• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

[UPDATED] Reassuringly expensive Palit GTX 1080 gloriously kicks the bucket!

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,551 (3.98/day)
Likes
8,058
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#1
I've been the proud owner of a reassuringly expensive Palit GameRock GTX 1080 since the beginning of September. Fabulous performance - very fast and silent - just like the slightly higher end Premium one reviewed on TPU.

Today however, at about 12pm, it gloriously gave up the ghost, died, went kaput, kicked the bucket! :laugh:

Before this, everything was fine, then I try to play a YouTube video which triggers a blank picture and the fans spin up to maximum (really noisy!) and stay there.

Interestingly, my main monitor, connected via DisplayPort, loses the video signal and shuts down while the secondary monitor on the DVI port fires up and shows some weirdly squished picture: a thick white horizontal bar going all the way across the screen with some coloured dots and random patterns around it.

Amazingly, Windows hadn't crashed since the numlock key still responded. I was therefore able to shut down the PC properly with a momentary press of the power switch. This avoids hurting Windows with a hard reset or power outage.

Before this seminal moment in the life of my fabulous new high performance graphics card, there were very intermittent symptoms for a few weeks that all was not quite right with it. It did the blanking thing before, but a reset always restored normal service (sometimes two resets required, bless, as the BIOS screen didn't appear - a hardware issue for sure). Then, we had blue screens, especially when playing videos or starting a game. All of this very intermittently.

Oh, by the way, this card lights up in different colours to let you know the status of the card, red, blue and green - green being all ok and idling on the desktop. You will all be greatly comforted to know that the light stayed green throughout all these glitches, even the hard fail. Kwality. ;)

And the biggest joke of all this is that I never even overclocked it. No, not even once and there's plenty of ventilation too. It was Mr Easy Life in my PC, but it failed anyway.

So now I've got one of my trusty MSI GTX 780 Ti Gaming cards back in while I RMA this piece of shit with www.scan.co.uk. The've got a reputation for good customer service and I've had good service from them before, so I don't expect any RMA headaches (hopefully). Thankfully, this is the first RMA I've had to do for any reason in years and will hopefully be the last for a long time, too.

Stay tuned for the next episode in this continuing saga...


UPDATE 11 APRIL 2017

It's all done and dusted. You can read all about it throughout the thread, or for the tl;dr version go here.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,497 (3.96/day)
Likes
6,259
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#2
Man, that sucks... but, shit happens. Glad you ahve a solid back up!

Amazingly, Windows hadn't crashed since the numlock key still responded. I was therefore able to shut down the PC properly with a momentary press of the power switch. This avoids hurting Windows with a hard reset or power outage.
If you hold down the power button for 5s and it shuts off, its still a hard power down.
Oh, by the way, this card lights up in different colours to let you know the status of the card, red, blue and green - green being all ok and idling on the desktop. You will all be greatly comforted to know that the light stayed green throughout all these glitches, even the hard fail. Kwality.
Isn't that just for temperatures??

EDIT: Yes -
TPU Review said:
The RGB colors can be adjusted via software. It's also possible to have the colors adjust themselves according to the GPU's temperature, or to switch the LED lighting option off completely.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,197 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,798
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#3
lmao, time to get your money back and go with another brand
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
6,586 (2.25/day)
Likes
5,822
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 27" (2560x1440)
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
#4
Sad to hear but it's not a saga. Sometimes hardware fails. My Seasonic PSU... yes, Seasonic - SEASONIC died on me a year or so back. Seasonic are one of the best brands out but there you go - it died. Seasonic did do a nice speedy RMA for me. I'm pretty sure Scan will sort it out.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,551 (3.98/day)
Likes
8,058
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#5
@EarthDog Oh yeah, that's why I was at pains to say I pressed the power switch momentarily. It was a full, normal shutdown as far as the rest of the PC was concerned. What I didn't say in my piece is that on restarting the PC, I could tell it had booted into Windows, but just wasn't showing a picture. This suggests to me that the GPU is working normally and that the problem is somewhere else. The techie in me would love to know the technical side of this fault.

@eidairaman1 You're probably right. I've had it too long to demand a refund at this point though. Only if problems continue can I do so.

@the54thvoid It's kind of a saga when you make a sarcastic take on it like I did. I thoroughly enjoyed writing it! Shame about that Seasonic.
 

