• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TV as monitor , 1080p TV wont display over 1366x768? Help if u can

Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
7,199 (3.75/day)
Likes
9,366
Location
Massachusetts
Processor i7 4790
Motherboard Asrock Z97 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 16 Gb kingston Hyper X
Video Card(s) Nvidia Reference GTX 970 x2
Storage C:\Samsung 850EVO 500Gb & Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Acrylic
Audio Device(s) Realtech Edition X1789,Ver2.78
Power Supply EVGA 220-G2-0650-Y1
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#1
Hello TPU,

I have a friend I am trying to help with a "monitor" issue. He has a LG 32LC51 that SAYS it is 1080p, but when he hooks it up to his Windows 7 64bit PC, it only displays in 1360x768. First of all, He and I BOTH know Televisions are not monitors, so lets get that outta the way, CCC shows the TV as 1080p, and also shows 1080p as its "recommended" resolution. But , on the display he is only getting 1360x768.Also, when using windows "screen resolution" option, it shows recommended resolution @ 1360x768. So there is TWO conflicting resolution reports. I AM aware that SOME TV's will allow You to INPUT 1080p, but they WONT Display 1080p, kind of a marketing gimmich, or what have You. If there is anyone who could help a fellow PC enthusiast save a few $$ by keeping the TV as a monitor , and getting it to 1080p, I and HE would GREATLY appreciate Your assistance.

As an added request..If all else fails, a GOOD recommendation for a proper monitor for gaming, and general PC use would be appreciated, NOTHING fancy, the buyer lives in Finland, and would like to keep the cost UNDER 200Euros.I would make my own recommendation's, but as an American products, and Prices are MUCH different for US.
Thank you for Your time, and For any help given.

HDMI cable for connection
GPU = AMD HD 7870
O.S. = Windows 7 64 Bit
TV(monitor) = LG 32LC51
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 21, 2009
Messages
4,966 (1.57/day)
Likes
1,511
System Name i7-PC / HTPC / iMac
Processor i7 3820 / Phenom II 940
Motherboard GIGABYTE G1.ASSASSIN2 / M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100i / Scythe II (HS only)
Memory G.SKILL Trident X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600mhz / 4GB DDR2 1066 (@800) Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB / GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB
Storage 2x 80GB Intel X-25, 2x600gb SATA, 1x1tb 5400RPM storage /1x600GB, 3x500GB,1x160,1x120 SATA
Display(s) 1x 27" Yamakasi / Vizio 42" HDTV
Case Lian Li Lancool PC-K58 / Antec 900
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker 7.1 / Onboard and HDMI from ATi Card
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750W / 610W
Software Ubuntu / Windows 8.1 Pro / OS X / PHPStorm / Gaming
#2
what cable is he using? it sounds like he might be using vga you need hdmi or composite for hd (1080p).
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
7,199 (3.75/day)
Likes
9,366
Location
Massachusetts
Processor i7 4790
Motherboard Asrock Z97 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 16 Gb kingston Hyper X
Video Card(s) Nvidia Reference GTX 970 x2
Storage C:\Samsung 850EVO 500Gb & Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Acrylic
Audio Device(s) Realtech Edition X1789,Ver2.78
Power Supply EVGA 220-G2-0650-Y1
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#3
what cable is he using? it sounds like he might be using vga you need hdmi or composite for hd (1080p).
HDMI....sorry for leaving that bit out, i just added it.
 
Joined
May 21, 2009
Messages
4,966 (1.57/day)
Likes
1,511
System Name i7-PC / HTPC / iMac
Processor i7 3820 / Phenom II 940
Motherboard GIGABYTE G1.ASSASSIN2 / M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100i / Scythe II (HS only)
Memory G.SKILL Trident X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600mhz / 4GB DDR2 1066 (@800) Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB / GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB
Storage 2x 80GB Intel X-25, 2x600gb SATA, 1x1tb 5400RPM storage /1x600GB, 3x500GB,1x160,1x120 SATA
Display(s) 1x 27" Yamakasi / Vizio 42" HDTV
Case Lian Li Lancool PC-K58 / Antec 900
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker 7.1 / Onboard and HDMI from ATi Card
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750W / 610W
Software Ubuntu / Windows 8.1 Pro / OS X / PHPStorm / Gaming
#4
that is weird.

