• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Upgrade CPU from AM2 to AM3, Is that Possible?

Joined
Jan 11, 2012
Messages
359 (0.16/day)
Likes
28
Location
NJ Hillside
System Name Windows7 64bit Ultimate
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K
Motherboard Asus Z170M-PLUS
Cooling Cooler Master T4
Memory G.skill 32GB DDR4 (2x16GB) 3200MHz
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX970 4GB
Storage PNY 500GB SSD + Seagate 4TB SSHD
Display(s) HP LE1851w
Case Cooler Master N200
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Cooler Master 750watt
Mouse HP
Keyboard HP
Benchmark Scores no need
#1
Hi TPU

okay, I am really confused about this, I have read a lot of threads, but still not understand.


My friend want to upgrade his system, he has those Mb brand AsRock

- ALiveNF6P-VSTA ............................................................................... Support 4 core ( TDP 125 )
- A780LM .................................................................................................. Support 6 core ( TDP 140 )
- ASRock K10N78FullHD-hSLI R3.0 ............................................ Support 6 core ( TDP 140 )

I have suggestion for him some CPU like

- Phenom X3 8750
- Phenom X4 9950
- Phenom II X6 1055T​


but After reading more thread, I have noticed some are using AM3 CPU on A780LM , wow ⊙__⊙ . how possible?!,
Also, AsRock mention "Support with AM3 / AM2+ CPU"


My Q Is

Is it possible to upgrade to FX6300 ? I mean (new FX6300 ) and ( used II X6 1055T ) have same price
also there is good price on AMD FX-4300



Thanks
God bless all
 
Last edited:

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,527 (6.39/day)
Likes
6,950
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#2
FX6300 is AM3+ not AM3
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,413 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,549
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#3
AM2 CPUs have a DDR2 memory controller, hence why AM2 motherboards use DDR2 memory.
AM3 CPUs have a DDR2 and DDR3 memory controller, so they will work on AM2 and AM3 motherboards with DDR2 or DDR3.
AM3+ CPUs only have a DDR3 memory controller, so they will only work on AM3+ motherboards(and some AM3 motherboards).
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2012
Messages
359 (0.16/day)
Likes
28
Location
NJ Hillside
System Name Windows7 64bit Ultimate
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K
Motherboard Asus Z170M-PLUS
Cooling Cooler Master T4
Memory G.skill 32GB DDR4 (2x16GB) 3200MHz
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX970 4GB
Storage PNY 500GB SSD + Seagate 4TB SSHD
Display(s) HP LE1851w
Case Cooler Master N200
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Cooler Master 750watt
Mouse HP
Keyboard HP
Benchmark Scores no need
#4
oh i miss that +
not seen that sorry :oops:
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2010
Messages
2,954 (1.04/day)
Likes
936
Location
Portugal
System Name _JP_'s Daily Driver
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Plus
Cooling Noctua NH-C12P SE14 + NM-AM4 + NF-P14r
Memory 2x 8GB G.Skill Trident Z (F4-3200C16D-16GTZB)(Hynix)
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 280X Gaming
Storage HyperX Savage 240GB + KC300 240GB + 750EVO 500GB
Display(s) LG Flatron W2361V 23'' FHD
Case NOX Blaze
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair TX650M
Mouse Microsoft Comfort Mouse 4500
Keyboard Logitech Media Keyboard (PS/2)
Software Windows 10 x86-64 (1703)
#5
- ALiveNF6P-VSTA ............................................................................... Support 4 core ( TDP 125 )
- A780LM .................................................................................................. Support 6 core ( TDP 140 )
- ASRock K10N78FullHD-hSLI R3.0 ............................................ Support 6 core ( TDP 140 )
It actually works more like this:
ALiveNF6P-VSTA
- Quadcores (Agena\Phenom I x4) @ up to 125W

A780LM
- Hexacores (Thuban\Phenom II x6) @ 95W
- Quadcores (Deneb\Phenom II x4) @ up to 125W

ASRock K10N78FullHD-hSLI R3.0
- Hexacores (Thuban\Phenom II x6) @ up to 125W
- Quadcores (Deneb\Phenom II x4) @ up to 125W

