" works better then it's competitors, such as CCleaner.
http://singularlabs.com/software/system-ninja/
Just run it, scan your computer, and clean the files. I've once cleaned up ~1GB of Temporary files in 1 scan.

Well, I hoped this helped you. I will try to add some pictures as soon as possible.

Thanks,
ALMOSTunseen


Resources Used-
http://www.zdnet.com/blog/bott/windows-7-and-ssds-cutting-your-system-drive-down-to-size_p3/2941
My Mind
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,660 (1.67/day)
Likes
2,609
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#2
If the point of your "Tutorial" is to make room or save space on your SSD that is your OS drive, then you may want to do some more research; as, there is more you can do to create more breathing room on a space limited main OS SSD.

Examples:

1. Move your library folders to a second drive. For some with large amounts of data in them (picture, music, downloads, videos, etc.) it will free up a lot of space, not to mention cutting down on writes to the SSD.
2. Place caches (OS, IE, chrome, opera, firefox, and any other programs that write a large amount of data or frequently updates (again, to reduce writes to the SSD, also.) data to a secondary drive.
3. Move temp, tmp, and other temporary data to the secondary drive.
4. There are few more that can be moved... however, you are writing the tutorial, I'll let you research it.;)

You then need to explain why & how to accomplish the items you state for it to be a tutorial.
I am not saying you are doing it wrong, just trying to help.:)
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,599 (1.61/day)
Likes
921
Location
Independent in Imperialistic
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
#3
1question that has not been addresed, if the point of going Ssd is speed, why move OFTEN accessed files to the HDD? Thats a question for the real w1zzards! ;)
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,203 (2.95/day)
Likes
2,394
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#4
^most often accessed files are small.
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,599 (1.61/day)
Likes
921
Location
Independent in Imperialistic
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
#5
^most often accessed files are small.
Well then that would be another reason for not moving them to the HDD, small files will not "damage" much the SSD. I am refering to TEMP and internet CACHE for example....

Plus, the HDD would otherwise (when no TEMP or CACHE on it) go into Suspended Mode, saving energy and heat, but with the "move all kind of system files to the HDD" trick your drive is gonna be running all day long.


Just questions that do not let me sleep so well...
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,660 (1.67/day)
Likes
2,609
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#6
1question that has not been addresed, if the point of going Ssd is speed, why move OFTEN accessed files to the HDD? Thats a question for the real w1zzards! ;)
Well, I assume that would be personal preference.
Speed as a goal versus drive longevity, or a balance.

The OP seems to be addressing space savings on a space limited drive, which, some people are faced with.
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
#7
While moving your pagefile off of the SSD is a valid method to save space, it's kind of a catch 22.

It does free up space, but you want access to your pagefile to be as screaming fast as possible.
When the OS generates a hard page fault (needs the pagefile), you want the transfer between RAM and the PF to have the lowest possible impact on system performance.
In the past people would move the pagefile off the main OS HDD to increase performance, as it would not have anywhere near the Disk I/O contention as it would being on the OS drive.

Personally, I would leave the PF on the SSD and using performance monitor see how much you regularly use the PF and tweak it's size down to only what is really needed.

Just my 2 cents.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,577 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,192
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#9
I didn't do anything special. I have 6GB RAM and made a 12GB pagefile on the SSD and nowhere else. The SSD is many times faster than a hard drive and isn't slowed down by multiple access requests, so the SSD can take it. Writes are going to happen to your SSD. If you don't want writes on your SSD, don't take it out of the box it came in. It's rather unavoidable if you ask me...

As for moving things off the system drive that would normally be there, I can't see why you would want to do this. SSDs are about speed, I would think you would want your browser cache and such to be on the SSD anyway.
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2008
Messages
522 (0.15/day)
Likes
203
#10
You could always just use a blazing fast RAM disk for the page files and temp folders if you have enough RAM, which a lot of us do thanks to the low prices recently. The RAM disk program is free too iirc
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,577 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,192
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#11
Well, there are times when stuff will look for a pagefile on C:, even if you have plenty of RAM available, and there's a pagefile on another drive, and they get upset and don't work.
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,976 (2.24/day)
Likes
2,337
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#12
SSD's are fast, and moving temp files and caches to mechanical drives may make programs start fast, but then run slow.

Write combining.
TRIM
Wear leveling
Cached writes

More research is needed before you start spewing how failure prone SSD's are.
 
