• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Unlock shaders ASUS RX 560 ROG STRIX EVO GAMING 4GB?

BBOD

New Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2017
Messages
2 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#1
I bought an new ASUS RX 560 ROG STRIX EVO GAMING card. In GPU-Z it says that the card has only 896 Shaders. I thought that all RX 560 would have 1024 Shaders???

Can I enable the shaders like on a RX 460?
 

Attachments

Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
2,472 (4.66/day)
Likes
1,668
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD FX-6300 - 4.5 Ghz
Motherboard ASRock 970M Pro3
Cooling Scythe Katana 4 - 3x 120mm case fans
Memory 16GB - 4x4GB A-DATA 1866 Mhz (OC)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1060 Turbo 6GB ~ 2139 Mhz / 9.4 Gbps
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x 1 Tb Seagate something or other
Display(s) 1080p TV
Case Zalman R1
Power Supply 500W
#2
Apparently some 560s are re-branded 460s where the core is dubbed 'Baffin' instead of 'Polaris21' and only have 896 shaders instead of the full 1024. I would advise against flashing , if you can return it and buy a 560 which you are certain it is based on Polaris21.
 

BBOD

New Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2017
Messages
2 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#3
Apparently some 560s are re-branded 460s where the core is dubbed 'Baffin' instead of 'Polaris21' and only have 896 shaders instead of the full 1024. I would advise against flashing , if you can return it and buy a 560 which you are certain it is based on Polaris21.
That is a shame. So I bought a RX 560 but in reality it is a RX 460?
 

Tatty_One

Senior Moderator & Combat Squirrel
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
20,184 (4.45/day)
Likes
6,601
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#4
I would go back to your retailer and suggest that you did not get what you thought you had bought...... namely a proper 560 although I am surprised that a premium model such as the ASUS ROG STRIX EVO would be a cut down substitute.
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
2,472 (4.66/day)
Likes
1,668
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD FX-6300 - 4.5 Ghz
Motherboard ASRock 970M Pro3
Cooling Scythe Katana 4 - 3x 120mm case fans
Memory 16GB - 4x4GB A-DATA 1866 Mhz (OC)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1060 Turbo 6GB ~ 2139 Mhz / 9.4 Gbps
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x 1 Tb Seagate something or other
Display(s) 1080p TV
Case Zalman R1
Power Supply 500W
#5
That is a shame. So I bought a RX 560 but in reality it is a RX 460?
Pretty much.

I would go back to your retailer and suggest that you did not get what you thought you had bought...... namely a proper 560 although I am surprised that a premium model such as the ASUS ROG STRIX EVO would be a cut down substitute.
I blame both AMD and ASUS for this. Although AMD gave this version of the card a proper name , which is 'RX 560D' but ASUS isn't using it. Borderline false advertising in my opinion.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
21,891 (5.46/day)
Likes
6,489
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#6
I bought an new ASUS RX 560 ROG STRIX EVO GAMING card. In GPU-Z it says that the card has only 896 Shaders. I thought that all RX 560 would have 1024 Shaders???

Can I enable the shaders like on a RX 460?
You have a 560D model which is just a rehashed 460.
 

Tatty_One

Senior Moderator & Combat Squirrel
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
20,184 (4.45/day)
Likes
6,601
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#7
Pretty much.



I blame both AMD and ASUS for this. Although AMD gave this version of the card a proper name , which is 'RX 560D' but ASUS isn't using it. Borderline false advertising in my opinion.
Yeah, I have just been to the site, the only thing I can see that gives it away is just the shader count in the specs, does not appear to be clear on the box from what my old eyes can see.
 

inoz

New Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2018
Messages
6 (0.04/day)
Likes
1
#8
Did you unlock it after all? Got 2 of this cards, can`t find a proper bios to unlock all shaders :(
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2014
Messages
48 (0.03/day)
Likes
14
Location
Portsmouth, UK
Processor Intel i5 4440
Motherboard Asus H81
Cooling RAIJINTEK Rhea
Memory 2 x 4GB Crucial DDR3 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA nVidia GTX 970 SC 4GB
Storage Samsung 120GB 850 Evo, Seagate 1TB HDD
Display(s) Asus 23" 1080p 120Hz
Case Bitfenix Pandora M-ATX
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DGX
Power Supply EVGA 500W 80 Plus
Software Windows 10 64bit
#10
Did you unlock it after all? Got 2 of this cards, can`t find a proper bios to unlock all shaders :(
You cannot unlock extra shaders. Because your cards do not have the extra shaders to unlock.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,630 (0.93/day)
Likes
1,718
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Vega 64
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#11
Did you unlock it after all? Got 2 of this cards, can`t find a proper bios to unlock all shaders :(
It's quite likely unlockable.
It’s not because there were never any shaders locked in the first place. Don’t encourage people to brick their cards...:rolleyes:
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2013
Messages
1,119 (0.59/day)
Likes
491
#12
It’s not because there were never any shaders locked in the first place. Don’t encourage people to brick their cards...:rolleyes:
When did I do that? I just don't remember the 560D specs, that's why I said it's unlikely.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,630 (0.93/day)
Likes
1,718
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Vega 64
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#13