CAPSLOCKSTUCK

Spaced Out Lunar Tick
Joined
Feb 26, 2013
Messages
8,257 (4.71/day)
Likes
17,415
Location
llaregguB...WALES
System Name Wendys Nightmare / Winebox/ Matchbox
Processor Xeon X5670 @4.4ghz / G540 stock/ Q 8300
Motherboard Rampage ii Extreme / Giga GA H61m/ Intel P35
Cooling modded H100 pump and 12omm rad / stock/ stock
Memory 16gb Hyper FurryX triple / 4gb ddr3 / 4gb ddr2
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Windforce Gtx 970 1485/1800
Storage Kingston V300 120gb /YES/YES/YES
Display(s) 24 HannsG / tv/ 19 "/ 24"
Case Custom treadplate /yes/ wooden winebox/ matchsticks
Audio Device(s) ASUS Supreme xfi 7.1 / ob 7.1 / o/b/ob
Power Supply Corsair 550w / XFX 550// shuttle/ shuttle
Mouse Dead.....all dead.
Keyboard IBM kb7993
Software Win 10
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/capslockstuck/
#6
Good luck with Palit.


i am sure they will do a better job than samsung have with my daughters missing phone..

hhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.PNG
 
Joined
Oct 24, 2009
Messages
396 (0.13/day)
Likes
124
Location
Belgium
System Name Illidan
Processor Intel Core i7 6700K
Motherboard MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon
Cooling Scythe Mugen 4
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 32GB DDR4 3000MHz CL14
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 1080 Super Jetstream
Storage Sandisk Ultra II 960GB SSD + Samsung 830 128GB SSD + 2 x Samsung F3 1TB HDD
Display(s) AGON AG35UCG + Benq GW2765HT
Case Corsair 750D Airflow
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 + Yamaha HTR-4065 + Onkyo SKS HT 528
Power Supply XFX 650W Pro Core
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 (Cherry MX Red)
Software Windows 10 Pro
#7
I have a palit gtx 1080 too, albeit the cheaper made version (super jetstream). Sorry to hear man and I hope it won't happen to me...
 

P4-630

The Way It's Meant to be Played
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
9,183 (2.11/day)
Likes
8,944
Location
Vinewood
System Name Sansaya / Sansaya Laptop
Processor Intel i5 6500 / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + Scythe 1200rpm + 4 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 6GB DDR4 Samsung 2400MHz CL15
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Hitachi 2.5" 7200rpm 750GB / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p + 21.5" LG 22MP67VQ IPS 60Hz 1080p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Be quiet! Straight Power 10 500 Watt CM / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech Nano Laser wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 8.1 x64 / Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Superposition 14106 (1080p medium) Fire Strike 21169 graphics score. Valley 8xAA 4218
#9
That sucks man, hopefully the new one is one of the better ones...

My MSI 1070 (one of the first batch) is still going strong.
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2009
Messages
3,505 (1.10/day)
Likes
2,254
#11
RMA can be a major pain in you-know-where when you don't have any GPU to hold onto. You are lucky, dude. Time to wash more dogs.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,197 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,798
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#12
@EarthDog Oh yeah, that's why I was at pains to say I pressed the power switch momentarily. It was a full, normal shutdown as far as the rest of the PC was concerned. What I didn't say in my piece is that on restarting the PC, I could tell it had booted into Windows, but just wasn't showing a picture. This suggests to me that the GPU is working normally and that the problem is somewhere else. The techie in me would love to know the technical side of this fault.

@eidairaman1 You're probably right. I've had it too long to demand a refund at this point though. Only if problems continue can I do so.

@the54thvoid It's kind of a saga when you make a sarcastic take on it like I did. I thoroughly enjoyed writing it! Shame about that Seasonic.

I'd say MSI like what you have already
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2012
Messages
842 (0.45/day)
Likes
733
Location
Germany
System Name Perf/price king /w focus on low noise and TDP
Processor Intel Xeon E3-1230 v2
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3H
Cooling Thermalright HR-02 Macho Rev.A (BW)
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LP Black
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 OC
Storage 525GB Crucial MX300 & 256GB Samsung 830 Series
Display(s) Home: LG 29UB65-P & Work: LG 34UB88-B
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Essence STX /w Sennheiser HD 598
Power Supply be quiet! Straight Power CM E9 80+ Gold 480W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD optical
Keyboard SteelSeries Apex M500
Software Win10
#13
@EarthDog Oh yeah, that's why I was at pains to say I pressed the power switch momentarily. It was a full, normal shutdown as far as the rest of the PC was concerned.
ALT+F4 or shutdown via cmd would have been options as well.

