• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Unlock shaders ASUS RX 560 ROG STRIX EVO GAMING 4GB?

BBOD

New Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2017
Messages
2 (0.12/day)
Likes
0
#1
I bought an new ASUS RX 560 ROG STRIX EVO GAMING card. In GPU-Z it says that the card has only 896 Shaders. I thought that all RX 560 would have 1024 Shaders???

Can I enable the shaders like on a RX 460?
 

Attachments

Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
1,674 (4.95/day)
Likes
885
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD FX-6300 - 4.5 Ghz
Motherboard ASRock 970M Pro3
Cooling Scythe Katana 4 - 3x 120mm case fans
Memory 16GB - 4x4GB A-DATA 1866 Mhz (OC)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1060 Turbo 6GB ~ 2139 Mhz / 9.4 Gbps
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x 1 Tb Seagate something or other
Display(s) 1080p TV
Case Zalman R1
Power Supply 500W
#2
Apparently some 560s are re-branded 460s where the core is dubbed 'Baffin' instead of 'Polaris21' and only have 896 shaders instead of the full 1024. I would advise against flashing , if you can return it and buy a 560 which you are certain it is based on Polaris21.
 

BBOD

New Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2017
Messages
2 (0.12/day)
Likes
0
#3
Apparently some 560s are re-branded 460s where the core is dubbed 'Baffin' instead of 'Polaris21' and only have 896 shaders instead of the full 1024. I would advise against flashing , if you can return it and buy a 560 which you are certain it is based on Polaris21.
That is a shame. So I bought a RX 560 but in reality it is a RX 460?
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,747 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,014
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#4
I would go back to your retailer and suggest that you did not get what you thought you had bought...... namely a proper 560 although I am surprised that a premium model such as the ASUS ROG STRIX EVO would be a cut down substitute.
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
1,674 (4.95/day)
Likes
885
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD FX-6300 - 4.5 Ghz
Motherboard ASRock 970M Pro3
Cooling Scythe Katana 4 - 3x 120mm case fans
Memory 16GB - 4x4GB A-DATA 1866 Mhz (OC)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1060 Turbo 6GB ~ 2139 Mhz / 9.4 Gbps
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x 1 Tb Seagate something or other
Display(s) 1080p TV
Case Zalman R1
Power Supply 500W
#5
That is a shame. So I bought a RX 560 but in reality it is a RX 460?
Pretty much.

I would go back to your retailer and suggest that you did not get what you thought you had bought...... namely a proper 560 although I am surprised that a premium model such as the ASUS ROG STRIX EVO would be a cut down substitute.
I blame both AMD and ASUS for this. Although AMD gave this version of the card a proper name , which is 'RX 560D' but ASUS isn't using it. Borderline false advertising in my opinion.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,194 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,796
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#6
I bought an new ASUS RX 560 ROG STRIX EVO GAMING card. In GPU-Z it says that the card has only 896 Shaders. I thought that all RX 560 would have 1024 Shaders???

Can I enable the shaders like on a RX 460?
You have a 560D model which is just a rehashed 460.
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,747 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,014
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#7
Pretty much.



I blame both AMD and ASUS for this. Although AMD gave this version of the card a proper name , which is 'RX 560D' but ASUS isn't using it. Borderline false advertising in my opinion.
Yeah, I have just been to the site, the only thing I can see that gives it away is just the shader count in the specs, does not appear to be clear on the box from what my old eyes can see.