• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Upgrading gtx960 to 1660 but not happening for me!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Mar 23, 2019
Messages
2 (0.07/day)
Likes
2
#1
HI, sorry probably a routine post - but any help welcomed.

Had an MSI NVIDIA 960GTX and decided to upgrade to a MSI NVIDIA1660 GTX) VEntus XS (OC edition) . Thought it should be a pretty easy upgrade,

Only issue I found was the change from 6 pins to 8 pins - after initial panic - realised that the 2 extra pins had been colied back and secured - so cut thetie and plugged in the now 8 pins. Problem is that it is not being recognised as anything but a generic PCI-E on my display adapter on device management. I did try the alternative PCI slot but same result - one monitor working oon low res as per a basic display adaptor. I did replace with 9609 in both slots and it works fine in either - the 1660 just doesnt seem to be rrecognised. I had updated the drivers from disc but no joy? Three thoughts - is it a) a dud card? if so is there nayway to tell? (b) is there an issue with the 6 and 8 pins - i didnt nuild the pC but it was a very neat job to tidy the extra pins and there is only on configuration of them that would work (also when I tried with just 6 pins - it gave no display at all just a BIOS style message that power had to be supplied to the PCI-E device - with the 8 pins - i did get basic output. (c) drivers! I did install the drivers from the disc is there some sort of removal for the 960 that i should have done before this?

Dull and routine post - I apologose but again any help appreciated - if even just to justify the return of the card! Thanks
 
Joined
Jul 9, 2016
Messages
309 (0.30/day)
Likes
138
System Name Gaming System
Processor i7-4960X
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory Corsair Vengeance LP 32GB DDR3
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 ti FTW3
Storage 1TB Samsung 850 EVO; 500GB Samsung 850 EVO
Display(s) HP zr2740w Surround
Case Corsair A540
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply EVGA G2 1300
Mouse Logitech MK550
Keyboard Logitech MK550
Software Windows 10 Pro
#2
Do you know what motherboard model that you have? You should download the latest driver from Nvidia website.
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2009
Messages
2,963 (0.86/day)
Likes
2,039
Location
Denmark
System Name The work PC / X58 Linux cruncher/4790 folder&cruncher /2700x on/of folder/2700x full time WCG
Processor W3670 3.7 GHz/ W3670 3.875 / 4790K 4.4/2x2700x stock
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD5/UD7/Maximum Hero/2xMSI X470 M7 AC
Cooling Custom WC/Noctua NH-D14/Noctua NH-D15/ 2xNH-U12S SE
Memory 6 GB A-Data/6 GB Mushkin /8 GB Corsair Vengance/2x16 GB XSkill Flare
Video Card(s) 2060 Z MSI/ 1070ti MSI / 2x2070 Z MSI/1070 X + 2060 Ventus MSI/GTX 970 MSI
Storage 480 GB SSD / 480 GB SSD /480 GB SSD/2x250 GB SSD
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2518D/2408WFP
Case Corsair 800D / Fractel R4 /none/Lian test bench/NZXT 500 crap
Power Supply Enermax 87+ 600 W/ 700 W / AX 860/AX 860i/AX 760
Software WIN7 64 bit/Linux for AMD and
Benchmark Scores Cherry pie at one point ;)
#3
Define basic output. And fill out your system specs. We can't help you if we don't know if you are running on new(er) or old MB. Read this for a start - Similar problem?
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
5,495 (2.60/day)
Likes
3,608
Location
USA
#4
HI, sorry probably a routine post - but any help welcomed.

Had an MSI NVIDIA 960GTX and decided to upgrade to a MSI NVIDIA1660 GTX) VEntus XS (OC edition) . Thought it should be a pretty easy upgrade,

Only issue I found was the change from 6 pins to 8 pins - after initial panic - realised that the 2 extra pins had been colied back and secured - so cut thetie and plugged in the now 8 pins. Problem is that it is not being recognised as anything but a generic PCI-E on my display adapter on device management. I did try the alternative PCI slot but same result - one monitor working oon low res as per a basic display adaptor. I did replace with 9609 in both slots and it works fine in either - the 1660 just doesnt seem to be rrecognised. I had updated the drivers from disc but no joy? Three thoughts - is it a) a dud card? if so is there nayway to tell? (b) is there an issue with the 6 and 8 pins - i didnt nuild the pC but it was a very neat job to tidy the extra pins and there is only on configuration of them that would work (also when I tried with just 6 pins - it gave no display at all just a BIOS style message that power had to be supplied to the PCI-E device - with the 8 pins - i did get basic output. (c) drivers! I did install the drivers from the disc is there some sort of removal for the 960 that i should have done before this?

