• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

unlocking a 7900gs??

tigger

I'm the only one
Supporter
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
11,280 (2.13/day)
System Name Black to the Core MKV
Processor Intel I5 9600K
Motherboard Asus Rog Strix z390-F Gaming
Cooling Custom loop 360+280 rads D5+raystorm pro+byski GPU block
Memory 2x8gb Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro 3200
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW 8GB 2140/5702
Storage Sabrent Rocket Q NVMe PCIe M2 1TB(boot/stuff) Sabrent Rocket Q NVMe PCIe M2 2TB (games)
Display(s) IIYAMA Prolite GB2773HS 27" 1080HD 144hz
Case Phanteks Evolve X
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220+Asus Xonar DSX Onkyo A/V amp, Wharfdale 7.1 small hifi speakers
Power Supply Corsair RM850i
Mouse Logitech G502SE
Keyboard HyperX Alloy FPS RGB with HyperX pudding top caps
Software Win 10 Pro x64
sorry if this has been asked before but on this pic of rivatuner,it will let me select the pipes to unlock.i've read a few forums about this and mostly they are blanked off or it wont allow it.

on this pic,i have set them to on so you can see at the top 24 pipes.shall i click ok and try it or will it fubar the card?.

 

Track

New Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
312 (0.06/day)
Location
Israel
Processor Intel Pentium 4 (prescott) 3.0Ghz 1M L2 cache 800Mhz FSB w/HT
Motherboard Asus P4GD1
Cooling Zalman VF900, Zalman 7700, 1x AC 80nm
Memory 1024 MB DDR400 PC3200
Video Card(s) X1900XT (512Mb) @ 745/1660
Storage 1x WD 80GB 8M cache 7200 RPM, 1x WD 250GB 8M cache 7200RPM
Display(s) Viewsonic VA712 LCD 17"
Power Supply 500W
Software Windows XP SP2 Gold Edition
It wont work, so dont even try.

nVidia isnt stupid. If it could unlock their 7900 GT would be useless, and it's their highest selling card except the 7600 GT.
 

-Wolverine-

New Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2006
Messages
28 (0.01/day)
Location
Zagreb/Croatia
Processor A64 3700+ KAB3E 2,8GHz@1,4v
Motherboard DFI LP NF4 UltraD + Thermalright HR-05 SLI
Cooling TT BigTyphoon moded BlueLED
Memory 2x512MB Crucial Ballistix PC3200 Z402
Video Card(s) Leadtek 7900GT Extreme moded + VF900Cu 720/920@1,55v
Storage Hitachi 250GB SATA2 + Samsung 250GB SATA2
Display(s) CRT Sony E250
Case A+ XBlade
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy2 PlatinumEX
Power Supply Corsair HX 520W
Software WinXP SP1
U can't unlock 7900GS

U can read some more on VR-Zone
http://www.vr-zone.com/?i=3946&s=1

P.S. U can try to volt-mod it, they say it can be done the same way as on 7900GT
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2006
Messages
1,232 (0.23/day)
Location
Virginia, USA
System Name Desktop
Processor Ryzen 5 2600x
Motherboard Gigabyte B450 Aorus Elite
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 RGB Black Edition
Memory 2x8Gb A DATA @3000mhz
Video Card(s) XFX RX580 8GB
Storage OCZ TR150 240GB SSD ,Seagate SSHD 1TB | ADATA 240Gb SSD | SanDisk 120gb SSD
Display(s) Custom 124" 1080P Home Theater |Samsung UN55HU6480 UHDTV/ 24" Insignia 1080p 5ms
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply EVGA 700B1
Software Win 10 x64
I tried on my GS with no luck.. :(
 

Ketxxx

Heedless Psychic
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
11,507 (2.16/day)
Location
Kingdom of gods
System Name Prowler. V9.
Processor Intel i5 3570k @ 4.6GHz 1.2v
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Cooling Modded CoolIT ECO ALC, 3x 120mm Coolermaster Sickleflow fans
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-10-10-25 1N (T)
Video Card(s) HD7950 Vapor-X @ 1.25GHz 1.05v, 6GHz 1.5v
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB, 32MB cache, SATA
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron W2242S
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
Power Supply Corsair HX850w modular
Software Windows 7 x64
Highly unlikely the GS is unlockable, it uses the fubar'd 7900GT cores.
 

