• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Tweak Vista 64-bit for Music Production?

Dozer

New Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2008
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hello everyone.
I recently got a Dell I530-110B Inspirion 530
Intel Quad Core Q6600 with 6 Gigs RAM.

I am running Windows Vista 64-bit.

I originally did all my Music Production on an E-Machine T3256 with 2Gigs RAM-Windows XP.

In Windows XP, I disabled all services with XP Smoker Pro, except:
DCOM Server Process Launcher
Event Log
Network Connections
Plug and Play
System Restore Service
Windows Audio
Windows Management Instrumentation

I am looking to stop alot of the running services.
And just about anything else that could let me commit my system to music production.

Ive upgraded to a faster PC with more RAM so that I could mix music with more freedom.
I am no longer limited to how many Reverb Plugins, or any plugins for that matter, that I can have running at the same time.

If anyone has any links, or anything about Tweaking Vista 64-bit for this purpose. Let me know.

Music Production Computer: Does not connect to internet. Does not need or have Antispyware or Antivirus.
Does not need to be updated. Strictly music produciton/mixing/mastering

I am currently reading the Vista Tweaks Thread also.
Thanks.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.09/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#2
I used to turn loads off, but it ended up being more trouble than its worth. Now all I turn off is:

Windows Search (an absolute must!)
Windows Defender
Windows Security Center
Remote Registry

Other than that, there isnt any point IMO. especially with a quad and 6 gigs of ram. Only thing i would ask, whats is your mem config for 6 gig? (i.e 3x2gb, 2x2gb + 2x1gb? etc)
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2006
Messages
2,565 (0.62/day)
Likes
272
Location
N.Ireland
Processor Core I5 750
Motherboard MSI P55-A FUZION
Cooling Titan Fenrir
Memory 8 gb Mushkin and 4 gb Hyper X
Video Card(s) Radeon 7850 Xfire
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250 gb / Kingston 128 gb ssd / 3x1 terabyte hdds
Display(s) Technika 32" / Asus 24` ips
Case Xigmatek midgard
Audio Device(s) X-fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 950 w (Hur Hur !)
Software Windows 7
#3
blackviper.com

...but it seems to be down atm.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,158 (1.66/day)
Likes
1,651
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#4
blackviper.com

...but it seems to be down atm.
yeah that is a great site... be careful when turning off services, you can give yourself alot of trouble for very little gain...

You have almost the same set up as me.(a Q w. 6 gigs of ram).. the one service i would turn off asap is readyboost. why?

run any memory benchmarking tool with it, and then without it... (preferrably sisoft sandra.) for me that service killed 200mb/s to 400mb/s of ram bandwith consistently.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.09/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#5
yeah that is a great site... be careful when turning off services, you can give yourself alot of trouble for very little gain...

You have almost the same set up as me.(a Q w. 6 gigs of ram).. the one service i would turn off asap is readyboost. why?

run any memory benchmarking tool with it, and then without it... (preferrably sisoft sandra.) for me that service killed 200mb/s to 400mb/s of ram bandwith consistently.
Readyboost is the boot service required for Superfetch.
I always used to turn it off, then after about 3 boots after I turned it back on I must half halved me boot time, no joke!
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,158 (1.66/day)
Likes
1,651
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#6
Readyboost is the boot service required for Superfetch.
I always used to turn it off, then after about 3 boots after I turned it back on I must half halved me boot time, no joke!
oh wow i didnt even notice that... still i think would would rather have 400MB/s and lower latency than a quicker boot...
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,698 (1.90/day)
Likes
747
Processor i7-5820K
Motherboard Gigabyte X99-UD4
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Crucial DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX 1070
Storage 240GB HyperX 3k, 500GB Samsung 850EVO, 2x WD Black 640gb, WD Black 1TB, Seagate 10TB
Display(s) 2x BenQ 24" 1920x1080
Case BitFenix Ghost
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Saffire PRO 14 -> DBX DriveRack PA+ -> Mackie MR8 and MR10 / Corsair Vengeance 2100
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#7
Oh man to be more than honest, nobody is daring to use vista for production tools...

It's either Linux, XP or XP x64... Or Mac OS obviously....
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.09/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#8
oh wow i didnt even notice that... still i think would would rather have 400MB/s and lower latency than a quicker boot...
So you were getting lower bandwidth, even without a USB drive on Readyboost plugged in? Just the service running?

Did you use more than one memory app to double check? Say, everest?
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,698 (1.90/day)
Likes
747
Processor i7-5820K
Motherboard Gigabyte X99-UD4
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Crucial DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX 1070
Storage 240GB HyperX 3k, 500GB Samsung 850EVO, 2x WD Black 640gb, WD Black 1TB, Seagate 10TB
Display(s) 2x BenQ 24" 1920x1080
Case BitFenix Ghost
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Saffire PRO 14 -> DBX DriveRack PA+ -> Mackie MR8 and MR10 / Corsair Vengeance 2100
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#9
It should kill ram bandwidth because it will probably attempt to write to the dang flash drive which is a LOT slower than system ram...
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.09/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#10
It should kill ram bandwidth because it will probably attempt to write to the dang flash drive which is a LOT slower than system ram...
But it shouldnt if there is no flash drive attached with readyboost running on it.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,158 (1.66/day)
Likes
1,651
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#11
So you were getting lower bandwidth, even without a USB drive on Readyboost plugged in? Just the service running?

