• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Upgrades

T27M

New Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2008
Messages
23 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor C2D E6750 @ 3ghz
Motherboard MSI P6N SLI V2 nforce 650i
Cooling 1 x 25cm side fan, 1 x 12 fan front, Freezer Pro 7
Memory OCZ Platinum Dual Channel 2x1GB PC6400 (4-4-4-15)
Video Card(s) inno 3D 8800GT 512mb (G92)
Storage Maxtor 320GB
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 172v
Power Supply Sumivison 650w
#1
HI

i currently have OCZ 2GB kit 2x1gb DDR2 800MHz/PC2-6400 CL 4-4-4-15 PLATINUM XTC and was thinking about switching to XP 64 and getting another 2gb to throw in. I mainly use my pc for gaming and i dont want to switch to vista just yet. Would the extra 2gb make a difference to my games and general use.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,367 (3.98/day)
Likes
4,778
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#2
Yes some more than others, Like Stalker Supreme Commander will the latter more. Loading times have improved mainly. Also with some games you MAY be able to get away turning the pagefile off. BUT i have also added a setting to tell windows to use Ram before pagefile too which seems to help.


I know i will not go back to 2GIG thats for sure. 4GIG normaly is not as good for overclocking just a thought.
 

T27M

New Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2008
Messages
23 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor C2D E6750 @ 3ghz
Motherboard MSI P6N SLI V2 nforce 650i
Cooling 1 x 25cm side fan, 1 x 12 fan front, Freezer Pro 7
Memory OCZ Platinum Dual Channel 2x1GB PC6400 (4-4-4-15)
Video Card(s) inno 3D 8800GT 512mb (G92)
Storage Maxtor 320GB
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 172v
Power Supply Sumivison 650w
#3
thanks, so should i stick with 32bit and use the 3g boot.ini thing or switch to 64bit ?
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,367 (3.98/day)
Likes
4,778
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#4
thanks, so should i stick with 32bit and use the 3g boot.ini thing or switch to 64bit ?
Try it, all though you will not see 4GIG it might be enough for your usage.. Also check task manager to see your ram usage and use that as a bit of a guide.
 

T27M

New Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2008
Messages
23 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor C2D E6750 @ 3ghz
Motherboard MSI P6N SLI V2 nforce 650i
Cooling 1 x 25cm side fan, 1 x 12 fan front, Freezer Pro 7
Memory OCZ Platinum Dual Channel 2x1GB PC6400 (4-4-4-15)
Video Card(s) inno 3D 8800GT 512mb (G92)
Storage Maxtor 320GB
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 172v
Power Supply Sumivison 650w
#5
sorry, will i not see 4gig in 64bit
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,367 (3.98/day)
Likes
4,778
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#6
sorry, will i not see 4gig in 64bit
Yes you will.. What i was trying to say is to see if the extra ram in 32bit helps or not.
 

T27M

New Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2008
Messages
23 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor C2D E6750 @ 3ghz
Motherboard MSI P6N SLI V2 nforce 650i
Cooling 1 x 25cm side fan, 1 x 12 fan front, Freezer Pro 7
Memory OCZ Platinum Dual Channel 2x1GB PC6400 (4-4-4-15)
Video Card(s) inno 3D 8800GT 512mb (G92)
Storage Maxtor 320GB
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 172v
Power Supply Sumivison 650w
#7
Thanks ill give it a try