• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

upgrade from 800mhz to 1066mhz ddr2 will it be worth it?

Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,524 (0.49/day)
Likes
238
Location
UK
System Name Betty The Dirty Dragon
Processor AMD 8350 @4.8
Motherboard ASUS sabertooth rev 2
Cooling Watercooling - Swiftech GTZ - XSPC RS360 - XSPC RX120
Memory 8GB corsair vengeance cas 9
Video Card(s) 280x 1100core 1600 mem
Storage 240 gb ssd- 2 tb Storage
Display(s) Samsung 24" 2433BW
Case Corsair 650d
Audio Device(s) Xfi Fatality Titanium Pro
Power Supply XFX 850 fully modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#1
hi guys the topic kinda explains the question

i have OCZ platinum revision 2 ddr2 800mhz 2x1gig x4 sticks, so 4 gig total over 4 slots

http://www.ebuyer.com/product/116755

but i was thinking of buying some 1066mhz ram to upgrade my system would this be worth the upgrade at all? i currently have the OCZ running at around 900mhz

ere is the ram i was thinking of getting small price for a good ram, but is it worth buying and will i notice the performance up grade

Here is the link, im looking at corsair Xms2 1066mhz 2x2gig

Also would it be worth geting 8 gig or just over kill?

http://www.ebuyer.com/product/166818
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
8,506 (2.34/day)
Likes
2,072
Location
Kansas City
System Name The Dove Box Rev 2.0
Processor I7 5930k
Motherboard Asus X99
Cooling Custom water loop
Memory 4 x 4GB 3000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) 2x MSI 780 Ti's in SLI
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 PCIe SSD, 2x1TB WD Blacks, 1.2TB NAS
Display(s) 27" Asus 144Hz
Case Enermax Fulmo GT
Audio Device(s) ON BOARD FTW
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 850W
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Win 10 64x
#2
8GB is overkill for sure. If your already running at 900mhz then its possible you may not see much improvement going to 1066(unless your board supports 1066+) and you can overclock them to 1100 or higher.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,528 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,161
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#3
Naw, use what you got. Your AM2 Athlon doesn't even support DDR1066 anyway, you would have to overclock the processor to ramp up the memory speed.
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2009
Messages
265 (0.08/day)
Likes
41
Location
Wichita,KS
System Name The Mistress
Processor Phenom II 1090T @ 4000
Motherboard MSI NF750-G55 750a SLI
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 8GB DDR3 1600mhz Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX460 SLI
Storage 750 GB Western Digital 32mb Cache
Display(s) Hanns-G 22"
Case Antec 900 modded
Audio Device(s) onboard w/ Tritton 5.1 headphones
Power Supply 1000 watt
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
#4
he maybe using a low multiplier right now I know my Athlon 4000+ would do 1080 at 2.8, and my old 5000 would do like 1000 or so at 4,4,4,12, but I did that with some Adata DDR2 800

