• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Unable to use Nvidia Card

Joined
Dec 29, 2007
Messages
450 (0.12/day)
Likes
44
Location
Northern Arizona
System Name Colourwheel
Processor AMD A8-3870K Black Edition (3.0 GHz Quad core) OC 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASRock A55 PRO3
Cooling Coloured Fans lol and Cooler Masters Vortex Plus
Memory Corsair Vengence 16GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) 2GB XFX Radeon HD R7750 Core Edition
Storage 2 x Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB | 2TB Western Digital Caviar Green | 500GB WD Passport EHDD
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron IPS226V
Case ENERMAX OSTROG Black/White
Audio Device(s) Onboard: Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Corsair GS700
Software Windows 8.1 Pro (64-Bit)
#1
Once again this is about my dell dimension e310. So i found a NVIDIA GeForce 6200A laying around, so i installed it and installed the drivers. But when i try to use it Windows wont let me use it. when i plug my monitor in it, it shows the boot stuff and windows loading screen, but when it goes to the windows log in screen it shut off the monitor and i have to plug the VGA cable into the onboard intel graphics port. What should i do?
In BIOS, my only graphic option is
"Auto" and "Onboard" for Video. i put it on auto and it boots with it but shuts off when i get to Windows Log in screen. :confused:

Please Help.
I have used this card on this computer in the past and it worked great. i took it out for some reason lol. should i reinstall the drivers and uninstall the Intel drivers?
 

stanhemi

New Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2008
Messages
801 (0.23/day)
Likes
347
Location
Montreal,-Canada.
System Name CRUNSHING MINI FARM
Processor Q9550 C1(lapped)@4105mhz 1,38vcore/Q6600 G0 @3010mhz 1,24vcore
Motherboard P5Q-E 8.5 x 483 fsb/P5QPL-AM 9x334fsb
Cooling watercooled storm,mcw60,2x240mm,micro res rev2,laing ddc3.2/Xig s1283(lapped)
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 2X2G 1066MHZ@965-mhz 5-4-5-15/kingston kvr800mhz 2x1g
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRRE 4870 1G @850/1020/ati x1950 pro
Storage RAID0 2X RAPTOR 74gb/wd 250g
Display(s) 22'' LCD 1680x1050/lg 17" 1280x1024
Case Antec 900 white inside/crappy white case
Audio Device(s) onboard/onboard
Power Supply ocz 700 watt mod xstream pro/enermax noiseblocker 485 watt
Software Windows 7 x64/vista 32
Benchmark Scores 3dmark06 18950
#2
onboard video as to be disabled
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2007
Messages
450 (0.12/day)
Likes
44
Location
Northern Arizona
System Name Colourwheel
Processor AMD A8-3870K Black Edition (3.0 GHz Quad core) OC 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASRock A55 PRO3
Cooling Coloured Fans lol and Cooler Masters Vortex Plus
Memory Corsair Vengence 16GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) 2GB XFX Radeon HD R7750 Core Edition
Storage 2 x Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB | 2TB Western Digital Caviar Green | 500GB WD Passport EHDD
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron IPS226V
Case ENERMAX OSTROG Black/White
Audio Device(s) Onboard: Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Corsair GS700
Software Windows 8.1 Pro (64-Bit)
#3
onboard video as to be disabled
I cant do that lol. it only does auto or onboard.. when i switch it to auto. it has the issue..
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2007
Messages
5,822 (1.54/day)
Likes
618
Processor Core I7 3770K@4.3Ghz
Motherboard AsRock Z77 Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120M
Memory 12Gb G.Skill Sniper
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070
Storage Sandisk SSD + 1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200
Display(s) IPS Asus 26inch
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G2
Software Windows 10/Windows 7
#4
windows is detecting the integrated as the primary display from the looks

try going into display properties and setting the geforce as the main card, if that dosen't work, try removing the igp drivers and then use drivercleaner to make sure they are completely gone and then try the card

the card is showing up on display manager right
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,421 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,563
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#5
What KainXS said, you need to go into Window's Display Properties and tell Windows to use the 6200 and not the Onboard card.
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2007
Messages
450 (0.12/day)
Likes
44
Location
Northern Arizona
System Name Colourwheel
Processor AMD A8-3870K Black Edition (3.0 GHz Quad core) OC 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASRock A55 PRO3
Cooling Coloured Fans lol and Cooler Masters Vortex Plus
Memory Corsair Vengence 16GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) 2GB XFX Radeon HD R7750 Core Edition
Storage 2 x Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB | 2TB Western Digital Caviar Green | 500GB WD Passport EHDD
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron IPS226V
Case ENERMAX OSTROG Black/White
Audio Device(s) Onboard: Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Corsair GS700
Software Windows 8.1 Pro (64-Bit)
#6
I did that but i can figure out how to disable the Intel card xD

there is a large photo
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,206 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,694
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#7
there will be another setting in the BIOS.