Hope you'll have a better RMA experience with Palit than the one you had with their card.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2008
Messages
766 (0.23/day)
Likes
414
Processor Intel Core i3-4370
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H97-D3H
Cooling Zalman CNPS9500 AT
Memory 16GB Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GV-N75TOC-2GI GeForce GTX 750 Ti WindForce
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB SSD
Display(s) Acer G245HQ 23.6" LCD
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black Pearl
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply Corsair CX600M
Mouse Logitech M500
Keyboard Lenovo KB1021 USB
Software Windows 10 Professional x64
#14
If you hold down the power button for 5s and it shuts off, its still a hard power down.
Note that the OP said "a momentary press of the power switch". On some PCs, if you give the power switch a quick press, Windows will shut down normally (other PCs will go into sleep mode, and still others will ignore you completely).
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2012
Messages
842 (0.45/day)
Likes
733
Location
Germany
System Name Perf/price king /w focus on low noise and TDP
Processor Intel Xeon E3-1230 v2
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3H
Cooling Thermalright HR-02 Macho Rev.A (BW)
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LP Black
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 OC
Storage 525GB Crucial MX300 & 256GB Samsung 830 Series
Display(s) Home: LG 29UB65-P & Work: LG 34UB88-B
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Essence STX /w Sennheiser HD 598
Power Supply be quiet! Straight Power CM E9 80+ Gold 480W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD optical
Keyboard SteelSeries Apex M500
Software Win10
#15
Note that the OP said "a momentary press of the power switch". On some PCs, if you give the power switch a quick press, Windows will shut down normally (other PCs will go into sleep mode, and still others will ignore you completely).
You can change the behaviour in the BIOS if it is a decent mainboard.
 

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977 (1.73/day)
Likes
1,887
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
#16
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,497 (3.96/day)
Likes
6,259
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#17
Have you tried using other outputs? HDMI? If your monitor isn't HDMI do you have a connector?
Note that the OP said "a momentary press of the power switch". On some PCs, if you give the power switch a quick press, Windows will shut down normally (other PCs will go into sleep mode, and still others will ignore you completely).
Ahh, that's right.. correct. by default, however, it does nothing. YOu have to set it that way.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
7,361 (1.95/day)
Likes
6,493
System Name New Genesis
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X @ 4.1GHz All Cores
Motherboard GIGABYTE Aorus Gaming 5
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S CPU Cooler with dual fans,4x 120mm Sunon MagLev Blowers and 2x 120mm Corsair ML120Pro
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 14-14-14-34-1T
Video Card(s) EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 FTW2 w /iCX Cooler
Storage HGST Ultrastar 7k6000 2TB HDD w/ 128MBs of Cache
Display(s) Benq BL3200PT 1440p 32" LCD w/ AU Optronics AMVA true 10-bit 100% sRGB Panel
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink to Schiit Modi Multibit to Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME 750W 80Plus TItanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Keycaps, Blue legends
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (From former workplace, yay no telemetry)
Benchmark Scores TS/FS Extreme: 10562: https://www.3dmark.com/fs/14260421 3575: https://www.3dmark.com/spy/2816092
#18
My reassuringly inexpensive Titan X (not pascal) I got during the crash is still running like a champ.

Sorry, I like to salt wounds. :p I hear it helps them to heal faster. ;)
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,878 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,411
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#19
Sad to hear but it's not a saga. Sometimes hardware fails. My Seasonic PSU... yes, Seasonic - SEASONIC died on me a year or so back. Seasonic are one of the best brands out but there you go - it died. Seasonic did do a nice speedy RMA for me. I'm pretty sure Scan will sort it out.
Actual quality =! chance of RMA, if of decent quality to begin with. I have never understood why people don't get this.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,551 (3.98/day)
Likes
8,058
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#20
Have you tried using other outputs? HDMI? If your monitor isn't HDMI do you have a connector?
Ahh, that's right.. correct. by default, however, it does nothing. YOu have to set it that way.
By default it shuts down the PC like you selected Shutdown from the menu.

In all my many Windows installations and different versions I've never seen it behave any other way in its default configuration.
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
10,947 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,055
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#21
On ATX PC's this generally holds true, but mix in a NUC or laptop, and then when you hit the power button those devices sleep/hibernate. Though some folks also forget or may not know that Windows 10 normal shut down process is a partial/hybrid hibernation that still allows power off, part of why it can boot up cold so fast...but seems to take a bit longer when restarting. Holding power or disabling the fast startup feature iirc mitigates this. I've never screwed with it, its never caused problems and I love a fast booting PC. :D

You can confirm by checking your system up-time after an OS shut down and power on. (Right click Task Bar, choose Task Manager, go to the Performance Tab, choose CPU, find "Up Time:") You should notice that the up time didn't start back at 0, but was the up time before you shut down. If you restart the OS though that time starts at 0:0:0:00.