In the end it will yield little gains unless you can overclock over 1000 on your ram
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2007
Messages
806 (0.21/day)
Likes
188
Location
Tampa FL
Processor AMD Ryzen 1700X
Motherboard Asus Prime X370 Pro
Cooling Corsair Hydro Series H110i
Memory 16 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 Mhz CAS 15
Video Card(s) Asus Radeon RoG RX 480 Strix OC 8GB
Storage Samsung EVO 850 1 TB
Display(s) Asus PB258Q 25" 2560x1440
Case Cooler Master Master Case 5 Pro
Power Supply Corsair HX 850
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#5
8 GB wouldn't be overkill but it would defeat the purpose of getting 1066 ram. Socket AM2+ boards can only run at 1066 speed with one stick per channel. unless of course you're overclocking the memory via bus speed. i.e. memory set to 800 in bios with a 266 bus to get an effective 1066. But 4 sticks aren't supposed to work by just setting it to 1066 at stock bus speed.
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,524 (0.49/day)
Likes
238
Location
UK
System Name Betty The Dirty Dragon
Processor AMD 8350 @4.8
Motherboard ASUS sabertooth rev 2
Cooling Watercooling - Swiftech GTZ - XSPC RS360 - XSPC RX120
Memory 8GB corsair vengeance cas 9
Video Card(s) 280x 1100core 1600 mem
Storage 240 gb ssd- 2 tb Storage
Display(s) Samsung 24" 2433BW
Case Corsair 650d
Audio Device(s) Xfi Fatality Titanium Pro
Power Supply XFX 850 fully modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#6
well i will also be hope fully getting a phenom 2 for my system as the board does support Am2+ and 1066 ram speed (with latest bios revisions) so again the same question stands will i actually see a performance increase or it just a waste of cash and should i just save my money and jump to AM3?
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,270 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,077
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#7
i ran 8GB mushkin 800 oc'd to 900mhz and i threw my OCZ 1066's in and their was like 0 diff in 3dmarks maybe...MAYBE xx points as in double digits and that could have been anything i personally wouldnt do it...it deff isnt going to be worth the money you spend,
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
921 (0.30/day)
Likes
123
Location
SouthERN Africa
System Name inferKNIGHT
Processor Intel Core i5-4590
Motherboard MSI Z97i Gaming AC
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 2 x 4GB DDR3-1866 Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer (R/G)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 STRIX 3.5GB (+0.5GB? o.O)
Storage 1 x 256GB Cricial M550, 1 x 2TB Samsung 7200.12
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T260
Case Corsair Obsidian 250D
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Software Windows 8.1.1 pro x64
#8
I contemplated the same thing, but I think, as I decided, it's more worth it to save for DDR3, something like 1333 is easy to get, but rather for 1600.
It's practically never worth upgrading if there is a gap of less than 2 steps between what you have and what you want to upgrade to.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
2,525 (0.74/day)
Likes
506
System Name Desktop | Poweredge r410
Processor i5 6500 4.5GHz@1.275V | 2 x E5620 @2.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Gaming | Intel 5500
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400MHz | 32GB ECC DDR3
Video Card(s) RX480 8GB |On-Board
Storage 250GB SSD + 512GB SSD|4x320GB
Display(s) 27" Dell + 2 x 24" LCD Setup
Case Fractal Design Define Nano S
Software Windows 10 | Server 2012 r2
#9
Many reviews are done to see what impact RAM speed has on real tasks and does it worth to invest money in expensive memory. And high speed memory comes last after CPU GPU etc..
So I don`t think that you will notice the difference.
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
10,952 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,063
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#10
Many reviews are done to see what impact RAM speed has on real tasks and does it worth to invest money in expensive memory. And high speed memory comes last after CPU GPU etc..
So I don`t think that you will notice the difference.
+1

Imo ddr2 800-1066 all get's the job done, I never noticed a difference tbh. The only difference I truly noticed was going from 2GB to 4GB. That's how I ended up going 1066, but beyond that, nothing seemed to change, I dropped my 4GB kit down to 800 CL4, 2.0v, stable...no difference, back up to stock 1066, cl5, 2.0v...no difference, everest shows a slight improvement in performance, but it's nothing that you'd notice while gaming. It's not worth it just to upgrade to the 1066 speed alone, unless you have a bad stick or are going from 2x1 to 2x2gb kits...no real reason to go that route, 800 really is fast enough for more out there than truly realize it. There's too many other factors that make a bigger difference and really I think other areas need to catch up to ram bandwidth-wise imo.

:toast:
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
1,077 (0.34/day)
Likes
305
System Name Primary Rig
Processor e8500 Q822A549 4.5ghz AIR
Motherboard Foxconn Mars P35
Cooling TRUE
Memory 2 x2GB Patriot Viper 1066 5-5-5-12 @ 1.8v
Video Card(s) Sapphire 5870 Unlocked
Storage 300gb Velociraptor
Display(s) Dell 24" Ultrasharp
Case Coolermaster CM690
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750w Quad Silencer
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x86
#11
You might gain some bandwidth and boot might seem just a tad snappier but gains are minimal especially when compared to overclocking the cpu.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,125 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,558
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#12
not worth it. i just didtests with 8GB of 800 vs 4GB of 1066, and noticed zero difference. ZERO.