Juggernaut1987

New Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2006
Messages
157 (0.03/day)
Location
Netherlands
System Name Blue Ruby
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 2,13Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X38 DQ6
Cooling Zalman CNPS9500 LED
Memory Crucial Ballistix PC2-8500 2GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD3870
Storage Western Digital Caviar SE16 500 GB
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 205BW
Case Recom Powerstation (Raidmax Smilodon)
Power Supply Asus A-45GA (450watt)
Software Windows Vista Ultimate
Thats why its a cheaper card
 

MandoMan

New Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2006
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
It does bro, no lie man, i did it, I have a BFG 7900GS OC 256mb,,, I unlocked it man!! I used Rivatuner bro, It now reads Def(20pp,7vp); Cur(24pp,8vp);Tgt(24pp,8vp).

I took a leap of faith and it worked from me brother, I guess i got a an undamged/fUBAR GPU on my card..... I kid yall not, I have nothing to gain from this other then that i saved about 150.00 dollars.
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
4,513 (0.88/day)
Location
Hong Kong
Processor Ryzen Threadripper 1950X
Motherboard X399 Fatal1ty Professional Gaming
Cooling Custom loop water, 3x 420 Rad
Memory Team T-FORCE XCALIBUR RGB 4000 @3400 CL14
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 2080 Ti
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 512GB 3-way Raid 0
Display(s) Samsung C27HG70
Case Thermaltake Level 20 XT
Audio Device(s) EVGA Nu Audio
Power Supply FSP Aurum PT 1200W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
It does bro, no lie man, i did it, I have a BFG 7900GS OC 256mb,,, I unlocked it man!! I used Rivatuner bro, It now reads Def(20pp,7vp); Cur(24pp,8vp);Tgt(24pp,8vp).

I took a leap of faith and it worked from me brother, I guess i got a an undamged/fUBAR GPU on my card..... I kid yall not, I have nothing to gain from this other then that i saved about 150.00 dollars.
Post a Screen shot dude :toast:
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Supporter
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
11,280 (2.13/day)
System Name Black to the Core MKV
Processor Intel I5 9600K
Motherboard Asus Rog Strix z390-F Gaming
Cooling Custom loop 360+280 rads D5+raystorm pro+byski GPU block
Memory 2x8gb Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro 3200
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW 8GB 2140/5702
Storage Sabrent Rocket Q NVMe PCIe M2 1TB(boot/stuff) Sabrent Rocket Q NVMe PCIe M2 2TB (games)
Display(s) IIYAMA Prolite GB2773HS 27" 1080HD 144hz
Case Phanteks Evolve X
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220+Asus Xonar DSX Onkyo A/V amp, Wharfdale 7.1 small hifi speakers
Power Supply Corsair RM850i
Mouse Logitech G502SE
Keyboard HyperX Alloy FPS RGB with HyperX pudding top caps
Software Win 10 Pro x64
post a shot like mine above,even when i turned the locked ones on it still says disabled in the state column.
 

-Wolverine-

New Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2006
Messages
28 (0.01/day)
Location
Zagreb/Croatia
Processor A64 3700+ KAB3E 2,8GHz@1,4v
Motherboard DFI LP NF4 UltraD + Thermalright HR-05 SLI
Cooling TT BigTyphoon moded BlueLED
Memory 2x512MB Crucial Ballistix PC3200 Z402
Video Card(s) Leadtek 7900GT Extreme moded + VF900Cu 720/920@1,55v
Storage Hitachi 250GB SATA2 + Samsung 250GB SATA2
Display(s) CRT Sony E250
Case A+ XBlade
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy2 PlatinumEX
Power Supply Corsair HX 520W
Software WinXP SP1
post ss of Riva tuner and 3DM06 result with locked/unlocked card @ same GPU/mem clock
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
16,440 (3.09/day)
Location
Piteå
System Name Black MC in Tokyo
Processor Ryzen 5 2600x
Motherboard Asrock B450M-HDV
Cooling AMD Wraith Spire I think
Memory 2 x 8GB G-skill Aegis 3000 or somesuch
Video Card(s) Powercolor Radeon HD 7850 2GB
Storage Kingston A400 240GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2 | Toshiba P300 2TB
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case Antec dumpster find
Audio Device(s) Line6 UX1 + slightly modded Sony DR-ZX302
Power Supply Fractal Design Effekt 400W
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Dell Sk3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I once had +100 dorfs in DF, so yeah pretty great

MandoMan

New Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2006
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
unlocked BFG7900 gs oc

Sorry for the long wait
 
Last edited:

R_1

Joined
Dec 1, 2006
Messages
448 (0.09/day)
Galaxy GF7900GS 256MB Zalman - no luck to unlock it. ForceWare ver. 93.71, Riva Tuner ver. 2.0 RC162.
 