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
21,891 (5.46/day)
Likes
6,489
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#14
You cannot unlock extra shaders. Because your cards do not have the extra shaders to unlock.
you may want to tell that to final fighter because he is doing bios mods for the 560 series cards
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2014
Messages
320 (0.23/day)
Likes
146
Processor ryzen 5 1600 @ 4.025ghz using 1.38750v
Motherboard asrock ab350m pro4
Cooling Fractal Design Celsius S36 360mm
Memory Super Talent F3200UA8G x2 (16gbs total) @ 3200mhz cl16-17-17-17-32 1.35v
Video Card(s) PNY GTX1060 6gb with MSI AERO GTX1060 6gb bios
Storage Mushkin Enhanced Triactor 128gb ssd/3TB HDD
Display(s) Lenovo 21.5'' 1920x1080p ips
Case Rosewill CULLINAN
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply evga 600w
Mouse Best Buy Insignia
Keyboard Best Buy Insignia
Software Win 10 pro
#16
ive had 7 rx 560D model cards and all of them unlocked (powercolor). did this for a mining rig. the trick is finding a compatible bios for your card. you need to first match all the features on the card such as having a 6pin connector and memory brand. in the ops case i would first try this bios https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/193242/asus-rx560-4096-170426 There is achance that it may not work so be careful but many rx560D cards do unlock just like many rx460 cards.

i must worn you tho that flashing your card is very risky and if you do not have the tools to recover then you could have a paper weight or need to pay to have it repaired.

Did you unlock it after all? Got 2 of this cards, can`t find a proper bios to unlock all shaders :(
make sure you flash a bios that has the same memory size (2 or 4 gig), same brand, and shares the same features. the one i listed for the the op might work as long as your card is exactly like his and has micron memory.

again you risk bricking your card so be very careful and please read up on what you are doing and be prepared for the worst.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2015
Messages
407 (0.40/day)
Likes
39
Location
Latvija
System Name Fujitsu Siemens
Processor Athlon x2 5000+ 3.1GHz, i5 2400
Motherboard Asus
Memory 4GB Samsung
Video Card(s) rx 460 4gb
Storage 750 Evo 250 +2tb
Display(s) Asus 1680x1050 4K HDR
Audio Device(s) Pioneer
Power Supply 430W
Mouse Acme
Keyboard Trust
#17
Maybe its uses to much electricity.
 

Attachments

inoz

New Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2018
Messages
6 (0.04/day)
Likes
1
#18
ive had 7 rx 560D model cards and all of them unlocked (powercolor). did this for a mining rig. the trick is finding a compatible bios for your card. you need to first match all the features on the card such as having a 6pin connector and memory brand. in the ops case i would first try this bios https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/193242/asus-rx560-4096-170426 There is achance that it may not work so be careful but many rx560D cards do unlock just like many rx460 cards.
tried that bios but just black screen at boot :( reflashed old bios just fine thou, i still think it might unlock with right bios :)
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2014
Messages
320 (0.23/day)
Likes
146
Processor ryzen 5 1600 @ 4.025ghz using 1.38750v
Motherboard asrock ab350m pro4
Cooling Fractal Design Celsius S36 360mm
Memory Super Talent F3200UA8G x2 (16gbs total) @ 3200mhz cl16-17-17-17-32 1.35v
Video Card(s) PNY GTX1060 6gb with MSI AERO GTX1060 6gb bios
Storage Mushkin Enhanced Triactor 128gb ssd/3TB HDD
Display(s) Lenovo 21.5'' 1920x1080p ips
Case Rosewill CULLINAN
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply evga 600w
Mouse Best Buy Insignia
Keyboard Best Buy Insignia
Software Win 10 pro
#19
tried that bios but just black screen at boot :( reflashed old bios just fine thou, i still think it might unlock with right bios :)
i have a couple of bioses saved ill let you try. can you post a gpuz screenshot?

here is one for an xfx rx560.
 

Attachments

Joined
Aug 11, 2014
Messages
320 (0.23/day)
Likes
146
Processor ryzen 5 1600 @ 4.025ghz using 1.38750v
Motherboard asrock ab350m pro4
Cooling Fractal Design Celsius S36 360mm
Memory Super Talent F3200UA8G x2 (16gbs total) @ 3200mhz cl16-17-17-17-32 1.35v
Video Card(s) PNY GTX1060 6gb with MSI AERO GTX1060 6gb bios
Storage Mushkin Enhanced Triactor 128gb ssd/3TB HDD
Display(s) Lenovo 21.5'' 1920x1080p ips
Case Rosewill CULLINAN
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply evga 600w
Mouse Best Buy Insignia
Keyboard Best Buy Insignia
Software Win 10 pro
#21
Joined
Aug 11, 2014
Messages
320 (0.23/day)
Likes
146
Processor ryzen 5 1600 @ 4.025ghz using 1.38750v
Motherboard asrock ab350m pro4
Cooling Fractal Design Celsius S36 360mm
Memory Super Talent F3200UA8G x2 (16gbs total) @ 3200mhz cl16-17-17-17-32 1.35v
Video Card(s) PNY GTX1060 6gb with MSI AERO GTX1060 6gb bios
Storage Mushkin Enhanced Triactor 128gb ssd/3TB HDD
Display(s) Lenovo 21.5'' 1920x1080p ips
Case Rosewill CULLINAN
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply evga 600w
Mouse Best Buy Insignia
Keyboard Best Buy Insignia
Software Win 10 pro
#23
i should add this part. if these cards do not meet your needs now then unlocking the shaders wont really make a whole lot of difference. its only like 13% increase. what you really get from this is just a good feeling that you are getting the most from your card. here are 2 more bioses you can try when you get a chance if the one above does not work. if these 2 do not work than i can say you have a card that cant be unlocked witch is a bummer.
 

Attachments

inoz

New Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2018
Messages
6 (0.04/day)
Likes
1
#24
Tried all bioses, flashed just fine but still same amount of shaders :( I guess no luck then for me.. thanks for help again
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
21,891 (5.46/day)
Likes
6,489
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#25
Tried all bioses, flashed just fine but still same amount of shaders :( I guess no luck then for me.. thanks for help again
Some cards are laser cut, just overclock it or find a bios with faster memory clocks or better timings or higher clocks, @Final_Fighter finahas been mucking with that
 
Top