• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Unable to disable subtitles in Windows Media Player

Joined
Apr 12, 2010
Messages
1,261 (0.45/day)
Likes
328
Processor Core i7 920
Motherboard Asus P6T v2
Cooling Noctua D-14
Memory OCZ Gold 1600
Video Card(s) Powercolor PCS+ 5870
Storage Samsung SpinPoint F3 1 TB
Display(s) Samsung LE-B530 37" TV
Case Lian Li PC-B25F
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 700w
Software Windows 7 64-bit
#1
Hi folks,

I rented Shutter Island last night and was unable to disable the subtitles in Windows Media Player. Is this something to do with regional playback protection? Does anybody have a workaround to fix this issue?

Thanks in advance.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,527 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,160
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#2
Try reinstalling your codec.
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2010
Messages
1,261 (0.45/day)
Likes
328
Processor Core i7 920
Motherboard Asus P6T v2
Cooling Noctua D-14
Memory OCZ Gold 1600
Video Card(s) Powercolor PCS+ 5870
Storage Samsung SpinPoint F3 1 TB
Display(s) Samsung LE-B530 37" TV
Case Lian Li PC-B25F
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 700w
Software Windows 7 64-bit
#3
Try reinstalling your codec.
I have no additional codecs installed: I only use WMP for DVD's and KMPlayer for everything else, and up to this point I have experienced no problems. I assume that I could tell KMPlayer to used the Windows DVD codecs, but if there is a way to fix this issue within WMP, I would prefer that and I would prefer not to install any third-party codecs.

I should add that when I watch the film in Spanish, no subtitles are displayed, it is only when I change the language to English that I am unable to deactivate subtitles.
 
T

twilyth

Guest
#4
I don't know what the laws are where you are, but a dvd ripper (like AnyDVD by Slysoft) should remove any region restrictions. That would technically be illegal in the US so I'm not advising you do this, it's just FYI.
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2010
Messages
1,261 (0.45/day)
Likes
328
Processor Core i7 920
Motherboard Asus P6T v2
Cooling Noctua D-14
Memory OCZ Gold 1600
Video Card(s) Powercolor PCS+ 5870
Storage Samsung SpinPoint F3 1 TB
Display(s) Samsung LE-B530 37" TV
Case Lian Li PC-B25F
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 700w
Software Windows 7 64-bit
#5
I don't know what the laws are where you are, but a dvd ripper (like AnyDVD by Slysoft) should remove any region restrictions. That would technically be illegal in the US so I'm not advising you do this, it's just FYI.
I'm in Spain, so there is no problem there. However, I'm trying to avoid installing any additional third-party software or codecs and I'm hoping that there is a way to configure Windows Media Player. It is ridiculous that I am unable to play an original DVD without subtitles in the latest version of Microsoft's Media Player.
 

naoan

New Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2009
Messages
303 (0.10/day)
Likes
62
System Name AMD?
Audio Device(s) onboard
Software 7 X64
#6
sorry if this sound stupid but have you disabled subtitle inside the dvd menu?
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2010
Messages
1,261 (0.45/day)
Likes
328
Processor Core i7 920
Motherboard Asus P6T v2
Cooling Noctua D-14
Memory OCZ Gold 1600
Video Card(s) Powercolor PCS+ 5870
Storage Samsung SpinPoint F3 1 TB
Display(s) Samsung LE-B530 37" TV
Case Lian Li PC-B25F
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 700w
Software Windows 7 64-bit
#7
sorry if this sound stupid but have you disabled subtitle inside the dvd menu?
No offence taken: yes I have tried to disable, the subtitles simply remain.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,057 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,962
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#8
maybe the subtitles are part of the movie ? are they rendered at desktop resolution or at movie resolution?
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2010
Messages
1,261 (0.45/day)
Likes
328
Processor Core i7 920
Motherboard Asus P6T v2
Cooling Noctua D-14
Memory OCZ Gold 1600
Video Card(s) Powercolor PCS+ 5870
Storage Samsung SpinPoint F3 1 TB
Display(s) Samsung LE-B530 37" TV
Case Lian Li PC-B25F
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 700w
Software Windows 7 64-bit
#9
maybe the subtitles are part of the movie ? are they rendered at desktop resolution or at movie resolution?
Are you saying that on the DVD released for the Spanish market they are forcing users to display subtitles when English is chosen as the language? I hope that is not the case.


