• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Upgrading mobo from AM3 to AM3+ (Sata3, USB3)

Joined
Jun 2, 2011
Messages
739 (0.31/day)
Likes
125
System Name An experiment in continuous upgrading
Processor Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.2 Ghz | Phenom II X4 965 | Phenom II X4 965
Motherboard MSI P67A-GD53 | MSI 990FXA-GD80 | Asus M4A79 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 | Zalman CNPS10x | Coolermaster*212+
Memory Kingston KHX1866C9D3K2 |*8Gb | 8Gb
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 580 TF2 x 2 (SLI) | Sapphire Radeon 7970 + GTX 460 | Radeon 4870 1Gb
Storage Crucial M4 120gb Sata3 SSD + WD Caviar black 1Tb + 1.5Tb | WD Caviar Black 1Tb x 3 | WD Blue 500gb
Display(s) Samsung S23A700D 120hz + nVidia 3D Vision + 17" Acer secondary LCD | 40" Sony 1080p TV | Sam. 2233rz
Case Antec 1200 | Lian-Li PC-8 | Antec 302
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude X-Fi + Senn. PC360 G4ME | Prelude X-Fi + Home theater | Creative HS-1200
Power Supply Corsair TX850W | Corsair TX 750 | OCZ 700
Software About 400 top-rated games. | 150 top-rated games | No games
Benchmark Scores No time for benching, I prefer gaming.
#1
OK so I am using an ASUS M4A79 Deluxe, which is AM3 but DDR2, SATA2 and USB2.

I just got a SATA3 SSD and am running a 6-core Phenom II 1100t, so I figure my CPU is pretty bandwidth-starved what with DDR2 1066. Time for DDR3 and SATA3. And of course AM3+, in case Bulldozer proves worthy of upgrading to.

Keep in mind:
- I run a high-end sound card, so no real need for the onboard
- I run 2 GTX 570 in SLI, so of course at LEAST 2 PCI-e 16x are required
- I want a board that supports the fastest DDR3 that my 1100t or Bulldozer will support
- I don't overclock.

What's a good board for me? I have been told that the more expensive mobos out there cost a lot because of overclocking features and onboard devices, but I don't know how true that is. I certainly have purchased mobos with the idea that pricier ones were higher quality but maybe I have been paying for features I don't use?

So what's a good mobo for me?
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
4,475 (1.26/day)
Likes
1,025
Location
Australia
System Name Night Rider | Mini LAN PC | Workhorse
Processor AMD FX 8350 | i7 2600 | i7 970
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+ | GA-H77M-D3H | Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Cooling AMD Wraith cooler| Coolermaster Gemini with Noctua 3000RPM Fan | Big shairkan B
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 G.Skill 1600 6-8-6-24| 2x4GB Corsair 1600 | 6x2GB DDR3 1300 Corsair
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 OC in Sli | Gainward GTX 650 TI GS | ASUS 7970 Matrix
Storage 250GB Plextor SSD Por 5 /1TB WD Black | 500GB WD ES/WD Black | WD 320/Seagate 320
Display(s) Samsung 2494hs 24" 1080P| Samsung 20" S20C300L/DELL 15" | 22" DELL/19"DELL
Case LIAN LI PC-18 | Mini ATX Case (custom) | Atrix C4 9001
Audio Device(s) Onboard | Onbaord | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750 | Silverstone Mini 450W | Corsair CX-750
Mouse Gigabyte aivia krypton gaming mouse | Rapoo V900 | Gigabyte 6850X
Keyboard MAX Keyboard Nighthawk X8 | Creative Fatal1ty eluminx | Some POS Logitech
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64/Windows 10 Home
#2

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#3
I second Melvis' suggestion but another board to look at Asrock 970 Extreme4, going with 970 chipset as you stated you rather not overclock. One other thing to add though, the 970 Extreme4 may not be ideal as you will need to overclock base clock to obtain the 1866 native dram frequency of Bulldozer. Whereas the UD3 supports that memory multiplier out of the box for Bulldozer. Either one supports 1333 for Thuban.
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2011
Messages
739 (0.31/day)
Likes
125
System Name An experiment in continuous upgrading
Processor Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.2 Ghz | Phenom II X4 965 | Phenom II X4 965
Motherboard MSI P67A-GD53 | MSI 990FXA-GD80 | Asus M4A79 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 | Zalman CNPS10x | Coolermaster*212+
Memory Kingston KHX1866C9D3K2 |*8Gb | 8Gb
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 580 TF2 x 2 (SLI) | Sapphire Radeon 7970 + GTX 460 | Radeon 4870 1Gb
Storage Crucial M4 120gb Sata3 SSD + WD Caviar black 1Tb + 1.5Tb | WD Caviar Black 1Tb x 3 | WD Blue 500gb
Display(s) Samsung S23A700D 120hz + nVidia 3D Vision + 17" Acer secondary LCD | 40" Sony 1080p TV | Sam. 2233rz
Case Antec 1200 | Lian-Li PC-8 | Antec 302
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude X-Fi + Senn. PC360 G4ME | Prelude X-Fi + Home theater | Creative HS-1200
Power Supply Corsair TX850W | Corsair TX 750 | OCZ 700
Software About 400 top-rated games. | 150 top-rated games | No games
Benchmark Scores No time for benching, I prefer gaming.
#4
I second Melvis' suggestion but another board to look at Asrock 970 Extreme4, going with 970 chipset as you stated you rather not overclock. One other thing to add though, the 970 Extreme4 may not be ideal as you will need to overclock base clock to obtain the 1866 native dram frequency of Bulldozer. Whereas the UD3 supports that memory multiplier out of the box for Bulldozer. Either one supports 1333 for Thuban.
It doesn't look like it will avail me of the fastest DRAM speeds available. I would like a chipset that will let me run my DDR3 at 2133 speeds if possible.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,370 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,019
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#5
I would like a chipset that will let me run my DDR3 at 2133 speeds if possible.
Chipset doesn't matter. The IMC on the CPU does. Phenom II just won't do it efficiently. Get a Crosshair V. When Bulldozer comes out you should then be able to run your RAM at higher frequency. Also, if you don't overclock I suggest you go Intel. You are bottlenecking your GTX 570's horribly.
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2011
Messages
739 (0.31/day)
Likes
125
System Name An experiment in continuous upgrading
Processor Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.2 Ghz | Phenom II X4 965 | Phenom II X4 965
Motherboard MSI P67A-GD53 | MSI 990FXA-GD80 | Asus M4A79 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 | Zalman CNPS10x | Coolermaster*212+
Memory Kingston KHX1866C9D3K2 |*8Gb | 8Gb
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 580 TF2 x 2 (SLI) | Sapphire Radeon 7970 + GTX 460 | Radeon 4870 1Gb
Storage Crucial M4 120gb Sata3 SSD + WD Caviar black 1Tb + 1.5Tb | WD Caviar Black 1Tb x 3 | WD Blue 500gb
Display(s) Samsung S23A700D 120hz + nVidia 3D Vision + 17" Acer secondary LCD | 40" Sony 1080p TV | Sam. 2233rz
Case Antec 1200 | Lian-Li PC-8 | Antec 302
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude X-Fi + Senn. PC360 G4ME | Prelude X-Fi + Home theater | Creative HS-1200
Power Supply Corsair TX850W | Corsair TX 750 | OCZ 700
Software About 400 top-rated games. | 150 top-rated games | No games
Benchmark Scores No time for benching, I prefer gaming.
#6
Chipset doesn't matter. The IMC on the CPU does. Phenom II just won't do it efficiently. Get a Crosshair V. When Bulldozer comes out you should then be able to run your RAM at higher frequency. Also, if you don't overclock I suggest you go Intel. You are bottlenecking your GTX 570's horribly.
I will not go Intel unless Bulldozer is horrible and my CPU prevents me from playing my games at great framerates, so that I need to upgrade. Until then, I will buy AMD.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,370 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,019
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#7
I will not go Intel unless Bulldozer is horrible and my CPU prevents me from playing my games at great framerates, so that I need to upgrade. Until then, I will buy AMD.
Okay, what about the other points I made? Get the lowest latency RAM you can get (low and tight timings) and be sure to up the frequency of your CPU/NB. Technically it's not overclocking, it's a part of the initial setup.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#8
Technically it's not overclocking,


:laugh:



:slap:

You are right, but it IS most definitely overclocking. Anything over 1333 MHz memory and 2000 MHz NB is an OC.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,370 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,019
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#9
:laugh:



:slap:

You are right, but it IS most definitely overclocking. Anything over 1333 MHz memory and 2000 MHz NB is an OC.
Naw, it's just "setting up your system properly". Tomato/Tomatoe.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#10
Naw, it's just "setting up your system properly". Tomato/Tomatoe.
:laugh: Too bad AMD didn't do that for us already. ;)


You know, 1100T wouldn't look so bad, and require an OC to get decent 3D performance if SB wasn't truly a generation ahead. SB just raised the bar too high for Phenom II.


That said, the APUs are pretty good for 3D already, so we can only hope that Bulldozer only ups the ante there.


But, like you recommended, Intel SKT1155 is pretty damn good right now, with many users reporting a performance doubling making the switch from AMD Phenom II quads, so there's no guesswork involved as to what performance you'll end up with for your dollar. AMD needs to hurry up!
 
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,258 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,451
Location
Marietta, GA USA
System Name ODIN
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X @ 3.9 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASRock TaiChi X370
Cooling Cryorig Universal R1
Memory 16 GB G.Skill FlareX @ 2933 MHz 14-14-14-34
Video Card(s) Nvidia EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC 8 GB
Storage WD M.2 1TB SSD :: 4 TB RAID 1 Array of 2 drives
Display(s) Dell S2716DG 27" 144 Hz G-SYNC
Case NZXT H630
Audio Device(s) Onboard Audio
Power Supply Antec HCP 850 80+ Gold
Mouse Corsair M65
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores I don't benchmark.
#11
Just to second Erocker, the 1100T runs a slightly different memory controller than say a AMD 955. It is not a huge step, but it does respond much better to high clocked RAM than its little brother. Tight timing is still important. You also have to consider the system is technically for a BD chip and the 1100T is just a place holder until them. So you should be getting 1866 MHz or higher RAM. You can then just run it at 1600 or 1333 at low timings during the mean time. Then when BD comes out and if you get one, you can unchain the RAM. If not, you still have high clocked RAM for your switch to Intel.
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2011
Messages
739 (0.31/day)
Likes
125
System Name An experiment in continuous upgrading
Processor Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.2 Ghz | Phenom II X4 965 | Phenom II X4 965
Motherboard MSI P67A-GD53 | MSI 990FXA-GD80 | Asus M4A79 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 | Zalman CNPS10x | Coolermaster*212+
Memory Kingston KHX1866C9D3K2 |*8Gb | 8Gb
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 580 TF2 x 2 (SLI) | Sapphire Radeon 7970 + GTX 460 | Radeon 4870 1Gb
Storage Crucial M4 120gb Sata3 SSD + WD Caviar black 1Tb + 1.5Tb | WD Caviar Black 1Tb x 3 | WD Blue 500gb
Display(s) Samsung S23A700D 120hz + nVidia 3D Vision + 17" Acer secondary LCD | 40" Sony 1080p TV | Sam. 2233rz
Case Antec 1200 | Lian-Li PC-8 | Antec 302
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude X-Fi + Senn. PC360 G4ME | Prelude X-Fi + Home theater | Creative HS-1200
Power Supply Corsair TX850W | Corsair TX 750 | OCZ 700
Software About 400 top-rated games. | 150 top-rated games | No games
Benchmark Scores No time for benching, I prefer gaming.
#12
Just to second Erocker, the 1100T runs a slightly different memory controller than say a AMD 955. It is not a huge step, but it does respond much better to high clocked RAM than its little brother. Tight timing is still important. You also have to consider the system is technically for a BD chip and the 1100T is just a place holder until them. So you should be getting 1866 MHz or higher RAM. You can then just run it at 1600 or 1333 at low timings during the mean time. Then when BD comes out and if you get one, you can unchain the RAM. If not, you still have high clocked RAM for your switch to Intel.
Ah! Great thinking! Thank you! That makes 110% sense! :)

So an ASUS Crosshair V looks good according to you?
 
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,258 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,451
Location
Marietta, GA USA
System Name ODIN
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X @ 3.9 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASRock TaiChi X370
Cooling Cryorig Universal R1
Memory 16 GB G.Skill FlareX @ 2933 MHz 14-14-14-34
Video Card(s) Nvidia EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC 8 GB
Storage WD M.2 1TB SSD :: 4 TB RAID 1 Array of 2 drives
Display(s) Dell S2716DG 27" 144 Hz G-SYNC
Case NZXT H630
Audio Device(s) Onboard Audio
Power Supply Antec HCP 850 80+ Gold
Mouse Corsair M65
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores I don't benchmark.
#13
From what I have seen so far, most board makers geared up for AMD 900 series. If for nothing else other than the support for Nvidia SLI increasing potential buyers. Basically there are a lot of great options.

The Asus Crosshair V, Asus Sabertooth, Gigabyte 990FX UD5, Gigabyte 990FX UD7, and maybe the ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Pro. All of thsoe should be more than enough. If you really want to narrow it down, the Crosshair should have superior on-board sound.
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2009
Messages
1,528 (0.49/day)
Likes
324
Location
Canada/Québec/Montreal
System Name Main PC
Processor PII 925 @3.724GHz (266x14) 1.525v NB 2660 1.425v
Motherboard Gigabyte AM3 GA-890XA-UD3 (790x+SB850)
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev.B
Memory Hyperx 8GB (2x4) 1600@1418 8-7-7-20-27-1t
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6850 Stock (Max Overclock 1030/1200)
Storage 1x1TB WD Green / 1x1TB Seagate
Display(s) LCD Samsung 24" 16:9
Case Cooler Master HAF 912
Audio Device(s) On-Board HD
Power Supply CM 750w GX |3.3v@25a|5v@25a|12v@60a
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Benchmark Scores later...
#14
If Bulldozer turn out to be good i would got with this board...
http://ca.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=3901#ov

Same chipset as Melvis posted but at cheaper price the only thing different is you can't go quad-fire or quad-SLI (which will be at x8 anyway or is it x4?) still you can do Xfire or SLI on this mobo (x16x8) you only loose like ~3% over x16x16 on the 990FX not much to worry about except for price...;)

It's all depends on you if you want to spend big $$ on 4 graphic cards or not...

Anyhow that is the board i am going for if Bulldozer is good if not ill go ... Intel
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,192 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,796
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#15
Considering Phenom Arch is pretty old now. Tell u truth the Top ENd CPus should be named Athlons, then Durons, Then Semprons


:laugh: Too bad AMD didn't do that for us already. ;)


You know, 1100T wouldn't look so bad, and require an OC to get decent 3D performance if SB wasn't truly a generation ahead. SB just raised the bar too high for Phenom II.


That said, the APUs are pretty good for 3D already, so we can only hope that Bulldozer only ups the ante there.


But, like you recommended, Intel SKT1155 is pretty damn good right now, with many users reporting a performance doubling making the switch from AMD Phenom II quads, so there's no guesswork involved as to what performance you'll end up with for your dollar. AMD needs to hurry up!
I second Melvis' suggestion but another board to look at Asrock 970 Extreme4, going with 970 chipset as you stated you rather not overclock. One other thing to add though, the 970 Extreme4 may not be ideal as you will need to overclock base clock to obtain the 1866 native dram frequency of Bulldozer. Whereas the UD3 supports that memory multiplier out of the box for Bulldozer. Either one supports 1333 for Thuban.
My bros board is running 1600 with the set timings of 8-8-8-24 at 1.5 and the CPU is unlocked from a 555 to a B55/955 now. Im sure it can run 1866 or higher, it defaulted to 1333 initially when i cleared CMOS before first powerup.
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2011
Messages
739 (0.31/day)
Likes
125
System Name An experiment in continuous upgrading
Processor Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.2 Ghz | Phenom II X4 965 | Phenom II X4 965
Motherboard MSI P67A-GD53 | MSI 990FXA-GD80 | Asus M4A79 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 | Zalman CNPS10x | Coolermaster*212+
Memory Kingston KHX1866C9D3K2 |*8Gb | 8Gb
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 580 TF2 x 2 (SLI) | Sapphire Radeon 7970 + GTX 460 | Radeon 4870 1Gb
Storage Crucial M4 120gb Sata3 SSD + WD Caviar black 1Tb + 1.5Tb | WD Caviar Black 1Tb x 3 | WD Blue 500gb
Display(s) Samsung S23A700D 120hz + nVidia 3D Vision + 17" Acer secondary LCD | 40" Sony 1080p TV | Sam. 2233rz
Case Antec 1200 | Lian-Li PC-8 | Antec 302
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude X-Fi + Senn. PC360 G4ME | Prelude X-Fi + Home theater | Creative HS-1200
Power Supply Corsair TX850W | Corsair TX 750 | OCZ 700
Software About 400 top-rated games. | 150 top-rated games | No games
Benchmark Scores No time for benching, I prefer gaming.
#16
If Bulldozer turn out to be good i would got with this board...
http://ca.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=3901#ov

Same chipset as Melvis posted but at cheaper price the only thing different is you can't go quad-fire or quad-SLI (which will be at x8 anyway or is it x4?) still you can do Xfire or SLI on this mobo (x16x8) you only loose like ~3% over x16x16 on the 990FX not much to worry about except for price...;)

It's all depends on you if you want to spend big $$ on 4 graphic cards or not...

Anyhow that is the board i am going for if Bulldozer is good if not ill go ... Intel
Hey Goodman, I'm in Montreal also. I have 2 graphics cards (GTX 570 Sli) and currently my SLI is the patched/hacked version, so that's one reason for going to a mobo that officially supports it. I don't need the onboard sound, but a lot of PCIe channels is a good thing, especially that I might upgrade my SSD to a RevoDrive (PCIe X4) and put the SSD in the second box.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,192 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,796
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#17
From what I have seen so far, most board makers geared up for AMD 900 series. If for nothing else other than the support for Nvidia SLI increasing potential buyers. Basically there are a lot of great options.

The Asus Crosshair V, Asus Sabertooth, Gigabyte 990FX UD5, Gigabyte 990FX UD7, and maybe the ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Pro. All of thsoe should be more than enough. If you really want to narrow it down, the Crosshair should have superior on-board sound.
even 800 series chipsets support AM3+ as long as you have the black socket on board which are like rev 2 or rev 3 series boards from the big companies
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#18
even 800 series chipsets support AM3+ as long as you have the black socket on board which are like rev 2 or rev 3 series boards from the big companies
That's unofficial support from board makers.
 
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,258 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,451
Location
Marietta, GA USA
System Name ODIN
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X @ 3.9 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASRock TaiChi X370
Cooling Cryorig Universal R1
Memory 16 GB G.Skill FlareX @ 2933 MHz 14-14-14-34
Video Card(s) Nvidia EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC 8 GB
Storage WD M.2 1TB SSD :: 4 TB RAID 1 Array of 2 drives
Display(s) Dell S2716DG 27" 144 Hz G-SYNC
Case NZXT H630
Audio Device(s) Onboard Audio
Power Supply Antec HCP 850 80+ Gold
Mouse Corsair M65
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores I don't benchmark.
#19
even 800 series chipsets support AM3+ as long as you have the black socket on board which are like rev 2 or rev 3 series boards from the big companies
While true, may board makers stop building 800 series boards with the black socket once their own 900 series was released. Example, I have a 890FXA-UD5 rev. 3 (AM3+ black socket) right now and I can't find it for sell anywhere any more. Why would anyone buy it at $190 when you can get a 990FXA-UD5 which has SLI support and higher HTT potential? I mean it would be great if you can find one still on sell for like $145ish.

