• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Unofficial Windows 7 Discussion

kysg

New Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2008
Messages
1,255 (0.37/day)
Likes
98
Location
Pacoima, CA
System Name Workhorse lappy
Processor AMD A6 3420
Memory 8GB DDR3 1066
Video Card(s) ATI radeon 6520G
Storage OCZ Vertex4 128GB SSD SATAIII
Display(s) 15inch LCD
Software Windows 7 64bit
#51
I'm pretty sure that every proc has 64 bit processing.

Its the software thats an issue,
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.11/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#52
I dont have any issue with 64-bit Windows. Software isnt an issue. The only thing that has to be 64 bit compatible, is drivers.

I chucked my old (cant get a 64 bit driver anywhere) scanner in the bin and got a much better Canon all-in-one for £15 AMIR! :D

And yeah, I dont know of any piece of hardware currently in manufacture that doesnt support 64 bit.
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,159 (3.89/day)
Likes
1,416
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#53
If they killed 32bit they would all be forced to make 64bit drivers...
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.11/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#54
If they killed 32bit they would all be forced to make 64bit drivers...
Is there anything that doesnt have 64bit drivers? Todays hardware, as in not ancient stuff like my old scanner, lol.

I'm yet to come across anything. Even really cheap perephirals seem to have 64bit drivers available.
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2007
Messages
538 (0.14/day)
Likes
64
Location
Round Rock, TX
System Name Teh Beast
Processor 8700k @ 4.8
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 5
Cooling Corsair H110i
Memory 16GB G.Skill Flare X @ 3466
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 TI
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB + Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Display(s) Asus Swift
Case Corsair Air 740
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Software WIndows 10 Pro
#55
64bit is definately the way to go, even my old P4 640 in my spare machine is 64bit capable.

thats ridiculous, are there any currently selling processors that dont support 64-bit processing? (im not talking about newegg selling pentium D still, im talking about intel and amd still selling trays.)
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,201 (1.67/day)
Likes
982
System Name Phantom Skylake
Processor Intel i5 6600k @ 4.5GHZ w/ Corsair H80i CPU AiO w/Corsair 120mm SP120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus z170-A
Cooling 4x120mm Corsair SP120 RBG fans
Memory G.skill DDR4 3200MHz 2x4GB (Soon to be Corsair Vengeance RBG)
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 16TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Coming Soon
#56
I'm pretty sure that every proc has 64 bit processing.

Its the software thats an issue,
Older chips such as the Athlon Duron, and Athlon XP dont have x64 support. Neither does Pentium 2, 3 and i think the older 4 models. lmI could be wrong on the P4's though.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.11/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#57
64bit is definately the way to go, even my old P4 640 in my spare machine is 64bit capable.
My laptop can take 64bit, its even advertised like that. But if I use my 64-bit disc to install windows I loose all the bundled software on it (And there is actually stuff I want on there). It should have come with two recovery/install discs really. I may see if I can send off for one...

I cant wait for the day the industry imbraces 64-bit and everyone is like, OMG your still on 32 bit how old!
 

PGR

New Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2008
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
Southern California
System Name As-Built
Processor Q9550 (SLB8V-E0)
Motherboard ASUS P5E64 WS Evolution
Cooling Zalman CNPS9500A
Memory Corsair TW3X4G1600C9DHX (2x 2GB)
Video Card(s) MSI R4850 512M (MS-V803-252)
Storage 1x 150GB, 2x 300GB WD SATA VelociRaptors
Display(s) Samsung T220 22" LCD
Case Antec P180
Audio Device(s) ADI 1988B 8-channel HD Audio on mobo
Power Supply Antec Signature 650
Software Windows Vista Ultimate x64
#58
And yeah, I dont know of any piece of hardware currently in manufacture that doesnt support 64 bit.
I've got news for you, my friend .... There's lots of hardware out there which doesn't run under x64. Maybe most mainstream computer peripherals do, but there's a whole bunch of specialty and niche-market stuff that doesn't.

I've spent the last 2 weeks doing extensive homework on the USB stuff I use regularly because I'm building a new system and I'd like to use Vista x64. But I can't because most of that stuff is NOT x64 compatible for a lack of 64-bit drivers. The software might run, but what good is that when it can't communicate with the hardware?

A partial list of the hardware I own which does not have x64 support includes my Futaba 12FG transmitter, my CBA battery analyzer, my Castle Link ESC programmer, my Hyperion battery chargers, and my Eagletree data loggers (all R/C aircraft stuff). Then there's my Davis Vantage Pro 2 digital weather station, my Icom IC-R5 and IC-PCR2500 communications receivers, and my Garmin GPS 12 handheld GPS.

