• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Upgrade

Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
61 (0.04/day)
Likes
6
System Name Biostar
Processor Intel i5 3470
Motherboard BIOSTAR TZ77A
Cooling Stock Intel Cooler
Memory 8GB G.Skill Ripjaws 1600 DDR3
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC ACX 2.0 3.5GB + 512MB of very slow.
Storage 1x Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 500GB / 2x Segate Barracuda 7200.10 250 GB
Display(s) HP 2009m
Case Thermaltake Versa H22
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Thermaltake SP-650P 650Watt.
Mouse Logitech M185
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Windows 10 Enterprise LTSB 64
Benchmark Scores Why waste my hardware and wear it out for a stupid score similar to everyone else's?
#1
Well the FX-8320 did not work out like I thought it would. I sold it and got a Ivy bridge i5 3470. I love it. It performs better than my older i5 750 and the 8320. I like how cool it runs and how easy it overclocks. (If you can call turning up the multiplier overclocking) It is limited to 40 on the multiplier because it's a non K, But it performs very well. I set each multiplier on the turbo setting to go up to 37 on each core. I think it only goes to 38 on each core. What I don't get is on the stock settings the turbo is set to 36 on core 1, And 36 on core 2, And then 35 on core 3, And 34 on core 4. That's weird you would think at stock they would be set it to run the same on all cores.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,361 (1.71/day)
Likes
3,501
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2
Processor i7 3930k@3.8ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 /MSI HD7770
Storage 500GB WD Blue SSD, 2TB Seagate Hybrid SSHD/ WD Caviar Blue 160gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z533
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Mouse Logitect G5
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/fs/14508101
#2
Intel designed the Core series CPU like that. Not sure exactly why, but it's been like that since Sandy Bridge. Personally, I just set all core the same.

BTW, you should be able to get 150-200 more MHz out of it with a little BLK OC'ing. My 2600k can do up to 104.5 MHz, which at a multi of 40 would be another 180 MHz, meaning instead of 4000 MHz, you'd be at 4,180 MHz. My 2600k can only do a multi of 48, but with BLK OC'ing, I can get 5 GHz.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
4,226 (0.92/day)
Likes
2,008
Location
USA
System Name Small ATX Desktop
Processor Intel i5 8600K / 4.8 GHz @ 1.2V
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE + Prolimatech MK-13 / Thermalright TY143 / Corsair SP-120L / Yate Loon D14BH-12
Memory G-Skill TridentZ 2X8GB DDR4 3200 CL14 F4-3200C14D-16GTZ
Video Card(s) PNY Geforce GTX 770 XLR8 OC 2GB
Storage Seagate 600 240GB SSD + 2xWD Caviar Blue WD10EZEX 1TB Data
Display(s) Asus PB258Q 2560x1440 + Asus VH242H 1920x1080
Case Lian Li PC A05NB (Inverted Mobo)
Audio Device(s) Audiotechnica ATH M50X, Antlion Mod Mic 4, SYBA SD-CM-UAUD
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 660 Watt Platinum
Mouse Zowie EC2A Mouse, Microsoft Basic Optical Mouse, Corsair MM600, Inateck 900x300 mouse mat
Keyboard Filco Majestouch II Ninja TKL, Goldtouch GTC 0033 Ten Key
Software Win7 Pro 64 (Installed on Coffee Lake using PS/2 Emulation mode)
#3
Sadly not everything does well with base clock, my prior chip, Xeon 1230v2, could undervolt like a champ but didn't like bclk over 102. IIRC, I undervolted the Xeon to 0.800v and overclocked it (via multipler +2 bin) 200 mhz to 3.5! Chip would have been amazing if it had an unlocked multiplier.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
1,814 (0.93/day)
Likes
1,517
Location
Muurame, Finland
System Name SER
Processor Intel Core i7-7700K @ 5GHz
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming
Cooling Alphacool Eisbaer 240 + 4x Corsair ML120
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-2666MHz
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 980
Storage 2TB of SSD storage
Display(s) 2x 1920x1080
Case Phanteks Eclipse P400S Windowed
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Super Flower Golden Green 500W
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard Logitech G410
Software Windows 10 Pro English
#4
Sadly not everything does well with base clock, my prior chip, Xeon 1230v2, could undervolt like a champ but didn't like bclk over 102. IIRC, I undervolted the Xeon to 0.800v and overclocked it (via multipler +2 bin) 200 mhz to 3.5! Chip would have been amazing if it had an unlocked multiplier.
Yeah, remember the LGA1156 chips, the Clarkdale i3:s OC'd easily to 4.3+, it sucks that you can't do it with SB/IB/HW non-K CPUs :(
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
61 (0.04/day)
Likes
6
System Name Biostar
Processor Intel i5 3470
Motherboard BIOSTAR TZ77A
Cooling Stock Intel Cooler
Memory 8GB G.Skill Ripjaws 1600 DDR3
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC ACX 2.0 3.5GB + 512MB of very slow.
Storage 1x Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 500GB / 2x Segate Barracuda 7200.10 250 GB
Display(s) HP 2009m
Case Thermaltake Versa H22
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Thermaltake SP-650P 650Watt.
Mouse Logitech M185
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Windows 10 Enterprise LTSB 64
Benchmark Scores Why waste my hardware and wear it out for a stupid score similar to everyone else's?
#5
I am really enjoying this chip. It has been fun playing around with it. I scared myself a little last night pulling a noob. I was looking at features in the bios and saw EUFI / Legacy PCIe Rom settings. So I thought I would try EUFI just to see what difference it would make. Then I selected save and exit. Then while booting nothing happened. Only the fans would run, I had no HDD lights or power lights just the fans spinning. Man I was freaked out. I could not find a CMOS reset, The manual has very little info in it, And I could not go online to look up were the reset switch was located. So I did it the old fashioned way by pulling the CMOS battery and switching the PSU switch to off. Then luckily she booted up. That is a awful feeling thinking you ruined your new rig.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
61 (0.04/day)
Likes
6
System Name Biostar
Processor Intel i5 3470
Motherboard BIOSTAR TZ77A
Cooling Stock Intel Cooler
Memory 8GB G.Skill Ripjaws 1600 DDR3
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC ACX 2.0 3.5GB + 512MB of very slow.
Storage 1x Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 500GB / 2x Segate Barracuda 7200.10 250 GB
Display(s) HP 2009m
Case Thermaltake Versa H22
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Thermaltake SP-650P 650Watt.
Mouse Logitech M185
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Windows 10 Enterprise LTSB 64
Benchmark Scores Why waste my hardware and wear it out for a stupid score similar to everyone else's?
#6
Intel designed the Core series CPU like that. Not sure exactly why, but it's been like that since Sandy Bridge. Personally, I just set all core the same.

BTW, you should be able to get 150-200 more MHz out of it with a little BLK OC'ing. My 2600k can do up to 104.5 MHz, which at a multi of 40 would be another 180 MHz, meaning instead of 4000 MHz, you'd be at 4,180 MHz. My 2600k can only do a multi of 48, but with BLK OC'ing, I can get 5 GHz.
I was told by many that it's a no no to touch the BCLK on a IVY Bridge. I remember at first I thought big deal the multiplier is locked on the non K's because I thought I could just change the BCLK, I had no idea that it was tied in with everything else. I still bought it after learning that because I knew it would still have some overclocking room. I am not a massive overclocker anyway. To be honest stock is fine.