• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Updating graphics cards(Macbook Pro)

Joined
Nov 28, 2006
Messages
2,266 (0.56/day)
Likes
192
Location
Houston
System Name mult1kill
Processor Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard GA-AX370-GAMING 5
Cooling Cryorig H7
Memory G.Skill DDR4 16GB 3000mhz
Video Card(s) XFX R9 390 DD XXX OC
Storage Seagate 3TB+ Corsair 120GB SSD+120 ssd smansung
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 220WM/ Benq 144hz
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) Q701 + Schiit Vali+ Modi 2
Power Supply Corsair 650w (one of the originals!)
Mouse WMO
Keyboard Ducky Shine 3
Software Windows 8.1
#1
is there a way to manually do this? I'm always getting bad FPS even with low settings.
 

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
#2
it would use a MXM port but MACs tend to have a different bios, so i dont think it is possible... maybe you could give us some specs and some more details about that issue you got?
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
4,001 (1.32/day)
Likes
1,652
Location
Sarasota, Florida, USA
System Name Awesomesauce 4.3 | Laptop (MSI GE72VR 6RF Apache Pro-023)
Processor Intel Core i7-5820K 4.16GHz 1.28v/3GHz 1.05v uncore | Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD5 WiFi LGA2011-v3| Stock
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 w/ 2x EK Vardar F4-120ER + various 120/140mm case fans | Stock
Memory G.Skill RJ-4 16GB DDR4-2666 CL15 quad channel | 12GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix A8G Gaming GTX 1080 @ 2075/1368 boost | NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB +200/+500 + Intel 530
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 500GB + Seagate 3TB 7200RPM + others | Kingston 256GB M.2 SATA + 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer G257HU 1440p 60Hz AH-IPS 4ms | 17.3" 1920*1080 60Hz wide angle TN notebook panel
Case Fractal Design Define XL R2 | MSI
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | Realtek with quad stereo speakers and subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair HX850i Platinum | 19.5v 180w Delta brick
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores GTX 1080 please?
#3
Updating as in upgrading the graphics card? The chip and it's memory are probably soldered to the motherboard, so it is probably not possible. I don't think there would be space for an MXM slot in a MacBook Pro.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
10,241 (2.30/day)
Likes
2,107
Location
Granite Bay, CA
System Name Big Devil
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K
Motherboard ECS P67H2-A2
Cooling XSPC Rasa | Black Ice GT Stealth 240 | XSPC X2O 750 | 2x ACF12PWM | PrimoChill White 7/16"
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance LP Arctic White 1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ACX SC
Storage Intel 520 Series 180GB + WD 1TB Blue
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2650x1600 IPS
Case Corsair 600T SE
Audio Device(s) Xonar Essence STX | Sennheisser PC350 "Hero" Modded | Corsair SP2500
Power Supply ABS SL 1050W (Enermax Revolution Rebadge)
Software Windows 8.1 x64 Pro w/ Media Center
Benchmark Scores Ducky Year of the Snake w/ Cherry MX Browns & Year of the Tiger PBT Keycaps | Razer Deathadder Black
#4
Whole reason I like PC's.

If you want to upgrade, don't get a mac.
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,405 (3.56/day)
Likes
4,257
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#5
i dont believe the macbook pros have discrete gpus.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
10,241 (2.30/day)
Likes
2,107
Location
Granite Bay, CA
System Name Big Devil
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K
Motherboard ECS P67H2-A2
Cooling XSPC Rasa | Black Ice GT Stealth 240 | XSPC X2O 750 | 2x ACF12PWM | PrimoChill White 7/16"
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance LP Arctic White 1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ACX SC
Storage Intel 520 Series 180GB + WD 1TB Blue
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2650x1600 IPS
Case Corsair 600T SE
Audio Device(s) Xonar Essence STX | Sennheisser PC350 "Hero" Modded | Corsair SP2500
Power Supply ABS SL 1050W (Enermax Revolution Rebadge)
Software Windows 8.1 x64 Pro w/ Media Center
Benchmark Scores Ducky Year of the Snake w/ Cherry MX Browns & Year of the Tiger PBT Keycaps | Razer Deathadder Black
#6
They do, but they're soldered to the motherboard.
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2006
Messages
2,266 (0.56/day)
Likes
192
Location
Houston
System Name mult1kill
Processor Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard GA-AX370-GAMING 5
Cooling Cryorig H7
Memory G.Skill DDR4 16GB 3000mhz
Video Card(s) XFX R9 390 DD XXX OC
Storage Seagate 3TB+ Corsair 120GB SSD+120 ssd smansung
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 220WM/ Benq 144hz
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) Q701 + Schiit Vali+ Modi 2
Power Supply Corsair 650w (one of the originals!)
Mouse WMO
Keyboard Ducky Shine 3
Software Windows 8.1
#7
it would use a MXM port but MACs tend to have a different bios, so i dont think it is possible... maybe you could give us some specs and some more details about that issue you got?
yeah sure:
C2D 2.54 GHz
9400m
9600m gt
4gb ddr 3 1067 ram

