1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Tweaking i7 3820 overclock

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Aquinus, Nov 13, 2012.

  1. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    9,737 (5.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,814
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Hello.

    Now that I've had my 3820 for a number of months now, I've managed to end up with a half stable overclock with decent temperatures at 4.5Ghz. I'm wondering if anyone has a similar motherboard or memory to give me an idea what others have gotten with similar hardware with what settings. I know that I can squeeze more power out of the 3820 since I've been able to run 4.75ghz stable, but it tends to run toasty and it's a little harder to hold on to the 125mhz bclk at the same time. Additionally, I can't go too much further than 2375mhz on the memory with the timings as they are.

    So I'm just curious what others have gotten with similar hardware so I can try and gauge what really is left to be tweaked in my overclock. Here are some of the settings I already have set in the BIOS.

    121113065737.jpg
    121113065753.jpg
    121113065804.jpg
    121113065831.jpg
    cool.jpg
     
  2. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,657 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    London
    Your voltage is too high.
     
  3. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    9,737 (5.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,814
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Then I get interrupt not received on secondary processor. How about some constructive criticism instead of just saying "you're wrong" without any advice on what would be a better value. Also this thread is kind of old, I'm running at 133.5x30 @ 4.0Ghz at 1.28v now.
     
  4. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    15,771 (4.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,581
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    PSh!


    I run that through my IVB 3570K. Temps are what kills:p(not really, but anyway...)



    Lower ram speed might help CPU speed move up. Try 1866 or 2133.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    9,737 (5.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,814
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I recently dropped it back to stock (2133mhz @ 9-11-10-28) still at 1T because 2333/2400 wasn't as stable as I would have liked it. (Stress tests were stable, some games were not.) I think I might be able to run it at 9-10-9-26, but I'm not sure. I have to try that out later.
     
  6. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,657 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    London
    I don't get your first sentence. I tried to help you and this is how you thank me. I didn't say "you're wrong", I said your voltage was high for 4500mhz; my cpu (and yours most likely) can do that clock with 1.29v.
    Also for 4.0Ghz, why not use the multiplier rather than a 133mhz bclk?
     
  7. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    15,771 (4.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,581
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    And my CPU had a default voltage of 1.35V. So what you got as an OC has no correlation, and that is what he was referring to.

    Intel sell warranty for OC for just $25 for this chip. They literally say "Go Ahead and push it - we got your back", so if youi have purchased this warranty, than I feel there is no need to worry, especially not for Aquinus here.

    Link to OC warranty:

    http://click.intel.com/tuningplan/

    BCLK clocking to get ram speed up.


    I would say though, dropping VCCSA and VTT down, back to stock if possible, would help keep temps I ncheck, and might allow a bit more CPU clock, too, if you're lucky.
     
    Aquinus says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,657 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    London
    If a cpu can do 4500mhz with less voltage, why used higher?
    The rest of my settings are stock.
    @cadaveca: My ram is at 2133mhz 9-11-9-28 with 1.60v, is it worth it to drop the second timing? It needs 1.65v for that.
     
  9. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    15,771 (4.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,581
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    nope, not for me. If you want to run benchmarks, sure, but for daily use, it won't make any noticible difference.
     
    claylomax says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,657 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    London
    Also the system agent voltage, does it affect the cpu, ram or both?
     
  11. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    9,737 (5.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,814
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I was under the impression that the VCCSA voltage may help dram and bclk overclocks. I also think I read somewhere that it is a good idea to keep it within 0.2v of your core voltage but I'm not sure if that is good advice or not.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)