The subtitles are poorly rendered, it looks like the font is oversized.
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,752 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,019
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#10
Is there not an icon on the taskbar that you can right click to disable subtitles? I assume you have also tried "Ctrl > Shift > C"
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2010
Messages
1,261 (0.45/day)
Likes
328
Processor Core i7 920
Motherboard Asus P6T v2
Cooling Noctua D-14
Memory OCZ Gold 1600
Video Card(s) Powercolor PCS+ 5870
Storage Samsung SpinPoint F3 1 TB
Display(s) Samsung LE-B530 37" TV
Case Lian Li PC-B25F
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 700w
Software Windows 7 64-bit
#11
Is there not an icon on the taskbar that you can right click to disable subtitles? I assume you have also tried "Ctrl > Shift > C"
I'll try the icon later on, yes, I tried Ctrl + Shift + C.
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2007
Messages
6,560 (1.73/day)
Likes
835
System Name Vintage
Processor i7 - 3770K @ Stock
Cooling Scythe Zipang II
Memory 2x4GB Crucial DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970
Storage M4 124GB SSD// WD Black 640GB// WD Black 1TB//Samsung F3 1.5TB
Display(s) Samsung SM223BW 21.6"
Case Generic
Power Supply Corsair HX 520W
Software Windows 7
#12
Yea sounds like the subs are part of the movie. Shame, good film.
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.81/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#13
if u want to be certain if the subtitles can be disabled...

download and install VLC, run the dvd and start the movie. then click "Video", Subtitles and then hit disable... if there still there then they are HARD CODED into the movie and cannot easily be removed. (removing them is difficalt and will resualt in blurry patches where they used to be in the movie.)
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2010
Messages
1,261 (0.45/day)
Likes
328
Processor Core i7 920
Motherboard Asus P6T v2
Cooling Noctua D-14
Memory OCZ Gold 1600
Video Card(s) Powercolor PCS+ 5870
Storage Samsung SpinPoint F3 1 TB
Display(s) Samsung LE-B530 37" TV
Case Lian Li PC-B25F
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 700w
Software Windows 7 64-bit
#14
maybe the subtitles are part of the movie ? are they rendered at desktop resolution or at movie resolution?
Yea sounds like the subs are part of the movie. Shame, good film.
if u want to be certain if the subtitles can be disabled...

download and install VLC, run the dvd and start the movie. then click "Video", Subtitles and then hit disable... if there still there then they are HARD CODED into the movie and cannot easily be removed. (removing them is difficalt and will resualt in blurry patches where they used to be in the movie.)
I downloaded VLC and the issue repeats: no subtitles in Spanish, but some genius has embedded the subtitles when the original English version is selected.

It was a very good film WhiteLotus, and undoubtedly better without those damn subtitles, but the entire plot seems to be taken directly from The Ninth Configuration.

Thanks for helping me get to the bottom of this.
 
T

twilyth

Guest
#15
I downloaded VLC and the issue repeats: no subtitles in Spanish, but some genius has embedded the subtitles when the original English version is selected.

It was a very good film WhiteLotus, and undoubtedly better without those damn subtitles, but the entire plot seems to be taken directly from The Ninth Configuration.

Thanks for helping me get to the bottom of this.
I don't understand. How can they be hardcoded if they don't always show up? I thought hard-coded in this context meant that the subtitles are actually a part of each frame of the movie as opposed to merely being overlaid during playback.
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2010
Messages
1,261 (0.45/day)
Likes
328
Processor Core i7 920
Motherboard Asus P6T v2
Cooling Noctua D-14
Memory OCZ Gold 1600
Video Card(s) Powercolor PCS+ 5870
Storage Samsung SpinPoint F3 1 TB
Display(s) Samsung LE-B530 37" TV
Case Lian Li PC-B25F
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 700w
Software Windows 7 64-bit
#16
I don't understand. How can they be hardcoded if they don't always show up? I thought hard-coded in this context meant that the subtitles are actually a part of each frame of the movie as opposed to merely being overlaid during playback.
I have no idea either: in Spanish, no subtitles appear, change to English and the subtitles are always on and given that I have tried to deactivate them in 3 different media players, the logical conclusion is that a certain Einstein decided that Spanish audiences simply shouldn't be given the choice of viewing in English without subtitles.
 
T

TechPowerDown

Guest
#17
I have no idea either: in Spanish, no subtitles appear, change to English and the subtitles are always on and given that I have tried to deactivate them in 3 different media players, the logical conclusion is that a certain Einstein decided that Spanish audiences simply shouldn't be given the choice of viewing in English without subtitles.
It sounds like the moron who did that is racist :banghead: