• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Upgrade: wd green 500gb vs. seagate barracuda 500gb

Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
447 (0.14/day)
Likes
75
Location
On The Green
System Name 780iNTELfinity(This Board is going into its 6th Year!)
Processor Back to the E6850
Motherboard XFX 780i Original Owner 5 Years Running(No wonder it has a Lifetime Warranty)
Cooling Xigma AIO Water+Rad(Need and Upgrade PM ME!)
Memory GSkill 1000
Video Card(s) Galaxy GTX 550ti 2GB
Storage 2 WD Caviar Black 750GB Raid 0
Display(s) ACER 20"
Case Ultra X-Blaster
Audio Device(s) Should I use a dedicated one?
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 1K - Bought the same day as my 780i December 2007
#1
So Im in the process of upgrading my friends pc

His specs:

Biostar Nvidia 6100 939 Mobo

AMD Athlon 64 x2 3800+

2 Gb DDR Gskill Ram

Waiting for Ati 4670 to get here

160gb IDE Seagate Barracuda

575w Logisys


He wants more space

Board supports Raid would he benefit from it with this system?

And I was looking at these 2 drives Seagate Western Digital
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2009
Messages
4,911 (1.54/day)
Likes
759
Location
Northampton,UK
System Name Spiderman
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asus Prime B350-Plus
Cooling AMD Wraith Spire Cooler/2x140mm Fractal Design case fans/1x120mm Fractal Design case fan
Memory TeamGroup Vulcan 16GB DDR4 2400MHZ CAS-13
Video Card(s) AMD Sapphire RX Vega 64 8GB
Storage SSD - OCZ ARC 100 256GB HDD - Western Digital Black 500GB+Western Digital Green 1TB
Display(s) Samsung C27F591 1080p 72Hz Monitor
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium - Grey Window Version
Audio Device(s) onboard/Speakers: Logitech Z-4
Power Supply XFX Pro Semi Modular 650W
Mouse CMStorm Laser Mouse
Keyboard Corsair Strafe Cherry MX Red Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit
#2

cerver

New Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2009
Messages
68 (0.02/day)
Likes
7
Location
Philly
#3
I had trouble with my last seagate drive. But i have never had any issues with my WD drives or mybooks. I also noticed that my seagates would wine after about 6 months of heavy use, where as my WD's did not.

how much more space does he need and what is he storing? Are the files being accessed all time or is it just needed for general space for programs, games ect?
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
447 (0.14/day)
Likes
75
Location
On The Green
System Name 780iNTELfinity(This Board is going into its 6th Year!)
Processor Back to the E6850
Motherboard XFX 780i Original Owner 5 Years Running(No wonder it has a Lifetime Warranty)
Cooling Xigma AIO Water+Rad(Need and Upgrade PM ME!)
Memory GSkill 1000
Video Card(s) Galaxy GTX 550ti 2GB
Storage 2 WD Caviar Black 750GB Raid 0
Display(s) ACER 20"
Case Ultra X-Blaster
Audio Device(s) Should I use a dedicated one?
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 1K - Bought the same day as my 780i December 2007
#4
Well we already dumped some money into the gpu and ram so $60 is about the max....Im gonna just clone his disk that he has...which is @ 140gb with all games/programs installed...all data is on an external...
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
447 (0.14/day)
Likes
75
Location
On The Green
System Name 780iNTELfinity(This Board is going into its 6th Year!)
Processor Back to the E6850
Motherboard XFX 780i Original Owner 5 Years Running(No wonder it has a Lifetime Warranty)
Cooling Xigma AIO Water+Rad(Need and Upgrade PM ME!)
Memory GSkill 1000
Video Card(s) Galaxy GTX 550ti 2GB
Storage 2 WD Caviar Black 750GB Raid 0
Display(s) ACER 20"
Case Ultra X-Blaster
Audio Device(s) Should I use a dedicated one?
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 1K - Bought the same day as my 780i December 2007
#5
Does the 32mb cache on the WD help alot in compared to 16mb?

EDIT: Sorry to double post
 
Last edited:

cerver

New Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2009
Messages
68 (0.02/day)
Likes
7
Location
Philly
#6
Does the 32mb cache on the WD help alot in compared to 16mb?
Most people claim that there is no significant advantage to a 32MB cache over the 16. they say that it does not affect the performance much at all. I have never becnch'd this so i can not tell you one way or another.

i would say if its just the base drive and your going to clone the disk to have the same 140gb image as before, then roll with WD. I found them to be the better of the two. IMO.