I'm sticking with the 800, just for the extra ram.
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2009
Messages
488 (0.15/day)
Likes
33
#13
keep ur 800....4gb is what u need ...8gb is useless with any setup
use 2 mem sticks with 2gb each..
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
921 (0.30/day)
Likes
123
Location
SouthERN Africa
System Name inferKNIGHT
Processor Intel Core i5-4590
Motherboard MSI Z97i Gaming AC
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 2 x 4GB DDR3-1866 Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer (R/G)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 STRIX 3.5GB (+0.5GB? o.O)
Storage 1 x 256GB Cricial M550, 1 x 2TB Samsung 7200.12
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T260
Case Corsair Obsidian 250D
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Software Windows 8.1.1 pro x64
#14
You mean memory sticks don't you? Memory cards are a whole other topic.
Edit: actually it's better to have 4x1GB, rather than 2x2GB because or reduced latency.
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
921 (0.30/day)
Likes
123
Location
SouthERN Africa
System Name inferKNIGHT
Processor Intel Core i5-4590
Motherboard MSI Z97i Gaming AC
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 2 x 4GB DDR3-1866 Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer (R/G)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 STRIX 3.5GB (+0.5GB? o.O)
Storage 1 x 256GB Cricial M550, 1 x 2TB Samsung 7200.12
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T260
Case Corsair Obsidian 250D
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Software Windows 8.1.1 pro x64
#16
It's a negligible difference, just like the one between 800 and 1066, so don't worry about it. ;)
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2006
Messages
5,052 (1.25/day)
Likes
540
Location
Manchester, United Kingdom
Processor AMD FX 8320 @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 rev1
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 4 x 4GB DDR3 Ripjawz 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X AMD R9 280X
Storage 1 x 500GB Samsung Evo 850, 1 x 500GB Vrap Data Drive, 3 x 2TB Seagate, 1 x 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) 3 x DGM IPS-2402WDH
Case Coolermaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Coolermaster 1000W Silent Pro M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#17
You mean memory sticks don't you? Memory cards are a whole other topic.
Edit: actually it's better to have 4x1GB, rather than 2x2GB because or reduced latency.
mmhmm, but, 4 sticks also puts more stress on the memory controller. So in actual fact 2x2GB > 4x1GB ;)

That way, later down the line, you can add another 2x2GB just like I did, and to say 8GB is useless in any set up is a bit of an exaggeration.

While I haven't seen any performance increases, my load times in game have nearly halved, I'm happy :)
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
921 (0.30/day)
Likes
123
Location
SouthERN Africa
System Name inferKNIGHT
Processor Intel Core i5-4590
Motherboard MSI Z97i Gaming AC
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 2 x 4GB DDR3-1866 Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer (R/G)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 STRIX 3.5GB (+0.5GB? o.O)
Storage 1 x 256GB Cricial M550, 1 x 2TB Samsung 7200.12
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T260
Case Corsair Obsidian 250D
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Software Windows 8.1.1 pro x64
#18
mmhmm, but, 4 sticks also puts more stress on the memory controller. So in actual fact 2x2GB > 4x1GB ;)

That way, later down the line, you can add another 2x2GB just like I did, and to say 8GB is useless in any set up is a bit of an exaggeration.

