• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Upgrading advice

Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
3,779 (1.14/day)
Likes
567
Location
Latin America, Uruguay
System Name The Lizard v2.4
Processor Intel Celeron G1840 (for the time being
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H81-S2PH
Cooling Intel Stock Fan
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX 1600
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 750Ti (For the time being)
Storage 500GB Samsung F1, 160GB Maxtor "Older than god"
Display(s) AOC 28' LCD
Case Coolermaster N200
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec VP500P
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores No crashes in the last 24 minutes.
#1
Even though i've said it one or two times over the years, at last i have money to upgrade my "PIECE OF CRAP" of computer. :D Thing is... is not much :ohwell:

So, i want recommendation on what. (Keep in mind that i live in a country where prices are high as hell)

A) Change my generic PSU for a CM Elite 460. Reason: Futureproofing (i'll never use high end stuff on it and i want something more... reliable). Thing is i found this and it took my idea of it down.

B)HDD. Reason: since my other 160 is dead as 3DFX, i might need a new one. But i dont want to put more stress on the old, generic psu nor i want to format.

C)another stick of ram (to 2gb). I know MOST PEOPLE are seeing me like a cock for wanting only 2gb, but it works for me (and my other stick died some months ago)

so, what would recommend people
 
Joined
Oct 27, 2005
Messages
313 (0.07/day)
Likes
69
Location
Dublin, Ireland
System Name Kablamo
Processor Some Intel i5
Motherboard some gigabyte board
Cooling h80i
Memory samsung sticks that got a good review a few years back
Video Card(s) 6950 acting like a 6970
Storage some solid state ocz drives
Display(s) Samsung T260HD (1920 x 1200)
Case bitfenix microatx case
Audio Device(s) hyperx cloud II
Power Supply corsair 750 or similar
Mouse M65
Keyboard g510
Software win 10
#2
C then B then A
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
3,779 (1.14/day)
Likes
567
Location
Latin America, Uruguay
System Name The Lizard v2.4
Processor Intel Celeron G1840 (for the time being
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H81-S2PH
Cooling Intel Stock Fan
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX 1600
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 750Ti (For the time being)
Storage 500GB Samsung F1, 160GB Maxtor "Older than god"
Display(s) AOC 28' LCD
Case Coolermaster N200
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec VP500P
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores No crashes in the last 24 minutes.
#3
psu always moar important. altought i could feel the lack of the dead stick. so rule out the hdd, its between the psu & the ram
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
3,338 (1.04/day)
Likes
1,080
Location
Ohio
System Name Spanky
Processor Ryzen 1400
Motherboard MSI 350 gaming pro
Cooling NZXT Kracken X42
Memory 8gb Crucial 2133 at 2667
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1060
Storage 250gb WD blue
Display(s) Acer 32" 2560x1440
Case Raidmax Sigma
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy FX
Power Supply Seasonic
Mouse Epicgear
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker
Software Windows 10Pro x64
#4
Just to let you know that CM 460 Elite is actually a nice PSU...I recently put it in my Daughters PC cause her PSU died and got another PSU that is a little smaller for my HTPC
Here is my review on Newegg
 
Joined
Dec 7, 2009
Messages
1,793 (0.61/day)
Likes
276
System Name Old Skool
Processor E6750 @ 3.6 ghz
Motherboard GA P35 DS3L
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight S1283v
Memory 4gb Kingston DDR2 @ 900mhz
Video Card(s) XFX 9800GT 512MB
Storage SAMSUNG 320gb
Display(s) VIEWSONIC vx2260wm
Case HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Realtek (on board) + Logitech x540
Power Supply CM 550w
Software W7 Ultimate 64
#5
I'd take C, the only option you'll see a jump in perf! ;)
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
3,338 (1.04/day)
Likes
1,080
Location
Ohio
System Name Spanky
Processor Ryzen 1400
Motherboard MSI 350 gaming pro
Cooling NZXT Kracken X42
Memory 8gb Crucial 2133 at 2667
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1060
Storage 250gb WD blue
Display(s) Acer 32" 2560x1440
Case Raidmax Sigma
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy FX
Power Supply Seasonic
Mouse Epicgear
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker
Software Windows 10Pro x64
#6
I'd say C as well I was just saying that PSU is better than most people think it is and it doesn't have long wires so it would be best for small cases
 