out of curiosity...
go to screen resolution control panel,
click advanced settings,
go to monitor tab,
uncheck "hide modes that this monitor cannot display"
apply

in screen resolution control panel, does it have 1920x1080 as an option now? can you select and apply it?
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
4,001 (1.30/day)
Likes
1,652
Location
Sarasota, Florida, USA
System Name Awesomesauce 4.3 | Laptop (MSI GE72VR 6RF Apache Pro-023)
Processor Intel Core i7-5820K 4.16GHz 1.28v/3GHz 1.05v uncore | Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD5 WiFi LGA2011-v3| Stock
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 w/ 2x EK Vardar F4-120ER + various 120/140mm case fans | Stock
Memory G.Skill RJ-4 16GB DDR4-2666 CL15 quad channel | 12GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix A8G Gaming GTX 1080 @ 2075/1368 boost | NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB +200/+500 + Intel 530
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 500GB + Seagate 3TB 7200RPM + others | Kingston 256GB M.2 SATA + 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer G257HU 1440p 60Hz AH-IPS 4ms | 17.3" 1920*1080 60Hz wide angle TN notebook panel
Case Fractal Design Define XL R2 | MSI
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | Realtek with quad stereo speakers and subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair HX850i Platinum | 19.5v 180w Delta brick
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores GTX 1080 please?

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,382 (4.27/day)
Likes
6,294
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x SG 3TB HDDs (RAID 0) | 1x ADATA 128 SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256 SSD | 1x 1TB Samsung 850 EVO (OS)
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#6
Alot of TVs have broken EDIDs (this is the tv firmware telling your video display what it supports) I made a tool to fix this and I will try and find it but in the mean time you should google how to change EDID settings in your driver inf
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,382 (4.27/day)
Likes
6,294
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x SG 3TB HDDs (RAID 0) | 1x ADATA 128 SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256 SSD | 1x 1TB Samsung 850 EVO (OS)
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,372 (3.98/day)
Likes
4,783
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#8
Umm old TV that's when the BS was around and later came out with FULL HD which that connection ports supported the 1080 res. I remember going though the crap luckily i got my Vizio from walmart and the catch was the TV channels would come up in 1080 but the HDMI connection would be 1360x768 so it went back it's how most were made back then.

That's when i got My Toshiba 40" which was advertised Full HD which meant the HDMI would do the 1080.

Company's now i believe on newer TV's they make at least 1 HDMI port support 1080 which normally is either the 1st port or the last one.

Just in case the HDMI supports it make sure the right picture scaling is picked in the TV's options.

EDIT: going though the manual there is some small print which is not 100% clear were it says it does 1080 but not on VGA models and HDMI port 1/2 support it. Check page 29 in the manual http://www.lg.com/ae/support-product/lg-32LC51#
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
7,199 (3.75/day)
Likes
9,366
Location
Massachusetts
Processor i7 4790
Motherboard Asrock Z97 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 16 Gb kingston Hyper X
Video Card(s) Nvidia Reference GTX 970 x2
Storage C:\Samsung 850EVO 500Gb & Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Acrylic
Audio Device(s) Realtech Edition X1789,Ver2.78
Power Supply EVGA 220-G2-0650-Y1
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#9
I appreciate ALL of your help....I'm Currently going over ALL of your Advice, please excuse MY absence, I worked all day yesterday, and had to get to bed....Thank You all again.


@Solaris, the download you linked seems to be broken for ME, i get an error.I found a similar program and IM trying it.

@AsRock.....as ALWAYS i appreciate your feedback....your great about responding to help requests, and I really appreciate that....I'm going thru ALL options with my friend now...fingers crossed....

BTW @AsRock.....I thought I would let You know....I took delivery on MY NEW c920 Logitec WebCam a couple weeks ago, and I AM VERY happy with it, I ALSO appreciate your help in selecting that too..
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
12,595 (2.59/day)
Likes
5,991
Location
Europe\Slovenia
System Name Dark Silence 2
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5 GHz (1.15V)
Motherboard MSI X99A Gaming 7
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory 32 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Fury 2400 MHz @ 2666 MHz
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB (2000/11100)
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 2TB SSD (3D V-NAND)
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz 1ms (DisplayPort)
Case Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 + Altec Lansing MX5021 (HiFi capacitors and OPAMP upgrade)
Power Supply BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Cherry Stream XT Black
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Fall Creators Update)
#10
LG was a bit tricky with their LCD TV's in the past and their 1080p stickers on HD Ready panel TV's. They used to stick them on with excuse that they can playback 1080p (even though they have to downscale it to 720p).

