• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Underclocking and undervolting GTX 570 safe?

Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
4,802 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,576
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni and The Great White Dragon in Tempered Glass | Lynni-Stick
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K "Skylake" | Intel Atom X5-Z8300 "Cherry Trail"
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7 "Union Point" | Intel Compute Stick board
Cooling Thermalright True (Old legend still going strong) 1xNoctua NF-F12 PWM | Fan xD
Memory Geil Dragon 2x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC) | 2GB DDR3-L @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti FE "Pascal" | Intel HD Graphics
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 960 EVO 250GB NVME|2xSamsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:3xWD Red/Purple 4TB & WD SE 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2417DG 1440p@165hz G-Sync | Philips 50PFT4009/12
Case Phantek Eclipse P400 Black/White | Intel Compute Case
Audio Device(s) Creative Core3D (Onboard) | Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair SF600 | Generic Intel Power Adapter (3amp)
Mouse Logitech G502 | Logtech MK270 kit @ Lynni-Stick
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro CU UK x64 | Win10 Home CU x86
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Skydrive @ 1440p: GS: 25188 / PS: 12238 / CS: 25308: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/11665249
#1
atm i am underclocking and undervolting my EVGA GeForce GTX 570 Vanilla so it only runs 405/810/950mhz at 0.913v bcs i only use it for video playback, since my pc is on 24-7 i was thinking will it damage the card when i do that, or will it be fine plus that i should also save some power right?

i haven't had a crash or video playback trouble yet and not think i will so it's SFW? ^^;
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,381 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#2
Don't the clocks run at a lower speed if you aren't using "demanding" 3d apps to begin with?
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2007
Messages
674 (0.18/day)
Likes
172
System Name Pegasus
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1800X
Motherboard ASUS ROG Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling Custom 480mm EK Loop
Memory 4 x 8GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3000MHz
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire R9 290 Tri-X OC
Storage Samsung 960 EVO M.2 500GB / Samsung 840 EVO 250GB
Display(s) 2 x 23" LG IPS234V
Case Corsair 900D
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova G3 1000W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-Bit
#3
When it powers down it does it automatically (both the underclock and the undervolt).
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
4,802 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,576
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni and The Great White Dragon in Tempered Glass | Lynni-Stick
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K "Skylake" | Intel Atom X5-Z8300 "Cherry Trail"
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7 "Union Point" | Intel Compute Stick board
Cooling Thermalright True (Old legend still going strong) 1xNoctua NF-F12 PWM | Fan xD
Memory Geil Dragon 2x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC) | 2GB DDR3-L @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti FE "Pascal" | Intel HD Graphics
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 960 EVO 250GB NVME|2xSamsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:3xWD Red/Purple 4TB & WD SE 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2417DG 1440p@165hz G-Sync | Philips 50PFT4009/12
Case Phantek Eclipse P400 Black/White | Intel Compute Case
Audio Device(s) Creative Core3D (Onboard) | Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair SF600 | Generic Intel Power Adapter (3amp)
Mouse Logitech G502 | Logtech MK270 kit @ Lynni-Stick
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro CU UK x64 | Win10 Home CU x86
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Skydrive @ 1440p: GS: 25188 / PS: 12238 / CS: 25308: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/11665249
#4
erocker it does down, but when i start Firefox and some other things it goes up to full speed, which ain't needed actually o_O

it's to prevent that from happening, but when i wanna play it bump it up to SC clocks.
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2007
Messages
674 (0.18/day)
Likes
172
System Name Pegasus
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1800X
Motherboard ASUS ROG Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling Custom 480mm EK Loop
Memory 4 x 8GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3000MHz
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire R9 290 Tri-X OC
Storage Samsung 960 EVO M.2 500GB / Samsung 840 EVO 250GB
Display(s) 2 x 23" LG IPS234V
Case Corsair 900D
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova G3 1000W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-Bit
#5
Considering it already goes down on the volts, yes it will be fine.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,287 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,387
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#6
erocker it does down, but when i start Firefox and some other things it goes up to full speed, which ain't needed actually o_O

it's to prevent that from happening, but when i wanna play it bump it up to SC clocks.
Disable hardware acceleration in Firefox/IE/Flash, that should stop it from kicking up to the 3D settings. And you won't notice the difference since your CPU can easily handle it.