whats happening is when I play a game like sc2, steam games etc. it tends to NEED to run at low settings basically it wont run smooth unless its at lower settings. its rare to even run most games at medium(mainly SC2) I can run games like portal half life 2 at high settings but it will lag certain parts of the game, to fix this I need to lower everything down to medium to reach 60 fps. I hope that helps a bit.
Updating as in upgrading the graphics card? The chip and it's memory are probably soldered to the motherboard, so it is probably not possible. I don't think there would be space for an MXM slot in a MacBook Pro.
I mean like drivers, and such things you can do on pc. I already talked to some apple reps they told me I could upgrade my graphics chip to at 230m or something like that Im considering doing that but I dont have money so maybe next time.
Whole reason I like PC's.

If you want to upgrade, don't get a mac.
well gee thanks for helping me with my problem.....I have a mac and I love it...
 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.23/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#8
yeah sure:
C2D 2.54 GHz
9400m
9600m gt
4gb ddr 3 1067 ram
I'm confused, is it a 9400m or a 9600m GT? I would presume that they're two different video cards? the 9600m GT should be able to play SC2 reasonably well at medium settings, considering that it's borderline "OK" the processor might be a slight bottleneck, but ample performance should be obtainable still. The 9400m was at the bottom of the pile 2 years ago so playing a modern game today like SC2 isnt going to happen.

I agree with DanishDevil, if you appreciate gaming with good frame rates/good visuals a a PC is your best solution. This is the very reason gamers do not use laptops or macs.

Edit: Why don't you use virtualisation software to facilitate using MAC OSX ontop of Vista/7, that way you get best of the both world, upgradability of a desktop and MAC's operating system.
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2010
Messages
471 (0.16/day)
Likes
128
Location
Houston
System Name Beast
Processor Intel Core i7 860 @ 3.8GHz
Motherboard eVGA P55 FTW
Cooling Coolit Eco ALC with Yate Loon 1700RPM fans
Memory 8 GB Patriot Viper @ DDR3-2000
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX280
Storage 2x 1 TB WD Caviar Black
Case Thermaltake Element V
Power Supply Seasonic X760
Software Win7 x64 Ultimate
#9
Actually the macbook pro has both graphics processors - they dynamically change in OSX depending on the workload. The 9400 has a lower power consumption, therefore it's used during non-graphic heavy workloads.

@ -1nf1n1ty- are you running in OSX or using bootcamp into 7?
 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.23/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#10
Actually the macbook pro has both graphics processors - they dynamically change in OSX depending on the workload. The 9400 has a lower power consumption, therefore it's used during non-graphic heavy workloads.
Interesting, very efficient indeed.

I would look into virtualisation still or a seperate gaming PC.
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2010
Messages
471 (0.16/day)
Likes
128
Location
Houston
System Name Beast
Processor Intel Core i7 860 @ 3.8GHz
Motherboard eVGA P55 FTW
Cooling Coolit Eco ALC with Yate Loon 1700RPM fans
Memory 8 GB Patriot Viper @ DDR3-2000
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX280
Storage 2x 1 TB WD Caviar Black
Case Thermaltake Element V
Power Supply Seasonic X760
Software Win7 x64 Ultimate
#11
Yeah, it's a neat feature (that can cause some problems when running bootcamped windows 7) -- some of the sony vaio laptops have had dual GPU's. Not sure if they are still manufactured that way or not.
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2006
Messages
2,266 (0.56/day)
Likes
192
Location
Houston
System Name mult1kill
Processor Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard GA-AX370-GAMING 5
Cooling Cryorig H7
Memory G.Skill DDR4 16GB 3000mhz
Video Card(s) XFX R9 390 DD XXX OC
Storage Seagate 3TB+ Corsair 120GB SSD+120 ssd smansung
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 220WM/ Benq 144hz
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) Q701 + Schiit Vali+ Modi 2
Power Supply Corsair 650w (one of the originals!)
Mouse WMO
Keyboard Ducky Shine 3
Software Windows 8.1
#12
Actually the macbook pro has both graphics processors - they dynamically change in OSX depending on the workload. The 9400 has a lower power consumption, therefore it's used during non-graphic heavy workloads.