Did you use more than one memory app to double check? Say, everest?
Mostly SuperPi and Sisoft Sandra... I really noticed it when i was trying out readyboost (I was hoping to speed up HD latency for page file) I bought the drive, formatted it, readyboost ready and all, and then ran some unrelated benchies that day.

My scores for the memory went down across the board... once i turned off readyboost... they all went back up... etc etc. even after i took the flash drive out.

let me take some screenies. it was on my old DS3-L but it shouldnt make a diff.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.09/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#12
Mostly SuperPi and Sisoft Sandra... I really noticed it when i was trying out readyboost (I was hoping to speed up HD latency for page file) I bought the drive, formatted it, readyboost ready and all, and then ran some unrelated benchies that day.

My scores for the memory went down across the board... once i turned of redyboost... they all went back up... etc etc. even without the flash drive in.

let me take some screenies.
So with no flash drives plugged in. The Readyboot service still slows down your bandwidth :wtf:
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2007
Messages
2,010 (0.52/day)
Likes
279
Location
127.0.0.1
System Name Zangief (Reborn)
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X @ 3.825ghz , 1.35v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-AX370 Gaming K7 Rev 1.0 BIOS F7b
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Push / Push Config | 2x ML120 | 2x Phanteks 120 mm
Memory 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z @ 3200mhz cl 16 - 16 - 16 - 30 1.45v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080
Storage 250 GB Samsung Evo 850 / 1tb WD Black / 3tb WD Blue
Display(s) Asus VX239H 23" AH-IPS Led
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M TG
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek HD / Logitech G633 Gaming Headset
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core G502 | Logitech G602 Wireless Gaming
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry Red
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#13
@ Topic Starter: There's a sticky here that is well described about vista tweaks, you should look in to that :D here.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,158 (1.66/day)
Likes
1,651
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#14
Ok so here goes... with the serivce on, i definitely didnt experience the same dip as last time... Sandra was consistant and gave me about an 80-100Mb drop while superpi was inconsistent as hell, but on average very slightly slower with it enabled.

i posted some screenshots, 20mins after boot, with the Superfetch and Readyboost toggled on and off...

in conclusion, without the flashdrive, readyboost has barely any impact at all (80-100Mb/s is like 1.3%)... so i was talking out of my ass on that one. i am sorry. Aero, on the other hand...:D

also the screenies were bigger, but i chopped em to keep them around 190K...
View attachment 18869

View attachment 18870

View attachment 18871

View attachment 18872

View attachment 18873

View attachment 18874
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,331 (1.69/day)
Likes
1,097
System Name The Green Knight
Processor Intel i5 8600k @4.9GHz w/ Corsair H100i CPU AiO w/Corsair HD120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus Z370-E Gaming
Cooling 6x120mm Corsair HD120 RBG fans
Memory Corsair Vengeance RBG 2x8GB 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 16TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440 OC'd to 100MHz
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Firestrike - 11471 @4.9GHz 980 stock @1178 core 1753 memory 1279 boost Unigine Heaven - 1824
#15
I usually just hit Remote Registry, Parental control, Windows Defender, Readyboost, annnd thats it.

Why is Windows Search a must Alex?

Instead of using a third party app, just use services.msc via Start>Run
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.09/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#16
I usually just hit Remote Registry, Parental control, Windows Defender, Readyboost, annnd thats it.

Why is Windows Search a must Alex?

Instead of using a third party app, just use services.msc via Start>Run
Keep readyboost on people! (Just enabled in the services.msc control panel, you dont need a USB drive dor it to work)
It makes your boot times so much better!

And Windows Search to be turned off as a must cus its a indexing program that it known to hog resources, and in my experience provide no benefit other than slowing your machine down and wearing your HDD away.
 

Dozer

New Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2008
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#17
Other than that, there isnt any point IMO. especially with a quad and 6 gigs of ram. Only thing i would ask, whats is your mem config for 6 gig? (i.e 3x2gb, 2x2gb + 2x1gb? etc)
I have 4 Mem. stick in, so Im guessing 2x2gb + 2x1gb

Anyway, for music production puposes.
Running the Recording Program
Plus all the plugin effects like Compression, Eq, Reverb,
You know, Music production purposes.
In System Properties>Advanced Tab>Performance Settings Advanced Tab> Under Processor
Scheduling
Should I adjust for best performance of "Programs" or "Background Services"?
Thanks for the help guys