Sorry to hear your 1080 kicked the bucket so soon...I hope the RMA process is painless! I still have a Palit 9600GT from back when Palit temporarily returned to the states with a bang. That was a sweet little GPU to OC and use. I should test it and see if it even works any longer! LOL. Either rate, good luck on the RMA and replacement!

:toast:
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
471 (0.15/day)
Likes
265
Processor i5 4690K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-PRO Wi-Fi ac USB 3.1
Cooling Cryorig H5 Ultimate
Memory 16 GB Corsair XMS3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 290X 8GB Tri-X OC
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240
Display(s) ASUS MG278Q
Case Corsair Carbide 600Q
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 750W Titanium
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#22
Bad cards happen to the best of manufacturers. Good luck with your RMA!
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,551 (3.98/day)
Likes
8,058
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#23
ALT+F4 or shutdown via cmd would have been options as well.

Hope you'll have a better RMA experience with Palit than the one you had with their card.
Yes, that's a good one to remember on a PC that doesn't have the power switch set for a controlled shutdown. :)

Note that the warranty responsibility initially rests with the seller here in Blighty, not the manufacturer. Scan have now sent me the RMA number and a label to print out. Looks like I'll have to pay the shipping back to them though.

I think the law says that they have to refund the cost of this shipping once the card is confirmed to be faulty, but I'll check before chasing for it.
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2007
Messages
1,190 (0.32/day)
Likes
579
System Name Firebird
Processor Intel i7 2600K @5.0'ish 24/7 stock core Voltage {5.2 w/102 bCLK}
Motherboard Intel Extreme DZ68BC SkullTrail Z68 Cougerpoint, Excellent MCH !
Cooling Scythe NINJA PLUS Rev.B[skt478] Modded to 1155 Scythe SH12 fan
Memory Samsung 32nm 16Gb 4x4 (@19xxmhz} low profile[ better than 2133 banwidth]
Video Card(s) @Norton F@H Kreij GigaByte 7950 ARCTIC Accelero Xtreme III / XFX HD5870-XXX Edition
Storage Toshiba 3Tbx2,Hitachi 320,1TBx2,'Cuda 400 7200.10, WD1TBUSB,moved to SATA
Display(s) Acer K272HUL 1440 27" WQHD, Samsung 226W, Vizio M60C3 4K 60",Vizio XVT3D554SV
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Intel 10ch[9+1] HD Audio X540> Pioneer VSX39TX[copper chasis,Rosewood sides 5x6LCD remote
Power Supply Seasonic X750 @ 24/7
Mouse Logictech G300s
Keyboard Saitek Cyborg v7
Software Windows 7 ROG E3 X64 by Neuropass/tweakscene
Benchmark Scores 4642@665/1600 220/GAT F1 4544 220/667strap 2.5/3/2/6 Bliss 650/1500 6490 Q6700 Bliss 690/1500
#24
Damn that indeed sux! Hopefully you wont have a big hassle getting it replaced.
It would be interesting to see what did malfunction with it, and hopefully it's just a fluke. I have had 3 [Gainward] card's but used from eBay, 1 of them was bad. I do still have that nastyazz Bliss from back in 2007 and thankfully it had remained working at least till the 5870 came out.
It's super nice to see we are still rocking very similar system's and I am looking forward to getting a sweet GPU upgrade the next couple years.
Finger's crossed you will be up an screaming very soon!
That's a superb GPU qubit :toast: I'm jealous :rockout:
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2008
Messages
766 (0.23/day)
Likes
414
Processor Intel Core i3-4370
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H97-D3H
Cooling Zalman CNPS9500 AT
Memory 16GB Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GV-N75TOC-2GI GeForce GTX 750 Ti WindForce
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB SSD
Display(s) Acer G245HQ 23.6" LCD
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black Pearl
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply Corsair CX600M
Mouse Logitech M500
Keyboard Lenovo KB1021 USB
Software Windows 10 Professional x64
#25
By default it shuts down the PC like you selected Shutdown from the menu.

In all my many Windows installations and different versions I've never seen it behave any other way in its default configuration.
On my work ThinkPad, a quick press of the power button puts the computer into sleep mode.

In Windows 7, the settings are under "Control Panel > Power Options > Choose what the power buttons do".