1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Upgrading Dell XPS 600

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Arjento, May 15, 2011.

  1. Arjento New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Hi all,

    Well I've had my Dell XPS 600 for quite a while now (2006!) and it's been very good to me so far. Only problem I had/have to some extent was the power supply which was replaced.

    I'm not going to abandon my baby and shell out £2000 for a new PC. I would like your expert advice in what areas can I upgrade it in.

    The only upgrade I have done was to get a NVIDIA GTS 250 card (which increased the pc performance for games incredibly). I did manage to install the card myself and it was a nerve wracking experience (http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=107525).

    I'm no expert, and I'm thinking maybe max out the memory (RAM) and replacing the actual motherboard/cpu?

    I would like to keep Windows XP.

    I use my machine mainly for games.

    My PC Stats are:

    Intel(R) Pentium(R) D CPU 3.00GHz
    XPS 600, PD, 830 (3.00GHZ) 2X1MB, EM64T
    MEMORY DUAL CHANNEL 2048MB (4X512) 667MH
    250GB SATA (7200RPM) HARD DRIVE WITH 8MB
    NVIDIA GEFORCE GTS 250

    What would you advise me to get? (Bear in mind I will be fitting it myself).

    Thanks.
     
  2. whitrzac

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    366 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    Baraboo, WI

    more memory, better CPU...
     
  3. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,906 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,306
    Well you don't have to shell 2000 for a new system. For 5-600 you'd get a more than decent machine which would be far better than what you have. Basically I can't think of a worthy upgrade on your current setup. And Windows XP? It's time to move on.
     
    Arjento says thanks.
  4. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,415 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,068
    Put the computer to sleep, aside from the GTS 250 which is OK-ish the PC is knacked.

    Put it on Ebay for a quick sale for £80. Spend £500 and build yourself a 6-core AMD system.
     
    Arjento says thanks.
  5. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,350 (3.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,099
    Location:
    Home
    Well, there is not much you can upgrade from this platform anymore which is worth your money. Possibly a better harddisk and/or a SSD? And maybe pick up some cheap 2x1gb ddr2. You can realistically shell out about £500 for a nice i3 rig though, and that would be the route I will take, if I have the funds.
     
    Arjento says thanks.
  6. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,669 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,574
    Location:
    04578
    theres no point upgrading this rig

    socket 775 is dead

    extra ram would help but a pentium D performs like a single core pentium 4 90% of the time,

    your rig is effectionately known as a legacy rig it has XP can play old games but isnt worth the dirt that forms an ant hill and even less worthy of upgrades.

    $550-650 can build you a good gaming PC,

    did a build just the other day

    Athlon II x2 250
    biostar 880g motherboard
    4gigs DDR3 1600mhz
    450w 80+ bronze psu
    320gb Samsung F4 7200rpm hdd
    Xigmatek Asgard II case
    windows 7 64bit oem
    samsung dual layer sata dvd burner

    Total cost shipped came to $380 used an old 8600GTS i had laying around and sold it to the customer for $20 total cost $400 for a dual core gaming rig,

    toss a quad on the build above upgrade the gpu and presto quadcore gaming box

    quadcore would up the above price $60 and a gpu of worth would be $140 total cost $200 to the above = $580 for a quadcore gaming rig.
     
    Arjento says thanks.
  7. Arjento New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Ok, it may be time to move on.

    Any recommended sites (UK) that would build a gaming rig for a reasonable price?
     
  8. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,415 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,068
    Arjento says thanks.
  9. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,350 (3.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,099
    Location:
    Home
    There is a whole list of them, but the usual candidates are listed, along with Aria. Will dig up the list when I have time. Amazon is also not bad for peripherals but not components.
     
    Arjento says thanks.
  10. Arjento New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Ok thanks guys.

    I think whilst I will look around for a reasonable gaming rig I might go for the quick fix and bump up my RAM.

    I'm not sure how many slots for the RAM my XPS 600 can hold.

    Doing a quick amazon search I came up with this one (http://www.amazon.co_uk/dp/B000JREMTO/?tag=tec053-21).

    Anyone know the limit my system will be able to hold?

    At the moment I believe it's currently holding:

    MEMORY DUAL CHANNEL 2048MB (4X512) 667MH

    Maybe remove my old ram then buy 2 sets or 4 sets (overkill)? of the Kingston DDR2's then plug 'em in?

    Would it be as simple as this?
     
  11. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,415 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,068

    Looks like an OK deal.

    According to this website the DellXPS600s limit is 8GBs, 2GB per slot.

    http://www.buycomputermemory.com/memory/DellXPS600MemoryRAM.html

    Also remember that Windows XP 32-bit will only recognise around 3GBs.

    4 sets? 8 GBs of ram, you'd need a 64-bit operating system. On XP it's wasted anyways you should really be migrating to Vista x64 or Windows 7 x64.
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2011
  12. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,669 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,574
    Location:
    04578
    the extra ram will help but your cpu is really so old that a smart phone is probably faster by todays standards and im not even joking

    an AMD E350 apu thats a 1.6ghz dualcore + ati 6310 integrated gpu would be faster then that Pentium D in most situations, and the above is a CPU IGP + Mobo combo thats $100 your really just better off saving your money completely for a new build and just leave the Dell as it is.

    2gb of ram on XP 32 bit is all you really need, to be blunt an extra 2gb would help but not enough to really be worth the expense, and the money spent on the DDR2 would probably get you 2x2gb of DDR3 for a later build.
     
  13. whitrzac

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    366 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    Baraboo, WI
    the memory you linked was for laptops...

    A $30 intell E6300 + 2gb memory($25) would bring alot of life back into your system...


    yes its old, but unless you want to play the latest games at max, anything more is not needed...
     
  14. Arjento New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    The Intell E6300, I asume that's the processor. Easy to install?
     
  15. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    6,146 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,227
    Location:
    S.E. Virginia
    yes, search you tube for videos of processors being changed.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,815 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    640
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    I vote processor.
    Upgrade to a core2duo
    I am uncertain if your motherboard would support core2quad.
    If you are going to run XP 32bit it's pretty pointless to add more RAM.

    Since you are planning on installing new a CPU on a 775skt motherboard, I recommend you be careful with the fail push pin design if your CPU has stock intel cooling.
     
  17. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,415 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,068
  18. WiseGuy1967 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Netherlands, Uitgeest
    I'll buy the motherboard from you for £80, on e-bay
     
  19. WiseGuy1967 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Netherlands, Uitgeest
    That's exlcuding any shipping costs you make. I'll pay that to
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)