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (1.76/day)
Mandoman, Inteleron. Can you guys give exact specs of your cards, upload your BIOS and perhaps make some high res photos of your cards? (preferably without cooler)

Would be interesting if we can find the difference.
 

Nele

New Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2006
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
@Inteleron
@MandoMan
please guys help us find "the trick" unlocking our 7900gs. :respect:

it would be great if you could post your "graphics subsystem diagnostic report" from rivatuner!

please choose following in rivatuner's report:

1.Display adapter information
2.Display adapter PCI configuration space
3.NVIDIA specific display adapter information
4.NVIDIA VGA BIOS information
5.NVIDIA graphics processor registers

just copy and paste the whole info here. thanks!

please also attach your bios here!
it's very easy to do that:
download "nibitor" version 3.0a here:
http://www.mvktech.net/index.php?option=com_remository&func=fileinfo&filecatid=1778

start it, go to tools -> read bios -> select device.
thereafter go to tools -> read bios -> read into file.

thanks a lot! :toast:
 

zOaib

New Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2005
Messages
977 (0.18/day)
Location
FL
System Name BabaJinn's U.F.O
Processor Intel Core i7 975 Extreme @ 3.8 ghz (for now)
Motherboard Asus Rampage Xtreme II X58
Cooling ZALMAN 9900 CPU COOLER Led
Memory 12GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers (Blue Led) 1600 DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI NVIDIA GTX 480 1.5 GB DDR5 384-BIT
Storage 2 x WD Velociraptor 10k rpm 300GB sata + 2x 500GB WD Caviar Sata + 320 GB Seagate Barracuda Sata
Display(s) DELL U2711 27inch Goodness @ 2560 x 1440
Case Mountain-Mods U2-UFO Custom Case (Made in USA)
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX X-Fi MB (Creative)
Power Supply ZALMAN 1000W PSU MODULAR
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit (Retail Version)
looking forward to more info , thx guys.
 

MandoMan

New Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2006
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
I will try to get this info up ASAP :) Just also wanted to add that i now have two BFG7900GS OC cards running in "SLI mode" and both have been unlocked, So from what i can tell is that BFG chose to go with the reference (Nvidia Spec) design of the card, How ever so has the company "Galaxy" but as R 1 stated in his message he was not able to unlock his. So it could be that BFG mabe stuck to Ref design and unlocking the card may be related to their bios configuration.

Dont realy know, but i will try to get the info ASAP as requested.
 
Last edited:

Nele

New Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2006
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
It would be great if a bios-mod would help unlocking. This would be probalby a job for the guys from mvktech.net. That's why I requested your bios. Rivatuner's infomations are also very nice to have.

What do you do now with that 48 pipes ? :)
 

idagon

New Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2006
Messages
12 (0.00/day)
I set the bits on my bfg 7900 gs oc to enable

but after I rebooted, the main screen still showed 20 pipes enabled
 

hajper

New Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2006
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Location
Warsaw Kingdom
Processor Intel Core2Duo Q66oo @ 34ooMHz @ 38ooMHz
Motherboard Asus P5B Premium
Cooling CPU - AeroCool Dominator, GPU/MB - stock
Memory 2x2o48 MB Patriot DDR 1o66MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4890 Vapor-X 1024MB
Storage Samsung SpinPoint F1 750GB
Display(s) Samsung 940N
Case Sharkoon Rebell 9
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy 2ZS
Power Supply Delta 700W!
Software Windows XP Professional SP3
Unlock 7900Gs ?

U cant unlock 7900GS.

Everything what u did is change one option in rivatuner - and rivatuner will show 24p8v, but performance wont change - just check 3dmark or sth... Is the same story like 7800GT > 7800GTX
 

Nele

New Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2006
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
@hajper
as idagon said, rivatuner will show 20p anyway. If rivatuner shows 24p then "something" must happen. Anyway, you may be right with the performance. It would be interesting if the two guys (Mandoman and Inteleron) would benchmark their cards for exempl. with 3dmark 2005 vertex bench's but it seems they are not interested to provide us any further information :ohwell:
sad :shadedshu
 

Nele

New Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2006
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
it seems bfg uses GT chips and then removes pipes with the bios :ohwell: it meens there's actually no mod to remove the lock of a "real" GS chip...
 
Top