While I haven't seen any performance increases, my load times in game have nearly halved, I'm happy :)
The IMC stress is not significant at 800MHz.
If investing in 1066 RAM make little sense, investing in 2x2GB when you have 4x1GB makes none at all.Also, you're suggesting a 4x2GB setup, how is that less stressful?:wtf:
 

KH0UJ

New Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2009
Messages
361 (0.11/day)
Likes
29
Location
Cebu City Philippines
System Name Air Cooled Gaming / Shop PC
Processor AMD Athlon II X2 Regor 250
Motherboard Asus M4A78 plus
Cooling Air Cooled (Upward Airflow)
Memory Corsair Dominator PC-8500 2GB 1066 MHZ
Video Card(s) Palit GTS 250 E-Green
Storage Hitachi Deskstar 160 GB
Display(s) Samsung EX2020 20 inch LED
Case Wooden Case Painted and Modified
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC887 8 Channel (Onboard)
Power Supply Orion HP 585D X2 Dual Modified PSU (585W+585W)
Software Windows XP SP3 / Windows 7 32 bit
#19
There is a bit of difference for me but not that big, but ived replaced my mobo just to use the 1066 MHZ stable:banghead: my previous mobo is only 800 MHZ standard, it can go to 1003 MHZ but a bit losser timings and a bit unstable:shadedshu my system is a bit snappier on 1066 MHZ, my games are faster to load than 800 MHZ


800 MHZ


1066 MHZ
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2006
Messages
5,052 (1.25/day)
Likes
540
Location
Manchester, United Kingdom
Processor AMD FX 8320 @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 rev1
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 4 x 4GB DDR3 Ripjawz 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X AMD R9 280X
Storage 1 x 500GB Samsung Evo 850, 1 x 500GB Vrap Data Drive, 3 x 2TB Seagate, 1 x 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) 3 x DGM IPS-2402WDH
Case Coolermaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Coolermaster 1000W Silent Pro M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#20
The IMC stress is not significant at 800MHz.
If investing in 1066 RAM make little sense, investing in 2x2GB when you have 4x1GB makes none at all.Also, you're suggesting a 4x2GB setup, how is that less stressful?:wtf:
I'm not, in most cases 8GB isn't necessary, it's nice to have, but not needed.

However, having a 2x2GB setup facilitates an easier upgrade path. If you already have 4x1GB the only reason to upgrade is if the RAM is significantly better. IE going from 4x1GB of crappy Value RAM, to 2x2GB of RAM with D9 chips. That's an upgrade.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
2,525 (0.74/day)
Likes
506
System Name Desktop | Poweredge r410
Processor i5 6500 4.5GHz@1.275V | 2 x E5620 @2.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Gaming | Intel 5500
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400MHz | 32GB ECC DDR3
Video Card(s) RX480 8GB |On-Board
Storage 250GB SSD + 512GB SSD|4x320GB
Display(s) 27" Dell + 2 x 24" LCD Setup
Case Fractal Design Define Nano S
Software Windows 10 | Server 2012 r2
#21
You mean memory sticks don't you? Memory cards are a whole other topic.
Edit: actually it's better to have 4x1GB, rather than 2x2GB because or reduced latency.
1GB modules have tighter timings but when you put 4 of them does not mean that they would work at them stable. So I would chose 2x2GB over 4x1GB
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
921 (0.30/day)
Likes
123
Location
SouthERN Africa
System Name inferKNIGHT
Processor Intel Core i5-4590
Motherboard MSI Z97i Gaming AC
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 2 x 4GB DDR3-1866 Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer (R/G)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 STRIX 3.5GB (+0.5GB? o.O)
Storage 1 x 256GB Cricial M550, 1 x 2TB Samsung 7200.12
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T260
Case Corsair Obsidian 250D
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Software Windows 8.1.1 pro x64
#22
1GB modules have tighter timings but when you put 4 of them does not mean that they would work at them stable. So I would chose 2x2GB over 4x1GB
Fair enough.
But getting back on topic, it is still not worth getting 2x2GB DDR2-800/1066 when one has 4x1GB DDR2-800 Stable. I would say the next logical step is 2x2GB DDR3-1600 (unless it's i7, which'd be 3x2GB), agreed?

