• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TV As Monitor?

adcom32

New Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2009
Messages
547 (0.18/day)
Likes
28
Location
macon,GA
System Name new build
Processor INTEL E4300 @ 3.01GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5K-E P35 WIFI EDITION(ATX)
Cooling ThermalTake BigTyp 14Pro
Memory Crucial 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 667 (PC2 5300) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory
Video Card(s) NVIDIA 9600GSO
Storage 61.4gb hard drive
Display(s) CRT COMPAQ
Case COOLERMASTER ELITE 310
Audio Device(s) ONBOARD-ADI AD1988B 8-CHANNEL HIGH DEFINITION
Power Supply coolermaster 460w
Software WINDOWS 7 64BIT
#1
is it possible to have a CRT TV connected to you pc, as a monitor?
 
Joined
May 21, 2008
Messages
4,090 (1.16/day)
Likes
766
Location
Iowa, USA
System Name FUTURE CUBE!
Processor intel Core i5 6600k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-Gaming 7
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE BK
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 3000 Mhz C15 32GB 2x16GB
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus 1080 Ti
Storage 2x M.2 Samsung Evo 250GB/500GB / WD Blue 500GB / 2x RAID1 Toshiba P300 3TB
Display(s) Samsung C24FG70 1080p 144hz Quantum Dot/ASUS VH226H 1080p 21.5"
Case "THE CUBE" Custom built, pure Red Alder wood
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Core3D/ Logitech Z-2300 200 watts/ Beyerdynamic DT 880
Power Supply Seasonic X Gold 650W
Mouse Logitech G700
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software Windows 10 Pro
#2
it depends i can't remember but do crt tv's have s video?
 
Joined
May 21, 2009
Messages
4,966 (1.57/day)
Likes
1,511
System Name i7-PC / HTPC / iMac
Processor i7 3820 / Phenom II 940
Motherboard GIGABYTE G1.ASSASSIN2 / M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100i / Scythe II (HS only)
Memory G.SKILL Trident X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600mhz / 4GB DDR2 1066 (@800) Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB / GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB
Storage 2x 80GB Intel X-25, 2x600gb SATA, 1x1tb 5400RPM storage /1x600GB, 3x500GB,1x160,1x120 SATA
Display(s) 1x 27" Yamakasi / Vizio 42" HDTV
Case Lian Li Lancool PC-K58 / Antec 900
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker 7.1 / Onboard and HDMI from ATi Card
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750W / 610W
Software Ubuntu / Windows 8.1 Pro / OS X / PHPStorm / Gaming
#3
well it's always possible. but the resolution on old crts is like 480 max... which can't display anything clearly. some old games, but no reading or web browsing or anything. of course you can enlarge everything but that is just no good. I have used it before, but it wasn't very good.

just for watching movies - it's worth it though.
 
Last edited:

adcom32

New Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2009
Messages
547 (0.18/day)
Likes
28
Location
macon,GA
System Name new build
Processor INTEL E4300 @ 3.01GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5K-E P35 WIFI EDITION(ATX)
Cooling ThermalTake BigTyp 14Pro
Memory Crucial 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 667 (PC2 5300) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory
Video Card(s) NVIDIA 9600GSO
Storage 61.4gb hard drive
Display(s) CRT COMPAQ
Case COOLERMASTER ELITE 310
Audio Device(s) ONBOARD-ADI AD1988B 8-CHANNEL HIGH DEFINITION
Power Supply coolermaster 460w
Software WINDOWS 7 64BIT
#5
so is my crt monitor is better then the TV or are they about the same?
 
Joined
May 21, 2009
Messages
4,966 (1.57/day)
Likes
1,511
System Name i7-PC / HTPC / iMac
Processor i7 3820 / Phenom II 940
Motherboard GIGABYTE G1.ASSASSIN2 / M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100i / Scythe II (HS only)
Memory G.SKILL Trident X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600mhz / 4GB DDR2 1066 (@800) Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB / GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB
Storage 2x 80GB Intel X-25, 2x600gb SATA, 1x1tb 5400RPM storage /1x600GB, 3x500GB,1x160,1x120 SATA
Display(s) 1x 27" Yamakasi / Vizio 42" HDTV
Case Lian Li Lancool PC-K58 / Antec 900
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker 7.1 / Onboard and HDMI from ATi Card
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750W / 610W
Software Ubuntu / Windows 8.1 Pro / OS X / PHPStorm / Gaming
#7
crt monitor should have a resolution of at least 600 vert, most likely 1024? your tv is less than 500 for sure. idk the resolution your monitor is native at - but i am sure it is higher than your tv, which makes it better in terms of quality.

in terms of size, you decide. the only thing a crt tv is good for imo is if you want to watch low quality movies on it. anything dvd quality or above will look like a vhs anyway. but it can make small vids and web clips etc bigger, and clearer at a higher size as there is not as much stretching to fit the physical space.
 
Joined
May 5, 2009
Messages
2,261 (0.71/day)
Likes
171
Location
the uk that's all you need to know ;)
System Name not very good (wants throwing out window most of time)
Processor xp3000@ 2.17ghz pile of sh** /i7 920 DO on air for now
Motherboard msi kt6 delta oap /gigabyte x58 ud7 (rev1.0)
Cooling 1 green akasa 8cm(rear) 1 multicoloured akasa(hd) 1 12 cm (intake) 1 9cm with circuit from old psu
Memory 1.25 gb kingston hyperx @333mhz/ 3gb corsair dominator xmp 1600mhz
Video Card(s) (agp) hd3850 not bad not really suitable for mobo n processor/ gb hd5870
Storage wd 320gb + samsung 320 gig + wd 1tb 6gb/s
Display(s) compaq mv720
Case thermaltake XaserIII skull / coolermaster cm 690II
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply corsair hx 650 w which solved many problems (blew up) /850w corsair
Software xp pro sp3/ ? win 7 ultimate (32 bit)
Benchmark Scores 6543 3d mark05 ye ye not good but look at the processor /uknown as still not benched
#8
hm .gif the answer is yes and no in the sense that

(yes)
you can use your tv as a monitor to play games
(i've done it with tomb raider aniversary and of cause it works quite well) (made my ps2 look rubbish:cry:)
sadly some games wouldn't fire up (not sure why) anyways the tv i was using was larger than my monitor so it was like playing a console game:D ,

and
(no)
in the sense tv's don't display text very well (it's a bit blurry tbh) so you won't be able to chat to the other members on tpu :eek:

all depends what size your tv is in comparison to your monitor
oh and don't forget that a tv's max scanning rate is only 60hz so your picture might be a bit flickery

what graphics card have you got ?
and did it come with a video out lead ?
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
61 (0.02/day)
Likes
6
Location
Texas
System Name Super Pooter
Processor Xeon W3580 3.33GHz
Motherboard Asus P6X58D
Cooling Megahalem Push/Pull | HR-03 Rev.A
Memory 12GB Crucial 7-7-7-20
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 5750 | HR-03 Rev.A - Fanless
Storage Areca 1231ML Vertex 2 | 6-F2 Eco's in Raid 1+0
Display(s) Dual Sony 26"
Case Lian-Li PC-71B Heavily Modded
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Essence STX
Power Supply Dual 450w Silverstone Nightjars
Software Windows 7 x64 Professional
#9
I was tinkering with this this week (32" Sony Wega CRT HDTV). Not good for Windows at 640x480 and flickering but it works pretty good for Windows Media Center (480p) GT 240 via HDMI.