1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Underpowered?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by stealthfighter, Sep 8, 2006.

  1. stealthfighter

    stealthfighter New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    557 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    at my pc
    I know my power supply sucks balls. It's a 300w w/ 10A on the 12v rail. But I was burning a DVD and watched the used read buffer decreace about 1/10'th the way in burn. Then pc restarted itself. Then tried booting off the now ruined dvd, even though the hdd is first in line... wtf??

    I have p4 2.8ghz 533fsb 1mb l2 socket 478 prescott...
    2x512 crucial ballstix ddr400
    Some intel mobo I forget what it is, 20 pin & 4 pin...
    Nvidia GeForce FX 5200 ultra...
    Got rid of the sound card so onboard sound
    1 ATA HDD maxtor 120gb
    1dvd-burner drive

    way too underpowered?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. i_am_mustang_man New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,854 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Boston
    how old is the psu?

    psu's lose efficiency over time
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. g12rxz New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    293 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Illinois
    you probably would have been fine with a 350w psu, but thats cutting it close... get something in the 400-450w range and you should be good with those specs.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Thermopylae_480

    Thermopylae_480

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,685 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    Location:
    Little Rock Arkansas, United States
    My brother had a Dell like that, only it was a Northwood with 800MHz FSB. They shipped it with a 300 watt. Is that a Dell? I would upgrade the PSU a bit, stock PSUs can be unreliable. You could still get away with a reliable 300 watt though. Your current one is probably just getting old. It's definetly not "way to underpowered," if it's even underpowered at all. Which I doubt. Just old and unstable, but I'm rambling so...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. stealthfighter

    stealthfighter New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    557 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    at my pc
    No custom build but the psu came w/ the case
    and yeah it's old
    when I get a chance I think I'll go with a 480..
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    23,876 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,025
    Location:
    Houston
    well theirs your problem never trust a psu that comes w/ the case

    here this is one of the many horror stories of what happens when you get a case cheap
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Thermopylae_480

    Thermopylae_480

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,685 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    Location:
    Little Rock Arkansas, United States
    I know, I have my "included in case" PSU for nearly two years now, and it's just now starting to fail. Mine is definetly the exception, not the rule though.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    23,876 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,025
    Location:
    Houston
    i had one wy back in my beige case which now has a pentium d930 in it and the back cut open and side cut open to allow 1x92mm in the back and 2x80mm in the side plus another 80mm in the front over the 2xhdd (the wd 260gb was getting up to 60C wtf is up w/ that the fan dropped it to 40C though) hehe oh well im off topic there but the psu that it started w/ was a 300watt generic piece and umm my axp 2000+ killed it needless to say i was hacked though my 400watt MGE fixed it and still is runnin strong in my new case w/ my new cpu (but the same damn gfx card)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,174 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    276
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    Actually I've found dell PSU's are pretty manly for being such a cheap PSU.. they've outpowered a few cheaper name brand PSU's i've had...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. stealthfighter

    stealthfighter New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    557 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    at my pc
    nononononono I don't use dell. Dell is shit. I custom built mine. I think I'm pretty good w/ hardware (picking out)

    I choose:
    p4 socket 478 2.8gig 533fsb 1mb l2
    1gb ddr400 crucial ballistix
    Maxtor 120gb ATA hdd (looking to upgrade to sata)
    nvidia 5200 (looking to upgrade to 6600)
    And since the mobo is Intrl and cpu is Intel it's a good connection there... damn 5200 bottlenecks my shit..
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. Polaris573

    Polaris573 Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,281 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    718
    Location:
    Little Rock, USA
    That's been my experience too. My dell power supply was underpowered, but it's still holding up just fine in another computer that doesn't have large power requirements.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    23,876 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,025
    Location:
    Houston
    its not superunderpowerd but a good 400watt or so wouldnt hurt you but ummm check to make sure its not overheating to (if you use a stock intel hsf that could also be the prob)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)