• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Update VGA BIOS (Gigabyte GTX680 4GB)

erdodo

New Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2013
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#1
Hi all!

I have a problem with my Gigabyte GTX680 4GB (product code GV-N680OC-4GD). The problem is that my drivers crashes while the pc is in idle and when i play games. They crash randomly sometimes after 3/4 minutes other times after 1 hour.

I have all drivers updated on my system that's composed of:
i7 3770K
asus p8z77-v deluxe
psu corsair ax 760 platinum
ram corsair 16 gb vengeance (2x8gb)

I read about an incompatibility between the Gigabyte and Windforce VGA - PCI exp 3.0 and the z77 chipset of my motherboard but this sounds me very strange and would like to UPDATE MY VGA BIOS to try to solve the problem.

On the techpower site i can't find the correct bios of my VGA, there are only the 2GB versions (my is 4gb) and I don't know if my bios is the latest... i have 80.04.47.00.5A (P2002-0000).

My question is, which is the latest version of my VGA BIOS? And do you think the updating could solve the problem?

Thank you and sorry for my english..... I'm not mothertongue... :)
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.68/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#2
There should be no need to update the VGA bios.


Start with wiping your systems graphics drivers and re-install the latets Nvidea 680 driver. Get a driver sweep to clean the drivers...
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,878 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#3

erdodo

New Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2013
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#4
There should be no need to update the VGA bios.


Start with wiping your systems graphics drivers and re-install the latets Nvidea 680 driver. Get a driver sweep to clean the drivers...
Done, but didn't solve the problem... the problem verifies always when I quit from a game. It's very strange... I can try to reinstall the OS...
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2012
Messages
1,682 (0.79/day)
Likes
578
System Name msdos
Processor 8088
Motherboard mainboard
Cooling passive
Memory 640KB + 384KB extended
Video Card(s) EGA
Storage 5.25"
Display(s) 80x25
Case plastic
Audio Device(s) modchip
Power Supply 45 watts
Mouse serial
Keyboard yes
Software disk commander
Benchmark Scores still running
#5
I had to lower the boost table in my 680 to get it stable. It was one of those "oc" models. I unlocked the max voltage while flashing.

OP's card is also an overclock model.
 

erdodo

New Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2013
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#6
I had to lower the boost table in my 680 to get it stable. It was one of those "oc" models. I unlocked the max voltage while flashing.

OP's card is also an overclock model.
Can you explain me and tell me what did you exatly do for your 680? I'm really frustated, I tried quite all the solutions and I want to be really sure before send my GPU to RMA...

Today first I lowered the GPU Clock from 1171/1137 to 1161/1127 (-10 mhz) and i noticed it was still unstable, then i lowered more to (-30 mhz) and it was worse. Now it is +5 mhz just to try and it is unstable like -10 mhz settings.

My VGA default settings are:
gpu clock 1171/1137 mhz
memory clock 6008 mhz
minimum voltage 0.988 V
power target 100%

What shall I try to change to get it stable?

Thank you very much for help.
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2012
Messages
1,682 (0.79/day)
Likes
578
System Name msdos
Processor 8088
Motherboard mainboard
Cooling passive
Memory 640KB + 384KB extended
Video Card(s) EGA
Storage 5.25"
Display(s) 80x25
Case plastic
Audio Device(s) modchip
Power Supply 45 watts
Mouse serial
Keyboard yes
Software disk commander
Benchmark Scores still running
#7
Flashing is not for the faint of heart. If you can't get it stable by lowering the MHz, it ain't gonna help you anyways. Your model is listed as 1071 / 1137 ... but what is it REALLY boosting to? Use MSI AB chart to find out.

Driver crash when PC idle makes me think your problem is elsewhere, though.
 

erdodo

New Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2013
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#8
I tried another GPU geforce pci-exp 2.0 on my system and it works. So i tried my GPU Gigabyte on my friend's system and it doesn't work... Also during the bios visualization it gave me artifacts problems.

I think it's the GPU the problem, so I will send it to RMA and I'll let you know.

Thanks very much again for help. :)
 

erdodo

New Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2013
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#9
The RMA told my re-seller that they won't change my graphic card but that they refund the money. I think that that model gave problems to a lot of costumers.

I bought an ASUS GTX 680 and I will never buy a Gigabyte product no more.

:toast:
 

Ephremius

New Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2013
Messages
60 (0.04/day)
Likes
6
Processor 2500k @ 4.7
Cooling Noctua NH-D14, with IC Diamond 24 carat on GPU + CPU
Memory 16gb DDR3 1600 X.M.P.
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7950 @ 1200 core 1500 mem
Display(s) 2560 x 1440 27" 5ms @ 105hz
Software Windows 8 Pro
#10
I thought you could flash GTX 680 to GTX 770 now for free?

I would just do that, since Nvidia offered something for free for the first time ever. ^^
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,878 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#11
Hi

I thought you could flash GTX 680 to GTX 770 now for free?
No; this is not possible

Read here

nb: @ erdodo ASUS GTX 680; hope you are enjoying the asus :toast:

atb (all the best)

Law-II