Joined
May 22, 2010
Messages
2,516 (0.90/day)
Likes
680
Location
Canada
System Name m1dg3t | DeathBox | HairPi 3
Processor 3570k @ 4.0 1.15v BIOS | q9550 @ 3.77 1.325v BIOS
Motherboard Asrock z77e iTX | p5q Dlx 2301 BIOS
Cooling Custom Water | D-14 & HR-03gt | Passive HSF
Memory Samsung MV-3V4G3D 4g x 2 @ 1866 1.35v | OcZ RpR 2g x 4 @ 1067 2.2v
Video Card(s) MSi 7950 tf3 @1000 / 1350 | Asus 5870 V2 @ 900 / 1275
Storage Adata sx900 256Gb / WD 2500 HHTZ | WD 1001 FALS x 2
Display(s) BenQ gw2750hm | 46" Sharp Quatron
Case BitFenix Prodigy - m0dd3d | Antec Fusion Remote MAX
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink > Yamaha HTR 6290 | Xonar HDAV1.3 > Yamaha DSP z7
Power Supply Ocz mXp700w | Ocz zx850w | Cannakit 5v 2.5a
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G9x - Cable Repaired
Keyboard TT Meka G1 - Black w Cherry Blacks| Logitech G11
Software Win7 Home | Xp sp3 & Vista ultimate | Raspbian
Benchmark Scores Epeen!! Who needs epeen??
#13
I just picked up an Adata 256GB drive, do I need really a mechanical drive as well? There is sooo much info and a lot of it conflicts so its hard for douche... I mean n00bs like me to figure out what the best setup is :eek:

I was thinking to just wait for another sale and grab another one of these, but no RAID as im n00b lol

It seems counterintuitive to buy an SSD only to pair it up with a spindisc???

Good thread! I need to learn this shtuff :p
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2010
Messages
858 (0.32/day)
Likes
218
System Name FragBox
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @ 5.0GHz/1.45 volts
Motherboard Asus P8Z77 WS
Cooling Custom CPU loop
Memory Kingston 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Galaxy GTX 680/Zotac GTX 680 in SLi/EVGA GTX 650Ti
Storage 2 Vertex 3 120's, raid 0, 2 Seagate Momentus XT 500GB's in raid 0, 1 Hitatchi 2TB for backup
Display(s) 3 Acer S232HLX2 in nvidia surround
Case Corsair C70 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Software Win 7 x64 Pro
#14
I just picked up an Adata 256GB drive, do I need really a mechanical drive as well? There is sooo much info and a lot of it conflicts so its hard for douche... I mean n00bs like me to figure out what the best setup is :eek:

I was thinking to just wait for another sale and grab another one of these, but no RAID as im n00b lol

It seems counterintuitive to buy an SSD only to pair it up with a spindisc???

Good thread! I need to learn this shtuff :p
HD's are great for storing things like all of your music, video files, pictures, even games at times. So yes, they're still needed. I couldn't live with just 256GB of storage space.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,577 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,192
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#15
These days it's best to keep your OS and programs on the SSD, but that's about it. Depending on the size, you can move some games to it as well. We still need spinners for mass storage, as 512GB SSDs are still $300 for the cheaper ones on newegg, and anything over 512GB is just stupid in price. Meanwhile, you can get a 2TB hard drive for just a little over $100...
 
Joined
May 22, 2010
Messages
2,516 (0.90/day)
Likes
680
Location
Canada
System Name m1dg3t | DeathBox | HairPi 3
Processor 3570k @ 4.0 1.15v BIOS | q9550 @ 3.77 1.325v BIOS
Motherboard Asrock z77e iTX | p5q Dlx 2301 BIOS
Cooling Custom Water | D-14 & HR-03gt | Passive HSF
Memory Samsung MV-3V4G3D 4g x 2 @ 1866 1.35v | OcZ RpR 2g x 4 @ 1067 2.2v
Video Card(s) MSi 7950 tf3 @1000 / 1350 | Asus 5870 V2 @ 900 / 1275
Storage Adata sx900 256Gb / WD 2500 HHTZ | WD 1001 FALS x 2
Display(s) BenQ gw2750hm | 46" Sharp Quatron
Case BitFenix Prodigy - m0dd3d | Antec Fusion Remote MAX
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink > Yamaha HTR 6290 | Xonar HDAV1.3 > Yamaha DSP z7
Power Supply Ocz mXp700w | Ocz zx850w | Cannakit 5v 2.5a
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G9x - Cable Repaired
Keyboard TT Meka G1 - Black w Cherry Blacks| Logitech G11
Software Win7 Home | Xp sp3 & Vista ultimate | Raspbian
Benchmark Scores Epeen!! Who needs epeen??
#16
What if I only need ~500Gb total? Would I HAVE to have a spin disc, could I not use only SSD? Just seems odd to be so driven to tell people to get SSD but still have to run a spin disc. My main querry is because my case is very small and I have no room for a standard drive... I could always fit one if needed but the spots are already there for a few SSDs :eek:
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2008
Messages
731 (0.21/day)
Likes
87
System Name WhiteWalker2020 / LAN Box
Processor Intel i7 6900K 4.4GHz / 2500K i5@4.5GHz
Motherboard MSI X99A Krait / Gigabyte Z68-UD3P
Cooling Full custom liquid / XIGMATEK HDT-Aegir
Memory G.Skill 32GB DDR4 3000MHz/ 4x4GB G. Skill DDR1866 Sniper
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX1080Ti SC ACX 2.0, EVGA GTX 1070 SC ACX 2.0
Storage 950 Pro 512GB M.2, 960GB SanDisk Ultra II, Intel 730 480GB and 240GB, 850 EVO 250GB, 17TB Mechanical
Display(s) 39" AMH 399A (no glass) UHD , Wasabi Mango 42" UHD IPS, Samsung 55" 4K
Case Thermaltake Core x9 / HAF 932 Red
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD-Audio On-Board
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850W / Corsair 650TX
Mouse 2x Logitech 610
Keyboard Razer DeathStalker / Logitech G910 Orion Spark RGB Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro / Windows 10 64bit Professional
#17
The best of all worlds for me came at quite a cost but has made me happy. My Z68 rig has 3 crucial M4 drives not in raid.