It will mention the default video card, PCI, PCI-E or onboard.
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2007
Messages
450 (0.12/day)
Likes
44
Location
Northern Arizona
System Name Colourwheel
Processor AMD A8-3870K Black Edition (3.0 GHz Quad core) OC 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASRock A55 PRO3
Cooling Coloured Fans lol and Cooler Masters Vortex Plus
Memory Corsair Vengence 16GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) 2GB XFX Radeon HD R7750 Core Edition
Storage 2 x Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB | 2TB Western Digital Caviar Green | 500GB WD Passport EHDD
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron IPS226V
Case ENERMAX OSTROG Black/White
Audio Device(s) Onboard: Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Corsair GS700
Software Windows 8.1 Pro (64-Bit)
#8
there will be another setting in the BIOS.

It will mention the default video card, PCI, PCI-E or onboard.
Nope :|

The only Video Settings in BIOS is switch between "Auto" or "Onboard" Graphics and change the buffer size of 1MB or 8MB
lol
THATS IT! there is nothing else xD
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,206 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,694
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#9
Nope :|

The only Video Settings in BIOS is switch between "Auto" or "Onboard" Graphics and change the buffer size of 1MB or 8MB
lol
THATS IT! there is nothing else xD
well it might not go well, but you could try disabling the intel graphics card in device manager.
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2007
Messages
450 (0.12/day)
Likes
44
Location
Northern Arizona
System Name Colourwheel
Processor AMD A8-3870K Black Edition (3.0 GHz Quad core) OC 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASRock A55 PRO3
Cooling Coloured Fans lol and Cooler Masters Vortex Plus
Memory Corsair Vengence 16GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) 2GB XFX Radeon HD R7750 Core Edition
Storage 2 x Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB | 2TB Western Digital Caviar Green | 500GB WD Passport EHDD
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron IPS226V
Case ENERMAX OSTROG Black/White
Audio Device(s) Onboard: Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Corsair GS700
Software Windows 8.1 Pro (64-Bit)
#10
well it might not go well, but you could try disabling the intel graphics card in device manager.

Ill try device manager xD
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2007
Messages
450 (0.12/day)
Likes
44
Location
Northern Arizona
System Name Colourwheel
Processor AMD A8-3870K Black Edition (3.0 GHz Quad core) OC 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASRock A55 PRO3
Cooling Coloured Fans lol and Cooler Masters Vortex Plus
Memory Corsair Vengence 16GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) 2GB XFX Radeon HD R7750 Core Edition
Storage 2 x Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB | 2TB Western Digital Caviar Green | 500GB WD Passport EHDD
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron IPS226V
Case ENERMAX OSTROG Black/White
Audio Device(s) Onboard: Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Corsair GS700
Software Windows 8.1 Pro (64-Bit)
#11
:slow: i forgot i unplugged it right after plugging it in xD
then i went to the nvidia display settings and now it works :D
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2007
Messages
450 (0.12/day)
Likes
44
Location
Northern Arizona
System Name Colourwheel
Processor AMD A8-3870K Black Edition (3.0 GHz Quad core) OC 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASRock A55 PRO3
Cooling Coloured Fans lol and Cooler Masters Vortex Plus
Memory Corsair Vengence 16GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) 2GB XFX Radeon HD R7750 Core Edition
Storage 2 x Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB | 2TB Western Digital Caviar Green | 500GB WD Passport EHDD
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron IPS226V
Case ENERMAX OSTROG Black/White
Audio Device(s) Onboard: Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Corsair GS700
Software Windows 8.1 Pro (64-Bit)
#12
Why cant i do dual display, not spanning. like i want my toolbar on one display, not both.
 

Bikerbob

New Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2004
Messages
12 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Mississauga, ON Can
Processor AMD 5000+
Motherboard ASUS M3
Memory 4 gb OCz
Video Card(s) xfx HD6670
Storage 1TB
Display(s) LG W2043T
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply CoolerMaster 550
#13
So you got this to work?

How?

I am running into the same problem with a XFX 6200 in several machines. BUT my difference is.. some of these machines dont have built in video.

BUT Same thing.. fine when first installed - VGA Adapter, then load drivers.. OUT OF RANGE.. messed up screen etc.

James