• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

under-clock... setting cpu maximum processor state to 10% ryzen 3600

Joined
Aug 9, 2019
Messages
181 (1.91/day)
So no issues with browsing / downloading / playback of h265 uhd, power plan to use maximum 10% frequency, so it runs 2.2ghz @.9v temps are nice and low @30c doesn't get past 35c usually. When i want to do something more extreme i set it to 100% and if it was winter i wouldn't mind setting it to 100% but seems weird to have all this boosting / volts jumping around.

So my question is, whats the best way to go about this? bios setting or is just using the power plan settings to change it inside windows is fine? (i like not having to go into bios to change it back to normal silly boosting 4ghz. Maybe i should just disable the boosting in the bios? x470 tachi ultimate.
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2019
Messages
468 (1.65/day)
Location
Chicago Land
Processor 2700X @ x4 4400Mhz
Motherboard Asus B450-I Gaming
Cooling Stock Air
Memory Corsair 3000nhz 13-15-15-15-32-53 2T
Video Card(s) Asus strix GTX 980 OC
Storage SSD
Display(s) 21" - 55"
Case None
Power Supply Antec CP series 850w
Mouse Razar Mamba Tournament Edition
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software W7
Benchmark Scores Max Cpu clock 7685Mhz FX-8300 WPrime 32m 2.886 seconds AMD 2700x
At that voltage, you should be running more like 3.0Ghz. I'm at 2.8ghz @ .894v with a max package wattage pull of 38.15w and cores at only 24.14w. Can run 3.0ghz with 1v even.
In the realm of passive cooing. Let me mention that I do have SMT turned off to help lower current draw.

I set mine up manually in bios with ROG B450-I gaming and LLC set to level 1. If you need any screen shots, let me know.
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2019
Messages
181 (1.91/day)
yes sure id take a look at the bios settings you got going, see how good my silicon is on my chip and if i can match it. I guess i can save the diff bios profiles to make switching them easier. Thanks
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
6,808 (1.93/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo
Processor Amd R7 3800X@4.350/525
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2703
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in two sticks.
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked
Storage Samsung Nvme Pg981, silicon power 1Tb samsung 840 basic as a primocache drive for, WD2Tbgrn +3Tbgrn,
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova
Keyboard Roccat Iksu force fx
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy
So no issues with browsing / downloading / playback of h265 uhd, power plan to use maximum 10% frequency, so it runs 2.2ghz @.9v temps are nice and low @30c doesn't get past 35c usually. When i want to do something more extreme i set it to 100% and if it was winter i wouldn't mind setting it to 100% but seems weird to have all this boosting / volts jumping around.

So my question is, whats the best way to go about this? bios setting or is just using the power plan settings to change it inside windows is fine? (i like not having to go into bios to change it back to normal silly boosting 4ghz. Maybe i should just disable the boosting in the bios? x470 tachi ultimate.
Just switch to the power save profile in windows to cut power use and ryzen performance mode while gaming.
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2019
Messages
181 (1.91/day)
Just switch to the power save profile in windows to cut power use and ryzen performance mode while gaming.
well the other guy already said his bios settings will give me a better volt/ghz ratio then windows is giving me. (thats what im doing already is changing power save options.................)
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
6,808 (1.93/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo
Processor Amd R7 3800X@4.350/525
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2703
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in two sticks.
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked
Storage Samsung Nvme Pg981, silicon power 1Tb samsung 840 basic as a primocache drive for, WD2Tbgrn +3Tbgrn,
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova
Keyboard Roccat Iksu force fx
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy
well the other guy already said his bios settings will give me a better volt/ghz ratio then windows is giving me. (thats what im doing already is changing power save options.................)
Cool , you have options then I go easy none reboot personally but another way is using profiles manually set and saved in ryzen master, it would reboot if switching between PBO off/on, if it were used.
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2019
Messages
468 (1.65/day)
Location
Chicago Land
Processor 2700X @ x4 4400Mhz
Motherboard Asus B450-I Gaming
Cooling Stock Air
Memory Corsair 3000nhz 13-15-15-15-32-53 2T
Video Card(s) Asus strix GTX 980 OC
Storage SSD
Display(s) 21" - 55"
Case None
Power Supply Antec CP series 850w
Mouse Razar Mamba Tournament Edition
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software W7
Benchmark Scores Max Cpu clock 7685Mhz FX-8300 WPrime 32m 2.886 seconds AMD 2700x
yes sure id take a look at the bios settings you got going, see how good my silicon is on my chip and if i can match it. I guess i can save the diff bios profiles to make switching them easier. Thanks
Ok no problem. At work so later today Ill take some screen shots of the bios.
You actually dont have to change much. When setting the multi to manual setting, it shuts off boosting automatically.

I have the option to manually set the volatage (without offset). When using offset, you are going to subtract from the highest pstate voltage.
To find out your processor pstate voltage, go to cpuz about tab and save txt. Open the txt and scroll down to listed pstates.
This will give you an approximate idea of where your voltage and clocks should could be at.

You should be able to run a lower voltage than my 2700x, this chip leaks a little bit.

OK here's those screen shots I promised ya!
I do have PBO disabled because I simply just don't ever use it.

bios 11.jpg


bios 22.jpg


bios 33.jpg
 
Top