However, i've tried gaming on my old 42 inch Philips at true 1080p and it was quite fun. Resolution wise a bit low for such smalld istance (used it instead of normal monitor at 1m range), but you had a feeling that you're actually in the game, because all you could see was ingame stuff.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,382 (4.27/day)
Likes
6,294
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x SG 3TB HDDs (RAID 0) | 1x ADATA 128 SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256 SSD | 1x 1TB Samsung 850 EVO (OS)
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#11
I appreciate ALL of your help....I'm Currently going over ALL of your Advice, please excuse MY absence, I worked all day yesterday, and had to get to bed....Thank You all again.


@Solaris, the download you linked seems to be broken for ME, i get an error.I found a similar program and IM trying it.

@AsRock.....as ALWAYS i appreciate your feedback....your great about responding to help requests, and I really appreciate that....I'm going thru ALL options with my friend now...fingers crossed....

BTW @AsRock.....I thought I would let You know....I took delivery on MY NEW c920 Logitec WebCam a couple weeks ago, and I AM VERY happy with it, I ALSO appreciate your help in selecting that too..
that attachment by ford works i downloaded it last night.
 

Attachments

Joined
Mar 2, 2011
Messages
776 (0.31/day)
Likes
844
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name "The Gift"
Processor Intel Core i5 2500k
Motherboard ASUS Maximus iV Gene-Z/Gen 3
Cooling Cryorig M9i
Memory G. Skill 8GB(2x4GB) Ripjaws "X" Series - DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) HIS HD 7950 IceQ Turbo 3GB
Storage WD Velociraptor Enterprise Edition - 300GB
Display(s) HP e232
Case Fractal Design - Arc Mini
Power Supply Corsair TX650W
Mouse Logitech T400 Zone Touch Mouse
Keyboard HP KBRF57711 Wireless Keyboard
Software Ubuntu 16.04.3 LTS/Windows 7 Professional - 64 bit(GOG/Steam Only)
#12
when Justn7477 mentioned 2007...I was thinking 1080i, those we're primarily being sold in 2007, but even if it was(like mine is..a 2007 Sony Bravia 40")...you should still be able to get 1080p through hdmi..at least my sony can when using it for my pc, but the pic is grainy. Same as 1080i. I'm actually using 1360x768, it's the only resolution that makes words legible and keeps everything on the screen.

I wish I knew how to set these up better, I tried watching a movie on it through the pc and it looked terrible...yet this tv has a screen that my new Samsung Smart TV can't come close to matching.

LC
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,177 (1.97/day)
Likes
1,721
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
#13
I'm sorry but it's looking like you and/or your friend are indulging in wishful thinking. The only pertinent response here is Jstn7477's, and it's the only one you ignored. He's right, that is merely a 1366x768 display that can down convert from a 1080 source. If you aren't looking at the "native resolution" to determine the screen spec, you aren't reading the tech sheet properly.

Native Resolution:1366 x 768

HDTV format:
HDTV 720p
HDTV 1080i
FullHD 1080p

Resolution and Format are two separate things. One is the max the screen can do, the other is the sources supported, but if the res is less than the source, it will be down converted.


Source: http://www.prad.de/en/tvguide/screen2249.html
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 29, 2012
Messages
409 (0.19/day)
Likes
84
Location
brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
System Name windows 10 pro 64bit
Processor i5 6600k 4.6ghz 1.37v
Motherboard asus maximus viii gene
Cooling Fractal Design Kelvin S24
Memory 2x8(16)GB 2860mhz
Video Card(s) gtx 970 4gb MSI
Storage ssd crusial 128gb 6gb/s
Display(s) dell E248WFP 24" 1200p
Case Aerocool DS Cube
Audio Device(s) asus motherboard intergrated
Power Supply be Quiet pure power L8 600w
Software my favorite World of Tanks :) is that a software?? :)
#14
i agree the first link he put says clearly resolution 1366x768!!
dont he have some used monitor to buy?!?! every country have some 2nd hand website!! recently i bought 24" FHD monitor in belgium for 70€
all doh i could buy new for 129€ in alternate!!but why buy new monitor when i could buy ssd :)