• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Unlocking GTX 1060 on GP104 chip

alugard

New Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2017
Messages
3 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hi guys,
I got a couple of Palit's GTX 1060 (Stormx) cards, both based on GP104-A die accpording to GPU-Z. I know there is no way to edit bios and all this stuff but what will be if to flash these cards with GTX 1070 bios from Palit (available for download here)? Will it work? Anyone tried such a stunt? Thanks!
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2016
Messages
383 (0.51/day)
Likes
332
Location
UK
System Name it needs a name?
Processor Xeon E3-1241 v3 @3.5GHz- standard clock
Motherboard Asus Z97A 3.1
Cooling Bequiet! Dark Rock 3 CPU cooler, 2 x 140mm intake and 1 x 120mm exhaust PWM fans in the case
Memory 16 GB Crucial DDR3 1600MHz CL9 Ballistix Sport 2 x 8 GB
Video Card(s) Palit 980ti Super Jetscream
Storage Sandisk X110 256GB SSD, Sandisk Ultra II 960GB SSD, 4TB WD Green, 640GB WD Blue
Display(s) Acer XB270HU
Case Lian Li PC 7H
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 USB interface
Power Supply Seasonic P660
Mouse cheapo logitech wireless
Keyboard some keyboard from the 90's
Software Win7 64bit
#2
No, don't do it. It won't work and you might brick your cards.
 

alugard

New Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2017
Messages
3 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#3
Well, assume PCB is the same, i need to check this though... Then my only question was how it will react on 3 Gb of RAM instead of 8... I also don't know if they cut chip by laser, i read something like this in regards to 1070.
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2014
Messages
850 (0.60/day)
Likes
267
Location
Grunn, Holland
System Name Indis the Fair
Processor i7 4790k Delid 4.7@1.28
Motherboard Asus Z97I-PLUS
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory Kingston HyperX 2x8GB 1866MHz C10
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 670 FTW
Storage MX100 256GB, WD Red 3TB, and other stuff
Display(s) BenQ XL2430T, LG 24 inch LED IPS thing
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M
Audio Device(s) Behringer Xenyx Q1002USB, ATH-M50x
Power Supply Seasonic 860w Platinum
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70 (MX Blues, dying blue lights)
Software Win7 x64/Ubuntu
#4
Eh not a chance lol

If one has 3GB of RAM and the other 8GB, they don't have the same PCB...
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
20,155 (5.19/day)
Likes
5,464
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#5
Different GPU, different ram. NO DO NOT ATTEMPT TO FLASH THE CARD, THE 1060 AND 1070 ARE NOT THE SAME AT ALL!

Get that thought out of your head because if you go ahead and flash it, it will brick and you will have a bios locked out and bad luck trying to get help.

If you want more performance use afterburner or sell the 1060 and Grab a 1070TI or 1080 and call it a day.
 

alugard

New Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2017
Messages
3 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#6
Thanks for your opinion, guys. Well, silicon seems to be the same - GP104, thats why i started this thread. I can't find any info on attempts to figure out if you can enable it all, not just half of it.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
20,155 (5.19/day)
Likes
5,464
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#7
Hard locked, so no,
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2017
Messages
158 (1.14/day)
Likes
72
Location
US
System Name Derp Machine
Processor i7 5820K @ 4.4 GHz
Motherboard Asus X99-A
Cooling Custom water loop EKWB and reservoir, with Swiftech 240mm rad & 140mm case fans
Memory 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws V DDR4 2400 Quad Channel @ 15-15-15-35-2T 1.2 V
Video Card(s) Aorus GTX 1080 @ 2050 MHz & 1400 MHz RAM
Storage Samsung SSD 960 EVO NVMe 500 GB & 4 TB WD Green HDD
Display(s) Qnix 27" 1440p overclocked @ 100Hz PLS
Case Fractal Design Define R5 BE with window
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster Z @ Wireless Logitech WoW Headset
Power Supply Corsair TX750M
Mouse Logitech G903
Keyboard Logitech G613
Software Win 10 Pro
#8
Thanks for your opinion, guys. Well, silicon seems to be the same - GP104, thats why i started this thread. I can't find any info on attempts to figure out if you can enable it all, not just half of it.
GTX 1060 has the GP106 chip, GTX 1070/1080/upcoming 1070 Ti all have GP104, so it's *not* the same silicon, don't do it, you're gonna brick your card! There's just a slim possibility to unlock GTX 1060 3 GB to 6 GB model because of deactivated shaders on the 3 GB version, but as far as I know it's hard locked so not possible either.