@ -1nf1n1ty- are you running in OSX or using bootcamp into 7?
well I am running bootcamp but I was wanting to just install it on my mac OS so I wont have to keep switching, but if it would probably be best to just play it on the bootcamp win 7 then I could do that. again though its just something I dont want to always have to keep switching to back and forth. I know many people consider macs not good for gaming, but from what I've seen it does the job most of the time(seen videos of crysis and other games being ran and they worked really well):ohwell:
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2010
Messages
471 (0.16/day)
Likes
128
Location
Houston
System Name Beast
Processor Intel Core i7 860 @ 3.8GHz
Motherboard eVGA P55 FTW
Cooling Coolit Eco ALC with Yate Loon 1700RPM fans
Memory 8 GB Patriot Viper @ DDR3-2000
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX280
Storage 2x 1 TB WD Caviar Black
Case Thermaltake Element V
Power Supply Seasonic X760
Software Win7 x64 Ultimate
#13
I haven't tried playing any modern games on my hackintosh, but they seem to do okay. I'd guess that a good litmus test would be to try SC2 on 7 and see what your performance is like.
 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.23/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#14
but from what I've seen it does the job most of the time(seen videos of crysis and other games being ran and they worked really well):ohwell:
Does the videos show the frame rate of the video, it might of been playing @ 20 FPS?
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2006
Messages
2,266 (0.56/day)
Likes
192
Location
Houston
System Name mult1kill
Processor Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard GA-AX370-GAMING 5
Cooling Cryorig H7
Memory G.Skill DDR4 16GB 3000mhz
Video Card(s) XFX R9 390 DD XXX OC
Storage Seagate 3TB+ Corsair 120GB SSD+120 ssd smansung
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 220WM/ Benq 144hz
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) Q701 + Schiit Vali+ Modi 2
Power Supply Corsair 650w (one of the originals!)
Mouse WMO
Keyboard Ducky Shine 3
Software Windows 8.1
#15
Does the videos show the frame rate of the video, it might of been playing @ 20 FPS?
sorry im late for a reply school is very stressful atm, but I will check. I think in steam games TF2, portal etc the games stay and get a 30-60 fps on high settings but it mostly stays near 40 and keeps droping to 30 fps, which isnt bad I mean thats what most ps3 and 360 games are right? so I dont really notice it
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#16
well I am running bootcamp but I was wanting to just install it on my mac OS so I wont have to keep switching, but if it would probably be best to just play it on the bootcamp win 7 then I could do that. again though its just something I dont want to always have to keep switching to back and forth. I know many people consider macs not good for gaming, but from what I've seen it does the job most of the time(seen videos of crysis and other games being ran and they worked really well):ohwell:
Take it from a long time Mac owner, just go ahead and game in Windows. Graphics performance on the OS X side is almost never up to snuff.
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2010
Messages
471 (0.16/day)
Likes
128
Location
Houston
System Name Beast
Processor Intel Core i7 860 @ 3.8GHz
Motherboard eVGA P55 FTW
Cooling Coolit Eco ALC with Yate Loon 1700RPM fans
Memory 8 GB Patriot Viper @ DDR3-2000
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX280
Storage 2x 1 TB WD Caviar Black
Case Thermaltake Element V
Power Supply Seasonic X760
Software Win7 x64 Ultimate
#17
Agreed with Wile E - just bootcamp into 7 and game to your hearts content.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,606 (1.30/day)
Likes
1,282
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#18
I would check with apple to see what the upgraded video card will cost as I know for a fact that when they go in a MAC they are 3x the cost of the equivalent in PC.
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2010
Messages
471 (0.16/day)
Likes
128
Location
Houston
System Name Beast
Processor Intel Core i7 860 @ 3.8GHz
Motherboard eVGA P55 FTW
Cooling Coolit Eco ALC with Yate Loon 1700RPM fans
Memory 8 GB Patriot Viper @ DDR3-2000
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX280
Storage 2x 1 TB WD Caviar Black
Case Thermaltake Element V
Power Supply Seasonic X760
Software Win7 x64 Ultimate
#19
I would check with apple to see what the upgraded video card will cost as I know for a fact that when they go in a MAC they are 3x the cost of the equivalent in PC.
On the desktop Mac's this is correct - however, if I'm not mistaken, on the MacBook Pro, you cannot upgrade the video card as it is soldered to the motherboard/logicboard.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
10,241 (2.30/day)
Likes
2,107
Location
Granite Bay, CA
System Name Big Devil
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K
Motherboard ECS P67H2-A2
Cooling XSPC Rasa | Black Ice GT Stealth 240 | XSPC X2O 750 | 2x ACF12PWM | PrimoChill White 7/16"
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance LP Arctic White 1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ACX SC
Storage Intel 520 Series 180GB + WD 1TB Blue
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2650x1600 IPS
Case Corsair 600T SE
Audio Device(s) Xonar Essence STX | Sennheisser PC350 "Hero" Modded | Corsair SP2500
Power Supply ABS SL 1050W (Enermax Revolution Rebadge)
Software Windows 8.1 x64 Pro w/ Media Center
Benchmark Scores Ducky Year of the Snake w/ Cherry MX Browns & Year of the Tiger PBT Keycaps | Razer Deathadder Black
#20
You can't buy the upgraded video card. Did you even read through the thread? It's a Macbook Pro.