• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Underclocking and undervolting GTX 570 safe?

Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
4,808 (1.06/day)
Likes
1,579
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni and The Great White Dragon in Tempered Glass | Lynni-Stick
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K "Skylake" | Intel Atom X5-Z8300 "Cherry Trail"
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7 "Union Point" | Intel Compute Stick board
Cooling Thermalright True (Old legend still going strong) 1xNoctua NF-F12 PWM | Fan xD
Memory Geil Dragon 2x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC) | 2GB DDR3-L @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti FE "Pascal" | Intel HD Graphics
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 960 EVO 250GB NVME|2xSamsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:3xWD Red/Purple 4TB & WD SE 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2417DG 1440p@165hz G-Sync | Philips 50PFT4009/12
Case Phantek Eclipse P400 Black/White | Intel Compute Case
Audio Device(s) Creative Core3D (Onboard) | Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair SF600 | Generic Intel Power Adapter (3amp)
Mouse Logitech G502 | Logtech MK270 kit @ Lynni-Stick
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro CU UK x64 | Win10 Home CU x86
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Skydrive @ 1440p: GS: 25188 / PS: 12238 / CS: 25308: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/11665249
#1
atm i am underclocking and undervolting my EVGA GeForce GTX 570 Vanilla so it only runs 405/810/950mhz at 0.913v bcs i only use it for video playback, since my pc is on 24-7 i was thinking will it damage the card when i do that, or will it be fine plus that i should also save some power right?

i haven't had a crash or video playback trouble yet and not think i will so it's SFW? ^^;
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,453 (10.11/day)
Likes
18,123
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#2
Don't the clocks run at a lower speed if you aren't using "demanding" 3d apps to begin with?
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2007
Messages
674 (0.18/day)
Likes
172
System Name Pegasus
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1800X
Motherboard ASUS ROG Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling Custom 480mm EK Loop
Memory 4 x 8GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3000MHz
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire R9 290 Tri-X OC
Storage Samsung 960 EVO M.2 500GB / Samsung 840 EVO 250GB
Display(s) 2 x 23" LG IPS234V
Case Corsair 900D
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova G3 1000W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-Bit
#3
When it powers down it does it automatically (both the underclock and the undervolt).
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
4,808 (1.06/day)
Likes
1,579
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni and The Great White Dragon in Tempered Glass | Lynni-Stick
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K "Skylake" | Intel Atom X5-Z8300 "Cherry Trail"
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7 "Union Point" | Intel Compute Stick board
Cooling Thermalright True (Old legend still going strong) 1xNoctua NF-F12 PWM | Fan xD
Memory Geil Dragon 2x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC) | 2GB DDR3-L @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti FE "Pascal" | Intel HD Graphics
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 960 EVO 250GB NVME|2xSamsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:3xWD Red/Purple 4TB & WD SE 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2417DG 1440p@165hz G-Sync | Philips 50PFT4009/12
Case Phantek Eclipse P400 Black/White | Intel Compute Case
Audio Device(s) Creative Core3D (Onboard) | Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair SF600 | Generic Intel Power Adapter (3amp)
Mouse Logitech G502 | Logtech MK270 kit @ Lynni-Stick
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro CU UK x64 | Win10 Home CU x86
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Skydrive @ 1440p: GS: 25188 / PS: 12238 / CS: 25308: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/11665249
#4
erocker it does down, but when i start Firefox and some other things it goes up to full speed, which ain't needed actually o_O

it's to prevent that from happening, but when i wanna play it bump it up to SC clocks.
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2007
Messages
674 (0.18/day)
Likes
172
System Name Pegasus
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1800X
Motherboard ASUS ROG Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling Custom 480mm EK Loop
Memory 4 x 8GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3000MHz
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire R9 290 Tri-X OC
Storage Samsung 960 EVO M.2 500GB / Samsung 840 EVO 250GB
Display(s) 2 x 23" LG IPS234V
Case Corsair 900D
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova G3 1000W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-Bit
#5
Considering it already goes down on the volts, yes it will be fine.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,413 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,549
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#6
erocker it does down, but when i start Firefox and some other things it goes up to full speed, which ain't needed actually o_O

it's to prevent that from happening, but when i wanna play it bump it up to SC clocks.
Disable hardware acceleration in Firefox/IE/Flash, that should stop it from kicking up to the 3D settings. And you won't notice the difference since your CPU can easily handle it.