Dull and routine post - I apologose but again any help appreciated - if even just to justify the return of the card! Thanks
The drivers for your 960 were likely old and are not recognizing the new card. The drivers on disc are often crap. Download and install the newest drivers. You should be fine.
Windows 7;
https://www.nvidia.com/Download/driverResults.aspx/144360/en-us
Windows 10;
https://www.nvidia.com/Download/driverResults.aspx/144363/en-us
 

Tatty_One

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
21,199 (4.38/day)
Likes
8,265
Location
Worcestershire, UK
System Name The Grey
Processor Skylake i7 6700k @ 4.6gig - 1.35V
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000 OC @ 3200mhz CL15
Video Card(s) Palit 8GB GTX 1070 GameRock OC Edition
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4 64GB/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) SB Xifi Elite Pro 7.1through VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#5
I have got one of those "older motherboards without UEFI support" feelings, I do hope I am wrong.
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2009
Messages
2,963 (0.86/day)
Likes
2,039
Location
Denmark
System Name The work PC / X58 Linux cruncher/4790 folder&cruncher /2700x on/of folder/2700x full time WCG
Processor W3670 3.7 GHz/ W3670 3.875 / 4790K 4.4/2x2700x stock
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD5/UD7/Maximum Hero/2xMSI X470 M7 AC
Cooling Custom WC/Noctua NH-D14/Noctua NH-D15/ 2xNH-U12S SE
Memory 6 GB A-Data/6 GB Mushkin /8 GB Corsair Vengance/2x16 GB XSkill Flare
Video Card(s) 2060 Z MSI/ 1070ti MSI / 2x2070 Z MSI/1070 X + 2060 Ventus MSI/GTX 970 MSI
Storage 480 GB SSD / 480 GB SSD /480 GB SSD/2x250 GB SSD
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2518D/2408WFP
Case Corsair 800D / Fractel R4 /none/Lian test bench/NZXT 500 crap
Power Supply Enermax 87+ 600 W/ 700 W / AX 860/AX 860i/AX 760
Software WIN7 64 bit/Linux for AMD and
Benchmark Scores Cherry pie at one point ;)
#6
I have got one of those "older motherboards without UEFI support" feelings, I do hope I am wrong.
So do I and @LFaWolf but since OP is in no hurry to help him self by telling us about that MD he has.....
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
5,495 (2.60/day)
Likes
3,608
Location
USA
#7
I have got one of those "older motherboards without UEFI support" feelings, I do hope I am wrong.
Oh, right. UEFI card on non-UEFI mobo... If that's the case, fricken lame-sauce. And why? How hard is it to include the legacy code in a vbios?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
25,832 (5.99/day)
Likes
8,880
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#8
Oh, right. UEFI card on non-UEFI mobo... If that's the case, fricken lame-sauce. And why? How hard is it to include the legacy code in a vbios?
Space/money, if engineers can save a penny they will
 
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
775 (0.72/day)
Likes
937
System Name BOX
Processor Xeon E5-1680 v2 @ 4,3GHz
Motherboard Sabertooth X79 (BIOS 4801 + NVMe mod + uCode update)
Cooling Thermalright Venomous-X (w/LGA 2011 kit) + 2x Delta PWM Push-Pull
Memory 8x A-Data Xtreme 2000X 2GB (1868MHz CL8.9.8.24 CR2T @ 1,65V)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 (FE)
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB NVMe, RAID0 2x WD10EZEX (1TB), HGST HUS726060ALE610 (6TB)
Display(s) Samsung T240
Case NZXT Tempest (Nanoflux/PWM fans only, some w/LEDs)
Audio Device(s) ASUS Essence ST Deluxe 7.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-760 (760W)
Mouse Roccat Savu
Keyboard Logitech UltraXPremium
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.passmark.com/baselines/V9/display.php?id=108080818886
#9
From what I understand, UEFI vBIOS itself isn't the problem.
It's the lack of "Legacy" part in it on some of the UEFI cards that is the issue (I used GTX 1080 FE on PGA 478 and R9 390X on Socket 939).