Here are facts:
  • GP104: This GPU is used in the GeForce GTX 1070 and the GTX 1080. The GTX 1070 has 1/4 of its shaders disabled and is connected to GDDR5 memory, while the GTX 1080 is a full chip and is connected to GDDR5X memory. It is also used in the Quadro P5000, Quadro P4000 and Tesla P4.
  • GP106: This GPU is used in the GeForce GTX 1060 with GDDR5 memory.[21][22] It is also used in the Quadro P2000.
From: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pascal_(microarchitecture)
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2015
Messages
1,429 (1.28/day)
Likes
1,120
Location
On The Highway To Hell \m/
#9
GTX 1060 has the GP106 chip, GTX 1070/1080/upcoming 1070 Ti all have GP104, so it's *not* the same silicon, don't do it, you're gonna brick your card! There's just a slim possibility to unlock GTX 1060 3 GB to 6 GB model because of deactivated shaders on the 3 GB version, but as far as I know it's hard locked so not possible either.

Here are facts:


From: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pascal_(microarchitecture)
Your facts aren't very factual.

GP104 - https://www.techpowerup.com/gpudb/2926/geforce-gtx-1060-3-gb

GP106 - https://www.techpowerup.com/gpudb/2867/geforce-gtx-1060-3-gb

https://www.techpowerup.com/228349/nvidia-to-release-gtx-1060-variants-based-on-gp104-silicon
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2017
Messages
158 (1.14/day)
Likes
72
Location
US
System Name Derp Machine
Processor i7 5820K @ 4.4 GHz
Motherboard Asus X99-A
Cooling Custom water loop EKWB and reservoir, with Swiftech 240mm rad & 140mm case fans
Memory 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws V DDR4 2400 Quad Channel @ 15-15-15-35-2T 1.2 V
Video Card(s) Aorus GTX 1080 @ 2050 MHz & 1400 MHz RAM
Storage Samsung SSD 960 EVO NVMe 500 GB & 4 TB WD Green HDD
Display(s) Qnix 27" 1440p overclocked @ 100Hz PLS
Case Fractal Design Define R5 BE with window
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster Z @ Wireless Logitech WoW Headset
Power Supply Corsair TX750M
Mouse Logitech G903
Keyboard Logitech G613
Software Win 10 Pro
#10
Aren't "my" facts, but thanks for the clarification anyway. Still, doesn't change a thing, the GPU won't unlock, Nvidia always hard locked their GPUs.
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2016
Messages
24 (0.05/day)
Likes
9
System Name NVx
Processor Intel Core i5 2500
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-B75M-HD3
Cooling Stock Intel Cooler
Memory 2x8GB 1600MHz DDR3 @1333 [ADATA]
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1060 3GB Windforce 2X
Storage 1*Samsung 850Pro 256GB SSD, 4*Seagate Barracuda 1TB HDDs
Case Aerocool X-Warrior Red Devil Edition
Power Supply ThermalTake Litepower 650W (Gen 2)
Mouse Cooler Master Devastator II Mouse
#11
I believe there are some GTX 1060s (mostly 3GB versions) based on the GP104 chip, instead of the usual GP106.*

However, I wouldn't risk flashing a 1070 bios on that 1060 to "unlock" the disabled parts of the chip, as they are most likely laser-cut/hard-locked, and because of the different memory subsystem of the 1070 (256 bit bus, 8 chips VS 192 bit bus, 6 chips).


