• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Unable to Boot Windows Install

jth133

New Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2007
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
So I just built my first computer, put everything together, turned it on, and inserted the Windows XP disk I had from a previous comp. The problem is, all I get is "DISK BOOT FAILURE. INSERT SYSTEM DISK AND PRESS ENTER." I don't know what the problem is. I thought I might be missing a cord to the DVD drive (all I have attached to it are the power cable and the master cable), but I don't think there are anymore that would fit. This is the drive I'm using: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16827152076 ...and I really hope it's not broken. Any help would really be appreciated.
 

Athlon2K15

HyperVtX™
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
7,848 (1.92/day)
Likes
2,305
Location
O-H-I-O
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling CH6 EK MonoBlock
Memory TridentZ 16GB DDR4 3600
Video Card(s) GTX 1080Ti EK Full Cover Block
Storage Samsung 960 Pro
Display(s) LG 34UC88 Curved Ultrawide
Case EVGA DG86
Power Supply Corsair RM850x
Mouse Asus Strix Evolve
Keyboard Asus Strix Claymore
#2
go in bios and set your boot device priority to dvd drive then hard drive so it will boot the windows disk first
 
Joined
May 6, 2005
Messages
2,786 (0.61/day)
Likes
435
Location
Tre, Suomi Finland
Processor i7 4770K Haswell, watercooled
Motherboard Asus Z87-C2 Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Fuzion V1, MCW60/R2, DDC1/DDCT-01s top, PA120.3, EK200, 3× D12SL-12, liquid metal TIM
Memory 2× 8GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) between GPUs
Storage Samsung 840Pro 256@178GB + 4× WD Red 2TB in RAID10 + LaCie Blade Runner 4TB
Display(s) HP ZR30w 30" 2560×1600 (WQXGA) H2-IPS
Case Lian Li PC-A16B
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech PM MX / Contour RollerMouse Red+
Keyboard Logitech diNovo Edge / Logitech Elite Keyboard from 2006
Software W10 x64
Benchmark Scores yes
#3
And make sure AHCI is not enabled.
 
Joined
Feb 25, 2006
Messages
300 (0.07/day)
Likes
69
Location
West Bend, Wisconsin
System Name HP Envy 700-414
Processor Intel Core i5 4570 3.20 ghz
Motherboard hewlett packard AF47
Memory 12 Gigabyte
Video Card(s) Intel HD 4600
Storage 2 Terrabyte
Display(s) Pavillion 22bw ips led backlit monitor
Case tower HP Envy 700-414
Audio Device(s) Integrated IDT 92HD65C Audio
Power Supply Internal 460W (100V-240V)
Mouse Logitech m100
Keyboard Logitech K120 USB
Software Windows 10 home 64bit 1703(OS build 15063.726)
#4
Hmm I don't have any experience in building computers but I doubt there even is a bios yet :)
 

jth133

New Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2007
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
I went into BIOS and changed the priority--same thing. I'm not sure what the AHCI is, but I'll try and find it and disable it.

I don't know if this is relevant, but it's showing the DVD drive as the slave. Shouldn't it be the master drive, since it's the only one I have?
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Polaris573

Senior Moderator
Joined
Feb 26, 2005
Messages
4,268 (0.91/day)
Likes
672
Location
Little Rock, USA
Processor LGA 775 Intel Q9550 2.8 Ghz
Motherboard MSI P7N Diamond - 780i Chipset
Cooling Arctic Freezer
Memory 6GB G.Skill DDRII 800 4-4-3-5
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7850 2 GB PCI-E
Storage 1 TB Seagate 32MB Cache, 250 GB Seagate 16MB Cache
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Coolermaster Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Music
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#6
Hmm I don't have any experience in building computers but I doubt there even is a bios yet :)
All motherboards come from the factory with a BIOS. Otherwise they would be completely non-functional.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
110 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Location
USA
System Name Ubelsteiner Rig
Processor Intel Q9550 @ 3.5ghz
Motherboard Asus P5E-VM HDMI
Cooling Zalmann 8700
Memory 4x2GB G.Skill DDR2-1000
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX570 (900/1600/2000)
Storage 2x250gb WD Caviar in RAID-0 (primary), 1x WD 1TB green (storage)
Display(s) Mitsubishi 60" 3D DLP TV
Case In-Win Dragonslayer
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
Power Supply Antec EarthWatts 650w (+12v1: 22A,+12v2: 22A,+12V3 25A)
Software Win7 Ultimate x64
#7
try this: unplug anything you have connected to USB, short of your mouse and keyboard. Disconnect all drives except the one that you have your OS on. If it still gives you the same message, put in your OS cd and do a repair on the istallation. try repair MBR and see if its able to boot after that.