Speaking of which (off topic again), I'm hearing about the possibility of AMD going quad-channel. Confirmations anyone?
Oooh, how nice 2 kits of OCZ Platinum AMD Edition 2x2GB DDR3-1600 (OCZ3P1600LVAM4GK) would be with that!:respect:
LOL, AMD keeps it coming! nVidia makes triple SLI, ATI brings out Quad-CrossfireX; Intel brings out triple-channel RAM and AMD brings Quad-channel RAM (unless I'm wrong)!! LMAO :nutkick:
EDIT: lol, looks like there's no quad till about 2011, so nevermind...:p
(sorry for a bit of fanboyism there:ohwell:, lol)​
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 16, 2009
Messages
5,123 (1.65/day)
Likes
989
Location
North of Germany
System Name Heatbitch / The Dark Tower / Custom Acer
Processor AMD Phenom 2 X4 960T @ 4200mhz 1,44v,3130NB /Q9550 3.4ghz 1.20v/ X2 260 1.42v @3.6
Motherboard Asus M4A89GTD PRO / Asus Rampage Formula/Foxconn A7DA-S 3.0
Cooling Heatkiller 3.0 LT,Laing DDC+,Octakaideca-Rad /EK SP,Tt 400L, B.Ice XT2/Xiggy Black Knight
Memory 4x2gb Transcend 2400 CL10 1.65v: 1600 7-8-7-24-40 1.65 /Dominator 1066 2GB/Ripjaws 2000 CL9 4GB
Video Card(s) 6970, soon to be WCed/ 4870x2 HK Full Cover WC´d / 2xGeforce 8800GT HyperSLI
Storage 128gb Vertex 3, 32GB Ultradrive GX2, 320GB+500GB+2x1TB F1 /160gb Maxtor,500gb F1/ 160GB WD
Display(s) LG Flatron 23" W2353V /Benq 19" FP93E-S/TFT 17"
Case Thermaltake Shark /Superflower SF-860B/Acer m-ATX Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard Sound, on all of them
Power Supply Corsair TX850/ OCZ Modxstream-Pro 600W/ MS-Tech 750w
Software XP 32bit Professional+ Win7 64Bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage: P21385 3DM11: P5920
#23
i would buy some ram that does ddr2 1200/1150 5-5-5-15 when you find it for an affordable price. my dominators do up to 1250 with 6-6-6-15 timings, but theyre in fact 1066 sticks, and were very cheap. i would say, higher ram clocks are always good, but if you dont overclock, the sticks are far less useful. i personally had never problems running 4 gigs at 1150 5-5-5-15 on an overclocked A64 X2 and a cheap 790gx board... it was possible because the board natively supported 1066... my older m2n-sli deluxe couldnt clock past 1066 with the same ram...
 

Polarman

New Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2008
Messages
1,626 (0.47/day)
Likes
290
Location
Rimouski
System Name Polar's Dragon
Processor AMD Phenom II 975BE
Motherboard MSI 890FXA-GD65 (Bios 18.7)
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9700 Led
Memory Gskill 8GB DDR3-1333 (8,8,8,21)
Video Card(s) MSI HD6870 Hawk
Storage WD Raptor 250 - WD RE4 500GB
Display(s) Samsung T240 (1920 X1200)
Case Silverstone Raven 2
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply PC Power&Cooling Silencer 750 (Red)
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64Bit + SP1
#24
I tought about the same thing too at one point. Going from 800 to 1066. In the end, i decided to keep my 800's. They're stable and wont really give me that much improvement.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,230 (1.48/day)
Likes
661
Location
IRAQ-Baghdad
System Name MASTER
Processor Core i7 3930k run at 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV extreme
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4G kingston hyperx beast 2400mhz
Video Card(s) 2X EVGA GTX680
Storage 2X Crusial M4 256g raid0, 1TbWD g, 2x500 WD B
Display(s) Samsung 27' 1080P LED 3D monitior 2ms
Case CoolerMaster Chosmos II
Audio Device(s) Creative sound blaster X-FI Titanum champion,Creative speakers 7.1 T7900
Power Supply Corsair 1200i, Logitch G500 Mouse, headset Corsair vengeance 1500
Software Win7 64bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 2011: testing
#25
now still on what you have , no big change here