*Source: https://www.techpowerup.com/228349/nvidia-to-release-gtx-1060-variants-based-on-gp104-silicon
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
731 (0.51/day)
Likes
183
#12
The heck.. there's gp104 gtx1060s out there? Can OP take pics on naked board, dismantling the card will void your warranty so don't do it if warranty matters to you(and heck it could brick your card)... But for the question it won't work with gtx1070 bios, because of memory sizes. 3GB version uses 6*4Gb gddr5 memories, while 8GB of gtx1070 is 8*8Gb gddr5. Fine AIB could just use plain gtx1070s and use bios which uses only half of 8Gb memory. But I see it high unlikely, because of they cost much more than 4Gb memory chips(double infact).

Aren't "my" facts, but thanks for the clarification anyway. Still, doesn't change a thing, the GPU won't unlock, Nvidia always hard locked their GPUs.
Some third party gts465 could be unlocked to gtx470s...
 

peche

Thermaltake fanboy
Joined
Nov 7, 2014
Messages
6,353 (5.29/day)
Likes
5,208
Location
San Jose, Costa Rica
System Name Athenna
Processor intel i7 3770 *Dellided*
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 Rev. 1.1
Cooling Thermaltake Water 3.0 Pro + Tt Riing12 x2 / Tt ThunderBlade / Gelid Slim 120UV fans
Memory 16GB DRR3 Kingoston with Custom Tt spreaders + HyperX Fan
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 980 4GB Nvidia Sample
Storage Crucial M4 SSD 64GB's / Seagate Barracuda 2TB / Seagate Barracuda 320GB's
Display(s) 22" LG FLATRON 1920 x 1280p
Case Thermaltake Commander G42 Window
Audio Device(s) On-board Dolby 5.1+ Kingston HyperX Cloud 1
Power Supply Themaltake TR2 700W 80plus bronce & APC Pro backup 1000Va
Mouse Tt eSports Level 10M Rev 1.0 Diamond Black & Tt Conkor "L" mouse pad
Keyboard Tt eSports KNUCKER
Software windows 10x64Pro
Benchmark Scores well I've fried a 775' P4 12 years ago, that counts?
#13
Just leave your 1060's as they are, if you want the performance of 1070 then get a 1070..... period,
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
3,880 (1.89/day)
Likes
1,398
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen R5 1600 @4.1GHz
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Pro Carbon
Cooling DeepCool Gammaxx 200T
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 16GB (4x4GB) @3000MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX Vega 64 Limited Edition
Storage Seagatr Barracuda 2TB x4
Display(s) LG 29UM68-P 29" UltraWide w/FreeSync
Case Fractal Arc Midi R2
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Quattro 850W
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
#14
Completely different GPUs but go ahead and try it if you dare
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,271 (4.36/day)
Likes
5,479
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#15
Better email palit and let them know youre gonna do something dumb with some of their cards before you do anything so they know they can void your warranty ahead of time to save themselves the effort of dealing with your RMA when it all ends in tears.
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
1,974 (4.85/day)
Likes
1,133
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD FX-6300 - 4.5 Ghz
Motherboard ASRock 970M Pro3
Cooling Scythe Katana 4 - 3x 120mm case fans
Memory 16GB - 4x4GB A-DATA 1866 Mhz (OC)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1060 Turbo 6GB ~ 2139 Mhz / 9.4 Gbps
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x 1 Tb Seagate something or other
Display(s) 1080p TV
Case Zalman R1
Power Supply 500W
#16
Why stop at a 1070 though ? Why not flash it to a Titan Xp ?

Now seriously , it's 2017. No , you cannot flash any card to whatever you want.

You also can't download RAM.:cool:
 
Last edited: