1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Upgrade of Dedicated PHYsX Card from Geforce GT 430. Which one is Better?

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by RockON, Oct 26, 2010.

  1. RockON

    RockON New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    30 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    PA USA
    Hello Everyone.,

    Please read my system specifications.

    I have an ATI Radeon HD 5870 and Galaxy Nvidia GeForce GT 430 as a dedicated physx Card

    that I just bought a couple of days ago from best buy for $ 119.99. But I wanna Return it because later I found out it is just $80 online :confused:. And I can get better card for that $120 bucks or a few bucks more than that?

    GT430 is working as I see it in Batman Arkham Asylus but as this is my first time physx

    experience I don't know if I am getting full performance and if I can get any other card that is better in performance that this one?

    Any Advice is very much appreciated please.

    Here are some of the screen shots I have taken for the information if that help...

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Also if you can tell me if my GT430 working right as a dedicated physx card?

    Thanks in Advance..
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    42,075 (10.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,917
    The gt430 is working fine. I see no reason to get a different card other than to return what you have so you can get a cheaper card online.
     
    RockON says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. RockON

    RockON New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    30 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    PA USA
    Thank you so much for your kind advice.
    but if I spend a Few more Bucks isn't 9800GT or GTS 250 will be performing better than what GT 430 does?
     
  4. erocker

    erocker Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    42,075 (10.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,917
    I don't think so. They all have about the same amount of shades and rops. The 430 has better/faster shades if I'm not mistaken. I was using a 470 for PhysX which is clearly a.more powerful card and got similar results to what you get. Anything more than what you have is a waste.
     
    JD15 and RockON say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,831 (5.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,982
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    PhysX takes next to nothing to run at full speed, so no it won't perform any better.

    If anything, you can get an even cheaper GPU than the GT430 and still be fine. A GT240 for example should be cheaper and give you full PhysX performance.
     
    n-ster, RockON and erocker say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  6. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    9,024 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,476
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    I find the GT240 to be the perfect PhysX card, plus an OK backup card, plus you can always have that red and blue 3D pictures and movies with that (or any other Nvidia card that is newer than the GT240) and even games (though I'm guessing that the GT240 has to be the main card for that, but it can be fun to play non-demanding games in 3D)

    The 3D thing does NOT require at 3D monitor btw...

    I'm and thinking of getting one, selling my 5850 and wait for a 6970 :)
     
    RockON says thanks.
  7. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    13,391 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,259
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    96sp is more than enough for PhysX, even a 9600GT would be fine.

    But if you can pick up a 9800GT or GT240 cheaper, why not go with that and save some money? ;)
     
    RockON says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. RockON

    RockON New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    30 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    PA USA
    Thanks so much for the satisying Answers from all of you.

    But Last question: In my Hybrid physx configuration when I run Fluidmark benchmark I see physx CPU. (please refer screenshots graph and results next to score.)

    My friend has Nvidia card too but not dedicated instead of CPU it says GPU.

    is fluidmark using my CPU to do this physx test? This is the only doubt I have.

    Thanks so much...
     
  9. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    13,391 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,259
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    In the nV control panel, make sure that PhysX is set to whatever nV card you have ;)
     
    RockON says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. RockON

    RockON New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    30 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    PA USA
    Do I have to Connect my monitor to NVidia card to see Physx control in NVIDIA control panel?
    because when connected to ATI I don't see physx properties in NVIDIA control panel.

    I Changed it to GT 430 as physx control still the same test results it says physx CPU.
    or its the way it shows ...?
     
  11. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,885 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,151
    Location:
    Northern CA, USA
    I DLed it and ran it on my computer and when I get the results it says Hardware not CPU PhysX, that and my GTS 250 actually warms up (doesnt look like your 430 warmed at all).
     
    RockON says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. RockON

    RockON New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    30 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    PA USA
    Ya That is what I am worried about too.. It is not moving on the temperature graph at all.
    and not getting stressed.
    What can be wrong please can you tell me?

    What to do I don't know. I will probably buy GT 240 or GT 450.
    or 9800GT
     
  13. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,885 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,151
    Location:
    Northern CA, USA
    The only guess I would have is that maybe the mod to use Nvidia PhysX with ATI cards wasn't done right.
     
    RockON says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. erocker

    erocker Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    42,075 (10.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,917
    No. It's working.all you need to do is install the PhysX card, install drivers and when it asks you to restart, apply the patch then restart. PhysX will automatically be enabled.
     
    JD15 and RockON say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. RockON

    RockON New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    30 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    PA USA
    Thanks

    I downloaded both ATI and NVidia drivers latest from website and installed.

    without restarting the PC Turned of all nvidia services from services.msc and disabled nvidia display driver from device manager

    and then used Hybrid physx mod (1.04 ff) and it patched without error all files patched right.

    what else am I missing?
    :confused:
     
  16. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,885 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,151
    Location:
    Northern CA, USA
    Well if thats all done then maybe that is just how it is? I am no pro, eRocker was using ATI and Nvidia for his setup before so he would know better than I.

    E, it doesnt look odd that the temp on the 430 didnt even budge during the test? Or that the benchmark results say CPU PhysX and not Hardware PhysX?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. erocker

    erocker Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    42,075 (10.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,917
    I was mistaken. It's not working. It seems like it wasn't installed correctly. I posted how it should be done.
     
    JD15, RockON and theonedub say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. RockON

    RockON New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    30 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    PA USA
    Will I be able to see physx properties in NVIDIA Control panel without connecting monitor to nvidia card?

    I did the way you said. but I cleaned drivers and did it again but same result.

    I dont know what i am missing. please help....:wtf:
     
  19. RockON

    RockON New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    30 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    PA USA
    Please tell me the right method for doing this...

    Following physx mod instructions I did it still same results. May be my card is not Supported by this method. or I will try this for today and if not I will get a different card and return this..

    hoping for help....
     
  20. erocker

    erocker Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    42,075 (10.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,917
    Just do it like I said above. Don't go disabling anything after you install the Nvidia drivers. There is no need to hook up a 2nd monitor. There is no longer a way to enable it or disable it in the Nvidia control panel. Once you install the drivers, apply the 1.04ff patch and restart, it's automatically enabled. GPU-Z should show that it is enabled. Use FluidMark, 3dMark Vantage and other PhysX enabled games to test it out.
     
    JD15 and RockON say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4,607 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,027
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    That right? so I can have old fashioned 3D with my 60hz monitor, GTX 470 and a pair of cheap cardboard glasses??
     
  22. RockON

    RockON New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    30 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    PA USA
    If I run patch without disabling it it says nothing patched...

    Thanks I saw that hybrid physx 1.04ff supported card doesn't list my card.

    so may be thats the problem.
    now I am returning my card today...

    Thanks all for your help.....
     
  23. RockON

    RockON New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    30 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    PA USA
    Returned the damn GT 430 card.
    Ordered GTX 465. Waiting for it to come and will post the results...
     
  24. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,060
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    Wait so u went against what every1 told u and bought a faster more expensive card for 0 performance gain when u couldnt get the cheaper one to work because u cant follow simple instructions..

    I hate people sometimes
     
  25. JD15

    JD15

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    57 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Alva, OK
    Does Mod 1.4 work with the latest ATI and Nvidia drivers?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)