Since you got to the effort of getting to each motherboard's page, you could have just continued to check the "CPU support list" to see which one works for the motherboards you listed.
AM3+ (AMD FX) won't work on those boards. Regular AM3s will, except for the 1st board.
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
6,573 (1.41/day)
Likes
1,173
Location
Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
System Name Red Spy
Processor FX 8350 @ 4.35 Ghz with 1.28v
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FX-UD3 v4.0
Cooling TT Water 3.0 Performer + 2 x Cougar 120mm fan, 1 x 120mm Blue LED, 1 x 200 mm Red LED fan
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR3 1333 16GB
Video Card(s) Asus R9 290 OC @ GPU - 1050, MEM - 1300
Storage ADATA 128GB Sata III SSD for OS, WDC Black - 1TB Storage, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SSD - Games
Display(s) AOC 23" 1080P LCD
Case AeroCool XPredator X3
Audio Device(s) Built-in Realtek
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Benchmark Scores BF4 with Mantle on Ultra settings gets around 60 FPS.
#6
Joined
Apr 16, 2010
Messages
2,954 (1.04/day)
Likes
936
Location
Portugal
System Name _JP_'s Daily Driver
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Plus
Cooling Noctua NH-C12P SE14 + NM-AM4 + NF-P14r
Memory 2x 8GB G.Skill Trident Z (F4-3200C16D-16GTZB)(Hynix)
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 280X Gaming
Storage HyperX Savage 240GB + KC300 240GB + 750EVO 500GB
Display(s) LG Flatron W2361V 23'' FHD
Case NOX Blaze
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair TX650M
Mouse Microsoft Comfort Mouse 4500
Keyboard Logitech Media Keyboard (PS/2)
Software Windows 10 x86-64 (1703)
#7
And exactly because they're FM2 that it means they are not compatible at all. It's a completely different socket.
Just check the each board's compatible CPU list, to see what works.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2012
Messages
359 (0.16/day)
Likes
28
Location
NJ Hillside
System Name Windows7 64bit Ultimate
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K
Motherboard Asus Z170M-PLUS
Cooling Cooler Master T4
Memory G.skill 32GB DDR4 (2x16GB) 3200MHz
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX970 4GB
Storage PNY 500GB SSD + Seagate 4TB SSHD
Display(s) HP LE1851w
Case Cooler Master N200
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Cooler Master 750watt
Mouse HP
Keyboard HP
Benchmark Scores no need
#8
sorry sorry
oh god AMD make me :banghead: craze

I think i will buy X4 9950
Thanks JP
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
6,573 (1.41/day)
Likes
1,173
Location
Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
System Name Red Spy
Processor FX 8350 @ 4.35 Ghz with 1.28v
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FX-UD3 v4.0
Cooling TT Water 3.0 Performer + 2 x Cougar 120mm fan, 1 x 120mm Blue LED, 1 x 200 mm Red LED fan
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR3 1333 16GB
Video Card(s) Asus R9 290 OC @ GPU - 1050, MEM - 1300
Storage ADATA 128GB Sata III SSD for OS, WDC Black - 1TB Storage, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SSD - Games
Display(s) AOC 23" 1080P LCD
Case AeroCool XPredator X3
Audio Device(s) Built-in Realtek
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Benchmark Scores BF4 with Mantle on Ultra settings gets around 60 FPS.
#9
I think if going Quad, your best bet would be a PII X4 955 BE. Even at stock clock its much better than 9950.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,411 (2.61/day)
Likes
4,014
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#10
nope I would't run a 125W cpu on any of those boards you WILL Pop the VRM's like ... well popcorn
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2012
Messages
359 (0.16/day)
Likes
28
Location
NJ Hillside
System Name Windows7 64bit Ultimate
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K
Motherboard Asus Z170M-PLUS
Cooling Cooler Master T4
Memory G.skill 32GB DDR4 (2x16GB) 3200MHz
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX970 4GB
Storage PNY 500GB SSD + Seagate 4TB SSHD
Display(s) HP LE1851w
Case Cooler Master N200
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Cooler Master 750watt
Mouse HP
Keyboard HP
Benchmark Scores no need
#11
nope I would't run a 125W cpu on any of those boards you WILL Pop the VRM's like ... well popcorn
CPU-Upgrade.com showing that Mb ( 2-3 ) are support 140TDP,


I think if going Quad, your best bet would be a PII X4 955 BE. Even at stock clock its much better than 9950.
that will killing me, it's expensive
AMD Phenom II X4 955 = 90$
AMD FX-6350 = 95$
what's :eek: going on ?!

AM2 has craze ಥ_ಥ price

anyway, I have already bought AMD Phenom X4 9750 , If this CPU doing good i will take 2 like them or better
i got it with good price 50$
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2010
Messages
2,954 (1.04/day)
Likes
936
Location
Portugal
System Name _JP_'s Daily Driver
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Plus
Cooling Noctua NH-C12P SE14 + NM-AM4 + NF-P14r
Memory 2x 8GB G.Skill Trident Z (F4-3200C16D-16GTZB)(Hynix)
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 280X Gaming
Storage HyperX Savage 240GB + KC300 240GB + 750EVO 500GB
Display(s) LG Flatron W2361V 23'' FHD
Case NOX Blaze
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair TX650M
Mouse Microsoft Comfort Mouse 4500
Keyboard Logitech Media Keyboard (PS/2)
Software Windows 10 x86-64 (1703)
#12
CPU-Upgrade.com showing that Mb ( 2-3 ) are support 140TDP,
Yet, notice that no AMD CPU listed there is rated above 125W.
And I'm with OneMore. 125W CPUs will work on them, but those VRMs might not last for a long while with a lot of stress put trough them. Both lack heatsinks even.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,411 (2.61/day)
Likes
4,014
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#13
just because the manufactor says you can does not mean its a good idea the older vrm designs on those cheap boards where garbage they would routinely go up in smoke when pushed