I think MB model is key in solving this one.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,069 (5.32/day)
Likes
12,507
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#10
Oh, right. UEFI card on non-UEFI mobo... If that's the case, fricken lame-sauce. And why? How hard is it to include the legacy code in a vbios?
If it was a UEFI/Legacy issue, the card wouldn't even POST and wouldn't work at all.

Space/money, if engineers can save a penny they will
I think money is the biggest factor. I mean, there is a chance that the legacy code wouldn't fit on the vBIOS chip and they don't want to put a bigger chip on the cards. However, I'm more willing to bet the issue is they just don't want to pay to code and develop and test a legacy vBIOS. Especially when the user base putting these cards in old non-UEFI is insanely small.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
6,937 (4.22/day)
Likes
4,120
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E5-2680 10c/20t 2.8GHz @ 3.0GHz
Motherboard Asrock X79 Extreme 11
Cooling Coolermaster 240 RGB A.I.O.
Memory G. Skill 16Gb (4x4Gb) 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 710
Storage Sandisk X 400 256Gb
Display(s) AOC 22" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Home Premium 64 bit
#12
….. I did install the drivers from the disc is there some sort of removal for the 960 that i should have done before this?

Dull and routine post - I apologose but again any help appreciated - if even just to justify the return of the card! Thanks
Use DDU to remove all traces of previous drivers for dGPU's then start again with the install process.

Snap @MrGenius you posted as I was typing.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
5,495 (2.60/day)
Likes
3,608
Location
USA
#13
Especially when the user base putting these cards in old non-UEFI is insanely small.
Not true. "Legacy" systems still account for more than half of all gaming systems in use today.
No such thing as a "UEFI only" VBIOS.
Stop spreading unsubstantiated myths please.
Also not true, you need to do research. Card makers are increasingly leaning toward non-legacy vbios code as a way of pushing the public to newer platforms.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2019
Messages
2 (0.07/day)
Likes
2
#14
First of all, thanks to everyone who took the time and trouble to reply.

The problem has been resolved and I think it is a case of 'sticky' old drivers and a badly seated card combining to caused the confusion. I am but a simple soul. I had after multiple tries deleted the 960 drivers via ddu but when 1660 replaced and restarted no signal at all, I replaced the 960 and the drivers to see if socket was issue and was fine. Then when replacing the 1660 the old VGA issue again. Now I hindsight it is obvious the 1660 wasn't seated right after the ddu cleanse. I re read all advice and decided to simply follow the steps and record the status at each step...... and this time using the GeforceApp it did recognised a new card and downpoaded drivers that worked. Probably I screwed up the installation of drivers from the disc, and confused myself re card swapping, driver cleaning and installing, so apologies but appreciate the help as it lead me to check the process more methodically. Can think of several things that could have helped re feedback....but no complaiñs the fault was human....is me. Only lesson I can pass on is to be careful to record exactly what you did and what happened, the error more often than not is the 'man in the machine'. Cheers all.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2015
Messages
1,748 (1.17/day)
Likes
1,001
Location
Long Island
#16
For future reference ....

1. Download the latest driver from nvidia web site.

2. Disconnect ethernet cable to prevent Windows Update from messing anything up after reboot.

3. Uninstall all things nVidia from Control Panel / Programs

4. If you want to be thorough, can use a registry cleaner to clean out all registry references to nVidia but it's generally ok to skip .... 9 outta 10 times this step is not necessary. Alternately you can use DDU or better yet TechPowerUp's NvCleanstall (https://www.techpowerup.com/forums/...an-installer-for-nvidia-drivers-alpha.249085/). The older the drivers are that you have, the more I'd recommend doing fresh install.

5. Shut down and install card.

6. Boot and ignore any OS initiated options to install drivers .......

7. Install the latest nVidia drivers from nVidia site.

8. Shut down, connect ethernet cable and have fun.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top