That's unofficial support from board makers.
And I thought the unofficial support were the ones that claimed you only need a BIOS update and the chips will work on AM3 white sockets? I thought AMD said as long as you use the black AM3+ socket its fine.
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2011
Messages
739 (0.31/day)
Likes
125
System Name An experiment in continuous upgrading
Processor Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.2 Ghz | Phenom II X4 965 | Phenom II X4 965
Motherboard MSI P67A-GD53 | MSI 990FXA-GD80 | Asus M4A79 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 | Zalman CNPS10x | Coolermaster*212+
Memory Kingston KHX1866C9D3K2 |*8Gb | 8Gb
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 580 TF2 x 2 (SLI) | Sapphire Radeon 7970 + GTX 460 | Radeon 4870 1Gb
Storage Crucial M4 120gb Sata3 SSD + WD Caviar black 1Tb + 1.5Tb | WD Caviar Black 1Tb x 3 | WD Blue 500gb
Display(s) Samsung S23A700D 120hz + nVidia 3D Vision + 17" Acer secondary LCD | 40" Sony 1080p TV | Sam. 2233rz
Case Antec 1200 | Lian-Li PC-8 | Antec 302
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude X-Fi + Senn. PC360 G4ME | Prelude X-Fi + Home theater | Creative HS-1200
Power Supply Corsair TX850W | Corsair TX 750 | OCZ 700
Software About 400 top-rated games. | 150 top-rated games | No games
Benchmark Scores No time for benching, I prefer gaming.
#20
even 800 series chipsets support AM3+ as long as you have the black socket on board which are like rev 2 or rev 3 series boards from the big companies
Yeah but no official SLI support or running the AM3+ with all its power management features either...

I really need a real AM3+
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 2, 2011
Messages
739 (0.31/day)
Likes
125
System Name An experiment in continuous upgrading
Processor Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.2 Ghz | Phenom II X4 965 | Phenom II X4 965
Motherboard MSI P67A-GD53 | MSI 990FXA-GD80 | Asus M4A79 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 | Zalman CNPS10x | Coolermaster*212+
Memory Kingston KHX1866C9D3K2 |*8Gb | 8Gb
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 580 TF2 x 2 (SLI) | Sapphire Radeon 7970 + GTX 460 | Radeon 4870 1Gb
Storage Crucial M4 120gb Sata3 SSD + WD Caviar black 1Tb + 1.5Tb | WD Caviar Black 1Tb x 3 | WD Blue 500gb
Display(s) Samsung S23A700D 120hz + nVidia 3D Vision + 17" Acer secondary LCD | 40" Sony 1080p TV | Sam. 2233rz
Case Antec 1200 | Lian-Li PC-8 | Antec 302
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude X-Fi + Senn. PC360 G4ME | Prelude X-Fi + Home theater | Creative HS-1200
Power Supply Corsair TX850W | Corsair TX 750 | OCZ 700
Software About 400 top-rated games. | 150 top-rated games | No games
Benchmark Scores No time for benching, I prefer gaming.
#22

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#24
So what chipset am I looking for? 990X? 990FX? And why?
PCIe lanes. How long do you actually plan on holding onto the board? How long do you plan on sticking with GTX570 SLI? Remember 16x+16x (990FX) barely holds a premium of performance over 8x+8x (990X), but if sticking with the board and future multi gpu configurations for a long time may want to get the extra lanes.


And I thought the unofficial support were the ones that claimed you only need a BIOS update and the chips will work on AM3 white sockets? I thought AMD said as long as you use the black AM3+ socket its fine.
Just heard it had something to do with the new version of Turbo core & how it's not officially supported. I didn't get a reply from JF-AMD when I commented on this a while ago and can't find the exact post I had mentioned it in.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.46/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#25
Im just waiting on the release, they may even work in old AM3 boards with maybe a bios update?