Some of that stuff can be programmed via onboard menu systems, but it's a royal PITA. I wouldn't be able to do firmware updates on or data logging with any of it, though, and a few of those devices are nothing more than expensive decorations without PC control. Take the IC-PCR2500, for example. That becomes a $1000 brick if my PC can't communicate with it.

Nope, I'm not buying that "all currently-manufactured PC devices are x64 compatible" crap. That's not even close to being true. I want to use Vista x64 but I also want to keep using all that hardware, so I'll be sticking with an x86 OS for now.

Pete
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#59
I've got news for you, my friend .... There's lots of hardware out there which doesn't run under x64. Maybe most mainstream computer peripherals do, but there's a whole bunch of specialty and niche-market stuff that doesn't.

I've spent the last 2 weeks doing extensive homework on the USB stuff I use regularly because I'm building a new system and I'd like to use Vista x64. But I can't because most of that stuff is NOT x64 compatible for a lack of 64-bit drivers. The software might run, but what good is that when it can't communicate with the hardware?

A partial list of the hardware I own which does not have x64 support includes my Futaba 12FG transmitter, my CBA battery analyzer, my Castle Link ESC programmer, my Hyperion battery chargers, and my Eagletree data loggers (all R/C aircraft stuff). Then there's my Davis Vantage Pro 2 digital weather station, my Icom IC-R5 and IC-PCR2500 communications receivers, and my Garmin GPS 12 handheld GPS.

Some of that stuff can be programmed via onboard menu systems, but it's a royal PITA. I wouldn't be able to do firmware updates on or data logging with any of it, though, and a few of those devices are nothing more than expensive decorations without PC control. Take the IC-PCR2500, for example. That becomes a $1000 brick if my PC can't communicate with it.

Nope, I'm not buying that "all currently-manufactured PC devices are x64 compatible" crap. That's not even close to being true. I want to use Vista x64 but I also want to keep using all that hardware, so I'll be sticking with an x86 OS for now.

Pete
Well then, you and your RC buddies need to start harassing the manufacturers to put out 64bit drivers. Constantly bombarding them with 64bit requests might get the job done.

If worse comes to worst, you can always just dual boot with XP. No reason not to go with x64 for everything else.
 
T

thraxed

Guest
#60
Well you know I think thats why they created vmware, think MS has there own version of vmware now too, so you could run your obscure hardware on a 64 bit os. Only thing that should limit you is hard drive space.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,119 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,546
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#61
I've got news for you, my friend .... There's lots of hardware out there which doesn't run under x64. Maybe most mainstream computer peripherals do, but there's a whole bunch of specialty and niche-market stuff that doesn't.

I've spent the last 2 weeks doing extensive homework on the USB stuff I use regularly because I'm building a new system and I'd like to use Vista x64. But I can't because most of that stuff is NOT x64 compatible for a lack of 64-bit drivers. The software might run, but what good is that when it can't communicate with the hardware?

A partial list of the hardware I own which does not have x64 support includes my Futaba 12FG transmitter, my CBA battery analyzer, my Castle Link ESC programmer, my Hyperion battery chargers, and my Eagletree data loggers (all R/C aircraft stuff). Then there's my Davis Vantage Pro 2 digital weather station, my Icom IC-R5 and IC-PCR2500 communications receivers, and my Garmin GPS 12 handheld GPS.

Some of that stuff can be programmed via onboard menu systems, but it's a royal PITA. I wouldn't be able to do firmware updates on or data logging with any of it, though, and a few of those devices are nothing more than expensive decorations without PC control. Take the IC-PCR2500, for example. That becomes a $1000 brick if my PC can't communicate with it.

Nope, I'm not buying that "all currently-manufactured PC devices are x64 compatible" crap. That's not even close to being true. I want to use Vista x64 but I also want to keep using all that hardware, so I'll be sticking with an x86 OS for now.

Pete
Well then, you and your RC buddies need to start harassing the manufacturers to put out 64bit drivers. Constantly bombarding them with 64bit requests might get the job done.

If worse comes to worst, you can always just dual boot with XP. No reason not to go with x64 for everything else.
The hardware you have there IS rather obscure. Harass the manufacturers for drivers., as wile e said.
Also, did you ever think of a VMware? pretty easy to just fire up an XP 32 VMware, as they have direct USB support nowadays.
 

kysg

New Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2008
Messages
1,255 (0.37/day)
Likes
98
Location
Pacoima, CA
System Name Workhorse lappy
Processor AMD A6 3420
Memory 8GB DDR3 1066
Video Card(s) ATI radeon 6520G
Storage OCZ Vertex4 128GB SSD SATAIII
Display(s) 15inch LCD
Software Windows 7 64bit
#62
yea overloading their email boxes with complaints...50 billion generic emails later...(short rant)64bit will pick up time (like probably never by then they would have conceived 128bit), and if the industry feels like making more 32bit stuff then that is what it will continue to do until the industry says 32bit is dead.