1 is for OS, programs and PF and so on, the other one is for steam and games and the last is for recording games as SSDs are awesome for that. There is a 1TB WD black for media.

SSD's are going down in price enough to where multiple or larger ones are within grasp of most enthusiast.
 
Joined
May 22, 2010
Messages
2,516 (0.90/day)
Likes
680
Location
Canada
System Name m1dg3t | DeathBox | HairPi 3
Processor 3570k @ 4.0 1.15v BIOS | q9550 @ 3.77 1.325v BIOS
Motherboard Asrock z77e iTX | p5q Dlx 2301 BIOS
Cooling Custom Water | D-14 & HR-03gt | Passive HSF
Memory Samsung MV-3V4G3D 4g x 2 @ 1866 1.35v | OcZ RpR 2g x 4 @ 1067 2.2v
Video Card(s) MSi 7950 tf3 @1000 / 1350 | Asus 5870 V2 @ 900 / 1275
Storage Adata sx900 256Gb / WD 2500 HHTZ | WD 1001 FALS x 2
Display(s) BenQ gw2750hm | 46" Sharp Quatron
Case BitFenix Prodigy - m0dd3d | Antec Fusion Remote MAX
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink > Yamaha HTR 6290 | Xonar HDAV1.3 > Yamaha DSP z7
Power Supply Ocz mXp700w | Ocz zx850w | Cannakit 5v 2.5a
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G9x - Cable Repaired
Keyboard TT Meka G1 - Black w Cherry Blacks| Logitech G11
Software Win7 Home | Xp sp3 & Vista ultimate | Raspbian
Benchmark Scores Epeen!! Who needs epeen??
#18
Is it impossible to use a SSD for "media"?
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2012
Messages
829 (0.42/day)
Likes
323
Location
Sydney, Australia
System Name The White Breeze||Medion Akoya Ultrabook
Processor i7-3770k||Core i5-3317U
Motherboard MSI Z77 MPOWER||Laptop?
Cooling Custom TEC waterloop||Laptop?
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX @ 2133MHz||8GB SDRAM
Video Card(s) 2X SLI MSI GeForce GTX 680 Lightning||Intel 4000
Storage Corsair GT 120GB, WD Caviar Black 1TB||500GB HDD with 32gb MSATA cache
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 4k||14" LED
Case NZXT Switch 810||Laptop shell?
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi surround pro 5.1||Dolby Home Theatre V4
Power Supply Seasonic XP-860 Platinum||Laptop Power Brick
Software Windows 7||Windows 8
#19
Is it impossible to use a SSD for "media"?
From the mouth of Audrey Hepburn, He says "Nothing is impossible, the word itself says I'm possible!"
You can use the SSD for "media", well, that's what it's built for, the ability to view it, and transfer it quickly. It's just that SSD's are so expensive for large sizes, and "media", takes up allot of space. Answering your previous question, You could splurge out on a 512GB ssd, or 2 256GB ones, and you should have plenty of space, if you just wana keep some movies, music, games etc. This is why most people still get an old spinner, because its soooo cheap, for allot of space. SO you might as well have one, for archiving old files, that are large, but you still want to use again, or if speed doesn't matter.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,172 (3.48/day)
Likes
6,824
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#20
I cant understand why you would move your page file. A SSD page file is one of the benefits of having it in the first place. You can however make it smaller without any side affects given you have a the ram to support your programs.

Shut of System Restore
make your page file 1Gb
unscheduled defrag

Done..total Windows 7 install 22Gb after all updates. I just did it today. I got a new OCZ 120Gb SSD
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,599 (1.61/day)
Likes
921
Location
Independent in Imperialistic
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
#21
Those that use their PC to work for a living, with multiple programs and settings, should carefully consider if System Restore can be turned off, without affecting their productivity/recovery needs. For some of us, if things go wrong, it is not just "Hey, reinstall Windows and Steam".