• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Unlocking Phenom 2 x2 555 BE

Joined
Aug 17, 2009
Messages
849 (0.28/day)
Likes
300
Location
Argentina (South America)
System Name Classy Gal
Processor i7 2600K
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3-B3
Cooling CM Hyper 212 plus
Memory 16GB Kingston Hyper X
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX1070 FE
Storage 2x120GB Vertex 3 - 1x1TB WD
Display(s) LG 23" 1920x1080
Case Coolermaster Cosmos S
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Titanium HD
Power Supply Seasonic M12II 750W
Software Win10 / Linux Mint
#1
Hi!, my friend is buying a new pc, and i want to use a Phenom 2 x2 555 BE, and as im not to familiar with AMD mobos, i wanted to know what chipsets should i use to unlock the extra cores.

I know there is a chance i might not unlock any cores at all, but its worth trying:D

Thanks.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,466 (10.10/day)
Likes
18,137
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#2
785g/790fx/890gx/890fx. Anything that has ACC.
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
6,573 (1.41/day)
Likes
1,173
Location
Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
System Name Red Spy
Processor FX 8350 @ 4.35 Ghz with 1.28v
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FX-UD3 v4.0
Cooling TT Water 3.0 Performer + 2 x Cougar 120mm fan, 1 x 120mm Blue LED, 1 x 200 mm Red LED fan
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR3 1333 16GB
Video Card(s) Asus R9 290 OC @ GPU - 1050, MEM - 1300
Storage ADATA 128GB Sata III SSD for OS, WDC Black - 1TB Storage, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SSD - Games
Display(s) AOC 23" 1080P LCD
Case AeroCool XPredator X3
Audio Device(s) Built-in Realtek
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Benchmark Scores BF4 with Mantle on Ultra settings gets around 60 FPS.
#3
boards with AMD chipset with SB710/750 or you can go with newer 890**. Make sure it has ACC. Also some NVidia chipsets based boards work but should be having NVCC and bios should support it.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2009
Messages
849 (0.28/day)
Likes
300
Location
Argentina (South America)
System Name Classy Gal
Processor i7 2600K
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3-B3
Cooling CM Hyper 212 plus
Memory 16GB Kingston Hyper X
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX1070 FE
Storage 2x120GB Vertex 3 - 1x1TB WD
Display(s) LG 23" 1920x1080
Case Coolermaster Cosmos S
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Titanium HD
Power Supply Seasonic M12II 750W
Software Win10 / Linux Mint
#4
Ok, that was fast!:respect:

thanks all!!!

now i have some extra cores to unlock:toast:
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (4.96/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#5
785g/790fx/890gx/890fx. Anything that has ACC.
Hate to correct you erocker. 890Xx are not etched to include ACC. They rely on motherboard manufacturer to include a chip with those functions on the 8 series chipsets. Most common manufactuers to obtain an unlock is MSI, Asrock, Gigabyte and Asus. Some Biostar.

EDIT:

not really sure on this part but seeing as though the 555 is C3 based you may need a C2 proc to flash C3 support.
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
3,356 (1.04/day)
Likes
1,162
Location
Ohio
System Name Spanky
Processor Ryzen 1400
Motherboard MSI 350 gaming pro
Cooling NZXT Kracken X42
Memory 8gb Crucial 2133 at 2667
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1060
Storage 250gb WD blue
Display(s) Acer 32" 2560x1440
Case Raidmax Sigma
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy FX
Power Supply Seasonic
Mouse Epicgear
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker
Software Windows 10Pro x64
#6
I'm gonna get to try this Wednesday I ordered a 555 either earlier today or Sunday night not sure..Tis a bit blurry

Either way can't wait to find out..

Really don't care at the same time since either way it'll be used as a dual core

I'll be using a MSI 770-C45 this board has the Ability to enable individual cores in the BIOS so if say 1 of the 2 cores that are locked are bad I could still get a tri core..
not all boards with ACC have that function I believe on Newegg 555 reviews others have mentioned other boards that have that function
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2009
Messages
849 (0.28/day)
Likes
300
Location
Argentina (South America)
System Name Classy Gal
Processor i7 2600K
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3-B3
Cooling CM Hyper 212 plus
Memory 16GB Kingston Hyper X
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX1070 FE
Storage 2x120GB Vertex 3 - 1x1TB WD
Display(s) LG 23" 1920x1080
Case Coolermaster Cosmos S
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Titanium HD
Power Supply Seasonic M12II 750W
Software Win10 / Linux Mint
#7
I'm gonna get to try this Wednesday I ordered a 555 either earlier today or Sunday night not sure..Tis a bit blurry

Either way can't wait to find out..

Really don't care at the same time since either way it'll be used as a dual core

I'll be using a MSI 770-C45 this board has the Ability to enable individual cores in the BIOS so if say 1 of the 2 cores that are locked are bad I could still get a tri core..
not all boards with ACC have that function I believe on Newegg 555 reviews others have mentioned other boards that have that function

This is the first time ill be bulding an AMD pc, so its not that important if i cant unlock the cores, i only want to gain experience with bios option on AMD cpus, and how to OC them, as you can see in my System specs, I only have Intel cpus, (nothing personal)

But an X2 555 cost here 155 USD and a E8400 220 USD, as they perform more or less the same, and my friend is a little short on money, im trying to get the most out of his $$$.
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
3,356 (1.04/day)
Likes
1,162
Location
Ohio
System Name Spanky
Processor Ryzen 1400
Motherboard MSI 350 gaming pro
Cooling NZXT Kracken X42
Memory 8gb Crucial 2133 at 2667
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1060
Storage 250gb WD blue
Display(s) Acer 32" 2560x1440
Case Raidmax Sigma
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy FX
Power Supply Seasonic
Mouse Epicgear
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker
Software Windows 10Pro x64
#8
The L3 cache is the reason I got the 555 95% of what i do will be OK on a dual core But the L3 does make a nice difference with things I like to do so That's why i chose the 555
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
3,356 (1.04/day)
Likes
1,162
Location
Ohio
System Name Spanky
Processor Ryzen 1400
Motherboard MSI 350 gaming pro
Cooling NZXT Kracken X42
Memory 8gb Crucial 2133 at 2667
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1060
Storage 250gb WD blue
Display(s) Acer 32" 2560x1440
Case Raidmax Sigma
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy FX
Power Supply Seasonic
Mouse Epicgear
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker
Software Windows 10Pro x64
#9
It unlocks It's Wprime stable


it plays games
and movies
and music

But for some reason it will not run IE or FireFox with all 4 cores
It will work with 1 core disabled
and it doesn't matter which Core 3 or 4
that's right it works just fine as a tri core with either core
Anyone Have any Ideas?