1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Upgrading For BF3

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by 105tommy105, Dec 25, 2011.

  1. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,620 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    251
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    If you want to push it you could definitely increase the voltage, if your case has good airflow and you don't mind the noise from cranking the fans on it up you should have plenty of room temperature wise and voltage wise. It also should ship with the 8 pin molexes as all other 6970's do.
     
    105tommy105 says thanks.
  2. 105tommy105 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    61 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    You wouldnt be able to get a kick ass OC on that card because the mem clock is 840mhz, and it has less stream processors. Am i wrong to always go by spec?:ohwell:
     
  3. 105tommy105 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    61 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    My case always has both panels off and my room is air conditioned, i have the volume up really loud anyway, i think HD 6970 is the way, you and erocker have been so much help thank you very much. Every other forum site everyone moans and doesnt help. But im set now. Thank you

    Edit: Sorry but is the HD6970 longer than the HD 5870, i couldnt find anywhere that clearly says how long the 6970 is.
     
  4. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,620 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    251
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    It is longer than the 5870 but hopefully you can accomodate it:
    5870:
    277x126x36mm

    6970:
    310x127x40mm

    Measurements taken from MSI's website.
     
    105tommy105 says thanks.
  5. 105tommy105 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    61 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Ill get it and find out, have a little bit of extra space:)
     
  6. 105tommy105 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    61 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Also Could Anybody Recommend a decent sound card for around £40, or tell me if they are a waste of money. Thanks
     
  7. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,211 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,422
    Get a asus xonar dx about £49.99
     
    105tommy105 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. 105tommy105 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    61 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Thanks mate.
     
  9. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,601 (5.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,666
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Want my opinion tommy? Lower the res you play at and wait it out for HD7k's.
     
    MatTheCat and 105tommy105 say thanks.
  10. 105tommy105 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    61 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Yea but won't they be expensive?
     
  11. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,601 (5.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,666
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Didn't say buy an HD7k though :p You don't have much longer of a wait.
     
    105tommy105 says thanks.
  12. snuif09

    snuif09

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    964 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    hoorn, Netherlands
    I agree with JrRacinFan.

    When the HD7k gets there alot of people will sell their HD69xx's and you can get them pretty cheap then I guess. Probably a price drop for new ones as well.
     
    105tommy105 says thanks.
  13. 105tommy105 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    61 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I might just buy a 6970 and wait for the 8 series, been messing about for ages looking for a new card. But do you know when the 7 series are being released?
     
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2011
  14. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,601 (5.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,666
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    105tommy105 says thanks.
  15. 105tommy105 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    61 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
  16. 105tommy105 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    61 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
  17. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,601 (5.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,666
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Well yeah. I am just saying from a price/perf perspective they are on par.
     
    105tommy105 says thanks.
  18. 105tommy105 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    61 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Ahh, I see
     
  19. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,620 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    251
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    Seeing people advising the 560 TI 448 core I must say that BF3 would really benefit from the increased vram you would get with a 6970.
     
    105tommy105 says thanks.
  20. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,293 (7.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,755
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Honestly 600euro is hard to buy with but I dont know much about buying PC parts over the pond.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,441 (11.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,777
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,620 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    251
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    Your system is more than sufficient with just an upgrade to a 6950/70 and a power supply that you can count on, no reason to upgrade any more of your system than that.
     
  23. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,415 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,068
    You don't need a new system. Just replace the GPU. Unlike some of the other sugguestions I would avoid the 6970. Coming from a 5870 to 6970 is a sidegrade.

    You won't find anything worth upgrading to sub £300.

    The only feasible option is crossfire.

    You can probably find another 5870/5850 on Ebay for about £100-130. CF 5850 would smoke a 6970 whilst being the most financially feasible option. Alternatively wait a couple of months for the ATI 7xxx to drop.

    You could probably drop in a Bulldozer FX-8120 or Phenom II X6 CPU for good measure as they both perform pretty good in BF3 and would alleviate any potential CF related bottleneck.

    AMD Bulldozer FX-8 8120 3.1Ghz Socket AM3+ 8MB L3.... - £170

    AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 95W 2.8GHz Socket AM3 6MB L... £120

    Phenom II X6 is better value IMO.
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2011
  24. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,441 (11.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,777
    I don't see how a different CPU is going to increase BF3 performance at all. Going to a 6970 from a 5870 for BF3 isn't a bad choice. About 10 more FPS plus he'll be able to use more AA. I just can't recommend going CrossFire anymore.
     
    Dent1 and 105tommy105 say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. 105tommy105 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    61 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Sorry Guys that was a post i done for a friend, im going to get the HD 6970 Twin Frozr.
    (600gbp is 720euros).
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)