Smety

New Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2010
Messages
23 (0.01/day)
Likes
5
Location
Wisconsin
System Name Desktop
Processor Intel Core i7-970 @ 4.0GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Formula
Cooling Corsair H50 CPU Cooler
Memory 6GB Corsair Dominator (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 580 Superclocked 1536MB
Storage Intel 40GB X25-V SSD (Boot) | WD 1TB Caviar Black HD (Data)
Display(s) Samsung PX2370 23" LED
Case Fractal Design Arc Midi
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi 2
Power Supply Fractal Design Netwon R2 800W 80 Plus
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#7
Get another stick of RAM for goodness sake :p

Then grab a new hard drive, then a new PSU.
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
3,779 (1.14/day)
Likes
567
Location
Latin America, Uruguay
System Name The Lizard v2.4
Processor Intel Celeron G1840 (for the time being
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H81-S2PH
Cooling Intel Stock Fan
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX 1600
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 750Ti (For the time being)
Storage 500GB Samsung F1, 160GB Maxtor "Older than god"
Display(s) AOC 28' LCD
Case Coolermaster N200
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec VP500P
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores No crashes in the last 24 minutes.
#8
then c is.

OH, one more question. A stick of ddr2 800 is cheaper than a 667 (which i currently have). if i bought that, and pair it with the current one, it will drop to 667 and work normally?
 

LGV

New Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2011
Messages
260 (0.10/day)
Likes
64
System Name outdated
Processor AM2 6400+ X2 black @stock
Motherboard MSI K9N SLI @ HOT (very, 65+)
Cooling air
Memory 4x2GB OCZ @stock
Video Card(s) 260 gtx
Storage Hitachi 650 / ssd corsair force 3//120
Display(s) 26''
Case Cooler Master Centurion
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX2/ Z5500 X2 :)
Power Supply Mushkin 1000W
Software Win7/64
#9
then c is.

OH, one more question. A stick of ddr2 800 is cheaper than a 667 (which i currently have). if i bought that, and pair it with the current one, it will drop to 667 and work normally?
yes, deff. woud go myself for both 800 tho. :) you see.. your cpu run 800 FSB ...

I woud put lowest speed ram closer to CPU.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
3,779 (1.14/day)
Likes
567
Location
Latin America, Uruguay
System Name The Lizard v2.4
Processor Intel Celeron G1840 (for the time being
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H81-S2PH
Cooling Intel Stock Fan
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX 1600
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 750Ti (For the time being)
Storage 500GB Samsung F1, 160GB Maxtor "Older than god"
Display(s) AOC 28' LCD
Case Coolermaster N200
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec VP500P
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores No crashes in the last 24 minutes.
#10
yes, deff. woud go myself for both 800 tho. :) you see.. your cpu run 800 FSB ...

I woud put lowest speed ram closer to CPU.
thats not what i asked :rolleyes:

and no, here everything is WAAY too expensive.

My question was: I now have a single stick of 1gb @667. If i add another 1gb stick @800, will the new stick automatically drop to 667 and work flawlessly?
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
3,338 (1.04/day)
Likes
1,080
Location
Ohio
System Name Spanky
Processor Ryzen 1400
Motherboard MSI 350 gaming pro
Cooling NZXT Kracken X42
Memory 8gb Crucial 2133 at 2667
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1060
Storage 250gb WD blue
Display(s) Acer 32" 2560x1440
Case Raidmax Sigma
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy FX
Power Supply Seasonic
Mouse Epicgear
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker
Software Windows 10Pro x64
#11
not always you need to match the timings as close as possible
 

LGV

New Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2011
Messages
260 (0.10/day)
Likes
64
System Name outdated
Processor AM2 6400+ X2 black @stock
Motherboard MSI K9N SLI @ HOT (very, 65+)
Cooling air
Memory 4x2GB OCZ @stock
Video Card(s) 260 gtx
Storage Hitachi 650 / ssd corsair force 3//120
Display(s) 26''
Case Cooler Master Centurion
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX2/ Z5500 X2 :)
Power Supply Mushkin 1000W
Software Win7/64
#12
thats not what i asked :rolleyes:

and no, here everything is WAAY too expensive.

My question was: I now have a single stick of 1gb @667. If i add another 1gb stick @800, will the new stick automatically drop to 667 and work flawlessly?

Yes , deffinetly works.
 

ale86cuba

New Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2010
Messages
45 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
System Name aliona
Processor Q9550 @ 3.8GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE UD3R P45
Cooling Corsair H50 CPU cooler
Memory 2X2GB DDR2-800 GSKILL
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE HD6950
Storage 2X320GB RAID0, 1.5TB WD
Display(s) Mitsubishi 17"
Case CM Stacker 832
Audio Device(s) XFI Xtreme Music
Power Supply Corsair HX620
Software Win7 64bit
#13
yes, the higher speed ram will slow down to work together with the 667....the mobo will do that for you :)